Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Empty Womb, Empty Room by MagnoliaMama

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 20
hihavaniceda
Wednesday 4th June 2008 05:07


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

2
this was lovely ...... thank you
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 26th October 2007 09:30


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

2
I loved this story! I think that you did a very good job of portraying all the different emotions! The ending was cute

  Quote
firestar
Monday 6th August 2007 08:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

2
Okay, this was just a little bit soppy, but it worked! so I'll forgive you.
I was worried that they'd drift apart, so I'm glad they worked things out.
It was, perhaps, a little quick of the mark. Two months isn't that long after the miscarrage and being told they'd never have children.
I'd have liked to see them at least consider adoption. So many people put themselves through hell to have a 'child of their own' when there are so many orphans neading homes. Perhaps you could have fitted it in when Hermione is wondering what Harry would have done if he'd lost Ginny. Which, I might add, I think was a good addition as it shows that things can go wrong at anytime for anyone.
We all grow up with expectations, that we'll find someone special, marry, have children and live happily ever after, but life can throw us off course at any time. Thank-you for your story.
  Quote
jac2009
Saturday 10th March 2007 10:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

2
aww this is an amasing story, its so sweet.
  Quote
Mira Miracle
Saturday 23rd September 2006 05:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

2
You had me crying for at least two thirds of this story. Very, very well done. You depicted the feelings of everyone involved beautifully and realistically. Thank you for this story.
  Quote
Novera
Friday 14th July 2006 04:53


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 157

2
WHERE is the next chapter.
this story is good beautygirlbest@gmail.com
MagnoliaMama
Friday 14th July 2006 06:50
2 (Author Response)
As the story is labeled "Complete", there is no next chapter. I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
Asenath
Saturday 1st April 2006 18:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

2
That was a very special fic and a pleasure to read. I've been reading Ron/Hermione fiction for a while and often feel suffocated by the consistant optimism. While this story has a happy ending (which is a must for me), it has within it a dose of refeshing reality.

I am reminded, when I read a fic regarding miscarriages, of my own mother, who miscarried twice and almost died due to an ectopic pregnancy. Fortunately, ten years after my sister was born, I surprised everyone. I suppose they weren't trying so hard- or as I like to say: I just wasn't ready!

Anyway, in short, I liked your story. Would you consider continuing with this one? I know I'd read it.

MagnoliaMama
Thursday 29th June 2006 19:57
2 (Author Response)
Oh my gosh, I'm embarrassed I let this review sit for so long without a reply.

First, thank you so much for your thoughtful review and for sharing your personal story. I like stories with not-quite-resolved but hopeful endings, where you know the characters have successfully managed to muddle through whatever the author has thrown in their path, but there are still some things left up in the air. As you say, they tend to be more realistic that way.

As for continuing this, not likely. It was constructed to fit within this particular framework, and I'm not a fan of sequels in general. However, it's possible that someday I may return to this post-Hogwarts universe and write more about Ron and Hermione.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review, and my sincere apologies for not responding sooner.
  Quote
InnerHermione
Wednesday 8th March 2006 08:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

2
Very sweet relationship between Ron and Hermione! You handled this situation with a lot of grace --- it easily could have gone soppy, or cheesy, or tactless. You balanced the humorous bits nicely, too... just enough to keep it from getting to be too much. Nicely done!
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 15th March 2006 11:55
2 (Author Response)
Thank you for saying this. I tried very hard to strike the right emotional balance -- as you pointed out, the risk of this turning out sappy or overly angsty was quite high. I wanted to avoid that at all costs and keep the emotions grounded in reality. I'm so glad you liked this, and really appreciate your review.
  Quote
babibunni
Sunday 26th February 2006 18:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

2
This was really nice... I loved how it ended. Wanting to help Ginny and Harry out with their children, even though it would be so painful for them. Their sorrow is enormous--and I can sympathize because my own parents tried for thirteen years or so, and their own first child (my siblings and I are all adopted)--also a baby girl--miscarried. And it was painful for me too--wanting a little sister so badly--I was heartbroken. But it surprises me as to why adoption is never addressed in fanfiction. Both Hermione and Ron have big, warm hearts, and seem to be the types that would have open arms to any opportunity to have children. And Harry was an orphan, so he obviously has an idea of what it's like to not be wanted by anyone. And yet, fanfics often depict them as willing to go without children if they can't have kids of their own. I'm just musing aloud. I really loved this story. But I wish that there were more solutions to Hermione's miscarriages than what seems to be out there.
MagnoliaMama
Sunday 26th February 2006 19:13
2 (Author Response)
Thank you for this thoughtful, heartfelt review. I can't address why other writers don't consider adoption, but in this case it was a deliberate choice on my part in response to reading too many fics where a couple thought they were unable to have children and at the last moment discovered they were pregnant. In my opinion, that's cheap, artificial, and manipulative. My primary goal was to show Ron and Hermione dealing with this devastating news and finding some way to come to terms with being a childless couple and filling that void in other ways -- in Hermione's case, through her work on behalf of creatures' rights, and in Ron's case, by being the Coolest Uncle Ever. Again, thank you for your comments. It means so much to hear from readers who ask questions like you did.
  Quote
sweetbaywolf
Monday 13th February 2006 13:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

