Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Roger and Lisa, A Romance by St Margarets

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 32 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
MollysSister
Friday 11th December 2009 12:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 20

2: The Pub
Lady Du Sult is hilarious. I hope she fitted Lisa out with all sorts of new clothes!

Why is Padma being such a to Lisa? I know she doesnt like Roger but perhaps she could support the fact that Lisa is attempting a social life? 10 points to George for being positive.
St Margarets
Friday 11th December 2009 15:53
2: The Pub (Author Response)
I named Lady DuSult after the lj name of a good friend on my flist. Her character was fun to write.

If you make it to the end of the story you'll see why I had Padma be the skeptical voice. And George is just a practical Weasley who keeps the high-strung Ravenclaws grounded.
  Quote
DaFalcon
Wednesday 5th September 2007 19:47


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 237

2: The Pub
This is a brilliant story Mary. Okay, I've read the first two chapters and I'm slowly becoming a fan of Roger Davies. But that's because of your writing I am sure.

George and Padma are cute in this. They've been married for a while which is neat. Is there a story of their beginning as well?

I think I'll read one more chapter before I go to bed. Again, great job.

Dee
St Margarets
Thursday 6th September 2007 03:11
2: The Pub (Author Response)
My friend Amy, Gabriella DuSult, wrote about five chapters of how they got together. But she never posted them. Padma was finishing her Curse-breaking training at Gringotts and was going to be transfered to South America - so her decision was to follow her head or follow her heart and marry George.

  Quote
Grandma Kate
Saturday 19th August 2006 14:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

2: The Pub
I do love the Lisa-Padma interactions. I can picture them at Hogwarts doing the same. I love George.
St Margarets
Saturday 19th August 2006 16:04
2: The Pub (Author Response)
I really enjoyed writing Padma! She was a fun character. And thank you for re-reading and letting me know - it motivates me to keep writing my current WIP.
  Quote
wokka42
Sunday 19th March 2006 22:46


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 63

2: The Pub
LOL, St. Margarets, I just wanted to mention that I love your little moments in this humble little move-the-plot-along chapter. Padma/George is not something I'd ever considered even possible, but it's fun the way you construct the two. I love Padma's glaring, George's mischievous and cheeky demeanor, and the humor and warmth in their interactions. They're such a happy married couple! And only now, on the third time through, do I actually appreciate the humor of two twins marrying - and having twins! LOLOL. Just more evidence to illustrate your point - that Ravenclaws (and, bookish as I am, I probably would count myself as one of them had I graduated from Hogwarts) are "a bit dim to begin with, but they eventually come around."
St Margarets
Monday 20th March 2006 16:23
2: The Pub (Author Response)
I had a great time with the Padma/George scenes. My friend, Amy (yes - I had to name the bossy twin after her) came up with this pairing. If I sent her a scene she would write an outtake from Padma and George's point of view. So funny - and fun. Having her as a writing buddy made this such a fun experience.
  Quote
DADAGinny
Thursday 9th February 2006 08:38


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 277

2: The Pub
Loved that last line of George's: “Ravenclaws are a bit dim to begin with, but they eventually come around.”

Very nice.

St Margarets
Friday 10th February 2006 03:18
2: The Pub (Author Response)
That's a reference to Gabriella DuSult's twin story. I hope she will post it soon. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Aberforth's Avatar
Thursday 2nd February 2006 14:55


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

2: The Pub
“Roger was a Ravenclaw,” George said with mock thoughtfulness. “Ravenclaws are a bit dim to begin with, but they eventually come around.”


I love that line, especially coming from George. It was wonderful to see he and Padma interact. This pairing is more intriguing than ever.
St Margarets
Thursday 2nd February 2006 19:04
2: The Pub (Author Response)
I loved Gabriella's drabbles so much that it was easy to insert them in this story. She wrote the cutest story about them getting together that I hope she will post someday.
  Quote
Lady Ginny Potter
Tuesday 31st January 2006 12:34


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 53

2: The Pub
Great story I love it so far.
St Margarets
Tuesday 31st January 2006 13:08
2: The Pub (Author Response)
I'm glad you like it! The fluff gets fluffier from here on out. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
cootiepatootie
Wednesday 11th January 2006 13:32


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 50

2: The Pub
“The handsome bloke you brought to the wedding,” Janice answered impatiently.  “And you’d better hurry.  You’re a little dull to keep one like that interested for very long, if you don’t mind my saying.”

What a bint. I'd smack her.

“But of course.  Let me demonstrate.”  He flicked his wand at the salt and pepper shakers causing them to waltz around their small table.  The pepper ended the dance with a flourish by dipping the salt.  “As you can see, that particular skill has been the secret to my success.”

Veddy suave. Our good Roger is quite the flirt, no?

"Roger was the one who overreached and tried to unearth a conspiracy"

Roger doesn't seem like much of a conspiracy theory kind of guy. I'm thinking there's something there...

Lisa had never liked George Weasley as much as she did then.

But whyever not?? We all know George is just a good, big kid at heart!!

Oh wow. Just another great update. I cannot wait for more! Oh wait, I don't have to!!! Yippee!!! 


