Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For It's Still a Fairy Tale by occlumens

Showing 1 to 20 of 20
Dad
Monday 29th March 2010 10:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 480

It's Still a Fairy Tale
Just picking stories by chance. This was a very interesting piece of writing.
  Quote
Dad
Wednesday 28th January 2009 10:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 480

It's Still a Fairy Tale
That was a bit different. Interesting point of view.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 25th March 2008 11:25


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

It's Still a Fairy Tale
nice story! I liked the way you wrote it!
its different than most fanfics too You dont really see fanfics about hermonie nad her thoughts about the war and the effects it had on her parents...
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 8th November 2007 16:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

It's Still a Fairy Tale
nice story!
  Quote
lacyrachil
Thursday 7th December 2006 12:05


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 251

It's Still a Fairy Tale
Wow. I never really thought about it until now...the amazing recollection of being a child of muggles must be difficult. How would her parents ever really know or understand her turmoil. Thanks for writing.
occlumens
Saturday 9th December 2006 15:57
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you so much! I thought about Hermione's plight with her parents a great deal after I started going to a boarding school. My mother complains about how she never knows what I'm talking about anymore; I can imagine it would be much much worse if I were at Hogwarts.
  Quote
Corin_Qhan
Saturday 10th June 2006 14:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

It's Still a Fairy Tale
Do I know you?
occlumens
Saturday 10th June 2006 14:32
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
I don't know. Your username is very similar to one that someone I know uses on Xanga.
  Quote
Corin_Qhan
Friday 9th June 2006 18:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

It's Still a Fairy Tale
This is a good piece, if a tad depressing. It really drives home the changes that the war would bring, and I believe you have quite brilliantly portrayed Hermione. Your accuracy is quite refreshing, even if the story is a bit sad, even though we know something like it is coming.

Good work
occlumens
Saturday 10th June 2006 14:01
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you! I really appreciate your comments. It was a tad difficult to judge Hermione's characterization, because naturally war changes people and she would also, IMO act differently at home than at school. I'm glad you like how it turned out.

As for it being sad, fear not. Hermione is strong; she'll be over it soon. It just takes time. I seem to remember her adjusting to Hogwarts took time too.

BTW~ Are you who I think you are?
  Quote
Evelyn
Wednesday 7th June 2006 08:57


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

It's Still a Fairy Tale
Another beautiful piece. I also read the companion piece on your LJ (couldn't work out if I could leave a review there or not , so this for both).

I loved this, but I *think* I loved the one through the years (you know what I mean) even better. You must post it here. It's really good.

Anyway, you portray Hermione very well. Poor girl.
occlumens
Wednesday 7th June 2006 09:08
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you!

You're welcome to comment on my LJ.

I am working on the other piece. I'd like it to be a bit longer before I submit it.
  Quote
mary-v
Sunday 4th June 2006 16:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

It's Still a Fairy Tale
Very depressing... but I like how it's in the form of a question, as in I like how she's still wondering what's left. It made me feel better to know that she didn't completely lose hope... anyways. Brilliant work!
occlumens
Monday 5th June 2006 23:09
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you!

Oh, don't worry. I don't see Hermione staying down for long. It takes time though, and I think an instant happily-ever-after would be unrealistic at this point. They'll get over it, they'll move on, but it won't be easy. Important things rarely are. I hardly think JKR would leave a character alive just to be depressed for the rest of eternity. The same goes for me.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Sunday 4th June 2006 13:38


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

It's Still a Fairy Tale
This is a very well-written piece and I enjoyed reading it. Your grasp of Hermione's internal struggles and memories is outstanding. Through your writing I can feel her pain and sadness. I can feel her confusion and loss. Your description of how she finally understands what Harry was going through was so sad, but so gripping. I can just imagine her laying her head down on her pillow and just crying because it's finally over, and the end isn't what she expected it to be.

Very well done. This is my favorite line - it chokes me up.

He looks so sad now, when he sees the understanding in my eyes.
occlumens
Monday 5th June 2006 23:06
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you!

I'm glad you liked that line. It always struck me how depressing it would be when the others finally started to realize what Harry was so upset about for most of OotP. Hermione said she wanted him to teach the DA, but I don't think that's something that can be taught. Most of them though, will learn something of it by the end of the war I'm guessing. I mean, it is a war after all. I don't think that, once they understand, they'll think it's such a wonderful knowledge after all. Because what do you do with that once the war's over? The pain might have given them the determination to keep fighting, once. But once there's no more battles to be fought, there's only... It's sad, and not confined to imaginary battles either. Though, my personal idea of Hermione doesn't stay in this state for long. It just takes time to heal, as it should, really.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Em
Friday 2nd June 2006 18:48


It's Still a Fairy Tale
I really loved this piece. Great work!
occlumens
Friday 2nd June 2006 19:12
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Thursday 1st June 2006 07:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

It's Still a Fairy Tale
That was good. I liked to see inside of Hermione's head once in a while. I liked how she whould ask the questions then answer them to herself. Good job.
occlumens
Friday 2nd June 2006 09:21
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you! I like to go inside Hermione's head as well; she's the easiest character for me to write in first person.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
willow
Thursday 1st June 2006 04:00


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 162

It's Still a Fairy Tale
it's not often fanfiction is so thought provoking, and you've picked the perfect character to get across the depth of the emotions that would be felt by the teenagers after the war...!

hope to see more of your work!
occlumens
Friday 2nd June 2006 09:20
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you!

