Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Follow Your Heart by valeriean

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
Patches
Tuesday 27th March 2007 14:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

2: A Look at the Past
People do the stupidest things in times of stress. Ginny and Harry are meant for each other. Voldemort is the biggest flea in the soup, ever.
Thanks for writing. I look forward to what happens when Ginny goes in to see Harry. p
  Quote
Bookworm
Sunday 30th July 2006 15:42


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 75

2: A Look at the Past
You've outdone yourself!!! Great chapter!
  Quote
southpaw
Monday 26th June 2006 16:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

2: A Look at the Past
That was a gut-wrenching chapter. I love Ginny forever but that was a bad choice. I hate seeing these two hurting. Nice twist haveing those three teach DADA, i like it. Nice work with the characters so far.

You are definitely on my email update list now. I hope you write more soon.
  Quote
PHsname
Monday 22nd May 2006 23:03


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 161

2: A Look at the Past
Wow...the dialogue you write is very good...

I'm thinking this in comparison to many authors. For example, the scene in which Ginny gives Harry her ultimatum...As soon as I saw that coming, I was afraid of another cheesy exchange of professions of love and whatnot.

Instead, I was pleasantly surprised with dialogue that was very believable, and didnt make me feel like my teeth were rotting uncontrollably. Everyone likes fluff, I just happen to not like it particularly when it makes one cringe.

So...great job!!
  Quote
Wooster
Monday 1st May 2006 05:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 525

2: A Look at the Past
Can't make long review...must...find...out..what...happens!
  Quote
potty
Sunday 23rd April 2006 16:27


2: A Look at the Past
COOOL ! !
CAN'T WAIT FOR HARRY TO GET WELL AND START TEACHING , HAHA GINNY SHOULD MAKE HIM JEALOUS
  Quote
EmeraldPrincess
Tuesday 18th April 2006 21:20


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

2: A Look at the Past
You should write a story about Harry teaching, I love fics like that.

There so interesting when you read about him teaching, to seew how he would react to a crowd of students. Unlike the DA when they were his classmates...

*sigh*
Update soon!
valeriean
Wednesday 19th April 2006 00:16
2: A Look at the Past (Author Response)
Thanks for the read! Updates will always come on a Monday! Please look for it then.
  Quote
paladin
Tuesday 18th April 2006 03:53


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

2: A Look at the Past
Awesome chapter!

You carried the tenor you built up in the first chapter over to this chapter very well and transitioned nicely into Ginny's reflections. The dialog and scene from the wedding conveyed great emotion to various degrees. Describing facial expressions and body language really helps in trying to imagine yourself in a similar situation; you provided that here. The conflict withing Ginny is great and I am looking forward to what you have in store.

~Great job!
  Quote
Tesgirl123
Monday 17th April 2006 20:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

2: A Look at the Past
I'm confused...Harry, Ron and Hermione were teaching at Hogwarts while in their 7th year? That doesn't sound like it makes much sense but I like the angst and I like the steadfastness on Harry's part. Keep it up!
valeriean
Wednesday 19th April 2006 00:19
2: A Look at the Past (Author Response)
Uh...yeah. It all falls into the category sprung from my imagination. I wanted to build Harry up as a great teacher, but he still needs the help of his friends.

Plus, the level up in status means they can go in and out of Hogwarts as they please to search for the you-know-whats.

Thanks for the read!

  Quote
EJH0904
Monday 17th April 2006 17:58


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 123

2: A Look at the Past
Man, this is good! Please PLEASE hurry with the next update! This cliffies are killing me!!!
  Quote
ImmortalPhoenix
Monday 17th April 2006 11:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

2: A Look at the Past
Ok I have one thing to say; UPDATE!!!! I can't wait until next Monday to continue reading... PlEASE????... PREttY PlEASE???

ok anyway if you couldn't tell already I love this chapter and I absolutely love the story. If all of your chapters come to be this great, you will be the author of my favorite story.

Update asap please!!
Kortnee
  Quote

Monday 17th April 2006 10:24


2: A Look at the Past
ugh...i hate cliff hangers!! well, great chapter! can't wait till the next one!
  Quote
critmo
Monday 17th April 2006 09:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

2: A Look at the Past
Well, that's extremely difficult. The idea is intriguing, of course, but you'll need to explain very carefully why Ginny was so very touched by Harry the one moment and presents him with an ultimatum the next second, PLUS blaming him for the result afterwards. If you don't, she'll come across as a spoilt little girl, because she obviously didn't listen to what he was saying. She could have argued, but she only made things worse by giving him the choice between two extremes. Not a good strategy, if you deal with someone as desperate as Harry, and not one I would have expected from the Ginny we know from the books.
  Quote
daisymom
Monday 17th April 2006 06:09


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 57

2: A Look at the Past
Oh man, you did it again. Why can't you post more then just one chapter? I really can't wait to see what else happens! Great job on this chapter!
  Quote
CrabbyOldHobbit
Monday 17th April 2006 02:12


2: A Look at the Past
Minor nitpick:

"[...]damning the confining dress robes to purgatory."

Purgatory is not a place/condition of damnation in it's original (Catholic) context - it is, in fact, something yearned for. If you were trying to spice up the tired "damned to hell" cliche with fresh diction, valiant effort, but it's jarring to anybody with more than a passing familiarity with the concept. So, unless you were intentionally expressing Ginny's own somewhat malformed understanding of Christian concepts (and I'm not entirely sure what you would be intending to accomplish in so doing), stick with the cliches you know.

Besides that, I haven't any comments on the story thus far. Nothing much has happened yet except for a lot of angsting that could either lead to a satisfying read or something that just breaks the suspension of disbelief in regards to characterization. Be careful how you write Ginny - we know she's capable of spite and malice, but don't overplay this aspect of her personality just for the sake of driving the conflict/sexual tension between the two characters. There's enough potential with this often-used-but-rarely-realized story archetype as it is without resorting to cheap manipulation of characterization - which I'm not suggesting you have yet done, but am only warning against.

Also - I'm not sure I buy the idea of Harry "using up" his love like so. I'll stick around to see what comes of it, but something just feels a bit... off.

Thank you for writing this story,
~TheCrabbyOldHobbit
valeriean
Wednesday 19th April 2006 00:20
2: A Look at the Past (Author Response)
Thank you for putting that 'purgatory' detail into consideration.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004