Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Vigil by Arnel

Showing 1 to 16 of 16
ngayonatkailanman
Thursday 26th July 2012 07:18


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Vigil
Merlin. This is what I am doing on a very rare very hot July day in London, just before the start of the 2012 Olympics. Reading one of your most interesting stories.
Arnel
Friday 27th July 2012 10:01
Vigil (Author Response)
I'm glad you find it interesting. Thanks for reading.

Enjoy the Olympics. I know I will too.
  Quote
hihavaniceda
Friday 12th December 2008 01:51


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

Vigil
mm I did like that !
Arnel
Friday 12th December 2008 05:23
Vigil (Author Response)
I'm so glad. Thanks for telling me.
  Quote
twinsmom
Thursday 24th July 2008 08:32


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

Vigil
This was really great. I've often wondered about Hermione's parents. I like how you've portrayed them. I do see them a bit differently. But, your way is definitely more loving.

I think they love Hermione in their way, but I think they must be a bit self involved. I've seen them as old money, work-aholics. Doing their own thing. With Hermione as a (here's an American phrase) latch-key kid, brought up by a nanny or herself. Happy to have her there or not. I think Hermione is very accepting of them. They are proud of her. Proud of her smarts, they are smart, too. But, kind of distanced which works in her favor now, cause she doesn't really have to work that hard to get them to let her stay at school or go to the Weasley's instead of their vacations at Christmas. Anyhoo!!!

Love this! Love how grown up Ron is acting. And how Ron has interacted with her parents over the years. It was really great how he took over for Harry and told the story comfortably to Hermione's Mom, too.
~christy
Arnel
Thursday 24th July 2008 09:48
Vigil (Author Response)
Christy,
Thanks for telling me about your view of Hermione's parents. I love learning how others have seen the characters because so much of what I write comes from digging into the memories of my own upbringing. I really like your latch-key kid angle for Hermione's childhood because it's so easy to picture her as one; she's incredibly independent at age eleven when we first meet her and it could very well have come from the fact that she practically raised herself due to the minimal contact she had with her parents when she was younger.

Another influence on my writing [especially in this story, its sequel "Trying to Understand" and "Family Crisis"] is the fact that I'm a mother myself. After I finished OotP it really bugged me that Hermione hadn't been forthright with her parents about her involvement in Harry's fight with Voldemort and I began wondering how her parents really felt. The result was "Vigil".

I'm really glad you like my Ron. The more I read the books, the more I think that deep down, under all his insecurities and immature antics, Ron has a solid foundation influenced by his parents that lets him rise to the occasion when he needs to. Therefore, it was easy to imagine him doing what he does in this story as a shadow of the man we get a glimpse of in the Epilogue of DH.

Thanks for this wonderful review. I look forward to reading more of your opinions.

~Arnel
  Quote

Sunday 10th February 2008 03:02


Vigil
cool
Arnel
Monday 11th February 2008 00:14
Vigil (Author Response)
Thanks.
  Quote
alzeeb
Wednesday 7th November 2007 11:45


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

Vigil
brilliant
Arnel
Wednesday 7th November 2007 12:13
Vigil (Author Response)
Glad you like it.
  Quote
bookish327
Tuesday 23rd October 2007 06:58


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

Vigil
EXCELLENT STORY! You nailed all the characters perfectly. I enjoyed you going through Mrs. Granger's understanding of the important events of the trio's first five years. It was all so interesting filtered through a Muggle parent's perspective, and it gave us more insight into everything that has happened. I especially liked the parts where Ron and Mrs. Granger corresponded when Hermione couldn't or was too busy revising to do so herself. How sweet. I also thought it was insightful about Mr. Granger realizing that Harry didn't have much experience dealing with parents other than Mr. and Mrs. Weasley, and that he probably felt somewhat responsible for their daughter being hurt. You really filled in the gaps about what the Grangers would have thought about Hermione spending most of her holidays with the Weasleys and Harry, rather than them.

