Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For All Night Long by Grace has Victory

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
aschowin
Wednesday 10th May 2006 23:01


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

2: The Leaky Cauldron
Excellent chapter. You even added a bit of suspense at the end, which is difficult considering we already know what happened. I really like the way you write, it seems very smooth and well thought out. I'm beginning to see how they were able to become friends. You've set a nice background to build up their relationship. Very well done. I look forward to reading more of this story.
Grace has Victory
Friday 12th May 2006 15:09
2: The Leaky Cauldron (Author Response)
Dear Aschowin,

Well, if you think this was a cliffhanger, wait until you read the ending of chapter three!

I think the art of this type of fanfiction is bearing in mind that there won't be many surprises in the plot, so the suspense has to come from the psychological dramas. JKR has really only told us about Harry; it's up to us to enter the heads of the other characters.

Thanks for your input,

GhV
  Quote
Ladybug
Tuesday 9th May 2006 20:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

2: The Leaky Cauldron
Oh, there were just a couple more things I wanted to say:

You’ve got to love Hermione in her tactlessness. Poor Ginny.

And I meant to say that even though Hermione was a bit tactless, I think what she had to say would probably comfort Ginny if she was to think about it. I liked the way you described the experience of the Petrified students.
I love Mrs Weasley: Mum started to complain that the twins needed to set a better example to me, but nobody really listened.

But if I remember rightly, everyone but Percy was not really listening!! That made me really chuckle.
Grace has Victory
Friday 12th May 2006 15:02
2: The Leaky Cauldron (Author Response)
Dear Ladybug,

There are two examples of biased narrator, aren't there? Ginny is prejudiced against Hermione, so she won't give her tactless "comfort" the benefit of the doubt. And Ginny tuned out of what her mother was saying quite early in the rant, so she didn't notice that Percy was paying rapt attention.

Now, doesn't it seem from canon that Ginny ended up following the twins' example rather than Percy's? But keep reading: Ginny will acquire the taste for Hermione's company, just as Ron and Harry did.
  Quote
Ladybug
Monday 8th May 2006 23:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

2: The Leaky Cauldron
This is priceless! You’ve got to love Hermione in her tactlessness. Poor Ginny. Gosh, I love your descriptions – you manage to paint perfect character pictures with just a few words. I love Mrs Weasley: Mum started to complain that the twins needed to set a better example to me, but nobody really listened. And then our dear Hermione: Hermione did not reply until she had finished cleaning her teeth. Thanks for such a great little story.
Grace has Victory
Tuesday 9th May 2006 18:18
2: The Leaky Cauldron (Author Response)
Dear Ladybug,

Thanks for reviewing. You obviously care about characterisation - I think it's one of the best things in Harry Potter too. JKR makes every character so clear. Isn't it amazing how we all love Hermione despite her faults? Next chapter follows shortly.

Regards,

GhV
  Quote
Author By Night
Wednesday 3rd May 2006 05:20


2: The Leaky Cauldron
Hey Grace! Very good so far. I like the twist, on Ginny not really having liked Hermione at first - you don't see that a lot, but it's very possible. (Hermione is, after all, a bit scary at times).
Grace has Victory
Wednesday 3rd May 2006 05:28
2: The Leaky Cauldron (Author Response)
Hello, AbN. Not our usual meeting place - imagine having you read my story here! There are actually quite a lot of badfics in which Ginny and Hermione don't like each other, so thanks for taking the time to tell me that mine isn't one of those. Regards, GhV
  Quote
Connor Landon
Tuesday 2nd May 2006 14:51


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 188

2: The Leaky Cauldron
This is a great story! It's nice to read about something that isn't post-HBP or post-Hogwarts, which is all I seem to read these days. There's so much of H/G that it's almost like I'm on a H/G shipping website or something... Anyway, I really like the story. It's really different to read about Ginny's shyness before she "gave up" on Harry. Update soon!
Grace has Victory
Tuesday 2nd May 2006 17:08
2: The Leaky Cauldron (Author Response)
Dear Connor,

Thanks for reviewing. I'm glad to meet a reader who wants to READ something that isn't a post-HBP H/G story, because I don't at present have much inspiration in that direction!

The next chapter is with the beta-reader, so it won't be long. Ginny will have shed her shyness by then, and will be battling a very different dragon ... one with green eyes ...

Regards,

GhV
  Quote
Jai-kun
Tuesday 2nd May 2006 11:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 20

2: The Leaky Cauldron
Wow. I really like your characterizations here. Hermione is dead on, and so is Ginny. You've managed to make her sound both like Ginny and also 12 years old, too. Beautiful work.
Grace has Victory
Tuesday 2nd May 2006 14:11
2: The Leaky Cauldron (Author Response)
Dear Jai-kun,

I am so pleased you like the characterisation, because I think that is one of the best things in JKR's writing. Each character is so clear and distinct, we would never confuse one with another. Although it's ... ahem ... rather a long time since I was 12, I do think I remember what it was like.

Thanks for committing your thoughts to writing,

GhV
  Quote
thisgrlrox
Monday 1st May 2006 22:48


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 187

2: The Leaky Cauldron
I am loving this story! Ginny is so snippy (in her head of course) and Hermione doesn't even realize her faux pas. Excellent! I love Ginny's dialogue in her head. I think you quite captured her character. Keep up the good work.
Grace has Victory
Tuesday 2nd May 2006 14:09
2: The Leaky Cauldron (Author Response)
Dear thisgrlrox,

Yes, poor Hermione, she's not at all tactful, is she? Rather like me in fact. And while Ginny may grow up to be more socially adept, she's not exactly a shrinking violet either. You can certainly expect fireworks to follow.

Thanks for taking the time to review,

GhV
  Quote
Hank
Monday 1st May 2006 10:23


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 158

2: The Leaky Cauldron
This is a neat story! I like the perspective you've written it from. It must have been miserable to have been Ginny at that point in time and this work reflects that well. You've done a marvelous job capturing Ginny's personality and fleshing it out. I also like how you've captured all of her contemporary obsessions (Harry Potter and Quidditch) as well as adding in the normal insecurities a person in such a situation would feel. Well done. Thanks for sharing!
Grace has Victory
Monday 1st May 2006 13:35
2: The Leaky Cauldron (Author Response)
Dear Hank,

Thanks for adding your thoughts. Yes, it must have been miserable to be Ginny, but she's such a naturally cheerful person ... I think I would have drowned in self-pity, but I'm sure Ginny's braver than that. It was a struggle to write a balance. And, as the next chapter will show, it becomes worse before it becomes better.

Hope to see you in the next instalment,

GhV.
  Quote
Evelyn
Monday 1st May 2006 05:56


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

2: The Leaky Cauldron
What a good read... And an extra long read, too, with those two chapters.
Your characterization of Hermione is wonderful. She really talks a lot, not thinking about other people's feelings and then, when she does, she's shocked at herself. Loved the thought of losing five weeks in 1 second, especially for a girl like Hermione who's always got her head full of a hundred things.
Ginny, too, of course, is very well written. I'm feeling so sorry for her now. All that guilt, mixed with jealousy about Harry...
Reading this again, I realise I'm gushing... Ah well.
Grace has Victory
Monday 1st May 2006 13:33
2: The Leaky Cauldron (Author Response)
Dear Evelyn,

Gushing is always welcome! Thanks for taking the trouble to review. It was easy to write Hermione because she's rather embarrassingly like me. It was harder to hit off Ginny, but I was sure she must have a lot of ghouls left in her head after a year with Tom Riddle.

Next chapter is with the beta, so I hope you'll rejoin us then.

GhV
  Quote
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004