Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Not Your Average Kiss by Hank

Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
gymnastgal19
Monday 1st September 2008 18:33


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Not Your Average Kiss
aww!! that was an awesome story! i loved reading it the first and second time around
Hank
Tuesday 2nd September 2008 09:23
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!
  Quote
FireFairy
Saturday 2nd February 2008 19:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

Not Your Average Kiss
Wow, this was deep...I LOVED IT! More more more i need more, you are to good an author to not write more! Any story it doesn't have to be a sequel but I love your work. Thank you for a great story!
Hank
Tuesday 2nd September 2008 09:23
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Sorry I'm late to this - I must have missed the review somehow. I've been sidelined by RL. I've got an idea for a really short short story. If I get a break in the action I'll try and send it off to my beta.
  Quote
alli
Saturday 6th October 2007 07:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

Not Your Average Kiss
That was really good! I wasn't sure what to expect after reading the disclaimer, but I enjoyed that it was totally different to lots of the stories on here! Thanks

p.s It was a bit fluffy at the end - liked that too!
Hank
Tuesday 9th October 2007 13:36
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! I put that disclaimer there because I've started reading lots of stories on other sites only to have the author do something that totally ruined it for me (like killing off all of the main characters!). I wanted to prevent anyone from having a bad experience. I'm glad you enjoyed it. And yeah, this story was definitely meant to be different...
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 2nd October 2007 20:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Not Your Average Kiss
awwwww!!!!!!!!!! I loved it! Very creative!!!
Hank
Thursday 4th October 2007 15:30
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Thanks for the review!
  Quote
Kitty
Thursday 9th August 2007 05:13


Not Your Average Kiss
Ok i guess
Hank
Monday 13th August 2007 10:35
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
It's okay if you didn't like it. This story is not for everyone! That's why I put the disclaimer at the beginning... Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Sunday 31st December 2006 20:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Not Your Average Kiss
That was cool. And the would be a wicked snitch. Very good story.
Hank
Friday 5th January 2007 07:35
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I was very worried how this would go over when it originally came out. It has a VERY different treatment of the H/G situation than anything else I know of.
  Quote

Saturday 7th October 2006 03:20


Not Your Average Kiss
Hank
Monday 9th October 2006 08:18
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Hmm... I always wonder what to do with reviews like this.
  Quote
Circuitsoft
Wednesday 4th October 2006 00:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Not Your Average Kiss
Wonderful. Quite different, and I can see this as a post-HBP possiblility. Not likely, but possible. I've seen a couple other stoies with similar ideas behind their plots as well.
Hank
Wednesday 4th October 2006 07:29
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Thanks for the kind words. Personally, now that we know what Ginny's made of I don't see anything like this happening. This was written quite a while ago before JKR had developed Ginny's character. It was kind of an anti-fluff story that developed in reaction to some problems in my life. I guess you could say writing is a lot like therapy...

I've got an idea for a post-HBP storyline and conclusion that is canonical, but I don't really have time to write it. I might make it a short just to get it out. We'll see... Thanks for reviewing!!!!!
  Quote
Ladybug
Tuesday 21st February 2006 21:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Not Your Average Kiss
Great story! This is a true fairy tale - I loved it. What a fabulous idea for the killing curse - that's so inventive and I like the idea that it sort of has an almost good purpose (or dubiously wholesome? I don't know how to put it, but not entirely malicious, anyway!) Very clever idea.
Hank
Wednesday 22nd February 2006 07:38
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Thanks for the kind words! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. The story is sort of a combination of the Frog Prince(ess) and the Prodigal Son (erm, daughter) meets Harry Potter (literally!). Thanks also for letting me know what you liked. I covet feedback! I'm glad you liked that bit about the killing curse. I'm not really sure how that idea came to me - this whole story for that matter sort of popped up one Sunday, fully conceived and demanded to be written! Needless to say, I wrote it down as fast as I could. I've really enjoyed this story - there is an extended version of it which is incomplete and I'm mulling finishing it one day and perhaps posting it as well. We'll see... Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
dophingirl79
Thursday 16th February 2006 18:05


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 196

Not Your Average Kiss
Wow that was good. I think I like to see more stories with that kind of perspective. It was brilliant cheers!
Hank
Friday 17th February 2006 06:20
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! I'm so glad to see you liked it.
  Quote
jeanne
Wednesday 15th February 2006 16:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

Not Your Average Kiss
me again.I didn,t cry,but I loved it when the A.K. curse exploded all the D.E.,s ,including the Malfoys,Good show. I think J.K.,will go further than disfiguring Ginny.I honestly think she will Hill harry off along with Voldy in book 7.She,s made her billions,and I,m sure she wants out. She would rather kill him off than be pressured into another book.I thank "Merlin?" for you young authors cause you will keep him alive.
Hank
Thursday 16th February 2006 06:40
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Jeanne - thanks for letting me know what you liked. I always appreciate that in a review. Feedback is wonderful!

I truly hope JKR isn't quite that cynical and in her defense, she has allowed the fanfic universe to exist. She could have stamped all this out if she wanted to. Personally, I'm hoping she'll let Harry make it and just leave him and Ginny as a gift to the fanfic universe. (Ron and Hermione, too or Sugarquill will go bonkers! :lol.

