Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Eyes Have It by hwimsey

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 22nd April 2012 14:51


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
huh, nasty bludger...
  Quote
lorgbb
Sunday 25th June 2006 10:07


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
so close and yet so far... and that bludger has really bad timing tension seems to be building up and I can't wait to see what happens next! great job!
hwimsey
Sunday 25th June 2006 17:15
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Hello again lorgbb,

What is a love story without tension?? Thanks again for the review. It keeps me writing!!

Cheers,
hwimsey
  Quote
Ladybug
Thursday 22nd June 2006 22:47


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
Oh no! So close, and yet so far! *sigh* You can often tell the quality of the writing by the quality of the reviews – and again, your reviewers make some wonderful observations about this chapter (the reverent litany ... yes!) But my favourite thing is how you’ve portrayed Ginny with a very slight element of hesitation and doubt about her which she is constantly pushing aside to portray a strong front, except that she is strong, stronger than she realises. And I just love Harry. *sigh again*
hwimsey
Friday 23rd June 2006 08:44
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Dear Ladybug,

You are a writer's favorite type of reviewer.

Please don't get me wrong - I am indebted to all my reviewers, but it is especially wonderful to have such an articulate reader who understands the subtext so well. I have a feeling that you will enjoy Ch. 4 when we get there, as it takes on a very mysterious tone. Still a battle of the wills though. I guess I just loved those old Spencer & Tracey movies - all that back and forth - can't get away from it.

Yes, Ginny is certainly in a bad spot. Do I trust? Can I trust? Etc.

Thanks again. I'm glad you're enjoying it. Please keep reviewing - I value your insight. (and here I *sigh*!)

Take care,
hwimsey
  Quote
Delani
Wednesday 21st June 2006 15:01


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
Another fabulous tweak on a scene Jo must have left in one her missing notebooks! Far too brill to be forgotten, I say. I loved the anger and the surprise and oo the *passion*. It's so...satisfying to read these...like it's everything we knew was there finally articulated into something legible. Well done, I say old bean!

Delani
hwimsey
Wednesday 21st June 2006 23:30
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Hello Delani,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Yes, I dragged out her old notebooks she left with me over vacation

Well, if you like anger, surprises and passion - hold on to your hat.
Ch 3 is right around the corner.

A pint of Guiness to you for the "articulated" quote. Made my day.

Take care,
hwimsey

  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Wednesday 21st June 2006 14:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
This is good Very nice scene of the race on the brooms. I liked that bit of action. Though I like it must be because Harry has a hurt shoulder that Ginny wins. I am looking forward to reading more.
hwimsey
Wednesday 21st June 2006 23:26
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Hi GriffindorDragon,

Thank you for your review! Glad you like the action - much more coming. Shame on you!! Ginny could win - don't you think?

Thanks again. Ch3 should be up soon.

Cheers,
hwimsey
  Quote
Evelyn
Wednesday 21st June 2006 08:41


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
This is such a good read. I love the story and I love your style of writing. There were so many sentences that had my thinking 'wow, why can't I write like that?' but this one was definitely my favourite:
They took off like bats out of hell, both completely determined to kill themselves or die trying.
See you next time then.
hwimsey
Wednesday 21st June 2006 09:05
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Oh Evelyn,
You don't know how much I enjoyed your review. My dishwasher just leaked all over the kitchen, I'm knee deep in suds and I punted eveything only to get online and read your review. You've officially been kissed through my screen.

I often (very often) read other people's writing and either want to start drinking or stop writing altogether, so you've given me some hope.

Hopefully Ch. 3 will be up soon - it's with my beta. Thanks again.

Take care,
hwimsey
  Quote
Wooster
Wednesday 21st June 2006 06:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 525

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
To echo Harry: this chapter was 'bloody, unbelievably, gorgeously brilliant.'

I salute you as I beg you to update SOON!
hwimsey
Wednesday 21st June 2006 09:00
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Oh Wooster - no you are the bloody unbelievably gorgeously brilliant one!!
Thank you so much for that lovely review. I'm smiling from ear to ear. I'll make you a deal - you keep reading them and I'll keep writing them.

My beta has Ch3 (which I think you'll really like) so hopefully it'll be up soon.

Thanks again. I've kissed my monitor in your honor!

Take care,
hwimsey
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Tuesday 20th June 2006 16:08


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
I can't even tell you how much I loved this! Your writing style is outstanding - a perfect blend of reality and imagery. There were so many lines here that I loved it's hard to pick out just one. This is one of them:
both completely determined to kill themselves or die trying

Ah, I remember what it was like being a teenager in love. You've captured the dramatic changes in temper so well. I especially liked the start of this chapter when Harry was riding his broom like a madman, trying to escape the thoughts plaguing his head, so angry with himself for hurting the girl he loves.