2
I;m crying now. That was so sad, and o excellent. I just love Ron/Hermione. *sigh*
MagnoliaMama
Thursday 23rd February 2006 19:22
2 (Author Response)
I love Ron and Hermione too. I'm very glad you liked this, though I'm sorry I made you cry.
  Quote
gemz1313
Sunday 1st January 2006 17:31


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 57

2
brilliant, simply brilliant, keep up the brilliant work, is there more on it's way?
MagnoliaMama
Sunday 1st January 2006 17:38
2 (Author Response)
Thank you so much; I'm thrilled you enjoyed this. Sad to say, this is the end of the road for this particular story.
  Quote
kensai
Thursday 29th December 2005 14:14


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

2
I loved and hated reading this.  My wife just turned_0 and we are beinf forced into thinking we will have no kids.  Well done, good emotional content.
MagnoliaMama
Saturday 31st December 2005 12:17
2 (Author Response)
I'm so sorry to hear that about you and your wife. That sort of realization is never an easy one to face. Thank you for your kind remarks on my story; I'm touched you were able to read it, despite the subject matter, and that you were able to connect with it.
  Quote
parakletos
Wednesday 28th December 2005 10:59


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 209

2
As well written as the first part was and worth all the plaudits you've received. The adoption question did occur to me but  I think the alternatives you came up with suit Hermione far better.

On a beta point (sorry!) "This one came to use from a family we didn't even know had any house-elves in its employ." Should us 'us'?
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 28th December 2005 11:05
2 (Author Response)

Thank you so much for another very generous and thoughtful review. I've seen so many fics that offer adoption (or an 11th-hour pregnancy) as a sort of deus ex machina fluff-saving device, so I really wanted to try something different. As I tried to explain to another reviewer, there are other ways to satisfy those maternal desires.

Should us 'us'? *headdesk* As many differemnt places as this has already been posted, you'd think I or another reader would have caught that by now. It's always something...

  Quote
athena
Wednesday 28th December 2005 07:46


2
This was The best fan fic I've ever read pleas write more
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 28th December 2005 08:38
2 (Author Response)
Thank you, that's very sweet of you to say.
  Quote
Jenadamson
Wednesday 28th December 2005 06:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

2

Just a quick beta squee to tell you once again how much I enjoyed this story.  You've really captured something amazing - the tears and the laughter, the joys and the hardships that come with life - with any life. You've showed Ron and Hermione to be strong and caring and in love and human - all things their characters are.   

Wondferful job, m'dear.

MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 28th December 2005 08:39
2 (Author Response)
*loves you*
  Quote
JenMusic
Wednesday 28th December 2005 01:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

2

Thank you for not sucumbing to the temptation to have a "happily ever after" ending. Even with magic, some things cannot be fixed, and you have dealt with it in a painfully real way. A heartfelt story.

One question - was there a conscious decision to not explore the idea of adoption? Did you feel that would be too easy?

Thanks for the story - very well done.

MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 28th December 2005 07:34
2 (Author Response)

No, as anyone who knows me well will attest, I'm not one for "happily ever after" endings -- I'm more of a "we'll muddle through this as best we can, and hope for the best" sort of ending-writer.

You're right that I chose not to explore adoption as a solution because I thought it would be too easy, but also because, as far as I can tell, adoption doesn't seem to have much place in the wizarding world (there are no real overt examples of it, that is), and finally, because I wanted to get readers to consider the possibility that being a parent is not the only way to find fulfillment for maternal urges. 

Thanks so much for your very thoughtful comments.

  Quote
hewithnoname
Wednesday 28th December 2005 00:34


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 73

2
A loverly story. I hope this is just fiction, and not drawing from experience. It was well writen and flowed along at a pace that didn't slow down. You also didn't hold the story back with fluff. But I think gave an accurate account on this subject. I satute you.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 28th December 2005 07:25
2 (Author Response)
Thank you. For me this is wholly fictional, but it's real enough for many women (and couples), and it was out of respect for their suffering that I wanted so much to treat the subject matter with honesty and dignity. I'm very touched by your kind words.
  Quote
EJH0904
Tuesday 27th December 2005 16:21


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 123

2
What a sweet ending! I love that you illustrate a scare for Harry and Ginny in the same time period to compare it with the devastation Ron and Hermione are already going through.  Wonderful job!
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 28th December 2005 07:22
2 (Author Response)
Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed this. I really appreciated your comments.
  Quote
Musings
Tuesday 27th December 2005 13:59


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 98

2

You've done it again (although I'm not as weepy as I was with the first chapter) -- you've captured who Ron and Hermione are so well and it's great to see that they're starting to sort through this horrible event and come through on the other side.

I am looking forward to the next chapter very much.  Thanks again for writing such a powerful story!

MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 28th December 2005 07:21
2 (Author Response)
See, I promised it would get better. Unfortunately, this is the end of the road where this story is concerned; as I so often do, I wanted to leave this open-ended, with a universe of possibilities for them to choose from. I'm so glad you enjoyed this, waterworks aside. I really appreciated your comments.
  Quote
paladin
Tuesday 27th December 2005 13:30


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

2
Awesome chapter!  You carried the feelings from the first chapter over very well and transitioned nicely into their healing path.  You've also captured a great human quality in Hermione as well; those who truly care will be able to tuck their sorrows away for a spell when they find that others need their help.  It's that Indomitable human spirit.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 28th December 2005 07:20
2 (Author Response)
Thank you for your kind words. One thing I love so much about Hermione is her big heart and her noble impulses. I'm glad you enjoyed this story. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 20
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004