Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Flotsam and Jetsam by Faelaern

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 30 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
daniel_r_crazy22
Sunday 30th July 2006 14:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Prologue
Yes. For luck. And hopefully good luck, not bad. Very good.
  Quote
Anka
Sunday 1st January 2006 20:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

Prologue
Well, I really like this story already, Joe.  It was nice being able to read all these chapters at once, though I was definitely msising out by not reading it earlier.  Though I know I'll be busy for the next few months, I'm going to try and keep up with this.

It had been a very good day, and he was not happy to see it coming to an end, but he knew all too well that nothing lasted forever.
That's such an emotionally charged line.  Works well to help start the story off.

an interesting affair to say the least
Oh, I bet it was. Any chance of seeing it in flashbacks?

Harry winced. "No. I can't.” This, the real reason behind his being up here and not downstairs with the others. "That dress. I can't take her wearing that dress.” The rumbling creature within Harry thought there were any number of things he could do with her in that dress...or witho– Harry stamped on it and came back to himself.
Nicely done there.  I love the reference to the rumbling creature within Harry as a throwback to HBP.

"It's my brother's wedding day, Harry. I'm not leaving until he and Fleur do." Ron glared at him again, turned on his heel, and walked out of the room
I think that's important, and I'm glad that Ron didn't back down on it.  No matter how difficult it is what the trio are off to do, family is important, especially in wartimes.

Ginny gave a humourless laugh. "We weren't together over a holiday or anything, how exactly was she to know?"
Oh, interesting thought about Molly not knowing about Harry and Ginny.  This had never occurred to me, just as Harry.  but a nice touch, nonetheless.


And such a bittersweet end to the chapter.  I love that they got the kiss, but at the same time, knowing what has to come now for Harry... it makes my heart ache for them.


As I've said, I've read all that you have up, but reviews may be slow in coming.  I'm off to bed now, and I've got staff meeting stuff tomorrow and student teaching starting Tuesday, but I'm going to attempt to get my reviews up in a timely fashion (though I do know you'll be happy to see them whenever I get them up).


Annika :)
Faelaern
Tuesday 3rd January 2006 08:12
Prologue (Author Response)
Thanks for the review, Annika! :) That you read all of the chapters at once says something that is a review itself, in a way, though I certainly look forward to reading your thoughts on the rest of the chapters.

I doubt I'll be doing any Dursley flashbacks - I've no real use for them, and nothing that happened while Harry, Ron, and Hermione were there is really relative to the story I'm trying to tell, beyond what I've already said.

'Bittersweet' will set the tone for a lot of this story, I think. Well, one of the tones, I should say. In a story this long, if you've got only one tone, you'll find yourself sorely lacking, just as in any tapestry.




  Quote
Dalf
Tuesday 16th August 2005 02:54


Prologue
"You might want to keep that to yourself, mate."

muhahahahhahhaha!!!

<3 Ron!
  Quote
misslara
Tuesday 9th August 2005 01:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

Prologue

Good for him being so frustrated!God that must've been the most annoying thing I read in HBP but you're making Harry pay for his mistake, and very nicely too. Can't wait to read what's in the next chapter.

Nice Ron characterization too, I can see how he wouldn't want to leave before the end of the wedding, even if Harry doesn't understand at first.

  Quote
Arnel
Sunday 7th August 2005 05:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Prologue
You've set up the rest of the story brilliantly. Harry's distress about being away from Ginny/wanting to be with her is palpable and I love the fact that Ron wants to stick around until the happy couple have left the Burrow.  That was a very nice touch, giving closure to this part of Ron's life.  I'm looking forward to your next chapters.  Please post again soon.
  Quote
SillyGillie
Saturday 6th August 2005 21:47


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Prologue
Good job! I loved this line, "smuggle along a book or twelve" sounds very on key! Nice job, I can't wait to read more!
  Quote
A Reader
Friday 5th August 2005 15:46


Prologue

Hi, there.  I'm a fanfiction reader who basically got fed up with the sites I was frequenting out of habit and so went searching through the wide world of the internet for some new material.  I must say I'm really impressed by your writing.  It's clean and it flows--and I'm even interested by it!  This story definitely has potential, and I'm glad I stumbled onto this site.  Good luck with your writing!

                                                                                --A Reader

  Quote
Delani
Friday 5th August 2005 12:15


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

Prologue

Ooh, I like it!  I was itching to just go out and write the adventure, and not the immediate snog-fest, but I think you'll do the job just fine!

Terribly excited,

Delani

  Quote
J62442
Friday 5th August 2005 12:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Prologue

Love it! I hope you continue with this!

  Quote
Jner
Friday 5th August 2005 10:22


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 59

Prologue
Oh, excellent! I'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter. I too, am very pleased with how you've portrayed Ginny. She's a very stong girl, especially when it comes to Harry. How long did she wait for him? I don't think she'll give up on him that easily. Nor will Harry be able to push her from his mind. Excellent job. Well done. More!!
  Quote
critmo
Friday 5th August 2005 00:38


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

Prologue
I was afraid soemthing like that would happen. Why does Harry have to be such an idiot? - Well written, anyway.
  Quote
jamadagni
Friday 5th August 2005 00:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Prologue
The first post-HBP non-single-shot endeavour eh? Bound to be good. :)

I've not read this yet, but will do so right now, and please do update often! ;)
  Quote
Antosha
Thursday 4th August 2005 21:47


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

Prologue
:smacks Harry about the head and shoulders:

Silly boy.

;-)
  Quote
pfan2
Thursday 4th August 2005 21:01


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 36

Prologue
beautiful - the first multi-chapter HBP story! Yay!

good start, btw!
  Quote
Ima Quidditch Fan
Thursday 4th August 2005 18:50


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Prologue
Wowie, wow-wow!  I loved THAT kiss more than JKRs!
  Quote
DaFalcon
Thursday 4th August 2005 17:22


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 237

Prologue

Very, very good start.

  Quote
kaiserzacc
Thursday 4th August 2005 15:15


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 57

Prologue
that was a great start...i can tell that Harry is going to have some major problems with leaving Ginny behind...good he should
  Quote
Antosha
Thursday 4th August 2005 14:28


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

Prologue
:smacks Harry about the head and shoulders:

Silly boy.

;-)
  Quote
met19
Thursday 4th August 2005 14:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Prologue
what a beginning!  you show how ginny understands harry and how the others really don't and you also show how they desire each other.....let the h/g flow......
  Quote
tess
Thursday 4th August 2005 14:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Prologue

              *sigh*

 

I know it has to be that way. but it irks me just the same.

Brilliantly done - I appreciate the way you've captured Ginny's approach to the situation.. she's a very smart woman and you've got her down to that in a few lines. Well done!

  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 30 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004