Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Making Of A Wand by Gridley

Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
gymnastgal19
Monday 1st September 2008 16:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Making Of A Wand
  Quote
angeli
Saturday 1st March 2008 09:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

The Making Of A Wand
this story is pleasent, but rather anticlimax....
  Quote
majolie
Monday 7th January 2008 18:51


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

The Making Of A Wand
Great. I think that Neville's wand being of the same core has an interesting significance. I'll have to read your longer work this weekend. If I start it now, I am afraid I will blow off work all day tomorrow and that would be bad ....

but tempting!
  Quote
Worldmaker
Tuesday 18th December 2007 07:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

The Making Of A Wand
Very, very cool. I may have to use this story as part background for a story I am currently working out myself.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 2nd October 2007 15:51


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Making Of A Wand
lol. i knew that it was neville as soon as you said a handme done and it was destroyed! good job though
  Quote
Erin
Wednesday 28th February 2007 14:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 36

The Making Of A Wand
Oooh, I like it. Would be very fitting with the whole Harry of Neville thing, and he always was more brave than everyone expected.
Erin
Gridley
Friday 20th July 2007 09:16
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)
I really WAS expecting great things from Neville in Half-Blood Prince. I was rather dissapointed.
  Quote
ImmortalPhoenix
Saturday 19th August 2006 19:17


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

The Making Of A Wand
I'm sitting here thinking... "...uh...huh...? Wha??" l0l It was kinda funny.

Kortnee
Gridley
Friday 20th July 2007 09:15
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)
When I read in OotP that Neville's wand was broken, I realized there was an opportunity to put him in center stage in my main plotline (Grand Alliance/Bond/Price of Freedom). So, as an exercise, an introduction, and do accomplish that goal, I wrote this.
  Quote
sonicdale
Tuesday 27th September 2005 20:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

The Making Of A Wand
Very subtle, but I guess we all kinda *knew* where the wand would end up.
I look forward to reading your longer fic.
Good work!
Gridley
Wednesday 28th September 2005 06:10
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)
Yes, there's that feeling of 'its a surprise, but it isn't' isn't there?
  Quote
Narumi
Friday 23rd September 2005 09:39


The Making Of A Wand
Oh, that gave me chills! It's absolutely perfect that Neville got the last wand!
Gridley
Wednesday 28th September 2005 06:09
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)
Well, I thought so. Jo apparently doesn't agree with me. :-(
  Quote
ridgeback77
Thursday 22nd September 2005 18:21


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

The Making Of A Wand
Nice little fic.
Gridley
Friday 23rd September 2005 06:13
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
amamama
Wednesday 21st September 2005 04:30


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

The Making Of A Wand
Interesting twist!  I, too, long for Neville to get a wand that will help him bring out his true potential.  I liked the way Ollivander listened to the phoenix feather, letting the feather decide which wood it wanted, and then that he thanked the tree for its contribution.  Some parts of the story seem unnecessary staccato, and I wonder if combining two sentences, instead of having several short ones, would have eased that.  (Since you asked for constructive critisism, that is what I try to give)

I really liked this take on Neville's new wand, great idea.  Thanks for sharing!

Berte
Gridley
Wednesday 21st September 2005 05:56
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)
I DO want constructive criticism, and that certainly qualifies. In general I'm trying, over the course of time, to make my writing less choppy and abrupt - my default style is more suited to a screenplay than text writing. Thanks, and please keep it up!
  Quote
dreamwitheyeswideopen.
Tuesday 20th September 2005 19:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

The Making Of A Wand
quite a nice story. i really enjoyed it. yay for story of the week!!! it is a well deserved recognition...off to read HPGA
Gridley
Wednesday 21st September 2005 05:53
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)
I was more than a little surprised - I didn't even know I'd been nominated!
  Quote
cckeimig
Monday 19th September 2005 20:33


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

The Making Of A Wand
Nice! I love it when people give Neville more importance in the HP world. I think he deserves the attention!
Gridley
Wednesday 21st September 2005 05:53
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)

If you're a Neville fan, I'll just quickly mention that he's a pivotal character in the Grand Alliance trilogy too (Harry Potter and the Grand Alliance, Harry Potter and the Bond, Harry Potter and the Price of Freedom, all archived here at PS.net). Not always a major character, but a key one who I build the story around.

