Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Eyes Have It by hwimsey

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 22nd April 2012 14:37


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 116

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
a tear to soften the armour... now that's nice

i've only just come across your story, and this first chapter is wonderful! i like the humour!
  Quote
lorgbb
Sunday 25th June 2006 09:37


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
that was excellent! the way ginny expresses her thoughts had me laughing the whole way through pretty much, and the knight was brilliant as well! i also liked all the analogys you made, very well thought up
hwimsey
Sunday 25th June 2006 17:13
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear lorgbb,

Thank you so much for your kind review. Don't you love the knight?! Stay tuned, we'll see him again.

Thanks for admiring my analogies. They can be tough to write - too cheesy at times. But Harry's eyes - they can't be described any other way.

I'm glad you're enjoying the story. Thanks again for taking the time to review. It means the world.

Take care,
hwimsey
  Quote
Ladybug
Thursday 22nd June 2006 20:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
Oh, I just read this chapter and all your well deserved reviews and have to say I heartily concur with everyone’s positive comments – particularly the immaculate writing bit (with the exception of the sitting on the train thing, of course, but to be honest I did not notice that until critmo pointed it out – and then I had a good laugh). Did anyone say it was delicious? No, I don’t think so, so I’ll say it – Delicious! The tear as a lady’s token – so sweet. The peacock feathers/Bermuda seas – gorgeous. Flitwick – I love him! Thanks for a lovely story.

PS I got bit by the lame review filter for trying to say 'o-o-o-h'! That'll teach me!
hwimsey
Thursday 22nd June 2006 21:48
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear Ladybug,

Thank you so very much for your lovely review. You made my day.

I actually had a very funny exchange with critmo about that phrase (in truth he was intrigued by the thought of Ginny being upset that Harry didn't sit with her) - and here I had Gulliver's travels in my head.

I just got bit by the filter too, when I reviewed Cursed, which I love.

Thank you again. You are the delicious one.

Ch 3 should be up soon. Let me know what you think.

Take care,
hwimsey
  Quote
Delani
Wednesday 21st June 2006 14:47


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
This was fantastic. I loved the subtle dry humor and the almost bitter comedy. The knight bit was absolutely brilliant; what a perfect way to let Harry rescue his damsel *and* get a little steamy, all by sheer accident. *Sigh* If only he *had* asked her to the Christmas party...

Delani
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Wednesday 21st June 2006 14:05


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
Aahh, so sthweet!! Nice touch of humor and romance!
  Quote
Novera
Tuesday 13th June 2006 14:46


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 157

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
wow neaver Knew Dean was soo bad
(jokes)
hwimsey
Tuesday 13th June 2006 17:48
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Not to worry - he gets redeemed in the end!! Thanks for reviewing.
hwimsey
  Quote
freshwater
Thursday 8th June 2006 20:43


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 148

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
Loved it! What a creative and unusual situation for Harry and Ginny.....I particularly liked the bit about "what's wrong....everything....nothing" and the problems with snogging in front of an errant knight errant. Well done! I'm looking forward to part 2.
hwimsey
Thursday 8th June 2006 23:53
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear freshwater,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you'r enjoying the story.

Oh, our hero and heroine are in for many, many more unusual situations as this story progresses. Some I'm still chuckling over.

Yes, I liked what's wrong - everything, nothing. You're very perceptive to pick up on that as it is recurring theme. And thank God someone got the errant knight errant joke - bless you!

Hopefully Part 2 will be posted soon. Thanks again for your review.

Cheer,
hwimsey
  Quote
cwarbeck
Thursday 8th June 2006 04:49


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 64

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
Hello. I just have to say that thank God you plan on having more chapters of this fantastic story. I love it. It's just so Ginny - I think you've captured her character very well.

Her growing frustrations with herself, her feelings for Harry, her "relationship" with Dean, and with a Harry who seems to have seen the light a little too late - all of these come across as very honest and typical of a teenage girl confused with her emotions.

I hope you update soon.
hwimsey
Thursday 8th June 2006 11:25
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear cwarbeck,
Thank you so very much for your kind review. I'm still smiling. (See)

Ginny is a favorite character of mine. I read somewhere that JKR didn't want Harry's first kiss to be with Ginny. That he had to get all "that" out of the way until he found his true foil. She tends to give Harry much of what he's lacking.

I wanted to write about teenagers on the brink. They aren't adults but situations are forcing them to grow up a lot faster than normal.

Next chapter is from Harry's POV - complete with his frustrations. But not to worry, we go back into Ginny's head again.

I'm a quick updater. Hopefully they'll post Chapter 2 soon.

Thanks again. Reviews like yours make it all the more fun to write!