Thanks once again for the review and here's to the hope that JKR will allow us to keep our favorite characters!!!!
  Quote
jeanne
Wednesday 15th February 2006 16:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

Not Your Average Kiss
I liked it,but it waaas faaar out.
Hank
Thursday 16th February 2006 06:26
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Jeanne - thanks for the reivew! Yeah, I will agree - this story is far out. But hey, that's why I wrote it. It was an idea that had been simmering on the back burner of my subconscious for a long time and when it was done, I wanted to play with it. I'm so glad you liked it.
  Quote
Rensselair
Wednesday 15th February 2006 15:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Not Your Average Kiss
yea...how is ginny supposed to apparate into hogwarts? Didn't you ever read Hogwarts a History? lol
Hank
Wednesday 15th February 2006 15:32
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Ginny alone can't apparate into Hogwarts. Actually, there are two ways someone could have gotten into Dumbledore's office: Portkey or a House Elf could apparate in. I don't specify in the fic. - I kept unnecessary detail to a minimum so the action would flow faster. So, either she had a portkey or her house elf apparated her in. You can pick whichever you prefer. Like I said, I didn't specify. By the way, if you could get me a copy of Hogwarts A History I'd be obliged...
  Quote
VirginiaGinny
Wednesday 15th February 2006 14:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

Not Your Average Kiss
Oh gosh.
This seriously made me cry.
I love how you made Ginny deal with the pain, and how Harry took her back. A++++ work, babe.
  Quote
VirginiaGinny
Wednesday 15th February 2006 14:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

Not Your Average Kiss
Oh gosh.
This seriously made me cry.
I love how you made Ginny deal with the pain, and how Harry took her back. A++++ work, babe.
  Quote
Jake
Wednesday 15th February 2006 14:30


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 323

Not Your Average Kiss
I was a little leery at the beginning with that warning, but the story was excellent and I think it would be a cool one to read as a full fic. Keep up the great work!


-Jake
Hank
Thursday 16th February 2006 06:51
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Jake - thanks for the review! Yeah, I put that disclaimer in there for a reason! I don't want to be responsible for anyone's mental breakdown or ruining a perfectly good day or mood. I've had that happen to me a couple of times before.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story. It's one I can't get out of my head. A novel version exists and it's about 50% completed, but with Sword of Gryffindor and book 7 hanging over my head I don't want to spend time working on it. If you are interested in reading or betaing, let me know. I do plan to finish it eventually - there's just no telling when. Bare in mind that the novel is even more painful to read - it fully covers Harry cutting Ginny off and slowly but surely falling in love with someone else, whom Voledmort has murdered in a very public fashion. That along with some brutal scenes where Harry and Ron have to tell Molly and Arthur that Ginny has gone over to the dark side. It's a big tear-jerker. And let me not forget, the scene where Harry toasts the Death Eaters - there is a part which is written from Ginny's POV!
  Quote
VirginiaGinny
Wednesday 15th February 2006 14:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

Not Your Average Kiss
Oh gosh.
This seriously made me cry.
I love how you made Ginny deal with the pain, and how Harry took her back. A++++ work, babe.
Hank
Thursday 16th February 2006 06:55
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed it. This was a tough story. I was worried about how it would go over, but I'm glad I got it posted now. Take care!
  Quote
paladin
Wednesday 15th February 2006 08:53


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Not Your Average Kiss
Awesome story! I know that you are re-leasing it (do you work for Disney? Ha-ha) but this was great. It captured my attention and emotions from the opening paragraph. I found myself enthralled with this story of broken hearts, good intentions, misundertanding, remorse and most importantly, forgiveness. I think it can be summed up in two words; misguided youth. You have done a great job with your descriptive details and tense, action-filled scenes.

Thank you, for re-posting so I found this. ~Cheers!
Hank
Wednesday 15th February 2006 10:18
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
Thanks for the kind words. They are greatly appreciated. I was a little bit worried about how this story would go over. So far, so good. By the way, and you'll probably appreciate this little tidbit, the gatekeeper at GT was horrified by this story and considered it unsuitable for posting. Heh... So everyone is actually seeing this for the first time, except for Nimbirosa and my betas.

Thanks also for letting me know how the story affected you. It's great to know I hit my mark. Sometimes when I'm writing, I'm very unsure how parts of a story (or even the whole thing for that matter) are going to go over with the audience. For instance, in chapter 12 of my other story I had two reviewers react in a completely opposite manner to one of the scenes I had written. What can I say? Thanks for reviewing!!!!
  Quote
Lily Jane
Wednesday 15th February 2006 03:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

Not Your Average Kiss
Wow, that was something. One of the best fics I've read.
I'm still crying but it's good. I used to grade the story by the amount of tears, however lately I haven't had a chance (or a story good enough) to do that.
Thank you for making me believe in second chances again
Hank
Wednesday 15th February 2006 14:04
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
My pleasure. I like second chances, too. Something to do with being a Christian... I'm so glad to see you enjoyed the story. It was a lot of fun to write, despite the dark subject matter. It was a topic that had been simmering on the back burner of my subconscious mind for a long time and one day it just decided to come out, fully ready to write! Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
juliet
Tuesday 14th February 2006 23:58


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

Not Your Average Kiss
How could you say there was no fluff there? Haha.
A really interesting take on the romantic side of Ginny and Harry, and they had their Hollywood ending after all.
Hank
Wednesday 15th February 2006 14:16
Not Your Average Kiss (Author Response)
What can I say? You were warned! Yeah, it was sort of different, wasn't it? Fluff is good (and heaven knows I need my minimum daily requirement), but sometimes life isn't like that. That's why I wrote this. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004