St Margarets
Wednesday 11th January 2006 17:35
2: The Pub (Author Response)

Yes, Roger has flirting down pat!   And you can imagine how someone as loud and self-confident as George Weasley would have affected Lisa over the years. 

Roger has a strong sense of justice - so it's really Padma's use of the word from the newspaper reports.  But more on that later.  Thanks for reading!

 

 

  Quote
Antosha
Wednesday 11th January 2006 11:55


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

2: The Pub
I love your minor-pairing fics--Luna/Theo, Lee/Holly (well, she wasn't even a minor character--the made-from-scratch sister of a minor character, but wonderful, nonetheless) and now this!

What I'm most excited about here is the distinct voices and mentalities that you created for the two--we didn't get any of Roger's PoV in chapter two, but in chapter one he is perfectly suave and calculating, yet still self-aware, where Lisa's mind is more abstract and abstracted. It's a nice balance, and the story that you seem to be setting up definitely piques my interest. I'm looking forward to reading the rest!

Totally randomly--this Roger seems totally ready to be played by a young Pierce Brosnan. Perfect. And, in fact, if you were ever a Remington Steele fan, I think an equally young Stephanie Zymbalist would do nicely for Lisa! ;-)
St Margarets
Wednesday 11th January 2006 17:30
2: The Pub (Author Response)

I was *such* a Remington Steele fan! LOL.  That's funny, but I never thought about that pairing - but you perhaps you can see my subconscious influences.

I'm so glad you're reading - lots of Joseph Campbell stuff ahead!

  Quote
Kid Dynomite
Tuesday 10th January 2006 20:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

2: The Pub

You know, you keep doing this to me St. Margarets. You pick out two characters who are so out of the picture, so on the fringe, that no one else writes about them. And then you craft a story that delightful, romantic, and entertaining. And I can never turn away. Never.

Even with your great H/G stuff, I think I like these more. Your story here with Roger and Lisa, with (hopefully) some ties to the Lee Jordan story, and the other H/G stories you've written, well...its something special. I like that you can take such characters that are just a shallow foil, or a placeholder in the series, and give them life, give them a story, that's meaningful and entertaining.

As always, I look foward to more chapters in this ongoing tale, and I definatly look foward to the next adventure of the obscure character you decided to take on. Happy writing, and I'll be reading...

Kid Dynomite, Josh

  Quote
Kid Dynomite
Tuesday 10th January 2006 19:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

2: The Pub

You know, you keep doing this to me St. Margarets. You pick out two characters who are so out of the picture, so on the fringe, that no one else writes about them. And then you craft a story that delightful, romantic, and entertaining. And I can never turn away. Never.

Even with your great H/G stuff, I think I like these more. Your story here with Roger and Lisa, with (hopefully) some ties to the Lee Jordan story, and the other H/G stories you've written, well...its something special. I like that you can take such characters that are just a shallow foil, or a placeholder in the series, and give them life, give them a story, that's meaningful and entertaining.

As always, I look foward to more chapters in this ongoing tale, and I definatly look foward to the next adventure of the obscure character you decided to take on. Happy writing, and I'll be reading...

Kid Dynomite, Josh

St Margarets
Wednesday 11th January 2006 05:59
2: The Pub (Author Response)
Hey Josh! I'm glad you're interested in these characters as well - that's the challenge of minor character fluff - trying to hook in a few readers!  I loved writing this story - and believe it or not - it's all written!  I'm revising of course, but the updates should come quickly.  Thanks for reading!  I appreciate it!
  Quote
sunflowerchild
Tuesday 10th January 2006 12:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

2: The Pub
Wow! That is really well done. Its nice to read stories on other characters from HP, especially when they are so well written  . I love the way you have portrayed Roger and Lisa, and I absolutely adore the Padma/George relationship! I hope you update soon, I am looking forward to the next chapter.
cheers!
St Margarets
Tuesday 10th January 2006 15:09
2: The Pub (Author Response)
A  new chapter tomorrow, I think!  I'm glad you like the Padma/George pairing.  Check out Gabriella DuSult's live journal for more about them and outtakes from this story!  Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Rant
Tuesday 10th January 2006 07:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

2: The Pub
Ah, George! Love him to pieces here.

Roger and Lisa were very sweet together, but I really want to know what happened with the horcruxes.  I'll be looking for your updates!
St Margarets
Tuesday 10th January 2006 15:07
2: The Pub (Author Response)
I'm glad you like this pairing - and you'll see more George as well.  More about the Phillip Goyle plot thread much later! :)  Thanks for reading!
  Quote
richmond
Monday 9th January 2006 21:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

2: The Pub
I usually dont' review, but I had to tell you how wonderful I think your story is.  It's refreshing to see an original piece about minor characters, especially one so well written.  You've added layers of depth to both characters and succeed in making them interesting and compelling.  And the Padma/George relationship- priceless!
St Margarets
Tuesday 10th January 2006 15:06
2: The Pub (Author Response)
I'm so glad you did review!  I'm glad you liked Padma/George - but I can't take credit.  That was an idea from Gabriella DuSult.  Check out her live journal if you want a few outtakes about them from this story!  Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Ramya
Monday 9th January 2006 15:42


