Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Dinner with the Weasleys by zoltan42

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 22 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
cam
Friday 9th July 2010 11:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
“Sorry. Reflexes.”



Great line!
  Quote
Dad
Friday 13th February 2009 10:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 478

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
An interesting introduction to what would be a very different book 7 .
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 22nd January 2008 15:47


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
interesting... i thought that it was kinda wierd that harry would spill his guts to all the weasleys... even though they are like family...
  Quote
pyromain
Tuesday 16th October 2007 12:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
loved the story, had me laughing a lot, but the last line has my jaws hurting from laughing.
  Quote
Novera
Thursday 8th June 2006 22:56


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 157

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
wow this is soo sweet
every one shouls read it
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 22nd November 2005 04:16


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
Very fluffy, but I don't see it happen. Too public for a private person like Harry.
  Quote
Hoss
Sunday 30th October 2005 06:10


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
That was good fun to read Thank's.
  Quote
Bucktavius
Friday 28th October 2005 15:45


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 73

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
well done! i thought that it was great! could totally be expanded into a full 7th year fic!
  Quote
Velvethope
Saturday 17th September 2005 01:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
That was perfect. I wish Jo had given us THIS ending. I could live with this, I think. Very nicely handled. I'll be rec'ing it to other people. ;) Thank you for sharing!
zoltan42
Saturday 17th September 2005 06:10
2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation (Author Response)
Thanks.

Personally, I wouldn't worry about the ending too much. I think Ginny and the reconciliation will be a big part of the outcome of the battle against Voldemort. This way she has laid the groundwork for the relationship without having to spend the space in Book 7.

In the Monomyth/Hero's Journey, when the Hero loses the Mentor it is usually with one lesson left that the Hero must learn on his own. Harry has been resistant to Dumbledore's stance that love is the strongest magic. I have a feeling that JKR had them part because we are often blind to how important something is while we have it in our life. It is only by being with Ginny and then being apart that Harry will finally see that Dumbledore was right. Being reunited with Ginny would make the love and the resulting magic stronger, along the lines of "absence makes the heart grow fonder."

Also, if Harry has created a strong Partonus based on the memory/feelings of learning he's a wizard, how much stronger would be one based on the memory of their first kiss or, even better, the feelings of being reconciled with Ginny.

  Quote
Mariposa
Friday 16th September 2005 20:59


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
Wow! This is such a great story! I bet we'll see a scene like this in book 7. It would be so ironic that instead of all of Ginny's brothers getting mad at Harry for dating her they'd get mad at him for breaking up with her. And mr & mrs Weasley would make him see the light and bring them back together.

This was a great story but I think Ginny is stronger than this and will bring Harry around on her own. I guess we'll just have to wait and see.

Good job!
  Quote
saugart
Friday 16th September 2005 08:16


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 71

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
A fun little piece.  I enjoyed reading it.  I agree that this is the most sensible direction for Canon to take.
zoltan42
Saturday 17th September 2005 05:57
2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation (Author Response)
"A fun little piece." That pretty much describes my intentions.

But, I don't know about canon. After writing this I realized that I, like about 90% of those who wrote such stories, conveniently overlooked Ron's statement that they'd have to go to the Burrow for the wedding before they did anything else. This means the Book 7 timeline will probably be along the lines of

         The Burrow/Wedding-->Privet Drive-->Godric's Hollow

Of course, Ron said this before he knew Harry just broke up with Ginny.
  Quote
cckeimig
Friday 16th September 2005 07:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation

Wonderful! You made me cry, then laugh. I'm really enjoying your story.

I'm not sure Harry would so easily spill his guts like this, but it does make for a great read!

  Quote
May
Thursday 15th September 2005 21:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
great story!!!! i thought it was so sweet and i could totally see arthur acting like that.
  Quote
Stormdelver
Thursday 15th September 2005 14:40


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 116

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation

That was very nice- close to a bit too sweet but honestly I have a tear in my eye I'm so happy. Very nice work, so just what is for dessert? Anyway I agree this is the only way that Harry will defeat lord Moldythingy- he needs Ginny to complete him.