Regards,
hwimsey
  Quote
Evelyn
Wednesday 7th June 2006 09:41


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
Ah, a missing moment. I love those (and of course, I loved this one)! Ginny is just *right* like she should be, here. Great work.
I'm looking forward to the next one...
hwimsey
Wednesday 7th June 2006 18:42
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear Evelyn,

Thank you so much for your review, and taking the time to post it.

Ah, yes. Missing moments. If you love them, you're in for a lot more.

The next one is from Harry's POV out there on the Quidditch pitch. Stay tuned!

Thanks again! Reviews like yours mean the world.

Cheers,
hwimsey
  Quote
daisymom
Wednesday 7th June 2006 06:12


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 57

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
What was Dean thinking?! He must have had a death wish to do that to Ginny. It's was cute to see Harry and Ginny in that situation can't wait to read the next chapter!
hwimsey
Wednesday 7th June 2006 18:48
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear daisymom,

I'm still chukling from your review! Yes, what got into that boy? What probably gets into most of them Thank God mine's only eight.

Good thing Ginny didn't get her wand, though. Could you imagine the bat bogey hex?

Glad you're enjoying the story. Means the world. Stay tuned. Next chapter takes place on the Quidditch pitch from Harry's POV.

Thanks again for reviewing.

Cheers,
hwimsey
  Quote
Wooster
Wednesday 7th June 2006 00:16


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 525

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
*big enormous grin* Ooh, I really like this. Poor Ginny, what an awkward (and hysterically funny) situation! I can picture it perfectly in my mind. It\'s a bloody MIRACLE nobody came upon them like that. Like Ron...or worse...Draco. *shudders*

Yay! Great idea, update soon!
hwimsey
Wednesday 7th June 2006 18:54
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear Wooster,

Glad you're enjoying the story and thank you so much for taking the time to review - it means the world.

Awkward and hysterical situations abound in this story. The next chapter however is a little more violent for our hero and heroine.

LOL, regading Draco coming along. Yikes. Nothing like a Slytherin to ruin a romantic moment.

Hopefully they'll post chapter 2 soon. Let me know what you think.

Take care,

hwimsey
  Quote
Connor Landon
Monday 5th June 2006 17:59


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 188

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
Oh, that's great!! Your writing is immaculate, and I love it! Can't wait for an update!!
hwimsey
Tuesday 6th June 2006 00:36
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear Connor Landon,

Thank you for that lovely review. You made my evening! As for my writing, I try hard - sometimes it works, other times, well....

Hopefully Chapter 2 will be up soon.

Thanks again for taking the time to review. It means the world.

Regards,
hwimsey
  Quote
critmo
Monday 5th June 2006 08:30


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
Oh, and "hwimsey" as in "Lady Harriet Wimsey"?
hwimsey
Monday 5th June 2006 10:39
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
JKR is a DLS fan also. Did you ever think that Romilda's last name is an homage to Harriet????

Regards,
hwimsey
  Quote
critmo
Monday 5th June 2006 08:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
Asking her too late to sit with him on the train


Interesting thought. Will you explain the unusual behaviour of the armour?
hwimsey
Monday 5th June 2006 10:22
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear critmo,

Ah.... Yes, a strange thought actually. I envision Gulliver's travels and a giant Harry and Ginny sitting astride the Hogwarts express! I'll try not to let that happen in the future. I should have said, "Asking her too late to share a compartment with him....

I envision the armour to have a Monty Python streak. "We are the knights who say nee" and all that. I remember reading about animated armour in the first book (I may be mistaken) but somehow the image stayed with me.

So here we have an errant knight errant defending Ginny from attack. Well meaning yes, but somehow too Man of La Mancha for our current generation. He sees a wrong and needs to right it. The knight captures Harry viewing him as another potential threat. Now, due to the knight's chrome plated cerebellum, defending Ginny and capturing Harry, are two separate events (armfuls). I wanted the tear to act as payment (a modern day lady's token).

Huge kudos to guessing Harriet. Dorothy L. Sayers is one of my favorite authors. I adore her writiing. I suppose I border on obseesion with the LPW mysteries both for their keen use of the English language and their rich character development. I am drawn to Harriet because she is an independent intelligent woman, whose success and attractiveness stems more from her brains than her beauty. Oh, but enough about that....

Thanks for the feedback. I'll do better next time!

Regards,
hwimsey
  Quote
Arnel
Sunday 4th June 2006 21:16


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
This is really darling! What a prediciment to end up in and with whom! You've captured Ginny's growing annoyance with Dean quite well while letting those traitorous thoughts of Harry slip through unbidden. The animated suit of armor was an ingeneous idea and I quite liked its possessiveness of her. Thanks for sharing this with us.
hwimsey
Sunday 4th June 2006 23:50
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear Arnel,
Thank you, thank you for your awesome review. You made my day!!