2: The Pub
I love it! Very original idea, and as always, superb and descriptive writing. Please post the next chapter soon!
St Margarets
Monday 9th January 2006 15:46
2: The Pub (Author Response)
I'm glad you like it! The next chapter is with my beta now.  Thanks for reading.
  Quote
Megan SQ
Monday 9th January 2006 15:17


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 61

2: The Pub
Hi. Glad to see you started another story, and I like the fact that you chose minor HP characters to star in it (after HBP, I'm turned off by H/G fanfiction, b/c I really didn't like the way JK handled it, and so I'm avoiding fanfiction that goes along those lines). But I must say that the choice of Roger Davies as your good guy took me by surprise. I have a much tougher time relating to a character who is described as nothing more than a womanizer in the series. By contrast, it was fairly easy to like your Lee Jordan who, despite his public flirting in HP, is in the end a very funny, very likeable guy.

So I look forward to see whether or not you can manage to convince me of Roger's merits. I think you made him fairly likeable so far, but he doesn't have much in common with the Roger in the series. Granted, they both smile charmingly to any female in sight, but JK's Roger seemed to be doing it full-heartedly, not out of habit or boredom like yours. I am willing to suspend disbelief and admit that he could have matured in the time span you allowed, but I have to say, in my experience, once a womanizer, always a womanizer. Or maybe I'm just too cynical that way...
St Margarets
Monday 9th January 2006 15:45
2: The Pub (Author Response)
Hi Megan!
So good to see you again!  I know you were disappointed in H/G and I certainly have had trouble coming up with something I want to write for them.  I am working on a Ginny PoV of HBP - but I'm only about five chapters in.  This story kind of took hold of me.
 
This is actually my retelling of the Psyche and Eros myth.  So my inspired choice was Roger as Eros.  LOL  Who else was I supposed to pick?  Anyway - the Roger of OotP and GoF was sixteen and seventeen - so I really don't think he has to stay in those patterns forever. What interested me about canon Roger was that he kept losing Quidditch matches, that Cho wouldn't go out with him, and that he could hardly string two words together around Fleur.  There is something endearing about someone who just keeps at it - even if the goals are girls and Quidditch. 
 
The story of his mother and brother will come out a bit more - and hopefully you'll see that Roger associates love with loss and that Lisa associates love with a battleground.  Both formidable obstacles - but their intial attraction pushes them into whole new areas - well you'll see.
 
Hopefully the story will carry you along to believe.  (And Padma - she's my skeptic)
 
Thanks for reading!
 
  Quote
Margaret
Monday 9th January 2006 13:59


2: The Pub

I am really liking this story--Usually it's difficult to get away from the obvious pairings... but you've done an amazing job.  I love the characterizations and the different yet plausible plot.  However, I have one tiny complaint--Lisa asks Roger about Transfiguration, but rather than changing the salt and pepper shakers into other objects, he makes them dance, an enchantment that, in canon, is usually assoiciated with Charms. I thought that maybe it was an overlooked item.  But no worries, it's a lovely story, and I'm really looking forward to the upcoming installments!

Always, Margaret

St Margarets
Monday 9th January 2006 14:14
2: The Pub (Author Response)
You're right - they should have been dancing mice or something - they have been away from Hogwarts too long! LOL.  Thanks for pointing that out and for reading!
  Quote
Jacynthe
Monday 9th January 2006 10:14


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 143

2: The Pub
Very nice.  Lisa and Roger are a couple you want to cheer for.  But mostly, I'm hoping for lots more Padma and George. (And will we learn what Parvati is up to in your world?)
St Margarets
Monday 9th January 2006 10:53
2: The Pub (Author Response)

I'm going to give you a link to Gabriella's journal.  She just put up a scene from the fic. she is writing about the twins all getting together.  She also wrote an outtake between Padma and George that takes place right after Lisa leaves in chapter two.  She promised to put that up today.  Thanks for reading!

http://www.livejournal.com/users/gabrielladusult/34239.html#cutid1

  Quote
ninkenate
Monday 9th January 2006 08:55


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

2: The Pub
I'm glad to see Lisa starting to come out of her shell a little bit. You can tell that whatever self confidence she once had has taken several blows. I was glad to see her starting to be a bit more assertive.

I'd love to see what Roger really thinks of her. 
St Margarets
Monday 9th January 2006 10:55
2: The Pub (Author Response)
Next chapter you will get more Roger! Lisa has an interesting backstory which should explain why she is the way she is.  You get to find out along with Roger.  Thanks for reading!
  Quote

Monday 9th January 2006 07:18


2: The Pub

You've got me hooked - great story.  Wasn't sure I'd like a story about peripheral characters but I'm already deep into it.  I like how you've connected it to the books - the broken time turners, emmaline vance, the bell jar....

Can't wait for more!

St Margarets
Monday 9th January 2006 07:44
2: The Pub (Author Response)
I'm glad you like it.  Minor character fluff is a tough sell, so thanks for taking a chance.  More coming soon - fluff should be addictive!  Thanks.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 32 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004