  Quote
joanna potter
Thursday 15th September 2005 11:53


2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation

“Voldemort,” Mr. Weasley started, but Ron gasped. “Oh please, this family has had so many run-ins with him and his Death Eaters that we're practically on first-name terms.

LOL I like that XD

I can't wait for dessert! ;)

zoltan42
Thursday 15th September 2005 12:17
2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation (Author Response)
You're the second person who's commented on that line. (The first was for a slightly earlier version of this on another site.)

Oh boy, another call for dessert. I only added that line to bring closure to the dinner motif, hence Harry stating that he'd hate to see what's for dessert and not that he can't wait to see what's for dessert. My goal was to create a version of the presumed reconciliation. I did that. Any more would be redundant.

That's not to say I might not revisit this in the future if I come up with something that isn't a rewrite of this chapter. I've had some calls to follow the two couples outside, but that was just a plot device to get them out of the kitchen. Besides, that would change the focus of the story. Arthur's "Oh Merlin, what have we done?" moment is a possibility, but right now all I can see is that it would just be using the same arguments against him they used against Harry.


  Quote
Treck
Thursday 15th September 2005 09:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
“If our conversation was an Appetizer, and this little ambush was the Main Course, I'd hate to see what's for Dessert!”

Talk about a spit take. That was with out a doubt the best line of the story.
zoltan42
Thursday 15th September 2005 12:23
2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation (Author Response)
I find it interesting what each of us finds funny. You loved that line. Several have loved Arthur's "Voldemort" comment. I've had several comment on the Fred & George moments. (A Beta reader on another site wasn't so sure about the entire family facing Harry, but didn't want to lose the "We know you love her" exchange.) My Beta reader here said she snorted at Hermione's Amortentia moment.

I guess it just goes to show you, humor is nothing to laugh at.
  Quote
Kokopelli
Thursday 15th September 2005 09:07


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 87

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
A lovely outcome, but I wonder about characterization.  Harry, as I see  him, is a very, very private person.  While I could see a conversation like this, one-on-one with either Ron or Hermione, I don't see Harry flopping about emotionally in front of the entire Weasley family.

In addition,  there's an issue with vocabulary - Harry guesses an SAT level word by context in one scene, and in another is using dyspeptic in his internal monolog.  That stuck out like a sore thumb to me.  One or the other of those scenes needed to be tweaked - to have both in the same chapter was - to use another word, anomalous.

Keep writing - I want to see where this goes.

JEC
Disregard the 2nd half of this review - it was meant for Buttamellow's work - I should never, ever try to do reviews at lunchtime for stories I read before breakfast, before I had my coffee.

Bad Kokopelli!  No cookie for you!

JEC
  Quote
Kokopelli
Thursday 15th September 2005 09:03


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 87

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
A lovely outcome, but I wonder about characterization.  Harry, as I see  him, is a very, very private person.  While I could see a conversation like this, one-on-one with either Ron or Hermione, I don't see Harry flopping about emotionally in front of the entire Weasley family.

In addition,  there's an issue with vocabulary - Harry guesses an SAT level word by context in one scene, and in another is using dyspeptic in his internal monolog.  That stuck out like a sore thumb to me.  One or the other of those scenes needed to be tweaked - to have both in the same chapter was - to use another word, anomalous.

Keep writing - I want to see where this goes.

JEC
zoltan42
Thursday 15th September 2005 14:32
2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation (Author Response)
The seed idea for this was "The Weasley's pull an intervention on Harry." I don't believe for a minute that this is how JKR will resolve things, but I thought it would be fun in a "What If?" way. 
  Quote
happydog
Thursday 15th September 2005 06:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
I guess dessert will be served at TBC.net, nudge, nudge, wink, wink, know what I mean? :)...   Good fic.  Keep 'em coming.
  Quote
Hoss
Thursday 15th September 2005 06:19


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

2: In Which Harry and the Weasleys Have a Conversation
Good stuff I'm hopeing for more.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 22 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004