I love the fleeting moments of tenderness, when right in the middle of a "mortal combat" Ginny worries for a second about Harry's shoulder. And of course he has to save her from her fall. It nearly choked me up feeling his fear of losing someone else he loves.

This line captures so much intensity and feeling, I love it:
I don’t need rescuing, Harry,” she said imperceptibly.
hwimsey
Tuesday 20th June 2006 17:09
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Dear Felix Felicis,

You don't know how wonderful I felt after reading your review. Everything seemed to be going wrong today - car, leaking kitchen (don't ask), homicidal racoons (really don't ask) ugh. Then I read your review.

Killing themselves. Hah - that's one of my favorite lines too, along with untold suicide pact.

And yes, rescuing comes up again and again throughout this story.

So glad you're enjoying it. I wanted to capture the angst of being on the edge of adulthood plus the darkness of the world they live in. I guess I'm just a sucker for a gothic. Read Jane Eyre till my eyes crossed.

Hopefully Ch 3 will get posted soon. If you liked the fleeting tenderness of this one, you'll really like Ch 3 (I hope :rolleyes

Thanks again for your kind review. And thanks for quoting what you enjoyed. Makes me feel like I'm the right track.

Take good care,
hwimsey
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 20th June 2006 10:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
Another great chapter. While I found the first one amusing, though, this one leaves me a little scared.
hwimsey
Tuesday 20th June 2006 12:51
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Yikes,
Please change you're to your in my last post - egads. I can't spell!
  Quote
Novera
Monday 19th June 2006 23:04


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 157

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
i lloovvee this chapter
i want to rreeaadd mmoorree!!
beautygirlbest@gmail.com
hwimsey
Tuesday 20th June 2006 12:52
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Dear Novera,
Thanks so much for your review. Glad you're enjoying the story.
Hopefully Ch. 3 will be posted soon.

Take care,
hwimsey
  Quote
Kelleypen
Monday 19th June 2006 20:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
I love this chapter. You did a great job. I started an online class last week. Hence my slow down. Chapter three coming soon. I promise.
hwimsey
Monday 19th June 2006 21:52
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Kelley - I've missed you!!! Just send me the chapter when you can. Let me know when you want Chapter Four. Take care!
Sarah
  Quote
EmeraldPrincess
Monday 19th June 2006 20:45


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
Brown?

Uh... Dean?
hwimsey
Monday 19th June 2006 21:55
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Hi EmeraldPrincess,

The brown eyed girl is Ginny. Dean will make a showing in a later chapter though.

hwimsey
  Quote

Monday 19th June 2006 20:05


2: Brown-Eyed Girl
Lovely image! More please.
hwimsey
Monday 19th June 2006 21:56
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Thanks for the review. As soon as I can! I promise. Ch. 3's with my beta!

Cheers,
hwimsey
  Quote
thisgrlrox
Monday 19th June 2006 18:56


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 187

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
Very nice chapter. A little angst, some excitement, even a bit of humor. What more could I ask for? Is it too soon to ask for an update.
hwimsey
Monday 19th June 2006 19:06
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Hi thisgrlrox (my favorite username!)

We aim to please. More angst, excitement, humor AND romance are coming. Unfortunately I'm not sure where my beta is, so Ch. 3 is hung up somewhere She's great, so hopefully it'll be posted.

Thanks for the review!!

hwimsey
  Quote
cwarbeck
Monday 19th June 2006 18:12


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 64

2: Brown-Eyed Girl
Oh, that was beautiful. Harry can be such a romantic. I loved the way Ginny can bring out all these emotions in him - tenderness, pride in her abilities, the need to protect and nurture her. And the way he touched her face... *sigh* and that reverent litany of "his mouth, her lips, his hands, her hips... *double sigh*

Will we have to wait long for the next chapter? I hope not!
hwimsey
Monday 19th June 2006 19:02
2: Brown-Eyed Girl (Author Response)
Hi cwarbeck!
Thank you so much for that lovely review. You're very astute about emotions being brought to the surface - a theme throughout this piece. And we haven't seen the end of that litany. Boy, did I smile when I read reverent - sums it up beautifully.
Hopefully we won't have to wait long for the next update. Everything's been written - just has to go thru beta. My beta is awol currently, and I'm a bit worried. But it'll get there!
And if you liked the face scene, you're going to love what's next

Thanks again for your kind words. Double sigh from your review!!

Cheers,
hwimsey
  Quote
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004