Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Frog Prince of Slytherin by St Margarets

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Danikay
Tuesday 28th April 2009 19:59


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 239

Part I
Well, I've just started this story, and I am very impressed with it so far ^_^ Luna seems so... Luna-like that it's kind of scary You really are an amazing writer.
I'm clearly back to reading and I am feeling a bit better about my friend's death. I just wanted to say thanks one more time- I wouldn't be at peace with his death now if it weren't for you.
So, thanks, and cheers for an amazing chapter,
DaniKay
St Margarets
Wednesday 29th April 2009 09:45
Part I (Author Response)
Luna is so hard to write (for me anyway) But I love her character. I'm glad she seemed like Luna.

I'm also glad you're feeling a little better. *hugs*
  Quote
amamama
Friday 15th September 2006 07:38


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Part I
Oh, what a story. Romantic and... curious? and incredibly sweet. How wonderful to see Theodore Nott fleshed out a bit. His thoughts about which side to choose, about his father whom you just listen too, his mother who died for him so he could live and his grandfather who taught him a lot about animals - so as to be able to hunt them. Fascinating backround you're building here. And the similarity between his and Harry's upbringing - both being raised by people who despised them, both just being called "boy."

What fun. I look forward to see his revenge at Luna's rommates and at seeing his humanity and compassion grow. And Luna's reactions, she's just so wonderfully unpredictable. Must have been fun to write. But first: Dinner for the Starving Family.

Marvellous, my Dear! Thank you for writing such treats.

Hugs, Berte
St Margarets
Friday 15th September 2006 14:51
Part I (Author Response)
I'm so glad you started this! I know Theodore's story seems rather bleak, but JKR has said that he grew up with his father and grandfather, so either he was very close to them and became a Death Eater - or he wasn't close to them and that made his decision not a political one, but but one of psychic survival. JKR also said he was never part of Draco's gang.

Yes, you have accurately pin-pointed his journey for this story!
  Quote
pip
Tuesday 15th August 2006 16:09


Part I
i adore this fic soooo much. its the best ive read in ages, and it made me cry at the end...thanks

xxx
St Margarets
Tuesday 15th August 2006 19:16
Part I (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. I really enjoyed these characters. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
wvchemteach
Wednesday 2nd August 2006 10:54


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 168

Part I
I love reading your Luna... and your Nott is always interesting. I know there is a trend in H/G circles to pair George with Luna... but that never rings true to me... the twins aren't known for the "tolerence" of those that are different or their compassion. Somehow I like the beauty and the beast that you ahve with Luna and Nott.
St Margarets
Wednesday 2nd August 2006 14:58
Part I (Author Response)
I put George with a Ravenclaw in my Roger and Lisa story - just because I think he could handle someone really intelligent - however, I don't see him being tolerant as you say - and I don't think Luna would appreciate his humor at all. The only Weasley I could see her with would be Charlie (love of exotic animals, etc . . .) But there's a nine year age difference.
  Quote
Antosha
Wednesday 14th June 2006 10:17


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

Part I
Yay!

:-D

It's so funny--I got a third of the way trhough this, had this overpowering urge to send you a version of the story that I've worked on... and then realized that I'd already done so. Hee!

I love Luna here--well, I always love Luna, so there you are. But she's a perfect balance of insight and daffiness, strength and fragility.

I love Theo too, in all his bristliness. He's more of a mystery, interestingly for the PoV character, and I look forward to finding out more about him.

The opening was interesting--it was much more consciously folk-tale-ish than any of your other myth-inflected fics. It's nice to see you playing with style and tone, but I have to admit that it took me a few paragraphs to get into the swing of things. (Part of that may have had to do with the fact that I read it on the plane back from a week-long conference during which I barely slept. )

I do look forward to seeing where you're going with this--Theo's impulse to make the bargain remains an intriguing mystery (for him as well, I suppose), and the nature of the golden ball fascinates me as well. This being both a Potterverse fic and a Grimm-inspired folktale, it's hard to know whether it's a McGuffin--simply a golden ball that gets the plot moving and the characters interacting--or whether it has magical and/or spiritual properties. And their interactions are lovely and evocative.

In any case, once again... Yay!
St Margarets
Wednesday 14th June 2006 11:03
Part I (Author Response)
Thanks so much for reading! LOL - the golden ball - you know I probably could have saved myself some trouble if I had simply gone with some sort of magical properties for it and left it at that. Sigh.

I think I'm going to look back on this story (which I wrote inch by inch with much agony of mind) and chalk it up as the grand experiment in style and characterization that I almost-but-not-quite achieved. But then I might be biased since I just sent the last part off to my beta and I've looked at it for too long.

