Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Per Asperissima Ad Astra by critmo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
sara
Saturday 12th August 2006 09:12


1: The Party
omg......that is great i hope you best luck
  Quote
IHateSnakes
Thursday 4th August 2005 03:53


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

1: The Party

Nice start...these Harry/Ginny FFs sure run from one extreme to the other (love/hate) without much in between.  I have to go re-read your second chapter now.  Keep up the good work.

critmo
Thursday 4th August 2005 20:04
1: The Party (Author Response)
Thanks. Both characters can be quite temperamental, therefore extremes, especially considering the strain they're under, seems quite likely.
  Quote
Shadow Hider
Friday 29th July 2005 09:33


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 123

1: The Party

*wince* ouch.  this should be interesting...

critmo
Sunday 31st July 2005 04:12
1: The Party (Author Response)
Definitely hope so. Thanks for the "ouch", that's what I was hoping for.
  Quote
denaumo
Thursday 28th July 2005 15:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

1: The Party
excellent - I really can't wait for the next chapter!!! More please!!!
critmo
Sunday 31st July 2005 04:04
1: The Party (Author Response)
Thanks, coming soon.
  Quote
ZanyMuggle
Thursday 28th July 2005 13:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

1: The Party

Per Aspera Ad Astra:
Ginny felt the change as a great relief.  Although they were still fighting, the Burrow gave them more space to breathe and the atmosphere was less oppressive than at Headquarters.  They could go outside now and enjoy the summer sun.  In contrast to the male Weasleys, Harry even seemed to like doing chores for Mrs Weasley in the garden, although she presumed that it was just for the sake of keeping himself from brooding.  All in all, Ginny and Harry relaxed considerably.

Per Asperissima Ad Astra:
Ginny felt the change as a great relief at first, but found out soon that Harry would not relax as easily.  The Burrow gave them more space to breathe and the whole atmosphere was much less oppressive than Headquarters'; they could go outside, but Harry took the opportunity to shut himself off as much as he could, which infuriated Ginny.  The ungrateful git should be glad to have some company!

So the big difference is that, in one version, Harry overcame and/or bottled up the feelings threatening to overwhelm him; in the other version, he did not.  In the case where he ignored his pain, Ginny responded warmly.  When he was overwhelmed by his pain, she responded by lashing out.  But why?

I guess that's what we're waiting to see.

critmo
Friday 29th July 2005 02:40
1: The Party (Author Response)
I don't think that Harry ignored his pain in "Per Aspera", he simply found a way out.
  Quote
ZanyMuggle
Thursday 28th July 2005 12:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

1: The Party

Wow.  Your Ginny really knows how to hit the mark.

"'You've lost all your family. You practically killed Sirius with your arrogance. Ron and Hermione went away rather than to spend their summer here with you, because they were afraid to be with you.'"

Even Snape, pensieve trick and all, never did such a good job tearing the last scraps of Harry's self-esteem to pieces.  Are you going to follow through, though?

What's up with Ginny?  Is she really so emotionally shallow to believe Harry should have paid her attention at the party when she couldn't be bothered to even acknowledge him on the way there?

"The little voice in Ginny's head giggled, while Harry stiffened, and the voice said, 'Oh, dear. Here we go again with Mr The-World's-so-Unfair-to-Me.' Ginny squealed with ostentatious delight."  Little voice inside, eh?  So is she being controlled by Voldie or Imperio'd?  I honestly have a hard time understanding why she'd be so vicious with him otherwise.

Whether she's Imperio'd, controlled, channelling Narcissa, or just emotionally/chemically unbalanced, I cannot see Harry being able to trust her again for a loooooong time, if ever.  Ginny employed the same sort of emotional abuse Harry's been subject to for most of his life by the Dursleys.  She enjoyed it too.  Is he supposed to just forget about that, to logically put aside the hurt if he finds out she didn't really mean it?  Is a person really able to change their emotions, especially those at their deepest core, so easily?  _No_ - simply not believable.

I have immensely enjoyed the skill you have shown in writing.  I have seen you handle these two characters well.  I look forward to seeing where you head with this.

critmo
Friday 29th July 2005 02:37
1: The Party (Author Response)
When you wrote "not believable", I was afraid you'd stop reading, but I'm glad to see that you have not! - Very thoughtful review, thanks a lot, but let me warn you that the fight goes both ways. Harry isn't just the victim here.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Thursday 11th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004