Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Frog Prince of Slytherin by St Margarets

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Danikay
Tuesday 28th April 2009 20:17


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 239

Part II
I really love how Nott's opening up to Luna- even if it is because he lost his perfect control of his emotions.
I hate school haha, so I should probably be getting off to bed. ^_^ Night Mary!
DaniKay
St Margarets
Wednesday 29th April 2009 09:48
Part II (Author Response)
I'm glad you went to bed. You know things will work out in one of my stories. Yes, Theodore is a goner - poor guy - there's no hope for him going back to his old ways.
  Quote
bookish327
Monday 17th September 2007 00:08


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

Part II
This story is so fun! I love Theodore's snarky, sardonic sense of humor. I also enjoy you expanding his character so that we get to see another kind of Slytherin, besides Draco & his followers. Theodore's practicality and analytical scheming without intentional infliction of pain and suffering on good people like Luna shows us other possible Slytherin traits.

I loved his face-off with Ginny. She is such a ball of fire, and he is so dryly aloof. I loved his "take away my birthday" comment and his mock-salute. Excellent writing. :-)

Also, his complaints about the different house characteristics were very clever and funny. The group hug comment about Hufflepuff made me hoot with laughter, and his commiseration with Salazar leaving was also sharp writing.

Thanks for another great read! Please write more stories. It would really make me day, as well as the days of many other fans of yours! :-)
  Quote
rdprice29
Saturday 24th March 2007 16:48


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 141

Part II
Gah! Now you've gotten me reading Theo/Luna for goodness' sakes! I should just realize I'll love anything you write - if you wrote Harry/Pansy or Ron/Draco *shudder* I'd probably like those stories too.

Thank goodness I don't think you'd write those horrid pairings (or even worse, Harry/Snape) unless under threat of death, and as far as I know the fandom hasn't gotten that bad yet...so I'm probably safe for awhile.

I am really enjoying this story, and I like how you keep Luna in character and flesh out Theo...great job!
St Margarets
Sunday 25th March 2007 04:29
Part II (Author Response)
LOL - don't worry! I won't be going to the Dark Side any time soon! I actually have been shipping Luna/Theodore since my first multi-chapter story, Red is the Heart. The girl needs a nice practical Slytherin to look out for her and the Slytherin need someone to lighten him up. Anyway, I'm glad you liked the story - it was fun to write - but difficult. Luna is hard for me to get right.
  Quote
amamama
Friday 15th September 2006 13:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Part II
Oh, this is SO sweet! Poor Theodore, trying to get Luna angry with him so he'll know she cares, but that's just not the way she is, is it? I love all the ramblings, his thoughts on this and that, his hopes, his confusions and his desire to be loved. And finally she managed to do the charm on herself, with his help, because of him. Ahhhh...

It's incredibly sweet and romantic, a perfect way to end the day.

Thank you, Dear!

Berte
St Margarets
Friday 15th September 2006 14:54
Part II (Author Response)
Poor Theodore, anger is all he knows about attention. He's so very flawed, but there's still something lovable about him. Sigh.

I can't tell you how hard this entire story was to write. I think I wrote it in inches, a bit a time, until the meaning of it all became clear. What can you expect in a Luna story? Thanks for reading!
  Quote
wvchemteach
Wednesday 2nd August 2006 11:11


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 168

Part II
I loved having Dobby in this chapter.

You really humanized Luna in this chapter with the anger at her mother. I also like how you have the beast Nott all twisted up.

I also enjoyed coming to the rescue and telling Nott to watch himself. She's such a friend.
St Margarets
Wednesday 2nd August 2006 15:00
Part II (Author Response)
I had fun with Ginny's cameo and Dobby. And poor Theodore is just a teenage boy underneath the attitude. LOL. Luna can't be serene all the time - so I had to think of what would make her angry.
  Quote
mary-v
Thursday 15th June 2006 16:16


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

Part II
*squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee* Ohhhhhh Dude I am so shipping those two now. : AHHH!!! I can so totally see that going on though!!! In the boooks I mean! Anyways I'm off to read Part 3!!!
St Margarets
Thursday 15th June 2006 16:38
Part II (Author Response)
LOL. My work is done . . . Thanks for reading!
  Quote
honourary_weasley
Wednesday 14th June 2006 02:03


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

Part II
wow! This is really great, i love it. Luna is perfect, and Nott is pretty good too. He always interested me because he wasn't in with malfoy's gang and could see thestrals ... great job, and keep going!