I think it would be hardest for the trio and Ginny whose lives have been entwined with Voldemort for as long as they've been at school. It becomes "normal" in a sense. The adults had seen it all before; they have already had to return to "normalcy" once.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Connor Landon
Wednesday 31st May 2006 19:59


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 188

It's Still a Fairy Tale
This was amazing! It really captures the essence of the aftermath of the Last Battle. You really did a good job describing Hermione: all of her worries, fears, feelings, everything. Nearly perfect. Wonderful. 10/10
occlumens
Wednesday 31st May 2006 21:17
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for reading.
  Quote
oldman
Wednesday 31st May 2006 15:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

It's Still a Fairy Tale
Very interesting idea and you express your thoughts well. You make a very good case for not sheltering people from all horror but you have a hidden dilemma in that youve had Hermione hiding facts and sheltering the people she loves just like Harry does through the whole story and is criticised for it by Hermione herself!!
occlumens
Wednesday 31st May 2006 21:16
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Ah, contradictions. Thank you for your review. Hermione did what she had to to make sure she'd be allowed to play her part in the war. It's my personal opinion that she can't have told her parents everything or they wouldn't have let her go, and I think we would have seen some evidence of a confrontation by now if that were the case. She doesn't think her parents have a place in the war. It's different with Harry. Harry is witholding information from people who, she believes, have a right to know. It's her fight too. She is, essentially, going through the same process as Harry, but it's hard to recognize that in oneself, I would think.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
harry_ginnyphile
Wednesday 31st May 2006 09:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 44

It's Still a Fairy Tale
I love, love, love this fic! It is so interesting to see inside Hermione's mind -- to see her thoughts and feelings, even some of her faults and insecurities as well. Normally we see Hermione as so strong and secure, it's a refreshing change to see the inner workings and sadness of our favorite bushy-haired girl. I hope that she overcomes her sadness and finds her "normal" again so that she can be happy after the war! Excellent writing, occlumens! Can't wait to read more ...
occlumens
Wednesday 31st May 2006 10:21
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you so much! (Not least for all the help you gave me on this fic.)

I'm glad you liked the insight. I figured, if there's one place a person can let their strength go, it's at home after it's all over, right? Hermione will be okay. She's too strong to let it get to her for long, and she has friends who will help her out.
  Quote
Curren
Wednesday 31st May 2006 09:43


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 120

It's Still a Fairy Tale
i don't know if it's partially inspired on it or not, but i actually saw the same kind of mood i saw at the end of the lord of the rings, with frodo. I could be wrong ofc, i'm a very big fan of LotR... you did a very good job in working out these kind of emotions.
occlumens
Wednesday 31st May 2006 10:19
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you!
Actually I was having Hermione slightly do what I come to term "pulling a Frodo." I think Harry's probably more likely to turn out like that in the long run, but I also think that all the ones who fought in the war will feel it to some extent.

I'm a big LotR fan too, though I hope HP doesn't end the same way. I'd prefer Harry to die and be reunited with his parents than to be alive and miserable at the end.
  Quote
Mullvaney
Wednesday 31st May 2006 07:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

It's Still a Fairy Tale
This is very sad; Hermione seems so hopeless. It's as if she feels guilty for living through the war. I enjoyed all the internal musings that went into what she told her parents; nothing is as simple as it seems. You did a good job with Hermione's inner voice, and cnveying that hopelessness. I hope her parents give her a week to rest up, and then send her for some counseling!

Good work!
occlumens
Wednesday 31st May 2006 09:04
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you! Sad is what I was going for. I did a research project on war this year, and a common theme among the survivors was a sort-of grey feeling upon trying to readapt to their old lives. One of the saddest things is that the feeling alienates them; they're the only ones who don't feel like celebrating.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Ladybug
Tuesday 30th May 2006 22:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

It's Still a Fairy Tale
Very, very good. What is normal anymore? For the Grangers the fairytale is still the magic, isn't it? But for Hermione, the fairytale is that anything can be, or ever was, normal. I think your expression has great depth and clarity. Beautifully done.
occlumens
Wednesday 31st May 2006 09:08
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you so much! You have it exactly.

It has to be so hard for the muggleborns and their parents. They live in two separate worlds, and yet...

Thank you for reading!
  Quote
PHsname
Tuesday 30th May 2006 20:35


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 161

It's Still a Fairy Tale
Haha...I liked your unique way of structuring the fic.

I liked it, personally...your Hermione is very interesting. I would love to perhaps see more from the perspectives of other characters...

Keep writing!!

occlumens
Wednesday 31st May 2006 09:11
It's Still a Fairy Tale (Author Response)
Thank you!

Other perspectives is an interesting idea. Hermione's sort-of just hit me over the head when I was thinking about war and it's affect on people. I could do Harry's, I think. He's an exception to the rule though, unless he dies. I don't think he'll end up as shaken up as Hermione. He's seen it before, you see.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 20
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004