Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Harry Potter and the Nightmares of Futures Past by Viridian

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 28 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
captburke
Wednesday 25th February 2009 17:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

2: Back to Privet Drive...
This is going to be a very interesting story. Wasn't sure what to expect reading the Prologue. It was very easy to understand Harry's frustration, hurt, anxiety and suicidal tendencies considering he had lost everyone. Dumbledore was very wise, very intelligent, etc., however he did not necessarily take people's lives, loves, and dreams when making his plans. Harry may have survived, but survival isn't worth it if everyone you love is gone.
I can see that your concept of Harry's "first" life was different than in the HP series. Snape was obviously not a good guy in your version. Wonder what else will be different? Guess I'll just have to read on and find out.
  Quote
Thorn
Monday 19th January 2009 20:47


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

2: Back to Privet Drive...
snif i love this grate idea i can wait to see what happens next! keep up the good work.
  Quote
danielarrrowsmith
Friday 22nd August 2008 13:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

2: Back to Privet Drive...
It is in this chapter that I fully realised the task you set yourself: to re-write the whole of the Harry Potter series, giving Harry the same knowledge of future events that we have. That truely is a monstrous task, and one that I imagine wasn't undertaken lightly.

This chapter shows you are up to that task, as you carefully weave future and past Harry together in a delicate yet very fitting way. Harry's confused memories/dreams at the start give more insight into that awful future you invisioned, and the actual conversation between the two Harry Potters is beautiful. You pull out the innocence of Past Harry and the experience of Future Harry very clearly, whilst still showing Harry's nobility first and foremost. All the while, you can't help but empathise with both Harrys, as Past Harry nearly goes into shock, and Future Harry sees hope for the first time.

Hope is definately the theme that prevails over the rest of the chapter, with Harry taking subtle steps to cover his foreknoledge whilst using to to his advantage. I couldn't help but get excited at the prospect of Harry finally having the advantage, and not just being the unfortunate hero that destiny jumps at. Seeing Harry getting prepared at Diagon Alley conveyed to me the sense of a soldier getting equipped for a long war, and was definately a highlight.

With Harry's immediate action, it was hard to see Past Harry's character, but the younger Harry was very much present in the nervousness and doubt before meeting his friends, as well as the nervousness at seeing Ginny. It would have been easy to just eradicate Past Harry, and have Future Harry take over completely, but the mixing of two personalities (albeit two very similar ones!) is one of the more engaging and interesting parts of this story. So it is definately a credit to you that you have begun to do this so well in this chapter.

Finally, the way Harry reacts to meeting his friends again fits very well in the framework, and the idea to bring Ginny more into Book 1's events through writing letters was a stroke of genius.

All in all, Chapter 2 begins the retelling of Harry Potter incredibly well, and really sets yourself a high standard to keep! I look forward to reading the rest of this story once it is written.
  Quote
hihavaniceda
Friday 11th April 2008 17:48


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

2: Back to Privet Drive...
I read this story tooooo fast the first time and did not review hardley any chapters .... enjoyed it so much more this second time reading the story !
  Quote
aimless`
Saturday 29th December 2007 05:35


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 115

2: Back to Privet Drive...
Ah sorry, so stupid of me . Got it!
  Quote
aimless`
Saturday 29th December 2007 05:20


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 115

2: Back to Privet Drive...
Anyone who can throw off the Imperius at fourteen would not make this easy. [/qoute]

ehm... I don't remember Harry ever fought Imperius. When it was?
  Quote
Augrey07
Sunday 22nd July 2007 10:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

2: Back to Privet Drive...
Normally I can't stand these fics, but this is fantastic. Keep writing, I want to read!
  Quote
Narumi
Wednesday 23rd May 2007 16:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

2: Back to Privet Drive...
Again, very well done! I like how much attention to detail you've paid, like in inventing the subtleties of Goblin culture. It was a bit awkward when Harry started meeting people again, though, but I suppose that scene would be a difficult one for any author to pull off.
  Quote
Evenstar21
Monday 11th December 2006 20:37


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

2: Back to Privet Drive...
Another excellent chapter. I love Harry and Ginny's first meeting, so cute. I also like your take on the Weasley twins.
“Unless Mister Potter is having us on.”
Did Ron think Harry was playing for sympathy with his home life description? That's the only downside I could see about being upfront about the abuse.
  Quote
Caleb Nova
Friday 1st December 2006 03:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

2: Back to Privet Drive...
I especially enjoy the portrayal of the goblins. There's a great deal of hinted at depth to them in the books that I'm glad you've capitalized on.