St Margarets
Wednesday 14th June 2006 06:07
Part II (Author Response)
I so wanted to see a "good" Slytherin in HBP! Since I didn't, I had to write him myself. LOL. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
sunflowerchild
Tuesday 13th June 2006 18:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Part II
Yay! you're back!!! I love your stories, esp the ones that involve characters that are not always in the limelight. This is so cute, I really like the chemistry between Nott and Luna. Its really nice how you have shown another, more emotional side of Luna.
I hope you update soon.
St Margarets
Wednesday 14th June 2006 06:07
Part II (Author Response)
There are only two more parts to this story and they are all written! So you won't have to wait long - the next part should be up today or tomorrow and the last by Monday! Thanks for reading. I know it's an unusual ship - but - well - Luna is a bit unusual.
  Quote
weird sister
Tuesday 13th June 2006 11:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Part II
What a fun story! It's interesting to see things from a Slytherin's point of veiw. I loved Ginny's cameo and Theodore's thoughts on the different Houses...especially the line about the Hufflepuff group hug! And I'm glad Theodore was able to help Luna with the spell...even though he kept getting distracted!
St Margarets
Tuesday 13th June 2006 12:15
Part II (Author Response)
LOL - well he's all boy, even though he's a Slytherin! I don't think they worry about inter-house unity in the dungeons! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Josie C
Tuesday 13th June 2006 07:52


Part II
Oh its sooo good to see a story from you! And that too on Luna! I love it as usual! Cant wait for the next update...and also it could be a while before I could review, since I am in India and cant get internet quick enough. Anywho, thanks so much for the great story! Looking forward to more!
St Margarets
Tuesday 13th June 2006 11:16
Part II (Author Response)
India! Cool! I've never been there. It sounds so exotic.

This whole story is written - four chapters. Sherry should be posting the next part in a couple of days and the last over the weekend or early next week. Thanks for reading all the way from India!
  Quote
Hank
Tuesday 13th June 2006 07:07


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 158

Part II
Another wonderful chapter!!! Poor Nott. When I read the following:

"This encounter only confirmed what he had long thought – the Hogwarts houses were totally incompatible. Merlin help the sensible Slytherin when dealing with combative Gryffindors or inscrutable Ravenclaws."

I had to laugh. That is wonderful prose. I enjoyed the bit with Ginny and how Nott sized her up very quickly. You managed to get into his head rather well. And then, of course, there's Luna again. I like how it came out that she was angry with her mother. I also liked how Dobby said that Luna was Nott's. Can house elves see something we can't? Because that's just like what he said about Ginny being Harry's. Too cool. Thanks for sharing!
St Margarets
Tuesday 13th June 2006 11:14
Part II (Author Response)
I imagine that Theodore has seen her around and knew her reputation quite well. LOL. That's why I had him pretend he didn't know who she was.

I'm glad you liked Dobbys' cameo - I find house elves hard to write! Thanks for reading! Next part coming soon!
  Quote
Kelleypen
Tuesday 13th June 2006 06:19


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

Part II
This one was more gutt wrenching than the first chapter. And ended with more promise. Well done.
St Margarets
Tuesday 13th June 2006 11:12
Part II (Author Response)
This was a tough chapter to write! Thanks so much for noticing that! There are only two more parts to go and they should be posted within the week! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Mullvaney
Monday 12th June 2006 15:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Part II
What an excellent revenge!! Another great installment, St. M. and so quckly!!
St Margarets
Monday 12th June 2006 16:20
Part II (Author Response)
Don't get all impressed. This story took me forever to write - esp. this section. It's all written so updates should come quickly. Hopefully it will all be posted by the beginning of next week! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Monday 12th June 2006 13:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Part II
That was differant, but yet, good. Update when you get the chance.
St Margarets
Monday 12th June 2006 16:18
Part II (Author Response)
Thanks for reading! Updates will come soon!
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Monday 12th June 2006 13:35


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

Part II
Wow, this chapter really tied things together well, if that makes any sense. It was very... fluent, I guess. Nott is interesting, and very realistic, and still a guy. Luna's not realistic as far as people go, but that's the point. n.n Very IC though. And I love that she was finally able to do it on herself. Nice mix of humor and "drama" - for lack of a better word - and just the right touch of romance. xDD Can't wait for the next (and final, maybe? hope not) part!
(And no matter what Luna says - because let's face it, she's just TOO good - I'm SOOO glad her roommates finally got it. *evil snicker* ^^)
St Margarets
Monday 12th June 2006 16:17
Part II (Author Response)
I know, I was cheering Theodore on! LOL - rotton roommates. I'm glad that Luna seems in character and that Theodore seems like a guy. Sometimes it's difficult to think like a guy.

There are two parts left. They are both written and will be posted quickly!
  Quote
Anjerla
Monday 12th June 2006 09:44


Part II
Hee hee. Reformed Slytherins are so cute! Well, Slytherins in the process of reforming, I guess.

If I were you I wouldn't worry about the Frog Prince prejudice. Just think of it as your chance to change everyone's mind! You can do it! Yay!

