Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For I Needed a Friend by Majick

Showing 1 to 18 of 18
Thorn
Wednesday 17th December 2008 22:03


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

I Needed a Friend
that so sad i'm crying it was very good and tuching
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 26th October 2007 19:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

I Needed a Friend
wow!!! I think that this was well written! Not many fanfics are out there that harry doesnt survive the final battle in some way!
  Quote
Maximaleeni
Friday 23rd June 2006 13:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

I Needed a Friend
*wipes away a tear*
  Quote
cherry30023
Friday 5th May 2006 01:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

I Needed a Friend
I am crying! if someone come's in right now they will wonder why I a bawling my eyes out in front of a computer, and i'll tell them, because I have, that I had just read a really good, fantastic, great, excellent, and sad story!
  Quote
milangelic
Tuesday 18th April 2006 21:40


I Needed a Friend
I've read the entire X-Wing series myself, so I understand the reference...

Not bad. Not bad at all. I was interested in the parallels you drew between Ron & Harry's relationship compared to Face & Phanan's.

As for critique- The beggining conversation with Hermione didn't seem to express the emotions that Ron must be feeling. I understand that just dialogue adds a particular atmosphere to the fic, but I can't help thinking that some description would have helped create the mood you were looking for.

  Quote
InnerHermione
Wednesday 8th March 2006 09:01


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

I Needed a Friend
I loved this! The dialogue/letter format was great --- it isolated feelings and thoughts, and kept the insecurities and eyes darting and awkward coughs out of it. Those, of course, have their place and can be very effective, but this was a great take on the subject and you handled both the storyline and the format really well.
  Quote
PHsname
Saturday 27th August 2005 00:02


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 161

I Needed a Friend

not bad...not bad.  definitely not the kind of outcome that i'm looking forward to, but still, this was...well, to be honest, fair.

hmm...after your AN, i was prepared for something huge...haha

to be completely honest with u, i was disappointed in that sense.  :\

oh well...

it was well done in the sense that u managed to pull it off with dialogue only, no descriptions, or any of that other stuff, at all.  aside from that, with more tweaking, it could have turned out a lot better.

keep writing!! :D

  Quote
Jake
Tuesday 23rd August 2005 12:09


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 323

I Needed a Friend
It wasn't as emotionally charged as I Was prepared for but it was still good. That's just how Harry would do it though, sacrifice himself and tell everyone to be proud of Ron for being there.  Great job, it wasn't too depressing, but it was good. Keep up the great work.

-Jake
  Quote

Monday 22nd August 2005 07:10


I Needed a Friend
Well done, but ... where's Ginny?
Majick
Monday 22nd August 2005 15:52
I Needed a Friend (Author Response)
Alas, there was no room for her - and since HBP it adds an even greater punch that Harry never got the chance to make things right with her 
  Quote

Friday 19th August 2005 20:59


I Needed a Friend
awww that was so sad...but sorta happy 2...idk im still tryin to make up my mind...great job!!
Majick
Monday 22nd August 2005 06:00
I Needed a Friend (Author Response)

I wanted to get both sides in there, just to show that Ron could come out of it and look forward to life again.

Thanks for the review!

  Quote
dragon-breeder
Friday 19th August 2005 17:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

I Needed a Friend

To everyone who cried.... including me...

This was SO touching! I just hope it doesn't happen like that in the end though.... I would definitely sob.

Majick
Monday 22nd August 2005 05:59
I Needed a Friend (Author Response)

I hope so too! I don't think JKR could be that cruel.

Thanks for the review!

  Quote
juliet
Thursday 18th August 2005 16:25


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

I Needed a Friend
Well written.  Heart stopping, scary, not the way I want it all to turn out, but never the less - well done.  The letter from Harry confirming Ron as his rock was exceptional.
(Off to cry now)
Majick
Monday 22nd August 2005 05:57
I Needed a Friend (Author Response)
Thanks! Lots of people seem to cry when reading this - Can't imagine why
  Quote
a paradox
Thursday 18th August 2005 13:51


I Needed a Friend
...that has to be the best (and only to my knowledge.) parallel ever written for the good doctor's death from Iron Fist. Interesting though, how both Harry and Ton seemed to think alike, about having no future. Guess Harry's was taken away at a young age by good old Voldemort. Nice if not a depressing change from the multitudes of stories that describe the boy as fighting tooth and nail for a future. This, this was something different. A good different. Bang up job
Majick
Monday 22nd August 2005 05:55
I Needed a Friend (Author Response)

The prophecy was playing heavily on my mind while writing this, as one interpretation could have been that if one died, so would the other.

Thanks for the review!

  Quote

Thursday 18th August 2005 10:49


I Needed a Friend
that made me cry! it was well written and i loved it!
Majick
Monday 22nd August 2005 05:53
I Needed a Friend (Author Response)
Thanks! Glad to have reached you.
  Quote
caroline
Thursday 18th August 2005 04:24


I Needed a Friend
eeek. that was good. very good.... but I hope to god that that is no how it ends....
Majick
Monday 22nd August 2005 05:52
I Needed a Friend (Author Response)
Oh, me too! But it's a possibility...
  Quote

Thursday 18th August 2005 03:46


I Needed a Friend

excellent

 

Majick
Monday 22nd August 2005 05:51
I Needed a Friend (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
DailyProphetReporting
Thursday 18th August 2005 01:04


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 180

I Needed a Friend
Wow, that's a bit haunting. But it's also not too far off how I was seeing the end of Book 7 playing in my head as I was reading the latter stages of HBP. OK, so maybe Harry catching an Avada Kedavra is uniquely yours, but him sacrificing himself to defeat the Dark Lord, welcoming mutual destruction? Frankly, from a logical standpoint, it seems like the most probable positive outcome of the series at this point. Kudos for giving that substance -- something  I don't think many people of our shipping preference would even try -- and for doing it such a well-written, in-character way.

You also did a very nice job giving it all meaning with Harry's letter. I found this bit particularly well conceived:

I told you, didn't I? I was nearly put in Slytherin. The Hat wanted me to go there, said I'd be great. I would have been, too. I would have taken Voldemort's place. Either that or died early when my ambition got the better of me.

But you kept me grounded, mate. You were always there, always a show of what I was fighting for.

That really fits, but it's something that I'd never even given serious thought to in this particular way before. It really is probable that Harry would have been in Slytherin if it hadn't been for Ron. He really needed a friend -- and not just any friend, but the right friend. It really gave the whole story a lot more impact, emphasizing why Harry was doing what he was doing.

Anyway, very nicely done. But you'll have to pardon me for holding out some hope that JKR has a bit less tragic conclusion finish plan.
-KC
Majick
Monday 22nd August 2005 05:50
I Needed a Friend (Author Response)

Oh, I hope so too. And I doubt that Harry will be catching any AKs in the near future

Thanks for the review!

  Quote
HisGirl
Wednesday 17th August 2005 23:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

I Needed a Friend
You know it's funny, this entire story was practically dialouge. No description whatsoever. And usually that bothers me about an author's way of writing. I can't picture a thing without description. But the way you wrote it, I could see everything and imagine myself there. I was literally sucked into the story because the way you wrote this, was brilliantly unique. Therefore, I applaude for your wonderful story. Keep Writing!
Majick
Monday 22nd August 2005 05:32
I Needed a Friend (Author Response)
I wanted to try something different with this - showing, not telling, as you noticed. I'm glad that it worked, as I wasn't sure if the emotions would come through, but the reviews seem to suggest that they did
  Quote
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004