Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Finding the True Path by EJH0904

Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
DebbieO
Monday 21st May 2007 08:16


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

Finding the True Path
Great story. A heart pounder! Thanks.
  Quote
Uzamaki-girl
Sunday 17th September 2006 12:07


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Finding the True Path
This was great. I listened to "Sea of doubts" by Azure Ray while reading this. You should check out the song, it matches perfectly.
  Quote
meddymo
Sunday 16th July 2006 20:19


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 59

Finding the True Path
What an absolutely lovely story. Well deserving of story of the week. Your writing style here is enjoyable and easy to read and your storytelling technique flows quite well. I loved the section about Harry's dream and Voldemort intruding on his mind. Very well done indeed.
EJH0904
Sunday 16th July 2006 20:39
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
Thank you for your very kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed the flow and style of the story - I always try to write things with an easy-to-read manner.

I'm also happy that you like the Harry and Voldemort section. The reason I decided to "reconnect" Harry and Voldemort to one another was because I think it's highly likely (at least that or something similar) in the final book. Harry's had a full year's reprieve from Voldie's nasty intrusions, but I doubt that'll last if he figures out that he can collect some bit of information from Harry that he wants - we know that bad guys never have any scruples.

I also incorporated that particular part in order to make Harry have an emotional reaction. I imagine that an exhausted, bedraggled, lonely Harry is much more likely to give in to his fears and despair if there's a strong catalyst, and I'm dying to see Harry and Ginny share a moment like this for real.

Thanks again!
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Sunday 16th July 2006 12:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Finding the True Path
I really like your Ginny.
EJH0904
Sunday 16th July 2006 12:18
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
I'm glad. I feel like Ginny has been getting a bad wrap ever since HBP came out, and I don't believe that that's really fair - she's been through quite a bit, too. I'm hoping that we do see a reunification of Harry and Ginny as early as possible in book seven - all this innuendo from Jo has got to mean something.

Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
lucky_black_cat
Friday 14th July 2006 04:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Finding the True Path
A very beautiful story. It was extremely well-written, and I loved all of it. The only thing that surprised me was that Voldemort found out about Ginny through Harry, instead of being tipped off by Snape or Draco.

However, I really enjoyed this fic (specially Flitwick's behaviour - very much like him ) . I hope everything will turn out alright for Harry and Ginny. Well, I know it will - it has to. Thanks a lot for this wonderful piece! -Sonia
EJH0904
Friday 14th July 2006 17:02
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
Thanks so much for your kind review! I decided that I wanted Harry to give Voldemort the skinny on his and Ginny's relationship accidentally and against his will in order to throw more guilt and despair into the equation. JKR hasn't really given Harry a full-blown cry that's been described in detail, and I wanted there to be a legitimate reason for Harry to expend such emotion.

I'm glad you like the little addition (no pun intended) of Flitwick. I've actually had a complaint about him being in this piece, but I personally think he is one of the least strict of the professors at Hogwarts, and would be more likely to help someone in Ginny's position. Thanks again for the lovely review!
  Quote
Temeraire
Thursday 13th July 2006 13:24


Finding the True Path
Attagirl, Ginny! I like Strong!Ginny much better than the Moping!Ginny or Angry!Ginny so many other fic writers have created for the post-HPB horcrux hunt.

Very good work.

jma
EJH0904
Thursday 13th July 2006 19:45
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
To me, Ginny is the epitome of the "right" girl for Harry. I can't imagine JKR writing Ginny as anything BUT strong for book seven, so I tried to write in the same vein. Thank you very much for your kind review!
  Quote
Novera
Wednesday 12th July 2006 23:29


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 157

Finding the True Path
Awww
Soo Sweeet
EJH0904
Thursday 13th July 2006 19:43
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
girl from ipanema
Wednesday 12th July 2006 11:44


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

Finding the True Path
I had read this story a long time ago and I always thought to be beautifull: love narrative flow, imagery and emotion. I always also thought that it was worth a few more chapters of it. Nice job.
EJH0904
Wednesday 12th July 2006 16:32
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
I'm really glad that you liked the flow, imagery, and emotion in this piece - those are things that I obsess about on a regular basis. I doubt that I'll have time to develop this story line further any time soon, but I appreciate the compliment all the same.

Thank you for your kind review!
  Quote

Tuesday 11th July 2006 19:22


Finding the True Path
very nice story! I can imagine that sort of scenario happening in Book 7! well written, I like your style. + =
EJH0904
Wednesday 12th July 2006 06:42
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
I hope something like this happens in book seven, too - I don't want them separated for very long! Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Yentila22
Tuesday 11th July 2006 11:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

Finding the True Path
This story should be more than a one shot. You are a wonderful writer. I love the way you have portrayed Ginny and Harry.

I cant wait to read more of your work.
EJH0904
Tuesday 11th July 2006 19:07
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
Thank you very much for calling me a "wonderful writer," it's compliments like those that keep me going.

I'm also glad that you like my portrayal of Harry/Ginny. They're definitely my OTP and I hope JKR keeps them alive and together in book seven. Thanks again for your kind review!
  Quote
Evelyn
Tuesday 11th July 2006 03:20


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Finding the True Path
Should have reviewed this before. I read this ages ago, but I was too lazy to leave a review. So here it is...

Very sweet story. I loved the little scenes that Harry remembers - very cute. Especially Ginny telling Harry he looks different because he smiles more.

And the cautiously happy ending fitted right into the story. Not overdone, but very satisfying.

I'd love to read a sequel.
EJH0904
Tuesday 11th July 2006 19:04
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
Thank you, I really did enjoy writing this. I'm glad that you specifically liked the little scenes with Ginny that torment Harry so much - those were things that I would've dearly loved to see in canon, but weren't there.

