Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Fourth Time's the Charm by Aggiebell

Showing 1 to 14 of 14
bookish327
Wednesday 13th August 2008 17:46


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

Fourth Time's the Charm
You were so close pairing him with Susan, rather than Hannah. It makes sense for him to end up with a Hufflepuff either way. I think Susan works just as well as Hannah, and I love how you wrote Susan here. I can completely picture Neville being a bit of a trial as a husband, but I can also imagine that she sees past all of his flaws and loves him a lot for who he is. It makes so much sense that Neville finally succeeds in his gift-giving when he stays true to himself by creating a perfect garden for Susan and naming a beautiful variety of rose he discovered after her. That's the real Neville. Great job!
  Quote
majolie
Tuesday 15th April 2008 18:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Fourth Time's the Charm
Somehow I've never read this before. It's delightful.
  Quote
Patches
Friday 18th May 2007 04:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Fourth Time's the Charm
This is sweet. Neville in my mind is such a gentle loving man that makes mistakes for all the best reasons. This was perfect. Thanks for writing. p
  Quote
Bryher
Monday 14th May 2007 16:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Fourth Time's the Charm
This reminds me *so* much of my husband and I. The first year - paper - I bought him a beautiful big book of maps (he loves maps) and he bought me a little origami book... The second year (leather on my list) I bought him, well some sexy lingerie for me to wear (he liked it!) and he bought me... nothing because he couldn't think of anything leathery! Hey ho - maybe this year he will have a Neville moment! Thanks for making me laugh, Helen
Aggiebell
Monday 14th May 2007 18:14
Fourth Time's the Charm (Author Response)
Hi, Helen!

Thanks so much for taking the time to review (and for tellling your story!). My husband and I never followed the traditional gifts, so luckily I didn't have to find somethng leather for him (although I'm sure he would've liked the sexy lingerie, too ).


~Julie
  Quote
wokka42
Tuesday 20th September 2005 11:34


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 63

Fourth Time's the Charm
Aggiebell, what a cute little story!  You seem to have Neville's character down pat - bumbling and stumbling at times, often to comic effect, but he always has honest and good intentions at heart, and he has a way of surprising us with gallantry and courage.  That all comes through wonderfully in the way he fumbles his way through three anniversary gifts, but finally notches a perfect score with his fourth.  LOL, and I loved the cameos by our Fantastic Four as well.  Nice job!
  Quote
XXXmister-E werepony unit
Monday 19th September 2005 15:19


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

Fourth Time's the Charm
ooh!fluffy and cute!and funny,loved it!
  Quote
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 14th September 2005 08:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

Fourth Time's the Charm
*laughs* That was brilliant, Julie. Neville is the epitome of the clueless husband, but the way he redeemed himself was delightfully in character. You know Susan's not my preferred partner for Neville ( ), but I'll have to keep an eye out for more stories from you with this pairing.
  Quote
Zahri Seb Melitor
Tuesday 13th September 2005 15:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Fourth Time's the Charm
Oh, Julie, you didn't!

What a perfect way to use the challenge. Ron, Harry and Neville should never be allowed to plot together, especially if they're not telling the girls about it. Though, if I were Susan, I would have had a far more serious talk about 'not using lists'.

*hugs* I loved it.
Aggiebell
Tuesday 13th September 2005 20:18
Fourth Time's the Charm (Author Response)
*blinks innocently*

I really felt sorry for Susan while I was writing this, poor thing. But Neville redeemed himself in the end. And you're right. She should have a serious discussion with him about lists.

Thanks, hon!

Julie
  Quote
ridgeback77
Tuesday 13th September 2005 14:02


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Fourth Time's the Charm
Why am I not surpised that Neville would be that clueless when picking out gifts.  Well done, I really liked it.
Aggiebell
Tuesday 13th September 2005 20:15
Fourth Time's the Charm (Author Response)
Poor Neville gets a bum rap, doesn't he? I just remembered him as the bumbling kid in the first few books and extrapolated a bit.

Thanks for the review!

Julie


  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 13th September 2005 07:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Fourth Time's the Charm

Julie, this is so true to life it's hilarious!  I love Neville's attempts to follow Hermione's list of anniversary presents and what he comes up with.  Poor Susan!  Neville is trying so hard to please and keeps putting his foot in it.  However, gift number four is just up his alley and I'm certain Susan will remember his thoughtfulness for a long time to come.  [I have fond memories of my own garden-filled fourth anniversary and the gloxinia houseplant that will never die...even after six years of looking dead every winter!]  Your Neville stories always warm my heart, Julie.  Keep up the great work. 

Congratulations on the up-coming "fourth edition" of your family!

Aggiebell
Tuesday 13th September 2005 20:04
Fourth Time's the Charm (Author Response)


I love posting stories here, because I love your reviews. They always make me glow with happiness.

And may I just say that it is so cool that you for a garden-filled fourth anniversary?

Hee. And thanks for the congrats. Are you trying to influence the munchkin's gender?

Julie



  Quote
amamama
Tuesday 13th September 2005 02:33


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Fourth Time's the Charm
Oh, wonderful! *laughs merrily*  Neville is just too cute.  I can understand Susan's frustration, though.  Why do a lot of men, not just Neville, have such a hard time picking out gifts?  And why do a lot of women have such trouble seeing the true beauty in the gifts they get?  It's quite mind-boggling.  Nevertheless, this fic was a wonderful read, thank you so much!
Aggiebell
Tuesday 13th September 2005 20:00
Fourth Time's the Charm (Author Response)
LOL. Well, I've been married for almost 15 years, and both my husband and I have been guilty of those stereotypes. It is mindboggling, and I have no explanation for it.

Thanks for the review!


Julie
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 13th September 2005 01:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

Fourth Time's the Charm
Very, very, very good. VERY! I love the battle-axe, BTW.
Aggiebell
Tuesday 13th September 2005 19:58
Fourth Time's the Charm (Author Response)
Hee. Thanks; I'm glad you liked it.

Can't you just imagine the poor girl who gets courted by Neville having to deal with his gran?

Julie
  Quote
amulder
Monday 12th September 2005 18:18


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Fourth Time's the Charm
short, sweet, and very funny. 

I like the "voice" you used to write Susan.  

thanks for sharing.
...art
Aggiebell
Tuesday 13th September 2005 19:56
Fourth Time's the Charm (Author Response)
Thanks, Art!  I normally write from Neville's POV, so it was fun to write from Susan's this time around.
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Sunday 6th January 2002 21:54


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

Fourth Time's the Charm
hahaha
get in neville

B
  Quote
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004