Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Christmas Story With Maggots by St Margarets

Showing 1 to 20 of 20
DukeBrymin
Friday 16th October 2009 11:01


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 109

A Christmas Story With Maggots
I really like the idea of Penny taking a special interest in Luna.
Very sweet story.
Thanks!
St Margarets
Friday 16th October 2009 12:16
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)
Poor Luna, I would hope *someone* was watching out for her that first year. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Saturday 22nd December 2007 20:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

A Christmas Story With Maggots
hehe nice story! Ive always wondered how they met....
  Quote
erinblack
Sunday 25th February 2007 12:38


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

A Christmas Story With Maggots
  Quote
lacyrachil
Wednesday 6th December 2006 12:22


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 251

A Christmas Story With Maggots
Nice, moving story. Thanks for writing.
  Quote

Wednesday 29th November 2006 22:48


A Christmas Story With Maggots
indeed goood =)[url=http://gooogle.com/]gooogle[/url]
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 24th August 2006 20:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

A Christmas Story With Maggots
Ah, the introduction of the lovely Luna. Mind maggots would be handy for Theodore.
St Margarets
Friday 25th August 2006 11:56
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)
I think Theodore would benefit - but then he has Luna, so that's a big help for him as well. I'd love to have Lovegood family reunion with Theodore in attendance. I think Aunt Constance would be a hoot. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
keira azul
Saturday 5th August 2006 23:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 29

A Christmas Story With Maggots
"I like bubble gum. It's so unnecessary," Luna added.

I knew there was a reason I loved Luna - we have the same feelings about chewing gum and other unnecessary necessaries. Poor Ginny and her dead thoughts, luckily she has a dark haired, green eyed hero to save her from them, and hopefully she'll save him from more of his dead thoughts in the future.

You have so many good storied, I love them all!
St Margarets
Sunday 6th August 2006 06:17
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it - in spite of the title! I do love Luna and Ginny together. And there aren't enough friendship stories about them out there. Thanks for reading and all of your reviews!
  Quote
Rachaol
Monday 12th June 2006 18:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

A Christmas Story With Maggots
What a lovely story! Your portrayal of Luna is perfect, she's offbeat and yet she manages to get right to the heart. We all need more friends like her.

Never have I so fervently wished for a magical creature to be real! Mind Maggots. Grotesque psychic wound debrid-ers! Icky as they are I wish I had a tubful.

I wish I could articulate what it is I like about your style. It is very clear and to the point, you don't waste your words. I'll definitely re-read this one!
St Margarets
Tuesday 13th June 2006 03:55
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)
Ginny pulling the maggot out of Harry's hair at Christmas inspired this story! LOL. I wondered why she wasn't freaked out by that.

Yes, it would be nice to have something that took away those pesky negative thoughts, wouldn't it? It would account for Luna's serenity, I think. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Jacynthe
Monday 9th January 2006 09:22


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 141

A Christmas Story With Maggots
How lovely.  I don't know how this one slipped by without my noticing.  All in all, I think there are far too few HP fics about friendship, as opposed to romance, which is odd when you think about it because that is such a major theme in canon.  Ginny and Luna are a great pair.  I could easily imagine that, once Ginny gets used to her, the occasional conversation with Luna would be a welcome change from the ever-more angst filled atmosphere of Gryffindor. 
St Margarets
Monday 9th January 2006 10:46
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)

This was just a little Christmas drabble and a bit of pre-writing for the Ginny PoV fic. I'm working on.  I always wondered why Ginny wasn't freaked out by the maggot in Harry's hair! :)

  Quote
Penny Lane
Monday 26th December 2005 11:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 48

A Christmas Story With Maggots

Mary!  You've got new fics up!  *tackle-hugs you*  Er, ahem.  Anyway.

This made me want to laugh and cry at the same time... and I mean that in the nicest way.  JKR is the only other writer who's made me feel that way about Luna, so you're in good company.  Oh, and thank you for giving Ginny a baby blue Weasley jumper.  Most writers give her a pink one, which would of course be 'orrible with Ginny's 'air.  

Can't wait for your upcoming fics.  I'm bouncing up & down in anticipation of the Nott/Luna one especially.  Yay!

(Oh, and I'm going to finish reading your Lee Jordan one as well.  I got blindsided by a few things in real life and was never able to finish it, but now things are slowing down and I'm going to get back to it.  So, erm, you'll probably be getting some extremely late reviews from me on that fic.    )

St Margarets
Monday 26th December 2005 15:30
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)

First things first.  *squee* It's Penny Lane! I haven't 'seen' you in ages!  I completely understand about RL - I had a huge does of it this summer trying to finish up Lee's story.  That's why I've been writing "alone" this fall, trying to finish the story before posting.  I just didn't want that kind of pressure again.  I'm excited about Nott/Luna as well.  But I really have to get Ginny's story out there or everyone will think I forgot all about H/G.  (As if - still the best ship in the HP seas!)  And I love reviews - even late ones!  Thanks for reading!

  Quote
Hearts on Fire
Monday 26th December 2005 08:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

A Christmas Story With Maggots
 having friends there for you...thats what it's all about! great story...always wanted to read a story about Ginny, and Luna becoming friends! great job!!! I love  she is so kind!
St Margarets
Monday 26th December 2005 10:45
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)
I don't think I've ever seen a story about Ginny and Luna meeting now that I think about it.  LOL.  This was just a brainstorm I had when I was trying to imagine their friendship for another Ginny fic. I'm writing.  Thanks for reading!
  Quote
pakismith
Saturday 24th December 2005 10:50


A Christmas Story With Maggots
The way Jo writes of Ginny made me realize that only she (Ginny) could have a real relationship with Luna. Ginny's sense of humour fits Luna's thoughts so unusual that when reading I don't know whether laugh or cry.
I did enjoy your story  because I feel  confortable reading it , recognizing both Ginny and Luna in your words.I mean, their first meeting could have been so. 
And the mind maggots were a wonderful idea!

