Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Judging the Covers by Bring and Fly

Showing 1 to 17 of 17
GinevraMollyWeasley
Saturday 31st January 2009 08:28


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

Judging the Covers
I loved it! You should write others with different teachers!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Wednesday 20th August 2008 21:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Judging the Covers
  Quote
EmeraldPrincess
Sunday 14th May 2006 21:20


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

Judging the Covers
Wow.. Prof. Makie is an excellent teacher ain't she?

Niceley done!!

I don't read much about the teachers (their POV) and it was a nice change of perspective, thanks for that!
  Quote
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 22nd February 2006 05:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

Judging the Covers
What a wonderful story, B&F! I'm such a sucker for good McGonagall fics. I love the note of resignation in her internal voice as she readies herself for yet another crop of first years, and the little rituals she goes through to get everything "just right". Then the way the anticipation builds as she looks for one face in particular, and the rush of emotion when she finds it, was perfectly done. Fabulous.
Bring and Fly
Thursday 2nd March 2006 03:27
Judging the Covers (Author Response)
Gosh! Thank you Mags; that really means a lot, coming from you.
  Quote
Delfino
Sunday 22nd January 2006 07:03


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

Judging the Covers
I absolutely loved this. No one seems to ever write from McGonagall's point of view, which made this a fresh, new story. I especially liked her approval of Hermione's attention--but the ending was spectacular. Absolutely wonderful. Great job!
Bring and Fly
Monday 30th January 2006 08:06
Judging the Covers (Author Response)
Thank you, Delfino. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed this and stopped by to let me know. I have a fondness for Professor McGonagall.
  Quote
SillyGillie
Monday 16th January 2006 18:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Judging the Covers
Really nice job. It's always interesting to see what happened from someone elses point of view.
Bring and Fly
Tuesday 17th January 2006 05:54
Judging the Covers (Author Response)

Thank you, SillyGillie.

I agree; another perpective is always coloured by the observer's thoughts, feelings and personal experience, and as such, very telling.

  Quote
gypsy
Sunday 15th January 2006 16:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Judging the Covers
Great! Touching and heartfelt. I love these types of fics (when they're done right - as this one was), which show a different insight into a fairly standard scene. Beautiful, but I wanted to see more! *sniff* Gypsy.
Bring and Fly
Tuesday 17th January 2006 05:52
Judging the Covers (Author Response)

Thank you, Gypsy.

I'm pleased you found it so, and paused after reading to let me know. T'is appreciated. And thank you for 'wanting more' but stopping at that point was a deliberate choice.

  Quote
Passion
Sunday 15th January 2006 09:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Judging the Covers
This was very nicely written. It was a bit underdevelped in that the story lead to nothing in particular, but the idea was very impressively unique.
Bring and Fly
Tuesday 17th January 2006 05:49
Judging the Covers (Author Response)

Thank you, Passion.

It was, as you rightly pointed out, leading to nothing new, but I'm glad you paused to review. T'is appreciated.

  Quote
Wooster
Sunday 15th January 2006 08:49


Judging the Covers
Wow, that was interesting...It was very cool to see that scene from McGonagall's eyes...I especially liked the idea of older students abbreviating her name!
Bring and Fly
Tuesday 17th January 2006 05:46
Judging the Covers (Author Response)

Thank you, Wooster.

I could not resist the abbreviation, I'm afraid; anyone with a Mc name will tell you how frequently they are referred to as 'Mac' or 'Mackie', and I liked the idea that the older years would use it as an affectionate term.

  Quote
paladin
Saturday 14th January 2006 07:55


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Judging the Covers
Very interesting shorty.  You definitely provided a unique scene that make us comtemplate one of the more prominent, yet lesser scrutinized characters of the HP realm.  You provided enough of your own ideas about her yet let allow room for our own perspectives to carry on to what else may lie beneath the cool facade of the schoolmarm.

~Well done!
Bring and Fly
Tuesday 17th January 2006 05:42
Judging the Covers (Author Response)

Thank you, Paladin.

Professor McGonagall strikes me as a 'no-nonsense' witch, yet I often have the impression she is rigidly holding herself in check, and only occasionally 'lets rip'.

