Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Bewitched and Bewildered by Gowdie

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 19 of 19
Patches
Thursday 20th September 2007 23:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

1: Out of the Drawing Room
Harry was really depressed but talking to Ginny started him to think and act more normal. That is good. I hope he gets a clue that he could really like Ginny and lets her know soon. I look forward to more of this. p
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Tuesday 31st October 2006 08:57


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

1: Out of the Drawing Room
Have you posted this somewhere else? It seems like I've read it before.
'a large part of what he was mourning was what he would never have' -- I think you've got good insight here on Harry's grief; you're right he didn't really know Sirius that well (though you may know of people who 'click' and become fast friends after one meeting, albeit a rare thing), so he wouldn't have formed such a deep bond. But there's another factor, I think, to Harry's grief too -- his guilt. Just like a drunk driver can feel deep remorse and agony over a total stranger whose death they're responsible for, I think Harry's grief goes deep also because he feels responsible for the death of the only true father figure he's known.
'Harry, he gave her the last piece of pie!' --
So Ginny's pursuing Dean, not Harry . . . or is that just part of her 'fiendish' plot .
  Quote
Evelyn
Friday 16th June 2006 02:27


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

1: Out of the Drawing Room
I've just finished the first chapter and I've enjoyed it immensely . I'm off to read the next one.

Oh, and I loved this line:
But he really didn't feel like having any emotions, so instead he ate a bit of toast and went to bed.
You've got such a wonderfully... hm... dry style of writing. Laconic. It's so much fun to read.
Gowdie
Sunday 18th June 2006 10:55
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Ooooooh, laconic, I like that. Thank you!
  Quote
Wooster
Thursday 25th May 2006 05:57


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 525

1: Out of the Drawing Room
Very well done! So far there's a nice subtlety...I like how the way Harry realised it's not good to hide away was by missing out on teasing Ron into finally asking out Hermione. It's just one of those things you dont really think about but really enjoy. (Teasing your best friend about potential boy/girlfriends) Excellent.
Gowdie
Sunday 18th June 2006 10:33
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Awww, thank you. That is exactly what I was going for - that he realized he was missing out on the little pleasures in life.
  Quote
ImmortalPhoenix
Saturday 29th April 2006 20:40


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

1: Out of the Drawing Room
I'm glad you put this story up. I really like it so far and I hope to continue liking it until the end of this and the sequel. Great work so far!
Kortnee
Gowdie
Sunday 30th April 2006 09:45
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Thank you very much! I hope you enjoy the rest as well.
  Quote
Connor Landon
Wednesday 8th March 2006 14:56


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 188

1: Out of the Drawing Room
Ooh, I like this story! Very interesting! The bits about Harry and Ginny are so sweet. I can't wait to read more from you! On to chapter 2!
Gowdie
Wednesday 15th March 2006 13:29
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Glad you like the Harry/Ginny so far! Thank you!
  Quote
critmo
Monday 19th December 2005 09:04


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

1: Out of the Drawing Room
Ginny held up her hand. "No, I mean really nice. Ron refilled her pumpkin juice four times and she kept asking if he wanted more peas."

Harry shrugged, "That's hardly evidence of anything."

Completely exasperated, Ginny nearly shouted, "Harry, he gave her the last piece of pie!"

So that was it then; Ron and Hermione were officially an item.


Plain brilliant!

Poor Harry; saying he likes her now that he knows her, getting her name wrong, plus realising he would like to be pursued by her? Poor Harry!
Gowdie
Tuesday 20th December 2005 18:16
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Ah, I was really fond of that pie line - thank you for pointing it out!  Poor boy does have a lot to handle all at once - but it's so fun to mess with him.
  Quote
SillyGillie
Saturday 19th November 2005 22:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

1: Out of the Drawing Room
LoL. Really nice chapter!
Gowdie
Monday 21st November 2005 21:39
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Melian
Wednesday 16th November 2005 18:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

1: Out of the Drawing Room
One of the cutest stories -- but hate the whole name thing -- just too embarassing
Gowdie
Wednesday 16th November 2005 20:36
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Thank you!  And it is embarassing - but it was meant to be.  And it leads to a different gag at the end, which I enjoy - so hopefully it will play okay.  And it's an honest mistake on Harry's part.  The whole reason it's there is because I thought it was funny that we, the fandom, had Ginny's name wrong for years before Rowling corrected us.  So if it helps - it's an embarassment we share with Harry.
  Quote
Ladybug
Sunday 13th November 2005 17:52


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

1: Out of the Drawing Room

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! I love this story - it's so very natural that you forget for a moment you're reading fanfiction.

"I don't exactly see myself dating any time in...ever."

Oh, that's just so Harry and so sad - I'm glad you're going to change that attitude!!

Gowdie
Tuesday 15th November 2005 20:39
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Ohhhhh, I like that, thank you!    And don't worry, the whole point of the story is to bring Harry to the point where he is very, very happy.  Like HBP Harry/Ginny happiness - only without the subsequent ditching.
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Saturday 12th November 2005 23:21


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

1: Out of the Drawing Room
Holy Kanole! There's gonna be 8 more chapters?? and then a sequel! *spazzes* .... *melts* .... yeah. I'm that excited. ^^ That's so great, I love your writing, seriously. And as for the other story, I totally got the point! ;-)
Gowdie
Wednesday 16th November 2005 06:15
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Seven - seven more chapters - for a total of eight.  Then the sequel, where I am currently stuck at six, but working my way out of it, and I expect a total of nine or ten.  Now we have all that straight, I'm thrilled to hear you're melting! 
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Friday 11th November 2005 15:46