So - that wasn't very clear! LOL. I played with the idea of transformation in this story - the very romantic and idealistic idea that love will transform you. I also played with the idea of that which can be seen and that which must be believed. And of course, their names . . .

Which means that there is probably way too much going on in such a short (four part story) to be enjoyable. *frets* But I had to stop writing it or I was going to drive myself crazy!

LOL- that being said, I just love Luna after writing this story. What great character. Thanks for reading! I'll be happy to hear your further thoughts.
  Quote
Kelleypen
Tuesday 13th June 2006 06:04


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

Part I
I love that this is narrated by a questionable hero. I like seeing the world through his distortion.
St Margarets
Tuesday 13th June 2006 11:11
Part I (Author Response)
He has been a great narrator for me! His views are so different from those in Gryffindor Tower.
  Quote
mary-v
Sunday 11th June 2006 12:04


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

Part I
What is it with you and writing amazing fics??? I got so excited when I noticed you had a new fic up!!I'm really excited for the next chapter!! I like the flow and just the whole idea of it being a "frog prince" type story... though I have never read the Frog Prince . But you have an amazing grasp on symbolism and I really liked the whole name thing you have going on! Anyways, brilliant!! Yourule!!!!
~Maria~
St Margarets
Sunday 11th June 2006 18:28
Part I (Author Response)
Aw, look at all the smilies! I love them. Thanks so much for reading. This fic. is a little different from me. The Frog Prince is the one about the princess kissing the frog and he turns into a prince. It's very short - you wouldn't think it would take me four chapters to re-tell it, would you?

Anyway, thanks for reading! An update will come tonight or tomorrow!
  Quote
Anjerla
Saturday 10th June 2006 21:12


Part I
Yay! Another story from you! How exciting! And a re-telling of a fairy tale, too. I don't know if I could ever ask for more, I love fairy tales.

I have to join the throng and admit that it isn't one of my favorites, but that doesn't change my excitement in the least. I have a lot of fairy tales that I'm not wildly fond of, and it's always for the same reason - they're too simple . There's not enough character development for me to really fall in love with the story. So that's why I'm excited to see this one fleshed out and re-told. You can fill in all the stuff that the original story leaves out! It'll be awesome! I love the way you've worked in all the little quirky stuff from the it, like the golden ball and the part where he eats off her plate. Those are the types of thing that make you go "wait, what?" when you stop and think about them, and that aren't quite realistic - something that can be a setback when you're trying to make a fairy story more real. But you handled it quite beautifully, and instead of detracting from the "realism," I think they make the story more fun.

Also, Luna is one of my favorite characters and I love to read how different people write her. She's a hard character to hit "on the nail" because no one's ever quite sure what's going on inside her head, but you've done a fabulous job. I like Theodore Nott's character as well - I can only hope JKR plans to redeem him at some point, it would make me so happy. But even if she doesn't, at least I can read fics where he does and pretend they're canon. XD Anyway, I've written too much, as usual, but I just wanted to let you know I really enjoyed this chapter and I'm eagerly looking forward to reading more! Great job!
St Margarets
Sunday 11th June 2006 04:24
Part I (Author Response)
Hi Anjerla! This is just a short little fic. - a grand experiment in writing Luna and in playing with a pretty unrealistic fairy tale. We'll see if I can pull it off to everyone's satisfaction. LOL. I had no idea there was a prejudice against the Frog Prince (and I'm glad I didn't know )

I just adore Luna - she's so smart and sweet and self-contained. She really is so shippable - but with the right character. I had to make Theodore quite "froggy" to begin with - but if anyone can change him, it's Luna.

Thanks for reading. Sherry's going to put up the next part tonight or tomorrow! (It's all written - four chapters)
  Quote
cckeimig
Saturday 10th June 2006 14:46


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

Part I
Oh, this is soooo cool so far! So many interesting twists involved!
St Margarets
Saturday 10th June 2006 17:00
Part I (Author Response)
More twists to come! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
lavenderdusk
Friday 9th June 2006 21:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Part I
Ooooh! A new story! I really enjoyed the way that you depicted Luna at the beginning, with the ball by the lake... I almost would think that Luna, knowing that Nott can swim, did it on purpose...

But did she cross her fingers when she made her promise?
St Margarets
Saturday 10th June 2006 07:24
Part I (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked Luna. She's a challenge to write. I do think Luna was "testing fate" by throwing that ball around. Although I don' t think she was doing it consciously. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Shannon
Friday 9th June 2006 15:45


Part I
It's always nice to see a new story from you! I loved Theodore/Luna in Red is the Heart so it's nice to see them again post-HBP. I must say that I am suspending some of my canon impressions. Theodore Nott was not a likable person in HBP. Although I can't really say that he's OOC in your story since we don't see any of his internal motivations in HBP. I can see that I will like him by the end of your story. Your characterizations are just wonderful, though. Nobody does a better job than you of giving your characters depth.

