Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Fudge's Pet Auror by mbwun5

Showing 1 to 9 of 9
amamama
Friday 9th September 2005 10:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Fudge's Pet Auror
Cool!  I like suprising, alternative POV's/missing moments.  This was a splendid mixture of both.

The story about how his sister's rebellion-that-went-wrong had shaped him was great.  Too bad the girl didn't listen when he gave her a second chance.

Really nice one-shot.  Thanks a lot!
mbwun5
Sunday 11th September 2005 10:55
Fudge's Pet Auror (Author Response)
Thanks for reading, I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
Aaran St Vines
Thursday 8th September 2005 19:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 45

Fudge's Pet Auror
This was very well done. I am NOT a Dawlish fan, and I think this is well done. If you want to like him this is the best I can imagine.

If I was a Dawlish fan, I would say that this is brilliant!
mbwun5
Thursday 8th September 2005 21:15
Fudge's Pet Auror (Author Response)

Thanks for reading and leaving a review, even if you aren't a Dawlish fan. 

What do you have against Dawlish if you don't mind my asking?  Is it canon based or from things you've read in other fics?

  Quote
jadzialove
Thursday 8th September 2005 19:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Fudge's Pet Auror

Casey, you know I love this story and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it again.  You managed to create a fleshed-out, sympathetic human being of a little-known, and seemingly thuggish, background character. 

The story didn't suffer at all for the cleansing it went through.  I have to confess that the toned down language actually seemed to make Dawlish even more sympathetic, to me anyway.  I didn't miss it a bit.

I'm glad that I was able to help you out, but I've said it before: this story is all you, I just pushed you a little bit to get started.  If I hadn't, I'm sure you would have got around to it eventually.

mbwun5
Thursday 8th September 2005 21:13
Fudge's Pet Auror (Author Response)

You're right, the story didn't suffer too much for the clensing.  Even I think that some of the cleaned up language is better, but I do wish I didn't have to take quite as far as I did.  There are some things that I would have really liked to have kept. 

Thanks for the review and reading the fic again for the however manyth time this was.  :)

  Quote
tonks442
Thursday 8th September 2005 17:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

Fudge's Pet Auror
Wow! You really did a great job of turning this scene to Dawlish's POV. Keep up the good work! 
  Quote
Hank
Thursday 8th September 2005 07:51


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 158

Fudge's Pet Auror

Very nice story.  I loved the backstory touches with the sister who joined the Death Eaters for fun and adventure, the girl he let go, and the inconvenience of his becoming Fudge's "Pet Auror".  You've fleshed out Dawlish's character magnificently.  I would enjoy seeing this continued if you could find the inspiration. 

mbwun5
Thursday 8th September 2005 21:08
Fudge's Pet Auror (Author Response)

Thanks for reading.  This fic started with me wanting to write something in the noir genre, so everything started with the girl.  From there everything just kinda fell together. 

I am currently at work on a prequel to this fic, but I won't promise anything as I dont know if or when anyone will ever see it.

  Quote
KEDme
Thursday 8th September 2005 07:17


Fudge's Pet Auror

Even though I've read it before I'll say it again... you've taken a small moment in canon and made it all your own.  I can see great talent lurking just under the surface and I hope you continue to explore it.  With your creative ideas and proficiency with the English language, you could do some great things.  (I'm glad this story wasn't "watered down" from the original, too.)

mbwun5
Thursday 8th September 2005 21:05
Fudge's Pet Auror (Author Response)
Thank you, Kathy.  That means a lot coming from you.  :)  I'm happy with the way the story turned out too.  I do think that it might even be a little better with the language toned down a little.  I do wish I could have kept more, but overall I'm happy with it.
  Quote
Robert Owen
Thursday 8th September 2005 05:00


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 129

Fudge's Pet Auror

So, do I get a prize if I say that DD escaped by changing into the little girl?

 

Robert

 

  Quote
ridgeback77
Wednesday 7th September 2005 18:18


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Fudge's Pet Auror
That was a great story.  I love seeing events from alternate points of view.  The peek we get at Dawlish's personal and professional history was a nice little bonus as well.
mbwun5
Thursday 8th September 2005 21:01
Fudge's Pet Auror (Author Response)
Glad you liked it and thanks for reading.
  Quote
MrRobertsIII
Wednesday 7th September 2005 18:12


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 117

Fudge's Pet Auror
I always imagined Dawlish's badge at the Ministry reading "Dawlish:Flunky to Fools" however your fic did a bit to redeem him.  He may be a pet auror but not because he is like Umbridge.  I never thought that his status as Fudge's stooge may have been because Fudge had something on him.  Not only was that a good idea, but you wrote it very well.  Having his older sister as Death Eater dilettante was a nice touch.
mbwun5
Thursday 8th September 2005 21:01
Fudge's Pet Auror (Author Response)

I never expected Fudge to have anything on Dawlish either, but then he started telling me his story and there you go. 

In every fic featuring Dawlish that I had read he'd always been the bad guy or a jerk.  I just wanted to feature him as more of an antihero than Fudge's eyes and ears amongst Tonks and Kingsley. 

Glad you read the fic and thanks for the review.

  Quote
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004