Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For No Devil or Redeemer by Mullvaney

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
majolie
Monday 24th March 2008 06:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

1: Lucrezia
I decided to read this based on how much I like your short story - and the fact that you have updated recently. I was not sure it would capture my attention based on the main characters, but so far I am quite interested.
  Quote
Connor Landon
Thursday 5th April 2007 10:55


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 188

1: Lucrezia
Ooh, very intriguing so far! I love the wealth of the history you have painted. Amazing. I've never read anything of the like before. Maybe I should read historical fictions more often...Nah, I'll just stick with yours. I'm going to read the rest, obviously, but I just wanted to get in my review, as I will probably be too engrossed to bother to leave one. I will on the last chapter, though, I promise! Wonderful story.
  Quote
Dogstar
Thursday 6th July 2006 12:59


1: Lucrezia
I don't know what will happen when I submit this if I haven't registered ... this is Jo anyway.

I ca't believe it's taken me so long to get round to this. I love this opening chapter, as you know, the wonderfully evocative descriptions and the snarky dialogue particularly. This sentence made me smile:

to talk of nothing, and to pretend to be absolutely fascinated by it. She thought it would be a thoroughly wretched evening.


I like Lucrezia a lot. The little character details are wonderful - the contrast between the two friends and their attitudes and their closeness and ease with each other despite it.

Lucrezia certainly does seem to have bold and unconventional ideas - I hope this doesn't lead her into making any rash decisions about her future! *gnaws*
Mullvaney
Thursday 6th July 2006 14:25
1: Lucrezia (Author Response)
I don't know what will happen when I submit this if I haven't registered ... this is Jo anyway.

I ca't believe it's taken me so long to get round to this. I love this opening chapter, as you know, the wonderfully evocative descriptions and the snarky dialogue particularly. This sentence made me smile:

to talk of nothing, and to pretend to be absolutely fascinated by it. She thought it would be a thoroughly wretched evening.


I like Lucrezia a lot. The little character details are wonderful - the contrast between the two friends and their attitudes and their closeness and ease with each other despite it.

Lucrezia certainly does seem to have bold and unconventional ideas - I hope this doesn't lead her into making any rash decisions about her future! *gnaws*


Thank you, Jo! I like Lucrezia, too She's pretty clueless about the whole romance thing, though. She and Artemisa will have to stick together.
  Quote
Seaspray
Wednesday 5th July 2006 04:52


1: Lucrezia
Aww, this is great. I love how you've fleshed out the ball scene, and all the lovely juicy gossip . And we seem to get more characterisation of Lucrezia's parents too, which I really liked. I notice you use bird related imagery a lot - reminds me of the feast scene in chapter three - is this deliberate - 'cos I think it's quite effective, it somehow creates a faint air of nastiness, in humanity - there's something quite frightening and inhuman about birds, as well as sweet voiced and decorative - a bit like all these young debutantes, a set of birds in gilded cages, but with beaks and claws enough no doubt....

And Romulus Black *rubs hands* whatever will happen next?
Mullvaney
Thursday 6th July 2006 14:03
1: Lucrezia (Author Response)
Aww, this is great. I love how you've fleshed out the ball scene, and all the lovely juicy gossip . And we seem to get more characterisation of Lucrezia's parents too, which I really liked. I notice you use bird related imagery a lot - reminds me of the feast scene in chapter three - is this deliberate - 'cos I think it's quite effective, it somehow creates a faint air of nastiness, in humanity - there's something quite frightening and inhuman about birds, as well as sweet voiced and decorative - a bit like all these young debutantes, a set of birds in gilded cages, but with beaks and claws enough no doubt....

And Romulus Black *rubs hands* whatever will happen next?


Thank you! The bird thing is quite unconcious, I love birds, I feed them outside my kitchen window, and I can always be found standing at the sink and watching them. In my headLucrezia's parents look sort of like my grandparents. Birds in Gilded cages. . . that's excellent!
  Quote
Ladybug
Saturday 3rd June 2006 22:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

1: Lucrezia
Ooh, this is quite intriguing. Beautiful descriptions and you've evoked the era brilliantly. I'm quite keen to see what happens from here and how all these various wizarding families will interact. I love all the family cameos and the gossip and most of all Lucrezia's opinions on the whole thing. I'm feeling a bit uneasy though, because I'm not sure if I should like these people or not - given what we know of their families in the generations to come.
Mullvaney
Wednesday 7th June 2006 04:08
1: Lucrezia (Author Response)
Thianks! You may *not* like some of them by the end of the story; evil people don't consider themselves evil, and I don't think the character of the old Wizarding families has changed much since the time of this story
  Quote
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004