As to a sequel, I don't know if I'll write an actual sequel to this, but I did write a much longer and more "R" rated version of this same fic called "The Nameless Charm." It can be found under the Restricted Section over at SimplyUndeniable.com if you're interested in taking a look.

Thanks again!
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Monday 10th July 2006 18:13


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

Finding the True Path
This is a beautiful story. As I read, I recalled reading it before and loving as much then as I do now. I only wish it could have been longer. I can imagine Ginny bringing new life to the trio as they rest in despair and pain. She would be able to comfort them and take care of them with energy they didn't have.

I might suggest a slight revision to some of your longer sentences. It gets a tad difficult sometimes taking in that much information all at once. Since I'm just as guilty as anyone else, I can tell you that two betas have told me to read out loud. At least enough to move your lips. It actually works, too.

So, I love this story. It's peaceful and sad but with a glimmer of hope. I like the many different ways you took things that are often overdone and made them different. For example
Ron had come all too close to dying when that last piece of Voldemort’s demonic puzzle had been eradicated...
This line is great! It's only one example of the nice ways you found to repeat something we've all seen a hundred times, but in a new and unique way. Well done.
EJH0904
Tuesday 11th July 2006 19:00
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
Thank you a million times over for your long and very insightful review! You're one of the few reviewers I've had that said more than "That was nice," or "You stink," (and that's putting it politely LOL!) I appreciate that comment about my long sentences, especially - you tell me what's wrong but you were not unkind in the way you said it. (And though I've never really considered that before, I think it's more than pertinent, particularly since it's my "longer" sentences that I have trouble with the most).

As to the length of the fic itself being longer - if you'll go over to SimplyUndeniable.com you'll find a longer (and steamier) version of this fic under the category of The Restricted Section. It's called "The Nameless Charm" and it's definitely an "R" on the rating scale, but it furthers the story and significantly changes the end by making Harry and Ginny's last moments together much more intimate in nature.

Again, thank you for the wonderful review, and I hope to see you around online!
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Monday 10th July 2006 14:57


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Finding the True Path
That was really good. And was a really sweet ending. Nice.
EJH0904
Tuesday 11th July 2006 18:48
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
Thank you very much - I always try hard to end things well. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
Sarah
Sunday 19th March 2006 15:18


Finding the True Path
I really enjoyed this. Thought it was very realistic and entertaining.
EJH0904
Monday 20th March 2006 20:28
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
Wow, I didn't think I'd get any more reviews since it's no longer on the front page - yours has come as a wonderful surprise!

I try very hard to stick to canon, and I really appreciate the fact that you found it realistic. I love to write about emotions, so I'm glad you found it entertaining as well. Thanks very much for the review.
  Quote
ImmortalPhoenix
Wednesday 1st March 2006 11:17


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

Finding the True Path
I really liked this story. I wish there was more Harry and Ginny in it but not all stories are meant to have a lot of fluff. Great story.
Kortnee
EJH0904
Monday 20th March 2006 20:25
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
I glad you liked it, though I felt like the anticipation and building up of them meeting was what I was truly needing to focus on. I love fluff too, but I wanted to keep it realistic as well. Thank you very much for reveiwing.
  Quote
annel22
Sunday 26th February 2006 12:22


Finding the True Path
I really enjoyed your story. I think this is a great one shot, but it is also a great beginning for a longer story .I will look forward to reading more work from you.
EJH0904
Monday 27th February 2006 16:34
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
Thank you very much! I really enjoyed writing it - in fact, it wouldn't even let me sleep until I got it out of my head and onto the screen! I'm not sure if I'll go any further with it or not, but I appreciate the encouragement either way. Thanks for your review!
  Quote
hp4-sauce
Thursday 23rd February 2006 19:26


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 91

Finding the True Path
A thoroughly enjoyable read. A love-based tracking charm, huh? Cute idea. Excellent writing too.
EJH0904
Friday 24th February 2006 18:17
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
The "love-based tracking charm" idea developed because I wanted Ginny to be able to find Harry in a credible and believable manner - I didn't want things to sound silly or ridiculous, especially not in that regard. Thanks as well for the writing compliment - I truly appreciate the vote of confidence! Thanks again for the review!
  Quote
sweetdreamer285
Thursday 23rd February 2006 13:00


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

Finding the True Path

I know it's a one-shot, yet I want more!
Hope there's more to come!
...Or maybe it's just wishful thinking.
Anyway, good job!
+ =
EJH0904
Friday 24th February 2006 18:14
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
I really did intend this story to be a one-shot, but who knows - maybe I'll write another with the same plotline. Thanks for the kind review!
  Quote
Jorgie
Thursday 23rd February 2006 08:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 16

Finding the True Path
Very well written. I hope you do a sequel I would like to read your views on how all this is going to go.
EJH0904
Friday 24th February 2006 18:13
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
I sincerely appreciate the "well written" comment - that is high praise for a new writer! I don't know if I'll write anything else in this vein, but I have found myself considering it on occasion... Thank you for the review!
  Quote
Alexannah
Thursday 23rd February 2006 04:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Finding the True Path
Ooh, I like this fic. Very nicely done - you've pulled off Harry's emotions very well, and the descriptions really pull readers into the story. Nice work
EJH0904
Friday 24th February 2006 18:11
Finding the True Path (Author Response)
I really love dealing with emotions when I write, and I'm glad that you found Harry's emotions to be believable. I always try to describe things thoroughly as well, so I'm happy that you liked that aspect of the story. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004