The three days/eat your food/get a kiss thing didn't flow all that well. Why wouldn't he just befriend her? Why put the time constraint? I understand that you're following the fairy tale, but Theodore's motivation is a little shaky. I would also have liked to see his impression of Luna's eyes. They are her most noticable characteristic according to Harry, but he doesn't have flattering things to say about them (protuberant - yech!).

Well, I wanted to write more, but I've got company coming! Gotta go clean up!
St Margarets
Friday 9th June 2006 16:17
Part I (Author Response)
Aw, thanks for taking the time to read and comment. The time constraint is really to alert the reader as to how long this story is going to last. In the orginal fairy tale, it's one day and one night. I didn't think I could get them together that fast! I also had to play with the fairy-tale demands - no way could I have him "sleeping on her pillow." LOL. I think the girls dorms in Ravenclaw work the same way as in Gryffindor tower.

I thought about refuting Harry's impression of Luna's eyes - but I chose two beauty spots for Theodore to notice - her mouth and her hair. The mouth is the motivation for the kiss and hair is an actual plot/thematic point in the story. The eyes then, seemed a bit of an overkill.

I tried to keep this story to three chapters - but I had to go with four. Hopefully you'll learn more about Theodore's motivations (that keep changing) in the next three chapters.

Thanks for all of your good insights!
  Quote
Anya
Friday 9th June 2006 12:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Part I
AHH! Where is the ressssttt!!! I very greedily want the rest of this story *right now* But it's brilliant. I love the tone and the language and structure you use for this! Its somewhere between Luna's sort of misty round-about logic and Theo's flat, cool (snarky!) logic.

Although I'm DYING to know what Theo did to those girls! *giggle* But I like that Theo is forced to see that there are harder lots in life than his, and that his snap preconceptions about Princess Luna were very wrong indeed, and maybe he'll start looking at the rest of the world with more open eyes. That said, Theo is a bit more physical, in terms of noticing lovely Luna and its very daring of you, I think its worked brilliantly! (already that Theo is becoming a prince! He goes to defend the ladys honor in a Slytherin fashion I'm sure

And Luna! Thank heavens shes not spouting fannon Lunaisms every five seconds. I love that she seems to take the teasing in stride but it seems like she's always been waiting for someone to tell her she can fight back. But she's very reasonable, poor Theo seems to be running into a brickwall over and over trying to be sour and upset about everything only to have Luna present him with an alternate logic (probably quite a new experience for solitary Theo!) They make a good pair!

I do think I like him better than Charlie for her....but I'll reserve jugement until I have the whole story!
St Margarets
Friday 9th June 2006 13:06
Part I (Author Response)
It's coming because it's all written - now it just has to do with beta schedules.

I'm pleased you like him for her since he's been so awful thus far. I had to make him "froggy" after all. I'm also glad that you noticed he was attracted to her from the start, since that element (of course) intensifies as they spend more time together.

And you've put your finger on how their logic works and how eventually there will be a meeting of the minds. They both live in their heads, so that all has to be taken care of first. Not like our elemental Charlie - a very different relationship - no?

Uh. Luna. She's so freakn' smart - I mean she's lucid all the time - it's just how she expresses herself that changes. So whatever she says has to make sense and have some meaning. *headdesk* no wonder I it took me forever to write this.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Friday 9th June 2006 11:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Part I
That was.....different?. No one really writes stories about Luna, and I liked this one. Update soon, 'cause I want to read more....PLEASE!!?
St Margarets
Friday 9th June 2006 12:28
Part I (Author Response)
I'm glad you like it so far! I agree there is a woeful lack of Luna fics. This is story is completed - four chapters. So, updates should come quickly! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 9th June 2006 10:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Part I
I absolutely love your version of this fairytale. Your Luna is positively wonderful in all her goofy, insightful comments and I'm beginning to like Theodore Nott a bit, too. One can't help but like a character who has an open enough mind to let in the opinions of others, especially someone like Luna. I'm looking forward to your next chapter of this terrific story.