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

1: Out of the Drawing Room
Aw! That was a cute ending. Heh, Harry's funny when he blushes. This is just a first chapter right? It seemed like a one-shot, but the title was different than... the other title... thing... okay, sorry, I'm just confusing myself further. The point is, great job. I liked it a lot! ^^
Gowdie
Saturday 12th November 2005 19:33
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Would I leave you there?  Never fear - this is merely the first of eight chapters!  And then there's a sequel.  It goes on and on.  And yes, you caught my big clue - with the different titles and all.  You're not the first to be confused, sorry about that - should have left a note.  One sure way to tell, is the point of ALL of my stories is to get these two together - so if they're not, it's not over yet.  Opps!  Sorry to spoil the ending.    Hope you enjoy the rest as much! 
  Quote
Wild Magelet
Tuesday 8th November 2005 20:12


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 115

1: Out of the Drawing Room

Another really great piece of writing from you. I liked that they weren't together at the end; it made the ending seem more realistic and feasible. Ron and Hermione were great. Ginny was great. Actually everything and everyone was great. And I need to find a new word, obviously.

Harry considered for a moment. He didn't feel angry. "Don't think so." sounded very canon. I think your characterisation was excellent. And loved Hermione trying to sub-categorise the library, lol. As a person with a current student job doing just that, I sympathised with the negative reactions.

Gowdie
Tuesday 8th November 2005 21:02
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Two for the price of one!  Hee!
  Quote
Wild Magelet
Tuesday 8th November 2005 20:12


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 115

1: Out of the Drawing Room

Another really great piece of writing from you. I liked that they weren't together at the end; it made the ending seem more realistic and feasible. Ron and Hermione were great. Ginny was great. Actually everything and everyone was great. And I need to find a new word, obviously.

Harry considered for a moment. He didn't feel angry. "Don't think so." sounded very canon. I think your characterisation was excellent. And loved Hermione trying to sub-categorise the library, lol. As a person with a current student job doing just that, I sympathised with the negative reactions.

Gowdie
Tuesday 8th November 2005 21:01
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)

But wait!  There's more.  Seven more chapters.  And I can't promise they will still not be together.  Oh, who am I kidding?  They'll totally be together - but it will take some time.  And for slightly different reasons than HBP - so hopefully that will be fun for the ride. 

And great is a perfectly respectable word - and one I appreciate very much!   Love, love, love when the dialogue and thoughts sound canon!  Thank you!

The library is a lovely place to work.  I only react negitively to the people who hide my books!   Hoggy competitve freaks!

  Quote
Kaylee19
Tuesday 8th November 2005 14:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

1: Out of the Drawing Room
I really enjoyed this story. You got Harry just right, and I can't wait to see him and Ginny start to get together! Keep up the good work.
Gowdie
Tuesday 8th November 2005 20:56
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Seriously, I always love to hear when people think I'm doing a good job with Harry.  He's the one we know best - and this story is from his pov - so it's a little scary at times.  Thank you very much.    Well now, we can't get them together too fast, can we?  Bwa ha ha ha ha!
  Quote
cckeimig
Tuesday 8th November 2005 14:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

1: Out of the Drawing Room

Ah, my mistake anyhow--I understood it was a one-shot deal. I'm glad to learn there will be more chapters to come!!!

Looking forward to the next update.

Gowdie
Tuesday 8th November 2005 20:54
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Oh yeah, baby - seven more.  Plus a sequel after that.  All of which will hopefully live up to standard.  Chapter Two coming soon!
  Quote
Cherry
Tuesday 8th November 2005 06:35


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

1: Out of the Drawing Room

Good, very good but I seem to like Harry and Ginny in love, not Dean. Then again. I always hated Dean so thats no change. I love the was Harrys in character. You got his brooding just right. (giggle) I also love how Hermione told Ron he should get his head out of his . Very enjoyable! once again, Great story and write more soon!

Cherry xxx

Gowdie
Tuesday 8th November 2005 20:52
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
Well obviously!!  I mean, I much prefer them in love with each other as well.    Don't hate Dean, it's not his fault Harry took so long.  And he's not that much of a threat in this story - just enough to get Harry going.  I went a different direction with Dean than HBP did - so hopefully that will be fun.  Happy to hear I got the brooding right - it's such a fine line between enough and melodramatic.  Thank you!
  Quote
Suky
Monday 7th November 2005 20:19


1: Out of the Drawing Room
Very nice. This was a fantastic beginning to what looks to be a very entertaining and promising story. I can't wait for more...please update soon as im sitting in my chair, twiddling my thumbs, desperately waiting for more updates!
Gowdie
Tuesday 8th November 2005 20:49
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)
As it turns out Chapter Two should be along soon, so you won't be twiddling your thumbs for long.    Thrilled to hear you enjoyed the beginning so much - now I just have to live up the expectations! 
  Quote
cckeimig
Monday 7th November 2005 17:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

1: Out of the Drawing Room
Fun interlude. Thanks! I didn't get the joke, though. Must be an "inside joke" or something, I guess. Oh well. Keep up the great work!
Gowdie
Monday 7th November 2005 17:51
1: Out of the Drawing Room (Author Response)

Oh dear, in trying to be clear, I think I've confused you.  It's a multi-chapter story and you don't get the pay off on the Virginia/Ginevra until Chapter Eight.  The only "inside" part of it is that I thought it was funny that we, the fandom, called Ginny by the wrong name for a long time before Rowling set us straight a year or so ago.  Virginia seems the obvious assumption - so I had Harry make the same mistake as we did.  He will be corrected - but not till the end.  And the scene where he is corrected was the first I wrote for the entire story - and it's funny to me for a couple of reasons, which you will hopefully see when we get there. 

All the same, it's wicked to know someone read the author notes, even if I did muddle you up with them.  Thanks for the review - I glad you enjoyed it!

 

  Quote
Showing 1 to 19 of 19
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004