Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Ginny's House? by parakletos

Showing 1 to 20 of 28 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
moralitas
Monday 7th September 2009 02:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

Ginny's House?
a great story, tugged at my heart strings.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 7th October 2008 15:05


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Ginny's House?
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 28th March 2008 19:19


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Ginny's House?
nice story!!!
You sure like writting harry and ginny going through rough times dont you....
I like it though almost all fanifics have everything hunky dory for ginny and harry...
parakletos
Saturday 29th March 2008 01:44
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
I prefer the conflict to come from the relationship than hordes of death eaters making their lives a misery.

Thanks for all your reviews.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 25th October 2007 10:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Ginny's House?
huh... interesting! glad to see that ginny came to her senses lol

  Quote
freckleforce93
Saturday 20th October 2007 16:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Ginny's House?
could you add more chapters?
parakletos
Sunday 21st October 2007 00:21
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
No, sorry, the story is complete.

Thanks for reading.
  Quote
freckleforce93
Saturday 20th October 2007 16:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Ginny's House?
could you add more chapters?
  Quote
GinnyBSexy
Sunday 7th October 2007 01:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Ginny's House?
I have always enjoyed reading your stories. In fact I check every day just in case 12 months is updated. I just found this one and found it interesting. But it seems incomplete. You left me with a cliffhanger. Please follow it up.

Thanks for all your hard work.
parakletos
Sunday 7th October 2007 01:43
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
Hi

The best way to ensure you don't miss out on the next chapter of 12M is to add me to your author update list.

A few people have commented that it is complete, but it isn't. This is the fic I intended to write, no more, no less and I have no plans to follow it up.

  Quote
bbnaz
Wednesday 29th August 2007 06:06


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 108

Ginny's House?
This was an interesting piece. I found the anger of Ginny and the Weasleys to be a bit uncharacteristic and difficult to wade through at the start. Also her using a Slytherin law firm (or would that be solicitors?) seemed totally out of character for a woman who had loved someone since she was a small girl and had four children with him. That being said, I loved the scene (after Molly had left of course) where Harry tried to explain his tumult. The unclenching of the anger knot was nicely done and the redemption came at the end. I love a read where I am challenged to step outside the box, only to be rewarded at the end.

Well done.
parakletos
Wednesday 29th August 2007 06:20
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
The original prompt, I think, was intended to see Harry going to visit Ginny in her new abode, but being the person I am I twisted it

Thanks for the review
  Quote
pyromain
Sunday 3rd June 2007 09:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Ginny's House?
I can't say what I think of this stroy really. It seems that it's not quit finished to me, its writen really good but the ending is to open for my liking.
I would love to see where its going there is to much hurt at this point to get a feeling to where it will lead.
parakletos
Monday 4th June 2007 06:49
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
My main response to your review, other than wanting to correct your spelling, is that it is fairly obvious where this is going.

But thanks for taking the time to review.
  Quote
Ishi
Sunday 3rd June 2007 05:29


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

Ginny's House?
This is bizarre, because I've actually seen it happen once. It's like you pulled it directly out of my life. Brilliant characterisations, and I love having Slytherins as lawyers ^^. Good job.
parakletos
Monday 4th June 2007 06:46
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
Thanks for the review....it is based, to some extent on real life so I'm glad that came through.
  Quote
doron
Monday 15th January 2007 14:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Ginny's House?
had the same thing happen to me

except the end was realistic - not like here
parakletos
Tuesday 16th January 2007 00:18
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
Firstly, this is fiction, and secondly the ending was based on a real couple so I tend to think it was realistic.
  Quote
Yentila22
Saturday 6th January 2007 02:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

Ginny's House?
I believe I have read this story before,you have made some changes,(updating perhaps?) I was very moved by your story. I was married for twenty two years beforemy husband died from cancer and I thought the the thoughts and feelings you described were very realistic. Marriage is work, and it is a commitment that you reaffirm every day. Thank you for giving us a little hope and lot of food for thought.
parakletos
Saturday 6th January 2007 02:44
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
My condolences at the loss of your husband.

It was originally posted on Lj as part of the hpgwficafest. The version here had a few changes made to it at the request of my PS beta, but that is the only difference. It was first posted her in March 2006.

I have been with my wife for 26 years now and you are right, it is something that you need to work at. Thank you for your review.



