Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea by Tarkas

Showing 1 to 17 of 17
dogbertcarroll
Friday 14th January 2011 11:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
Loved it! Laughed like a loon. Keep up the good work.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Wednesday 14th May 2008 15:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
ahaha!!! I would have loved to see the dursley's reaction to a huge creature!! and a magical one at that
  Quote
Steven Carnell
Sunday 4th May 2008 05:06


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 74

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
Love it! Nicely written. 9/10.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 11th January 2008 21:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
OMG!!! please tell me that you wrote a fanfic accompianing it! i would love to read what happened to the dursleys!!
  Quote
Glodfindel
Friday 6th July 2007 09:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
Well, thanks for giving me the much needed reminder that I take my fanfic far too seriously! Great stuff!


You can never take fanfiction too seriously - Sirius
  Quote
Rhetor
Saturday 30th June 2007 05:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
*Snort*

All we need are the gamma rays.
Tarkas
Saturday 30th June 2007 08:40
Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea (Author Response)
With or without the man-in-the-moon marigolds?
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Monday 25th June 2007 10:35


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
Hah That's a great story! I was a little... surprised... by Dobby's transformation, but the ending was hysterical
  Quote
amamama
Monday 25th June 2007 03:11


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
Ahh, Tarkas. This is SO good. Smashing Malfoy sounds like a good idea. Maybe he should be allowed to show his transforming abilities for Hermione to see why S.P.E.W. is a bad idea, clearly she doesn't know that Hulk is a really a free elf. lol

Cheers!
  Quote
SeaNymph
Monday 18th June 2007 13:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
haha! terrific take on why house elves shouldn't be freed. Hermione would be shocked if this was true!

What else is great about this, though, is that you made it believable, just by adding that little bit in with history made it seem all the more real for the readers to believe. Thanks for writing this!
  Quote
James
Thursday 11th May 2006 22:40


Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
Oh that was good, harry ought to have dobby do that number on hermione to get her off her rant about spew!
Tarkas
Friday 12th May 2006 01:33
Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea (Author Response)
Ah, but ater hearing about Hulk!Dobby and what happened, will not look at elves (and S.P.E.W.) in the same way. She now has a very good reason why elves are bound (and the information that it was, and is, at their own request), and so she'll either aim primarily at protecting them from abuse or she'll dive head-first into research into a way to make them able to control themselves -- and then go mad about ending elf slavery!
  Quote
Delfino
Friday 5th May 2006 13:20


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
Ha! I loved this!! I was actually a bit shocked when you killed Malfoy, but who would argue on the point of that man's death? I loved that Dobby's transformation self was green. This was just altogether hilarious. And the 'end'...oh, just perfect. I hope the question mark at the end of "The End" meant you might be continuing this! Great job!!
  Quote
amulder
Friday 5th May 2006 04:04


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
Well shoot, Phil, that last paragraph is just as much a teaser, as well as an incentive for a new vignette, as the opening was!!!

Good job on working out this little plot bunny. This could be the start of a whole new A/U. Imagine... instead of Harry blowing up aunt Marge, Dobby takes care of her. (for that matter, by that time of summer the Dursley's would be so cowed they probably would NOT have invited her over.)

I can see the Dursley's torn between Horror at Dobby, versus extreme envy at how well he looks after Harry in terms of food and cleaning...

Or the climax of PoA - Dobby shows up and protects Harry from the werewolf and they nab pettigrew. Hmm. Or in GoF at various points. Or forget all that and imagine how Dobby would deal with his beloved master being hurt by Snape or Umbridge during OoTP !!??

certainly, Harry is not the only one at Hogwarts with a house elf in their family. But having no extended family, or manor, to take care of, Dobby must have a lot of .... free time on his hands to be following Harry and making sure that his young master is looked after.

what fun.
thanks for sharing,
...art
Tarkas
Friday 5th May 2006 10:01
Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea (Author Response)
And that's not all... Given Dobby's protective nature and tendency to get over-excited (which would only be worse when he is Hulkified), can't you see him, say, leaping into the air during a Quidditch match to deflect (or, better (?) still, catch and throw back ) a Bludger sent at Harry? And then there's what might happen in a Potions lesson... Squashed , anyone?
  Quote
Ladybug
Friday 5th May 2006 01:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
Well, thanks for giving me the much needed reminder that I take my fanfic far too seriously! Great stuff!
  Quote
Stormrider
Thursday 4th May 2006 18:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
I'm happy to see that everyone now has a chance to read this (Yes, I'm the guy who triggered it all; by the time you read this, I will already be in hiding ).
Tarkas
Friday 5th May 2006 10:03
Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea (Author Response)
DOBBY FIND!
  Quote
AHardie
Thursday 4th May 2006 18:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
Very funny!

I'd be interested to see more if you should write it, Dobby Hulk at the dursleys, dobby hulk thratening death eaters, perhaps a dramatic final battle with dobby saving harry's life at cost of his own ...

But it is perfect in itself as a single short story.

;-)
  Quote
Locathah
Thursday 4th May 2006 18:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
Cute... extremely cute actually Dobby the Hulk

I've been thinking its a shame the connection between Dobby and Harry isn't examined in more fanfics. Dobby's easy to overlook but when you stop and think about it his life parallels Harry's in a way that ought to make Harry very sympathetic him.

I'd be willing to bet BOTH of them have spent the magority of their lives living in cupboards.

Both of them grew up abused (I'm working on the assumption that Dobby was born into the Malfoy family.)

It probably wouldn't be a stretch to expand on those large similarities.
  Quote
tanaxanth
Thursday 4th May 2006 18:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

Why S.P.E.W. Is A Really Bad Idea
DOBBY SMASH!!!!!

hehehe
  Quote
Showing 1 to 17 of 17
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004