Wonderful job!
Arnel
Tuesday 23rd October 2007 08:19
Vigil (Author Response)
I'm so glad you liked my story. Due to some of Hermione's comments in OotP I began wondering just exactly what Mr. and Mrs. Granger understood about the state of the Wizarding world and their daughter's involvement in the resistance against Voldemort. This led to some speculation about the possibility of Muggle parents being allowed to sit at their son's/daughter's bedside if necessary and what might exactly be going through Mrs Granger's head while she waited for Hermione to regain consciousness. The rest came readily because in canon we see so many of Harry's thoughts, including those that show how responsible he feels when the people he is closest to are hurt.

Thanks for letting me know how much you enjoyed this story. I hope you'll read its sequel, Trying to Understand soon. It picks up on Mrs Granger's thoughts after the events HBP.
  Quote
Lofidi
Monday 6th August 2007 19:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Vigil
I know this story isn't exactly new, but I thought I should leave a review anyway.

I have always wondered what would it be like for a Muggle parent to have your child go to Hogwarts and enter a world they barely know of. I'm pretty certain it's not an easy experience, and it must be harder for parents like Hermione's, after all, she's been involved in a lot of things.

I loved your portrayal of Hermione's mother. You don't ever describe her, but after reading the story one does feel as if you had. I think that is a great gift for an storywriter.

It does add a lot of perspective to have fanfics that like this, explore the other side of some event. Thanks a lot for a good read. Oh, an please forgive any grammar or spelling mistakes, english is not my mother language.
Arnel
Monday 6th August 2007 19:26
Vigil (Author Response)
All reviews are welcome because they tell me that my stories are being read and appreciated by those who read them.

When I finished reading Order of the Phoenix I was struck by the fact that Hermione was going to have to go home and face her parents with the truth about the Wizarding world and I wondered what it would be like to actually be Mrs. Granger. By writing the story the way I did, I didn't need a physical description of her: the only things that were necessary were her memories, her feelings and her perception of what had happened to Hermione.

Thank you for your thoughts and encouraging words. I'm really glad you like my story.
  Quote
pyromain
Saturday 9th June 2007 10:16


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Vigil
Just great, a real bonus to the original story. Thanks for this.
Arnel
Saturday 9th June 2007 19:16
Vigil (Author Response)
You're welcome! It's nice to get comments like yours two years after a story was posted. Thanks for reading and taking the time to tell me you liked my story.
  Quote
blankxinxthexmind
Friday 16th December 2005 16:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Vigil

I loved this story. I have read it before a while back and, amazingly enough, I still remember it. It was that good! I loved that it was in Mrs. Granger's point-of-view, since not many stories are in her perspective. Thanks for letting me enjoy this story!

 

Arnel
Friday 16th December 2005 22:13
Vigil (Author Response)

Thanks for the review.  I'm really glad that you liked it so much the first time that you'd give it a second reading.  When I finished the last chapters of OotP I was left with the distinct impression that something was missing.  It really bothered me that as sick as Hermione was her parents were nowhere to be seen.  That got me pondering what it might feel to be Hermione's mother...the result is archived here. 

  Quote
J.R. Lewis
Monday 19th September 2005 16:05


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Vigil
Cool story from Mrs. Granger's viewpoint. I start imagining what their look at the Hogwarts grounds was like (hint).     
Arnel
Tuesday 20th September 2005 22:09
Vigil (Author Response)
I'm sure the Grangers took their time and admired the beauty of the castle and the surrounding grounds.  Who knows...maybe they even found a secluded spot down by the lake in which to talk and explore their relief that their daughter will recover.  I'm really glad you liked the story.  Thanks for the nice review.
  Quote

Monday 29th August 2005 07:02


Vigil
Well written and interesting. - We know so little about Hermione's parents.
Arnel
Monday 29th August 2005 07:33
Vigil (Author Response)

Thank you for the review.  I had a lot of fun imagining how her parents felt about what their daughter was involved in and whether or not they regretted sending Hermione to a wizarding school as opposed to a Muggle school.