St Margarets
Friday 9th June 2006 11:15
Part I (Author Response)
I'm glad you like it so far. Theodore is a rather strong drink - but one that grows on you (I hope). Luna was hard to get right - I hope she will remain IC for the rest of the story. This story is complete and is four chapters - so updates should come quickly! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Friday 9th June 2006 09:07


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

Part I
Wow, that was very interesting! I love your Luna, though I don't think I've ever disliked anyone's Luna, but still, she was dreamy without being a silly side-character. Theodore as well had depth. You don't see a lot of fanfictions specifically about them, and I really love this so far! Very powerful, too, with Nott's character kind of fluctuating between mean and ... well, meaner, and with Luna's neverending ability to say just the right thing at the right time. I can't wait for Part 2!!
St Margarets
Friday 9th June 2006 09:45
Part I (Author Response)
Luna is a dear - and I didn't want her to be ridiculous as is often the case in fanfiction. She was very hard to write - esp. from the POV of someone is so lonely himself that he can't see it in her. Harry has a pity thing for Luna (yet another reason that ship couldn't sail) so he notices her weaknesses and vulnerabilities more than Theodore does. Her frog prince sees her strengths right away. Thanks for reading. Part II is already beta'd and will be up when Sherry has a moment this weekend or early next week.
  Quote
Kokopelli
Friday 9th June 2006 09:04


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 87

Part I
Lovely, thanks for sharing that.
St Margarets
Friday 9th June 2006 09:41
Part I (Author Response)
Thanks for reading! This is just another little writing "experiment" so I'm thrilled to have some interested readers.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Friday 9th June 2006 07:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 965

Part I
Oh St Margarets, this is lovely. Theodore and Luna complete each other so well.
St Margarets
Friday 9th June 2006 09:40
Part I (Author Response)
Oh, good, I'm glad you can see some potential there! The frog and the princess in the story are quite far apart to begin with, so I had to make them that way here. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Mullvaney
Friday 9th June 2006 07:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Part I
Very nice, St. M.! This is a bit different than other things of yours I've read. It's more atmospheric, the surroundings are almost a character themselves.

Your Theodore is intense, smart and confrontational. A perfect lawyer. Luna is calm, honest, and direct. A perfect witness Very interesting, as Theodore has a question, and Luna holds the answer

I really look forward to the rest of this; I'm particularly anxious to find out what Theodore's done to Luna's roommates. . .
St Margarets
Friday 9th June 2006 09:48
Part I (Author Response)
Yes, this story is different! LOL. I didn't plan on that. Thanks so much for reading I know how busy you are with your household and your own writing. (Which I will get to one of these days)
  Quote
Hank
Friday 9th June 2006 06:52


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 158

Part I
Wow, nice story! I loved the bit about fly fishing lures as a necklace. Did Luna maybe drop her ball on purpose? I also loved the bit about the painting missing its prince and that everything would bloom once again when he returned. I seem to remember reading a book about that somewhere... Maybe seeing a movie as well.

You've done a great job fleshing out Nott's character, providing reasons for who and what he is. While he's not likable, yet, at least we can understand him a bit better than before and that's a great start. Luna - what can I say? You've made her your own! She's perfect!

Thanks for the story - please keep up the good work!
St Margarets
Friday 9th June 2006 07:06
Part I (Author Response)
LOL - finally I got to use my grudging, but extensive, knowledge of flyfishing in a fan fic. I was so tempted to start naming all the lures, but that really wouldn't have added to the story. My husband is an avid fisherman and spends his winters happily tying flies.

Anyway - I'm glad you like the story. And I think Theodore becomes quite likeable by the end - but I had to make him "froggy" first. Luna was throwing her ball for a reason - trying to find a little happiness during a war-torn year.

The story is done - four chapters. My darling beta, Sherry, is traveling next week, so I don't know when the other parts will go up. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Lily Jane
Friday 9th June 2006 06:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

Part I
It's really great you've written something about Luna and Theodore, because I've really missed them since I finished reading "Red is the Heart". They make such an odd and yet cute couple

At the beginning I was a little worried because of the topic you've chosen. I've never really liked that story, well, I don't like the princess actually. She's mean and vain but she gets the prince. (I wouldn't mind seeing her as a frog at the end.) However I really like Luna and I could't imagine you would make her like that. And you didn't. She really is the Luna I love.

The story is a little more sombre than your previous ones, but I still like it very much. I hope you'll post the next part really soon
St Margarets
Friday 9th June 2006 07:02
Part I (Author Response)
Hi Lily Jane! I'm surprised at how many people don't like this fairy tale. It's true about the princess and I had to really think about that. You'll see (I hope) that Luna is at war with herself in this story and by the end you'll kow why. That's as close as I could get to making her like the princess. But the fairy tale is really a fascinating story about finding your better nature because of love. I just hope I can pull it off! FYI - the whole thing is written - four chapters. So you won't have to wait long!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004