Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Perfectly Lovely by Starrika

Showing 1 to 13 of 13
Evelyn
Monday 6th February 2006 10:32


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Perfectly Lovely
Ooh, lovely... The quiet atmosphere at the beginning was beautiful - as was the rest of the story.
And for the vous/tu problem, I'd just say that Bill's French is a bit rusty!
  Quote
62442almystery
Sunday 18th September 2005 20:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Perfectly Lovely
I liked how you gave Gabby that personality, I was laughing out loud when I read that she gave Bill a questionnaire. I think your characterization of both Bill and Fleur was great!
Starrika
Saturday 28th January 2006 07:48
Perfectly Lovely (Author Response)
Thank you! I like Gabby having a bit of spunk
  Quote
Stormdelver
Tuesday 13th September 2005 10:08


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 116

Perfectly Lovely
Ok- I can't wait to see how this bridges between HBP and the Lighthouse- I got the impression that "Gabby" has a thing for Harry, a bit og competition for Ginny. But however you work it out I am sure it will be grand. Nice little story and a nice moment from the HBP (well there should have been SOMETHING cheerful about the year).
Starrika
Saturday 28th January 2006 07:49
Perfectly Lovely (Author Response)
Gabby's a bit young for Harry, but she does have a very big crush.
  Quote
amamama
Monday 12th September 2005 09:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Perfectly Lovely
Sweet!  I loved Fleur in HBP, so getting this missing moment was great.  There is depth to her, and she doesn't care much about looks, just like self-confident, beautiful RL women.  And that's part of what makes them such beauties, isn't it?  Great story.

Thanks!
  Quote
MercuryBlue
Sunday 11th September 2005 14:43


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 56

Perfectly Lovely
I was seeing question marks where the quotation marks ought to be. Maybe it was a glitch in the school computer or something, because it's perfectly fine now.
  Quote
Little_White_Lie_6890
Sunday 11th September 2005 09:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Perfectly Lovely
Aww. So cute! I want to read more!!
  Quote
PHsname
Saturday 10th September 2005 19:21


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 161

Perfectly Lovely

lol.

good job, this was a beautiful story...i enjoyed it a lot. 

haha...i like your Gabriel...a questionnaire?  haha.

  Quote
lilyp
Saturday 10th September 2005 11:57


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 64

Perfectly Lovely
I'd just like to make an observation. In French the pronoun "vous" is used in two different settings: When you are talking to more than one person or when you are talking to someone you are not intimate with or someone that is quite older or more important than yourself. It's a rather pompous way of calling someone. Nobody would use "vous" when addressing a friend and certainly not  a fiancÚ (e). You should have used "tu" for the sentence Je vous aimerai toujours. Mon coeur est Ó vous. That would be: Je t'aimerai toujours. Mon coeur est Ó toi. 
  Quote

Saturday 10th September 2005 08:10


Perfectly Lovely

Well, I could be wrong, but I thought the 'vous' form denoted a more serious conversation, or a higher amount of respect with it's formality. I wanted Bill to be very serious in what he was saying, and I felt like the 'vous' form put more emotion behind it. However, I could be wrong about the vous/tu distinctions, as my French is a little rusty.

  Quote
Jackie
Saturday 10th September 2005 07:18


Perfectly Lovely
Cute story. It's nice to see Fleur with some depth. My only nitpick, and it really is minor, is when Bill says "I love you" to Fleur in French, wouldn't he use the tu form (Je t'aime) instead of the vous form--which is much more formal?
Starrika
Saturday 10th September 2005 08:11
Perfectly Lovely (Author Response)
Thought I had replied to you, but instead posted an anonymous review. Above your review is my understanding of the vous/tu distinction, but I could be wrong. Thanks for your review!
  Quote
MercuryBlue
Saturday 10th September 2005 05:58


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 56

Perfectly Lovely
It's beautiful and all, but what's up with the question marks?
Starrika
Saturday 10th September 2005 08:12
Perfectly Lovely (Author Response)
I'm not sure what you mean by question marks. I checked my formatting, and I'm not seeing any other than those that end the sentence.
  Quote
Ladybug
Saturday 10th September 2005 02:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Perfectly Lovely
Yes, indeed, this was 'perfectly lovely'! You created the mood beautifully and I was completely captivated by Bill and Fleur's interaction - it was very natural and believable. It's always great to reach the end of a story and think, 'oh, was I just reading fanfiction? I forgot!'
Starrika
Saturday 10th September 2005 08:13
Perfectly Lovely (Author Response)
Thank you very much! That's the best praise you can give an author :)
  Quote
OHGinnyfan
Friday 9th September 2005 18:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Perfectly Lovely
Oh *sigh*  This is perfectly lovely.  Very nice portrayal of both Bill and Fleur, but esp. Bill.  I just love how the two conversed with each other.  It was just beautiful.  Thanks for sharing it with the 'Song.
Starrika
Saturday 10th September 2005 08:14
Perfectly Lovely (Author Response)
Thank you. I wasn't too sure of Bill at first, but the more I wrote, the more I felt I captured his character. Of course, hearing praise that I did helps too :)
  Quote
Showing 1 to 13 of 13
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004