St Margarets
Monday 26th December 2005 10:43
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)
At first glance Ginny and Luna don't seem the type to connect - but like you said - Ginny has a good sense of humor and she has had some strange experiences - so someone like Luna would be good friendship material.  Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Fisherdima
Saturday 24th December 2005 09:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

A Christmas Story With Maggots
Very sweet. I've always wanted to know: how Ginny and Luna made an aquaintance, and I think it's perfectly imagined Missing Moment from CoS.
St Margarets
Monday 26th December 2005 10:42
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)

I've been working on a Ginny PoV story and trying to think about her friendship with Luna.  This is what I came up with. :)  Thanks for reading!

  Quote
Evelyn
Thursday 22nd December 2005 03:25


A Christmas Story With Maggots
Thank you! I always wanted to hear some more about Luna and Ginny's friendship!
And... "how much these mind those maggots ate" - I loved that.
St Margarets
Thursday 22nd December 2005 05:47
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)
LOL.  You wouldn't want to overuse them!  Thanks for reading!
  Quote
cootiepatootie
Wednesday 21st December 2005 18:30


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 50

A Christmas Story With Maggots
St M.

Mind maggots. eurgh. well, it *is* Luna-ish, I must say. I like this little snippet from Ginny's first year. We don't often get her POV unless it deals directly with the diary.

Good job!

Cassie

(subliminal message follows CHARLIE!! CHARLIE!!! CHARLIE!!!! CHARLIE!!!! end subliminal message)
St Margarets
Thursday 22nd December 2005 05:46
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)
Is there an echo in here? I think I wandered into a Charlie cave!  LOL.  No Charlie on deck - but I do have a Roger Davies story for you.  And a Ginny story and a Luna/Nott seventh year fic.  If inspiration strikes - I'll be sure to listen!  Thanks for reading.  I've missed hearing from you since I haven't posted anything for so long.
  Quote
Aberforth's Avatar
Wednesday 21st December 2005 16:54


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

A Christmas Story With Maggots

I saw the title and couldn't for the life of me imagine the connection between those two particular nouns.  I really liked your treatment of Luna here, and the beginnings of friendship between she and Ginny.  We could all learn a lesson from that Ravenclaw tree. 

Thanks as always for sharing this with us.  Thanks especially for the promise in your AN at the end!  Happy Christmas!

St Margarets
Thursday 22nd December 2005 05:44
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)

I thought the title would either revolt or intrigue! LOL. I'm glad you were intrigued and took a chance.  The maggots came straight from the HBP - I wondered why Ginny wasn't freaked out by seeing one in Harry's hair.  A story is born!

I have been writing a lot.  I have a fifteen chapter story about Roger Davies completed and ready to be revised.  (I gave Roger such a hard time in my stories that I felt I owed him his own.)  I'm also working on an alternate PoV of HBP from Ginny's perspective.  This story is a bit of pre-writing for that!

As always, thanks for reading!

  Quote
tante
Wednesday 21st December 2005 14:09


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 169

A Christmas Story With Maggots

Charming and cosy and a lovely representation of Luna, as well.  I do like her.  What an excellent possibility for the circumstances which brought Ginny and Luna together as fr-... acquaintances.  

St Margarets
Thursday 22nd December 2005 05:39
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)

Hee.  I didn't want to push the "friends" bit too much since I don't think canon really backs me up.  I do think their friendship progressed over time, however.

 

 

  Quote
amamama
Wednesday 21st December 2005 14:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

A Christmas Story With Maggots
Cool, Mary!  Thanks for a wonderful Solstice gift - any excuse will do to sneak off and read fanfic while I should be preparing Christmas.  I love the idea of Mind Maggots, but I'm not sure I want to know how to use them.  Then again, maybe I do - to prevent my mind running wild.

Have a wonderful holiday!

Big hugs,
Berte
St Margarets
Thursday 22nd December 2005 05:38
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)
I know I'd like to keep my mind  from running wild - esp. before bedtime.  Thanks so much for reading.  I know you are busy and tired this time of year.
  Quote
Bella
Wednesday 21st December 2005 13:59


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

A Christmas Story With Maggots

Wonderful story. I've always been interested in Luna and Ginny's relationship outside of the confines of the information in the books - I think it's really lovely how Ginny sticks up for Luna and I always love reading background on their friendship. Very well-written and original (the maggots!). Okay, off to read your next story!
Bella

St Margarets
Thursday 22nd December 2005 05:37
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)
After HBP and Ginny's happiness over Luna's "date" with Harry - I think Ginny must have a deeper  friendship with her than we realized.  The maggots are straight from JKR in HBP - nothing says Christmas like maggots! LOL
  Quote
Stephanie
Wednesday 21st December 2005 12:47


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 57

A Christmas Story With Maggots
Short, but sweet :). The part about Luna and her Mum was heart-wrenching though. I liked the dialogue, especially Luna's response to 'Are you Luna?'. Very funny :). The maggots were a brillant find. I'm off to read your other Christmas story now ;).
St Margarets
Thursday 22nd December 2005 05:35
A Christmas Story With Maggots (Author Response)
Thanks for reading! This was just a little "what if?" on my part.  I'm working on a Ginny alternate PoV for HBP and I really wondered why she wasn't freaked out by the Maggot in Harry's hair! LOL  A story is born!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 20
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004