Theodore is such a great frog. I think that's my favorite part. I have nothing constructive to say about that, just that he's awesome. Actually I have nothing constructive to say in general. I love this whole thing. Luna rocks as well. I just like it. Carry on!
St Margarets
Monday 12th June 2006 12:58
Part II (Author Response)
Sometimes just knowing a reader likes a character that I like is very constructive! Thanks for loving the frog man. Yes, Luna is a gift of character - even though she's so hard to write!
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Monday 12th June 2006 09:12


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Part II
There is so much to say about this chapter. You do such a thorough job of developing their characters. Some of the high points- "Merlin, that was disappointment in her eyes. His flimsy hopes ripped into a thousand pieces. " And, "Something roared inside of him at hearing his name. “Don’t call me that,” he snapped, whirling around. “My mother gave me that name. That’s all she gave me. Unlike you, I didn’t get any golden balls or Drying Charms or lessons in how to get along with mean roommates.” "

Luna's delight at being able to do the drying charm, and Theodore's response to Dobby's "Lunalove" are heartwarming.

Thank you. I await Chapter Three.
St Margarets
Monday 12th June 2006 12:57
Part II (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked this chapter. Since this story really is all about character development (and transcending that character) I'm glad that the characters are working so far. I wrote this story in inches - everyday - so it's good to know all those sentences I worried over are being appreciated! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Penny Lane
Monday 12th June 2006 08:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 48

Part II
It's here, it's here! The Theo/Luna fic is finally here! *is ded from teh happy*

And now I shall attempt to regain some semblance of dignity...

I love how you're writing Luna. So often in fanfic, she's presented as sage-like and unflappable, but I think canon Luna is much more like yours: a bit needy and vulnerable, and more than a little naive. Theodore's revenge on her roommates maybe wasn't the best thing to do, but I could really sympathize with him during their argument about it; I, too, felt simultaneously touched and slightly exasperated by Luna's stubborn belief that if she just kept being nice to them, they'd come around. Ah, Luna, how I want to hug her! It was also a very realistic touch that she felt a bit angry with her mother. I know you struggled with Luna's characterization, but I don't think any of your efforts were in vain. You've done a wonderful job.

And 'Lunalove'. Awww. So. Sweet.

And, erm, I think I may have a bit of a crush on your Theo. I know, I know, I have issues.

Thank you so much for writing this. I'm so glad you didn't give up on it.

*pulls up a chair and waits for the next chapter*
St Margarets
Monday 12th June 2006 08:32
Part II (Author Response)
I knew I could lure Penny Lane with this story! I'm glad you like Luna in this story - yes, I wanted to make her a bit needy and naive - but also self-contained. (A really hard combo to write, let me tell you)

Theodore became entirely lovable to me as I was writing this, so I'm glad he has appeal to some one else.

You won't have to wait long for the next chapter. Sherry already has it beta'd. It should be up Wed. or Thurs. There are only four parts, so you should have your Theo/Luna fix completed by the weekend.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Shannon
Monday 12th June 2006 07:43


Part II
You have got Luna's characterization perfect! Her response to Theodore's prank (which was brilliant by the way) was exactly right. Just like in the books her statements are baffling on the surface but makes sense if you look deeper. Loved the cameo from Ginny too.

Theodore keeps forgetting to ask about Harry, doesn't he? Very cute. Your Theodore Nott is turning out to be a very sweet and sensitive boy. He probably likes soaps too. :-)

By the way, I loved that the crumple-horned snorkacks are real (I think they are too). What chance do you give this couple for actually becoming canon in the seventh book? Pretty much zilch, huh?
St Margarets
Monday 12th June 2006 08:29
Part II (Author Response)
I'm glad Luna is working as a character. I found her so hard to write at times. I mean, I really had to think hard about what her reaction would be to whatever was happening. (Unlike writing Ginny, who I know so well by now)

Luna deserves a sweet and sensitive boy - even if he's a fixer-upper! LOL.

I was hoping to see some good Slytherins in HBP, but alas - to no avail. I think JKR will leave Luna unshipped for all of us crazy fan fiction writers. I just hope she doesn't kill her off. *frets* We still don't know her birthday.

Okay - I'm going to forget all about that! Luna will come through the war unscathed. (I'll say it ten times daily)
  Quote
fritz42
Monday 12th June 2006 07:24


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Part II
I just discovered your story, and I must say that I was hooked from the first paragraph. The internal struggle that you have Theodore Nott going through is so well done the reader can't help but feel the fight between good and evil that is going on inside of him. It appears that Luna's goodness is so pure that Theodore cannot hide behind his normal justifications of his behavior. I must say, I am like Ginny; I did enjoy Theodore's plan for revenge against Luna's roommates. I love how Luna has gotten him to open up like no one else has been able to do. I especially loved the confrontation out on the grounds before the storm where Theodore apologized to Luna and how "freeing" that was for him. It was touching how he helped her do the drying charm down in the kitchens. I can't wait for the update. I hope there are lots of parts to your story.
St Margarets
Monday 12th June 2006 08:24
Part II (Author Response)
That storm scene was really hard to write - actually, this entire thing was really hard to write! But I'm glad his struggle is showing and is interesting to the reader. This is a fairy tale about transformations after all.

There are two more parts to this story. My beta has part III ready and it will probably be up on Wed or Thurs. The end should be up by Sunday.

Thanks so much for reading and your thoughtful comments!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004