Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Remembrance Day by Arnel

Showing 1 to 12 of 12
pyromain
Friday 5th October 2007 16:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Remembrance Day
I really liked this story, Remembrance is good for harry and by giving it a place it woun't hang like dead weight on his nek.
Arnel
Friday 5th October 2007 21:23
Remembrance Day (Author Response)
I think Harry knew in his heart that he needed to get rid of some of the pent-up emotions he was carrying. I'm sure he will come back every year; he's the kind of person who needs to stay connected and the Godric's Hollow churchyard is the place for him. Thanks for your review.
  Quote
green_eyez
Thursday 24th November 2005 13:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Remembrance Day
poor Harry...
Arnel
Thursday 24th November 2005 23:56
Remembrance Day (Author Response)
Yes, but this is something he felt he had to do.  Maybe in time he will feel better.
  Quote
Delani
Thursday 24th November 2005 12:55


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

Remembrance Day
Thank you for tying those together.  This was deeply felt and well written.
Arnel
Thursday 24th November 2005 23:58
Remembrance Day (Author Response)
A story on this theme seemed quite appropriate for this month and I'm glad you liked what I wrote enough to comment on it.  Thank you for  your kind words.
  Quote
emmamoonpotter
Monday 14th November 2005 08:21


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 68

Remembrance Day
What a lovely tribute. I enjoyed reading this immensely.
Arnel
Monday 14th November 2005 23:37
Remembrance Day (Author Response)
I'm really glad you liked the story and appreciate your kind words. Thank you.
  Quote
EJH0904
Sunday 13th November 2005 07:59


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 123

Remembrance Day
Very nice. I can imagine Harry really doing something like this in the final book. Beautifully written.
Arnel
Monday 14th November 2005 00:30
Remembrance Day (Author Response)
The idea for this story came from the last chapter of HBP when Harry expresses the desire to start his journey at Godric's Hollow.  It seemed to me that going there would include a visit to the cemetery, a place where he could possibly connect with the parents he lost so long ago so tragically.  Thank you for your kind words.
  Quote
Shloz
Sunday 13th November 2005 06:34


Remembrance Day
Very nice. Touching and poignant.
Arnel
Monday 14th November 2005 00:32
Remembrance Day (Author Response)
Thanks for your comments.  I was hoping to find a balance between the sentimental and the soppy and it seems I've achieved that from everyone's response.  I appreciate your review.
  Quote
Sherylyn
Saturday 12th November 2005 19:26


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

Remembrance Day
Arnel, this was simply a wonderful, perfect story!!  Whether real or "imaginary", all who founght in service to their country deserve to be honored and remembered, regardless of how much politics are agreed/disagreed upon.  Thank you for this. 
Arnel
Saturday 12th November 2005 20:25
Remembrance Day (Author Response)
You're very welcome.  I was raised to appreciate those who died for their country by my father who taught American History and Civics.  He gave me my love for ferreting out the secrets of ancient graveyards and forts and a reverence for places like Arlington Cemetary with its Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.  Veterans' Day/Remembrance Day seemed a fitting day of observance for my story in that I wanted to honor those people who have made the ultimate sacrifice in both the real world and the HP universe.  Thank you for your review.
  Quote
cckeimig
Saturday 12th November 2005 08:27


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

Remembrance Day
Beautiful moment of remembrance. And fitting, considering the time of year, so that we all take a moment to do the same thing as Harry in the "real world." Thank you.
Arnel
Saturday 12th November 2005 20:31
Remembrance Day (Author Response)
You're very welcome.  I saw the evidence yesterday when I passed a cemetery near my home and saw all the veterans' graves had been decorated with a flag and that there were indeed families placing flowers at their ancestors' headstones that there are people who feel as strongly as I do about remembering those who died for their country.  We owe them a big thank you, just as we do to the living veterans and the soldiers stationed around the world.  I'm glad my story touched you.
  Quote
Zahri Seb Melitor
Saturday 12th November 2005 03:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Remembrance Day
Oh.

This is just a beautiful tribute to Remembrance Day, and it's so very something that Harry would do. I'm glad that he, someone who has known so much loss, is able to remember those who are lost.

Harry putting up a headstone for Sirius made me cry.
Arnel
Saturday 12th November 2005 20:41
Remembrance Day (Author Response)

Thank you for your review.  When I read of Harry's wish to go to Godric's Hollow to find where it all began for him, I knew he would want to do something like this to honor those who died for him and the Wizarding world.  Everyone needs closure and this seemed to be the right moment for Harry to come to terms with many of the events in his life. Therefore, a final resting place for Sirius seemed appropriate as well especially when he left everything to Harry who, I suspect, still doesn't know the extent of how loved he was by his godfather. 

I appreciate your kind words.

  Quote
Ladybug
Friday 11th November 2005 19:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Remembrance Day
Some things must be done alone, and it was right that Harry had a chance to do this alone. Beautifully expressed. Thank you.
Arnel
Friday 11th November 2005 22:14
Remembrance Day (Author Response)

I'm glad you liked my story.  When I read the last chapter of HBP I knew that Harry felt he needed closure for his pre-Dursley life.  A journey of this sort seemed highly appropriate and a good way for him connect with his past in a positive manner.

Thank you for your kind words.

  Quote
GovCampbell
Friday 11th November 2005 18:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Remembrance Day

Very well done, a rather touching blending of the magical and the Muggle. I enjoyed reading it!

Arnel
Friday 11th November 2005 22:07
Remembrance Day (Author Response)
When I learned how November 11 is observed in Britain while researching holidays between Halloween and Christmas, the connection between the HP universe and the real world was easily made.  I had fun coming up with the Muggle conversations, especially the one between Billy and his mother about the "haunted" hill.  Thanks for the review.  I'm glad you liked the story.
  Quote
Antonia East
Friday 11th November 2005 13:00


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

Remembrance Day
Very appropriate.  Nice to read this today.
Arnel
Friday 11th November 2005 22:01
Remembrance Day (Author Response)
I'm glad you think so.  I learned about the British equivalent to the American Veterans' Day while researching for one of my authors' stories.  Thank you for your review.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 12 of 12
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004