  Quote
critmo
Thursday 4th January 2007 04:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

Ginny's House?
I almost didn't read this, because the idea itself seems sacrilegious. Still, I don't regret having read it, even though it leaves me a little unsatisfied.
parakletos
Thursday 4th January 2007 08:51
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
When I furst posted it as part of the hpgw ficafest a few people commented that they only read it because they knew that H&G was my OTP. It doesn't make a comfortable read - even for me-and its not meant to, so I thank you for reading it all, and for leaving a review.
  Quote
kilian
Thursday 4th January 2007 01:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Ginny's House?
Excellent writing as always.
parakletos
Thursday 4th January 2007 08:52
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
Thank you
  Quote
swngnblues
Wednesday 3rd January 2007 08:19


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Ginny's House?
I have to agree with other reviewers, in that this is a truly powerful story. I believe what makes it so powerful is that it hits so close to home for everyone. I can think of very few relationships that have not had their share of insecurities and times of utter hopelessness that a split seems to be the only viable solution. The plot relates very much to "modern day" (at least in the states) where it's a matter of "call the lawyer" before everything else. The hurt, the pain, the despair, and the anger you've encapsulated of both characters is palpable. That you offered a "happy ending" here is the "sweet" to everything "sour" you've painted.

I doubt that you had intended this as any sort of "commentary" on current affairs, but that may wind up being the "legacy" of this piece. I hope that you can find the artistic inspiration to write something of this type of "darkness" in the future.
parakletos
Thursday 4th January 2007 08:48
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
Every so often I feel the need to explore this part of life with my OTP so who knows in 2007.

Thank you for such a powerful and complimentary review.
  Quote
amamama
Wednesday 3rd January 2007 05:30


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Ginny's House?
Wow. That was... exhausting. I think you've put your finger on something very important - the way people just don't talk to each other. One assumes, the other doesn't want to fight and eventually they end up squeezed into a corner they never wanted to see. Add the part of the press that loves tearing people's lives apart and a slight lack of self confidense and voilá! There is something to be said for choosing what's right over what's easy, but it can be terribly hard, especially with people you love because you don't want to hurt them, but in the end the hurt gets to be so much larger because you never told. I find these thoughts of Hary to be especially poignant: How could you explain a life-time of regrets in a few words? How could you tell the mother of your children that you loved her dearly but hated her for what she’d done to you?

I think this is the strongest ficlet I've ever read. It's like a punch in the solar plexus. With a possible and necessary happy ending.

Thank you.
Berte
parakletos
Wednesday 3rd January 2007 05:46
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
I reread this this morning and it still moves me, as did your review. Thank you.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Tuesday 2nd January 2007 09:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Ginny's House?
It is difficult to read about Harry and Ginny letting things go to hell in a handbasket, but it happens to the best of us.
parakletos
Wednesday 3rd January 2007 03:21
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
Yes, it can happen to the best of us. Thanks for reading and reviewing.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Tuesday 5th September 2006 12:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Ginny's House?
Funny story. Just plain weird.
parakletos
Tuesday 5th September 2006 12:49
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
Is it weird? In what way?
  Quote
dragon-breeder
Wednesday 5th April 2006 15:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

Ginny's House?
I admit, I cried. I just can't stand the fact that Ginny and Harry would divorce... It's just so sad!

Nicely written, like the switches between POVs.
parakletos
Wednesday 5th April 2006 23:04
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
Thanks for stopping by to read and review. Sorry I made you cry
  Quote
va guy
Friday 31st March 2006 13:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Ginny's House?
I have to admit, I haven't read any of your other fics yet so I have no comparison, but I must say this is a very good piece of work. It's not the usual happy stuff that I've come to enjoy and it’s a fantastic change. The pain on both sides is very real and a reader can feel it. I think I would have like more of Ginny’s POV as well, but that doesn’t take anything away from the story as is. Harry contemplating leaving for America and not seeing his kids is right along with your characterization of him here. He’d take the path of least resistance. He’d miss his kids, but it would cause him less pain to never see them than to see them and Ginny and have the reminder of the horrible memories of the divorce. Not a noble trait, but unfortunately it’s all to true to life. It feels strange to be gushing over a sad story, but it was so good. There is no fairy tale ending to marriage, or life, it takes, as Mad-Eye said, constant vigilance and it takes constant attention by both people. The ending was very true to life, can they put the past hurt away and work for their future. I really enjoyed reading it, and I plan to make time to read your other works.

mike
parakletos
Saturday 1st April 2006 03:29
Ginny's House? (Author Response)
I feel honoured to be your first review

Thanks for taking the time to read and review, it is very much appreciated.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 28 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004