Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Seventh Horcrux by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 59 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
Escapist
Friday 15th July 2011 13:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

2: When One Door Closes...
Just read the first two chapters. It's 1am but I can't stop reading! I don't think I'll be getting any sleep tonight. =)
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 28th February 2008 08:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

2: When One Door Closes...
hahahaa The durselys really did need a good yelling
loved it
  Quote
LadyLight
Saturday 6th October 2007 10:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

2: When One Door Closes...
hermonie used Levicorpus
  Quote
firstsong1
Friday 27th July 2007 12:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

2: When One Door Closes...
It's just wonderful!
  Quote
lolatyou
Sunday 22nd July 2007 17:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

2: When One Door Closes...
This doesn't even need to be said, but awesome.
  Quote
lolatyou
Sunday 22nd July 2007 17:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

2: When One Door Closes...
This doesn't even need to be said, but awesome.
  Quote
Gridley
Friday 20th July 2007 10:54


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 160

2: When One Door Closes...
You tell 'em Ron!
  Quote
FlittterKat
Thursday 19th July 2007 09:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

2: When One Door Closes...
Your writing is wonderful and I've enjoyed it greatly. It's everything I've come to enjoy about the HP world. I look forward to reading your work. Thanks.
  Quote
datsyum
Thursday 28th June 2007 23:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

2: When One Door Closes...
Would you at least consider writing a sequel to this if JKR chooses to kill Harry in the end. Please
  Quote
datsyum
Thursday 28th June 2007 23:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

2: When One Door Closes...
Would you at least consider writing a sequel to this if JKR chooses to kill Harry in the end. Please
  Quote
datsyum
Thursday 28th June 2007 23:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

2: When One Door Closes...
Would you at least consider writing a sequel to this if JKR chooses to kill Harry in the end. Please
  Quote
Vicki
Saturday 12th May 2007 05:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

2: When One Door Closes...
Ron is such a loyal friend. must keep reading thankyou.
  Quote
lacyrachil
Monday 20th November 2006 10:41


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 251

2: When One Door Closes...
I really enjoyed this chapter. Ron is my favorite character and I love the very real sense I get when reading his sections. "Bloody Hell" has become my favorite saying, I can just hear him saying it. Great job.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Wednesday 15th November 2006 10:57


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

2: When One Door Closes...
I like the battle of the snorers
'Harry remembered his first summer at the Burrow' -- what about the showers at Hogwarts?
'that’s just as bigoted and narrow-minded as the Malfoys’ view of Muggles' - Yes; and I think JKR intended that
'I think Dudley and Malfoy could have actually been mates' -- is that 'prophetic' as Dudley is now a magician; though I guess its not likely as Dudley would be a mudblood, and we know how Malfoy feels about them.
' Priori Incantatum ' -- I think you mean Prior Incantato , the spell to see what the last spell a wand was used for. And then there's Priori Incantatem which is not a spell but the effect produced when 'brother' wands are used against each other; unless you're creating a new spell?
It looks like Hermione has taken on a new project; instead of the house-elves, it's the Dursleys -- looks like she's having the same measure of success
'I’ll be of age in a few weeks' -- so they're leaving before his birthday; wouldn't it be wiser to stay at Dursleys while he has the magical progection?
Go Ron; you tell 'em.
'He could see a crude drawing of a birthday cake with candles drawn in different colors with gradual improvement in the drawing. He remembered adding to it each year on his birthday' -- very moving picture.
  Quote
ninkenate
Tuesday 22nd August 2006 07:30


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

2: When One Door Closes...
I really liked this chapter. Hermione's persistence to befriend the Durlseys was typical. I love reading loyal!Ron and the ending was perfect. For Hermione to lose her control to the point of using one of the Prince's spells on a Muggle was priceless.
  Quote
DailyProphetReporting
Sunday 23rd July 2006 03:35


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 180

2: When One Door Closes...
Boy, you did a wonderful job with the garden scene. Just by presenting Dudley with the idea of his potential power you were able to show how terrifying a character he could be with a wand in his hand. Riddle's absolutely the right comparison because Dudley's already proven he's cruel enough to use his strength simply to torment others and because you very convincingly portray a lust for power in him.

Dudley’s eyes gleamed, as if a light switch had just been turned. “I could make them do anything I wanted, couldn’t I?”


That's such a freaky moment, and I just love it because it has so much potential. If Dudley's sudden willingness to stand up to Petunia is any indication, he could make a great background villian. I'll definitely be hoping we see him again at some point in the story.

Elsewhere, I thought you did a nice job keeping Ron and Hermione in character. Ron's quick tongue kept things lively in light of the typical Dursley antics. And I especially liked Hermione's explosive burst of rage at the end. She might typically be the most diplomatic major character in canon after Dumbledore (another point you've brought across well here), but she's also probably the most dangerous when angered. Good job illustrating that.

What I'm not so sure about is all of Harry's internal debates about Ginny. One of the biggest character traits I took out of the last two books is that Harry can be almost completely single-minded when he wants to be, and it certainly seemed like he was entirely focused on destroying Voldemort (and, perhaps, Snape) at the end of HBP. I think Harry's going to resist any potential distractions strongly, and since you seem to be indicating in your author's note that Ginny's going to play a major role, you're going to have to convince me of why he'd let her back in. In that regard, I'm definitely finding your stated preference of angst over fluff encouraging.

Anyway, you've definitely got my curious as to what you're planning next. Thanks again for your efforts!
-KC
Melindaleo
Sunday 23rd July 2006 06:30
2: When One Door Closes... (Author Response)
Thanks! You will see Dudley again, but you'll have to wait awhile for it. As for my love of angst, I do have to clarify one thing - I love dramatic angst, but not romantic angst. I have no patience for that, actually. In canon, I agree with you - Harry will be too focused on the Horcruxes. Still, JKR did say there was always time for a little romance, and in fanfiction, I like Ginny to be in the story. I just thought I'd give you fair warning.
  Quote
critmo
Saturday 22nd July 2006 09:51


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

2: When One Door Closes...
Sorry, forgot to log in. Last comment was mine.
  Quote

Saturday 22nd July 2006 09:50


2: When One Door Closes...
The Dursleys did not really get what they deserved, but still: Ron as we'd like him to be.
  Quote
DanAngelus
Thursday 29th June 2006 06:11


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 133

2: When One Door Closes...
That was bloody brilliant! (as I'm sure Ron would say) Couldn't help my laughing throughtout the entirety of Rons speach to the Dursleys. It's about time someone did that lol. I love your work so far. It's been a while since I enjoyed a fanfic this much! :-D
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Monday 12th June 2006 15:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

2: When One Door Closes...
That is so nice to have Ron and Hermione as loyal as they are. And it is also very surprising to have Hermione using the Half-Blood Princes spells. Very shocking and very good and well written. Keep it up!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 59 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004