  Quote
Hoss
Saturday 14th January 2006 06:23


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

Judging the Covers
This one gave me shivvers.Thanks
Bring and Fly
Tuesday 17th January 2006 05:40
Judging the Covers (Author Response)
Thank you, Hoss,  for pausing to tell me so after reading. T'is appreciated.
  Quote
juliet
Friday 13th January 2006 19:01


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

Judging the Covers
Excellent.  You made McGonagall so real and allowed me to see beyond the tough exterior, to a softness within.  I really enjoyed this.
Bring and Fly
Tuesday 17th January 2006 05:38
Judging the Covers (Author Response)
Thank you, Juliet. I glad you felt I showed another side to our beloved Professor.
  Quote
Ladybug
Friday 13th January 2006 18:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Judging the Covers

unless she resorted to the use of coarse anglo-saxonisms -  which of course she wouldn't, being a good Scot!

Wonderful - I love that she had a degree of excitement about the start of a new year, but tempered by the knowledge it would be back to normal all too soon. A lovely look at our favourite three students through her eyes.

Bring and Fly
Tuesday 17th January 2006 05:37
Judging the Covers (Author Response)

Thank you, Ladybug. No indeed; being a good Scot, she probably knows many excellent old Scots phrases instead, and, depending on where she was raised, some Gaelic.

Yes, the feelings of newness soon wear away to comfortable and then familiarity.

  Quote
Ron Obsessed
Friday 13th January 2006 16:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Judging the Covers

Loved the McGonnagall perspective. Very good story.

Bring and Fly
Tuesday 17th January 2006 05:34
Judging the Covers (Author Response)
Thank you very much, Ron Obsessed.
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 13th January 2006 13:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Judging the Covers
I love Professor McGonagall stories and this one especially.  It is so true that every teacher sizes up each new class and pre-judges the members, putting them in the individual little boxes to be proven or disproven, and I see that the dear professor is just as guilty of it as the rest of us!  What I liked best about this story are her thoughts of Harry and how she searches him out, compares him to his father and thinks of Hagrid's words which make her angry enough to use "coarse anglo-saxonisms".  [I'm going to have to remember that particular turn of phrase!]  This is a story I'm going to read many, many times.  Well done!
Bring and Fly
Tuesday 17th January 2006 05:33
Judging the Covers (Author Response)

Thank you, Arnel. I'm happy it struck a chord with you.

Although teaching was a small part of my profession, I was as guilty of 'judging the covers' as the next. I confess the phrase 'coarse anglo-saxonisms', which you so enjoyed, was a phrase I read years ago by Rudyard Kipling. (Stalky and Co) It stuck in my head and popped back the second I read about Professor McGonagall.

  Quote
BasketKiwi
Friday 13th January 2006 11:50


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

Judging the Covers

Aww! That was cute, and the end was surprisingly sad. I can just imgaine mini-Harry (even though he's not really that mini...) looking all deer-in-the-headlights. So cute. n.n Good job! I love the idea of McGonagall looking over students every year, already knowing which would be in which categories. It was very well-done. ^^

Bring and Fly
Tuesday 17th January 2006 05:28
Judging the Covers (Author Response)
Thank you, BasketKiwi. I imagine Harry was quite small as a first year, and I agree with the 'deer-in-the-headlights expression. It must have seemed as though he had fallen into another world, as, indeed, he had.
  Quote
Evelyn
Friday 13th January 2006 07:45


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Judging the Covers
Very nice moment. I suppose I'd have liked to hear about McGonagall's annoyance at Ron's smudged nose... but let's not be picky.
I like that thoughtful side of McGonagall's...
But why is it AU?
Bring and Fly
Tuesday 17th January 2006 05:25
Judging the Covers (Author Response)

Thank you, Evelyn.

Professor McGonagall informed me that she was so used to boys arriving for classes et al, with more than smudged noses (rumpled robes of dubious cleanliness; crushed, smudged homework scrolls, complete with illegible handwriting and food stains) that it sails past her attention these days! :)

I didn't notice it was AU. We'll blame it on Jarveys chasing the Gnomes, and I'll ask my ever-patient Beta to fix it.

  Quote
Showing 1 to 17 of 17
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004