It's also well done how Harry immediately begins to maneuver around his friends to maximize their potential. Events at first still closely align with the now obsolete future-past, but what's really change is mainly in the persona of his friends. As I recall, it pays off.
  Quote
tempesta
Saturday 26th August 2006 02:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

2: Back to Privet Drive...
I'm usually a bit sceptical about plots involving second chances via time-travel or similar concepts, but your plot-idea really seems to work. A very gripping read so far. I'm looking forward to the rest of the chapters.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Wednesday 16th August 2006 13:19


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

2: Back to Privet Drive...
Way to tell off Petunia . Very interesting and creative scene with soul Harry of the future talking with past Harry . Nice scene with Ginny , though I think Harry's overdoing it a little bit .
  Quote
crazyredhead
Monday 14th August 2006 19:26


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

2: Back to Privet Drive...
i like this so much it is so good
  Quote
haphazard1
Friday 3rd February 2006 23:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 12

2: Back to Privet Drive...
Another great chapter, as Harry begins working to alter this timeline. Loved the setup steps with the goblins, and getting a controlling interest in Grunnings. Can't wait to see how Harry uses that - "leverage" indeed!

Meeting the Weasleys and Hermione again...the emotional overload on Harry's part must be incredible. I like the small ways Harry is trying to head off future problems. Who hasn't wished for the chance to do things over, knowing what they do now? I'm guessing he's going to have to be very careful, though, as it could easily get out of hand and change things in ways he does not anticipate.
Viridian
Monday 13th February 2006 13:23
2: Back to Privet Drive... (Author Response)
Your second parapgraph sums up about 80% of the conflict in this story.

  Quote
siobh007
Wednesday 25th January 2006 07:42


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 97

2: Back to Privet Drive...
nice!
Viridian
Sunday 29th January 2006 03:38
2: Back to Privet Drive... (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
SillyGillie
Monday 16th January 2006 18:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

2: Back to Privet Drive...

Yay! It was a success. I find it very amusing that Harry went into Gringotts to discuss assests with the goblins! I'm glad that Harry's decided to make friends with Ginny from the start, brilliant. Ron and Harry's relationship looks to be going well. That's a brilliant new twist, Harry joking with Fred and George, nice touch. I wonder what the results will be of that. Will he not get the products tested on him? I was just wondering is this story spanning the whole of Harry's years at Hogwarts. It's a brilliant story.

Viridian
Monday 23rd January 2006 12:16
2: Back to Privet Drive... (Author Response)
It's all a part of the whole "cheating like Draco Malfoy on a Potions exam" plan! I've got 4 years outlined, in varying degrees of detail. Five can go one of two ways right now.
  Quote
Wooster
Sunday 15th January 2006 11:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 525

2: Back to Privet Drive...
Oh wow...I had to work so hard not to scream with laughter and freak out my brother. That was hilarious! I love the way you dealt with the Weasleys and Hermione. So fun!!! Just different enough to be interesting and not too different so it screws up history. Fun!
Viridian
Sunday 15th January 2006 13:45
2: Back to Privet Drive... (Author Response)
Thank you! I use my wife (and pre-beta) as a joke-test. If she laughs out loud, then I know what I just wrote is okay. If she groans out loud, then I know it's great.
  Quote
juliet
Friday 13th January 2006 19:42


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

2: Back to Privet Drive...
I can see Harry getting himself into some trouble if he keeps revealing things too much, too soon. 

Viridian
Saturday 14th January 2006 00:12
2: Back to Privet Drive... (Author Response)
Yeah, he's got to be careful with the changes he is making. Fortunately, he's starting with a blank slate with most people, so he can try and build up an entirely different image of himself in their minds...
  Quote
uchegirl
Thursday 12th January 2006 23:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

2: Back to Privet Drive...
Erm, I'm totally hooked now. Please tell me there's a lot more of this story to be had? Pleeeease?? *blinks pathetically* Seriously - I'm also writing a completely AU rendition of Harry's school years, and know how daunting it can be to keep going. Don't give up! Your stuff so far is excellent, and it is soooooooooooo cool to read something that really takes this premise and runs with it, and runs with it well. Good job, pls keep posting. And good job to your beta, as well ;)
Viridian
Friday 13th January 2006 01:37
2: Back to Privet Drive... (Author Response)

Theres a lot more to come. I've still got four more years outline to varying degrees of detail, and at last count 777 people in my yahoo group ready to string me up if I leave them hanging!

  Quote
Lulabelle
Wednesday 11th January 2006 18:20


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

2: Back to Privet Drive...
This is great!  I love it!  Keep it up!
Viridian
Friday 13th January 2006 01:33
2: Back to Privet Drive... (Author Response)
Thanks! I will.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 28 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004