 

  Quote
Harry Luvs Ginny
Sunday 28th August 2005 17:40


Vigil
Amazing...great to see the storry through another persons eyes...Ron and Hermoin WILL BE TOGETHER SOME DAY!!!!
Arnel
Monday 29th August 2005 01:04
Vigil (Author Response)

I agree!  JKR did a very nice job of showing how Ron's and Hermione's relationship is developing and I'm quite glad that there is still hope for all the Ron/Hermione shippers out there!

I'm glad you liked the story.  As a parent myself, I found it easy to sit back and ponder just what the Grangers were feeling about their daughter's activities.  I'm not sure I would have allowed Hermione to be gone so much from my life without knowing a little more about what she was really doing.

Thanks for your review.

  Quote
PHsname
Sunday 28th August 2005 09:57


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 161

Vigil

very nice, very well done.

it's very rare we get some kind of outside perspective on the events occurring in the main characters' experiences.  you did very well in guaging how Hermione's parents would have reacted and acted, and did well on the characterization for Harry, Ron and Hermione as well in my opinion.

good job...:D

Arnel
Monday 29th August 2005 00:59
Vigil (Author Response)

Thanks for your review.  As a parent myself, I found that writing from Mrs. Granger's point of view came quiet easily.  Hermione certainly has managed to keep her parents ignorant of what is going on in the Wizarding world; I felt that this ignorance was driving a wedge between her and her parents and that it was time for Mr. and Mrs. Granger to be at their daughter's side when she awoke.  The rest of Mrs. Granger's thoughts came easily.

As for Ron, Harry and Hermione, I was worried that readers would find them a little too open, but after reading Book 6 I suppose I shouldn't have worried.  I'm glad you liked the story.

  Quote
Scruffy
Sunday 28th August 2005 08:45


Vigil

This was very well thought out. The views were close to how I feel her parents would have responded. You should be pleased with the job you have done.

I think JKR has neglected the Granger's far to much. Thanks for filling that gap.

Arnel
Monday 29th August 2005 00:49
Vigil (Author Response)

When I finished Book 5 I had the distinct feeling that something was missing and finally pinpointed the idea that Hermione was not being very fair to her parents by keeping them in the dark about her activities.  It struck me that, as a parent, I would feel quite left out of my daughter's life and extremely worried about what was happening to her when I received notification that she was in the hospital.  Therefore, it was easy to follow my instinct and write the story from Mrs. Granger's eyes.

Thanks for your kind review.

  Quote
amamama
Sunday 28th August 2005 00:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Vigil
That was way cool!  Great to see Hermione's years at Hogwarts from her mum's POV.  Well done!  And Ron has obviously captured his future (I won't have it any other way) mother-in-law's heart as well.

Great pice!  Thanks for sharing.
Arnel
Monday 29th August 2005 00:42
Vigil (Author Response)
I'm really glad you liked the story.  I've always wondered what the parents think when they receive notification of their child's landing him- or herself in the hospital wing and the end of OotP provided the perfect opportunity to explore the idea.  Thanks for your kind review.
  Quote
GovCampbell
Saturday 27th August 2005 19:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Vigil

I heartily approve of that sentiment, but then of course, you knew that.

Nice job! I really enjoyed the alternate point of view. Always nice to get someone else's thoughts in.

Just one FYI, there is one spot where a beta comment slipped through, I think:

" I've--we've been so worried about you, Hermione," he tells her in a hushed voice. "I, erm, we [what do you think of italicising this we?] were scared you wouldn't make it."

 

Arnel
Monday 29th August 2005 00:33
Vigil (Author Response)

Thanks for the heads-up on the beta comment.  As soon as I read your review I e-mailed my beta to have her fix it.

I'm really glad you liked the story.  I was hoping that it would not turn AU when I read HBP and was happy that the last sentence was very indicitive of what seems to have happened at the end of Book 6.

  Quote
Showing 1 to 16 of 16
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004