Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Any Chance of Us by Lell

Showing 1 to 19 of 19
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 30th September 2008 20:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Any Chance of Us
nice story
  Quote
pyromain
Sunday 2nd September 2007 14:46


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Any Chance of Us
Is there a sequel? I really loved it so far, will be looking at what else you wrote right now.
  Quote
Ainsley
Monday 2nd January 2006 22:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

Any Chance of Us
I don't know what everyone was running from, if Harry had defeated Voldemort. 
  Quote
SillyGillie
Sunday 9th October 2005 13:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Any Chance of Us
Very adorable ! I loved it! Brilliant.
  Quote
Delani
Sunday 18th September 2005 19:57


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

Any Chance of Us

Wow. I tell ya, wow.  This is looking to be something I know I'll look forward to.

"Harry interrupted, and broke off in a fit of very manly giggles.  "

Manly giggles. *snort* Bout died laughing reading some of this... I really am excited.

Delani

  Quote
Wolf's Scream
Saturday 17th September 2005 15:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 372

Any Chance of Us
Hmm.... this was ... odd.  The story is well-written, but it came across (to me) as excerpt deprived of its context -- rather like when the local "classical" music radio station plays an isolated movement (or less!) of a symphonic work:  I find either rather on the frustrating side.  (I suppose it's less of a concern if it's a familiar work, but imagine someone who had never heard Beethoven's 9th Symphony just hearing the 3rd movement of same, and gaining his whole understanding of the work from that excerpt.  I expect he'd rather wonder what all the fuss was about.)

In the present case, Harry's been apparently isolated (of his own choice, it seems) from Hermione & the Weasleys; unless I overlooked it, we never really do find out why he chose to do that:  six years is a rather long time.  We read that Ginny was practically living as a Muggle for some time, but again, unless I missed it, we aren't given much in the way of background to understand why.

And the end reminds me rather forcibly of the poem that Humpty Dumpty repeats to Alice, and which "was written entirely for [her] amusement;" it begins:

In winter, when the fields are white
I sing this song for your delight --

(This is in the chapter of _Through the Looking-Glass_ entitled "Humpty Dumpty," and is near the end of that chapter, just after she has asked him about some of the more obscure terminology in "Jabberwocky.")

If you read the poem, I think you'll understand why I likened its end to that of your story.  :-)

Now, if you'd care to fill in some of the missing pieces with as much skill as you showed in writing this, that would be grand!  :-)
  Quote
Fuzzy
Saturday 17th September 2005 08:24


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 111

Any Chance of Us

Wow! You have to come out with more soon! This story rocks!

  Quote
Larna Mandrea
Saturday 17th September 2005 05:51


Any Chance of Us
Just had to comment that this was brilliant, and amazingly well-written. Thanks so much, and do take care.
  Quote

Friday 16th September 2005 17:47


Any Chance of Us
wow.  you suck...how could you end it that abruptly?  theres a lot more to the story and i  need you to write it for me
  Quote
hpiknut
Friday 16th September 2005 17:03


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

Any Chance of Us
This was very good.  I felt so bad for Harry being so mixed up.  It' was so sweet that Hermione & Ron were waiting for him to stay put so they could get married.  I hope you are planning a follow-up story.
  Quote
TigerLily8186
Friday 16th September 2005 16:01


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 97

Any Chance of Us
Oh poor Harry. You have him so confused. It made me sad. This was quite lovely. I love the end where you leave us to decide.
  Quote
juliet
Friday 16th September 2005 15:54


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

Any Chance of Us
More please!
  Quote
Buttamellow
Friday 16th September 2005 15:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Any Chance of Us
Hello m'dear,

It's your friendly Southern Version here to give you a little love.  As you know, I love the story.  It turned out so well.  *grins*  I love how you took a simple song that I gave you and turned it into this.  It's awesome.  (Can't wait until the sequel either.  Oops, I probably wasn't supposed to say that.  *winks*)

Anyways, I don't care- I think it's perfect the way it is.  I love the cliffie/drop off.  It leaves much to the imagination.  And- you know that I absolutely adore Drunk!Harry in this. 

Fabulous job, darlin!
  Quote
PHsname
Friday 16th September 2005 14:17


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 161

Any Chance of Us

very nice story, well-written, and good flow.

it'd be fun to see where this could go if u kept it going, like some of the other reviewers said.

once again, well done.  :D

  Quote
Ichtys
Friday 16th September 2005 14:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Any Chance of Us

great story.

However I wonder if some of it is missing. The word counts differ quite a lot, depending where you read it. The front page says 16,453; but in the top of the story it says 7,847. If the last part of the story is missing, then I look forward to the rest. (I enjoyed the story as it is, don't misunderstand me, but it is a rather sudden end to a great story)

  Quote
catfood
Friday 16th September 2005 13:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Any Chance of Us
It's a grand story: but it feels unfinished, even for a one-shot.  But it flows nicely and the unsaid background details are such that they don't feel like there are unweildy gaps: it all fits nicely.  If only it didn't end so abruptly...
  Quote
happydog
Friday 16th September 2005 13:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

Any Chance of Us
Good story.  Like Bucktavius I think you could easily keep going. However, it's also good as a one shot.  Keep writing others.

Happydog.
  Quote
Bucktavius
Friday 16th September 2005 12:38


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 73

Any Chance of Us
an excellent story, but c'mon you can't leave it like this! this is a superb start to something! why was he travelling? what happened at the battle? what the heck are Ron and Hermoine upto? still it is excellent
  Quote
ridgeback77
Friday 16th September 2005 12:26


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Any Chance of Us
Good work.  I enjoyed it.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 19 of 19
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004