Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Scrolls of Parchment by Ladybug

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
hypercell
Monday 29th December 2008 14:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
The end made me laugh a lot, and the rest of the chapter was great.
  Quote
joes12321
Friday 25th July 2008 02:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
what a great piece of writing. dumbledore as we all expect him to be: engaging, wise, and eccentric.

we only ever caught glimpses of dumbledore's true self because of the graveness overhanging every interaction he ever had with harry. here, we see him at what i think would be his best: able to teach life lessons without making them seem like lessons at all.

well done and just perfect.

Ladybug
Sunday 27th July 2008 21:01
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)
Thank you very much indeed! You understand how I see Dumbledore - I think he's just a great character. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
JAY
Sunday 30th December 2007 20:22


1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
After discovering your wonderful series on Seamus, I went looking for more of your work and wasn't disappointed. I read this particular item while at work and my co-workers all wanted to know 'what was so darned funny?' as I shouted with laughter. I especially want to say that your Dumbledore is fantastically accurate. I could see and hear him in my mind, speaking in the words you gave him. It all fit perfectly with what I imagine Dumbledore to be like.
Ladybug
Monday 7th January 2008 18:47
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)
I have long given up reading fanfic at work for fear of giving myself away! Glad I could brighten your day and I'm so pleased you think Dumbledore is in character - I just wish I could think as quickly as he can, instead of stewing over what his witty responses might be for days on end!
  Quote
Narumi
Monday 29th October 2007 06:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
Really cute. This sounds just like something Dumbledore would do!
Ladybug
Wednesday 31st October 2007 19:06
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)
I'm glad you think so! Thanks for your reviews - they made my day!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Sunday 21st October 2007 15:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
lol i loved this! especially the ending! lol dumbledore sure was smart :p
Ladybug
Wednesday 31st October 2007 18:44
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)
Thank you! I've had great fun trying to imagine ways for Dumbledore to show off his cleverness.
  Quote
Jae
Monday 20th August 2007 17:49


1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  Quote

Wednesday 11th April 2007 08:59


1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
haha!!!!!
  Quote
Sionwitch
Friday 16th February 2007 07:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
I just adore Dumbledore and you have him exactly as I think he is. This is the perfect reading for me in this day that Im sick in bed. Now off to read the rest.
Ladybug
Saturday 17th February 2007 02:58
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)
Thank you so much, I love him too. I hope Dumbledore managed to brighten your otherwise dreary day.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Sunday 13th August 2006 19:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
Haha. That's really funny. And Dumbledore is a very smart wizard. (As if I didn't now that already LoL ), but it was really good.
Ladybug
Friday 18th August 2006 23:51
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)
Thanks! Yep, Dumbledore's so smart, it gets hard to write him smart enough! Glad you liked it and thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
Wooster
Thursday 29th June 2006 06:33


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 525

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
Cute. Very very cute.
  Quote
SillyGillie
Tuesday 7th February 2006 17:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
Fantastic job. Really cute, I love missing moments. This one was particularly amusing. I always wondered why those particular students had to deliver messages for Dumbledore. Can't wait to see why Ginny had to deliver one!
  Quote
cootiepatootie
Monday 12th December 2005 00:26


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 50

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
Ladybug;

This is an excellent characterisation of Dumbledore. Priceless, in fact. Your Sloper et al are quite believable as 12 year olds, too. The board notice is the final masterful stroke. This is just a great, short blurb that tells us exactly why Hedwig and Fawkes didn't get much use delivering Harry's notes.

Great job!!

Cassie
Ladybug
Monday 12th December 2005 21:48
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)
Oh, thank you. I'm very glad you enjoyed it. I must have a thing about writing 12-yr old boys even though I'm not a boy and 12 was a long time ago. *inserts shameless plug here* My very first story 'Homework' was about F&G at 12 *now does a Lockhart* - see my published works for details!  Thanks for your review.
  Quote
Gioia
Sunday 13th November 2005 19:49


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
Oh, this was fun!  I'm definitely going to be watching for more of this one!  What a great little peek at Dumbledore's interactions with others in the school!  And I can completely picture him responding in that manner to those edible Dark Marks.  Well done!
Ladybug
Monday 14th November 2005 23:42
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm pleased you think Dumbledore's response is right - I had to work a bit to get him a little less conventional than normal teachers. We'll see more of him in coming chapters, but not always in such teasing form (not always - there will be a little more teasing to come!). Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
cckeimig
Saturday 12th November 2005 19:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
Very cute! I really enjoyed reading this one.
Ladybug
Monday 14th November 2005 23:29
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)
Thanks, it was fun to write. Hope you enjoy the rest (when they come).
  Quote
hewithnoname
Saturday 12th November 2005 14:40


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 73

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
I liked this alot. I'm a big fan of useing your head and going that extra bit. It is always easier to go for the more known charactors. To go for the ones that are not known shows great skill. I salute you. You have made this funny and most of all beliveable. Go Dumbledore.
Ladybug
Monday 14th November 2005 21:10
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)

Thank you for your very generous review. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

  Quote
gypsy
Saturday 12th November 2005 01:01


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
Once again, T. A great job, can't wait for the next episode.... Gyp
Ladybug
Saturday 12th November 2005 02:46
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)
ta muchly for your help with T.
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 11th November 2005 22:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat

What a cute story...very imaginitively written.  We're forever reading about the twinkle in Dumbledore's eyes and this is the sort of mischief that would endear him to his students.  It's a great, positive way to make his point without giving detentions or taking points.  I look forward to your next chapter and hope to see it up soon.

Ladybug
Saturday 12th November 2005 02:42
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)

You have to thank my pre-beta for telling me that first-draft Dumbledore was too stern and too much like an ordinary teacher - thanks to her, he lightened up a bit and gave us this amusing episode. Pre-betas (and betas) rock!

I'm always afraid my fics are boring, so your review is very encouraging. Thanks!

  Quote
Bucktavius
Thursday 10th November 2005 13:38


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 73

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
concise but entertaining. i liked it. you added your own bits to the Hogwarts scene but kept it 'realistic'. very nice
Ladybug
Saturday 12th November 2005 02:35
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)
I'm so glad you enjoyed it, thanks for your kind words.
  Quote
tante
Thursday 10th November 2005 08:33


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 169

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
  I LOVE being in the thick of this moment.  EvieMarie is spot on.  You have Dumbledore pegged beautifully.  I love your attention to detail on Jack.  I just think this is perfect.  I'm gushing, I know.  Sorry.  This is just brilliantly crafted and I'm enjoying it to bits.  Can't wait to see the rest of the messengers' moments up here. 
Ladybug
Saturday 12th November 2005 02:33
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)
Oh, gee thanks, Tante, you are so encouraging. Glad that this gave you some reading pleasure. Can't wait to see Ginny, heh?
  Quote
aschowin
Wednesday 9th November 2005 21:45


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat
Cool Chapter, I hope to read more soon.  I thought you did an excellent job using the names of these students to form a group. It was very original.  Keep up the great work.
Ladybug
Saturday 12th November 2005 02:30
1: Jack Sloper - Trick or Treat (Author Response)
Thanks, I'll try! Once I gave Jack a packet of those dark marks, the other students just seemed to flock to him, so I'm glad it worked out ok. 'Original' - I like that, thanks heaps!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004