Ginny's annoyance is an interesting subject - really her own doing in a way - which we'll delve into more in the next few chapters.

I loved the idea of an animated knight - kind of an extension of the knight in the painting. Almost Monty Pythonish in a way. "We are the knights that say nee!" and all that.

Thanks again for reviewing. Stay tuned. My beta is gone next week, but hopefully the next chapter will be posted soon.

Regards,
hwimsey
  Quote
EmeraldPrincess
Sunday 4th June 2006 14:43


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
Aw thats it?

Its cute! Amazing actually!
hwimsey
Sunday 4th June 2006 23:52
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear EmeraldPrincess,
Oh no, no, no! I've got 4 more chapters to come. There's way too much more to deal with, especially from Harry's POV.

My betas gone next week, but hopefully Chapter 2 will be posted soon.

Thanks so much for reviewing. You made my day!!

Regards,
hwimsey
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Sunday 4th June 2006 13:02


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
Wow. I love this story. I simply love it. The way you show Ginny's inner turmoil is very good. You should write a partner to this story from Harry's point of view. Very good writing, I hope you have more in the works.

My favorite line:
"What's wrong?" Harry asked, turning his head so that she could feel his lips brush her hair which was fast coming loose from its bun, draping his shoulders in crimson wisps.
hwimsey
Sunday 4th June 2006 23:57
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear Felix Felicis,
First thank you. Second thank you again! What a tremendous review. My ego is going to get the better of me.

Your wish is reality. The next chapter is from Harry's POV and he's got inner termoil to spar . Then we bounce back and forth between the two.

And to risk sounding like that old perfume commerical, if you liked that line, you're going to love the ones to follow. Tight clinches to come!!

Again, thanks for taking the time to review. You're wonderful.

Regards,
hwimsey
  Quote
aschowin
Sunday 4th June 2006 11:03


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
That was lots of fun, and a little sad. I really enjoyed the errant knight, and Ginny's reaction to being "saved". You really stretched Dean's character into a bad guy, and he deserved what he got. Great story, you did a really fine job writing this.
hwimsey
Monday 5th June 2006 00:03
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear aschowin,
Thank you so much for your review., and taking the time to post it; it means a lot to me.

Yes, the errant knight was a hoot. I like to think of him as a Monty Python kind of character. Well meaning, but just plain silly.

Very astute of you to pick up on Ginny's being saved. I imagine this would be a sore subject for her. And we're not done with that subject yet either as you'll see in Chapter 2.

Yes, I know I stretched Dean a bit, and he won't be vilified forever. Dean really means well. He's just got more hormones than brain cells at times!

Stay tuned. I love to write. And I love reviewers like you. Thanks again.

hwimsey
  Quote
willow
Sunday 4th June 2006 08:49


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 162

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
aww! that was hilarious but you had to go end it on a sad note didn't you?!

can't wait for the next one! i love your ginny, so easy to identify with her when her minds wandering and she's desperately trying to keep it under control- who hasn't been there!!
hwimsey
Monday 5th June 2006 00:08
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear willow,

I'm still giggling in glee from your review. First, thanks so much for reviewing and taking the time - it means the world to me.

YES - haven't we all been there with the wandering mind, trying to keep it under control, plus dealing with unrequited love. I read a J.K. Rowling interview once where she said, "Poor Ginny..." I've often felt that about this character.

Oh, but not to fret about the ending. Four more chapters to come. The next from Harry's POV (he's not much better than our heroine!)

Just remember. It all hangs loosely around HBP. So eventually, we'll get to that kiss.

Thanks again for the review.

Cheers,
hwimsey
  Quote
mary-v
Sunday 4th June 2006 07:20


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

1: The Green-Eyed Knight
Ohh Please, PLEASE tell me you're a fast updater!! PLEASE! I am so in love with this story! It's just so great!! And wonderful!! And OH MY GOD I cannot wait to read the next chapter! Gah!!
~Maria~
hwimsey
Monday 5th June 2006 00:15
1: The Green-Eyed Knight (Author Response)
Dear mary-v,
O.K. are there Academy Awards for the best reviews? After I picked myself off the floor, and reread your review (and stopped manically laughing) I typed this.
Thank you, thank you, thank you. I write for people like you.

Here's the good news. Yes, I am a fast updater. I've submitted chapters 2 and 3 to my beta. (And I'm working on a very much longer fic for the next round of submissions.)

Bad news: My beta's leaving for a week.

But, I just finished Chapter 4. So.....

And if you liked the first chapter, the next ones (in my humble opinion) are much better. Our couple continues to get into some pretty tight clinches.

Thanks again. I'm still smiling.

Regards,
hwimsey
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004