  Quote
Arnel
Monday 19th September 2005 06:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

The Making Of A Wand

I'm so glad this story made it to the "Story of the Week" list.  I never tire of coming back to it because its a story that makes me smile every time I read it.  I'm glad Neville is the recipient of the wand; I can think of no one more deserving of it.

Congratulations!  I'm off to re-read your other stories.

Gridley
Wednesday 21st September 2005 05:51
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)
Thanks! This story is special for me, too - and not just because it was the first thing I got published.
  Quote
XXXmister-E werepony unit
Sunday 4th September 2005 21:03


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

The Making Of A Wand
*claps hands*well done.
Gridley
Saturday 10th September 2005 05:31
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)
Wow! Been quite a while since someone reviewed this. So I'll dig up an old piece of trivia: this was the story that got me into the idea of actually publishing fanfic. SugarQuill (pre-OotP) was having a contest, which sparked this story. I never published it there, but it became one of the elements around which the Grand Alliance trilogy coalesced. But that is another story...
  Quote

Monday 13th December 2004 18:33


The Making Of A Wand
who comes up with these??
Gridley
Sunday 19th December 2004 07:08
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)
I don't know, but I've always been a believer in words over smileys, so I don't pay them much attention.
  Quote
Shadow Hider
Monday 6th December 2004 20:44


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 123

The Making Of A Wand
oh wow... off to read the Grand Alliance ^_^
Gridley
Monday 6th December 2004 23:42
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)

You're probably one of the first people in a while to read the whole series in order. :-)

Thanks for reviewing!

  Quote
jabarber69
Tuesday 23rd November 2004 23:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

The Making Of A Wand

I liked this story, at the end when you mentioned hand me down and it had been broken, I figured it was ron, then when I scrolled down and saw neville you could of knocked me out of my chair....

well written, well thought out, you have a great imagination. also a skill of writing that I like. thank you for the chance to read your stuff.

Gridley
Monday 29th November 2004 08:43
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)

Yes! I surprised someone! Victory!

OK, I'm better now. :-)

  Quote
Sarah
Saturday 13th November 2004 13:22


The Making Of A Wand

I liked this one a lot.

Ironic and a very good end.  Yes, Neville's new wand should be special.

Gridley
Saturday 13th November 2004 21:01
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)
Of everything I've written, this is the thing I'd most like to see in canon - it CAN'T be a coincidence that Neville's second-hand wand was broken, the difficulties of second hand wands being planted in SS, and the comments in OotP about Neville getting better. He HAS to get a new wand, and play an important part.
  Quote
Aberforth's Avatar
Friday 12th November 2004 21:21


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

The Making Of A Wand
I very much enjoyed reading this piece.  Your story made me wonder how Stradivarius would have felt about the process of chosing the right wood for one of his violins.  Would he have felt that the process of shaping and joining the pieces was simply a matter of professionalism and craftsmanship once the right wood had been found?  I have felt that Mr. Ollivander was akin to teh great violin makers.  Your story crystallized that impression.  How fitting that Neville should wind up with a new wand with Fawkes' feather in its core.
Gridley
Saturday 13th November 2004 08:04
The Making Of A Wand (Author Response)

I'm hardly a master craftsman myself, but in the hands-on machining I've done I've found that choosing the materials and design and setting up is the most interesting part - the machining is satisfying but I think most of my enjoyment comes from the novelty of shaving a thousandth of an inch off something, so I expect a master wouldn't have that. The final product often feels to me like an anti-climax.

And, I dunno, it just felt right this way.

  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004