Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Redemption by Kristy

Showing 1 to 6 of 6
Aqua Fountain*
Friday 27th April 2007 00:45


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 132

Redemption
After reading HBP, I think that Dumbledore’s reasons for trusting Snape are pretty weak (in Snape’s words, “a tale of deepest remorse”) and incomplete, so I think, after some editing and reworking, this fic still fits with canon (if you’re with the “Snape is good” side of that debate, that is).
Yeah right. Who in their right mind would believe Snape is innocent? Though, this really is pretty convincing.


You've done an exellent job with this. Yes, it's crystal clear that it was from Snape's POV. Only I'm not sure about the woman who murdered the two Muggles. Is she Bellatrix?

The story fits quite well with the facts, though Snape's part in killing Dumbledore makes it hard to believe. You have, however, got this wrong:

Voldemort wasn't necessarily going to kill the entire Potter family. Voldemort killed James because he got in the way, but he would have let Lily go. She could have run. He told her to 'stand aside'. He would have immediatly just killed her if he was going to anyway.

Apart, from that, and that Dumbledore's death turns the facts agant Snape, youi've done a good and convincing story with what we know. Great work.



  Quote
Dollface
Monday 23rd April 2007 15:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

Redemption
pretty cool.... nice job on suxh a hard peice of writings since we don t know where snaps loyalties lie yet
  Quote
Ishi
Saturday 1st July 2006 22:54


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

Redemption
Ooh, very good. I'm impressed with the way this story develops. And your characterisation is admirable. You certainly got inside Snape's head.
  Quote
critmo
Wednesday 28th June 2006 23:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

Redemption
I'm in your corner, although I think you could use a little more detail to explain why Snape did enjoy torturing muggles at some point. "His place in society" doesn't do the trick there. - Interesting story, anyway.
Kristy
Friday 30th June 2006 06:42
Redemption (Author Response)
Thanks for the review, critmo! I see your point about my wording there - what I was trying to say was that Snape likes the power that he enjoys as a Death Eater. I think all of the Death Eaters, to some extent, join Voldemort because they think it gives them more power or authority over everyone else - torturing people makes them feel like they have control. This is where I see Snape, at least; I think that he was proud to be a Death Eater because he wanted control over his surroundings, and that's why he enjoyed torturing other people. That said, I get why my description in the story might not have been enough. Hope this clears things up a bit!

~ Kristy
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 22nd June 2006 15:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Redemption
I read your story with interest and think you did a creditable job in capturing the narrator's changing feelings toward his position in the war. However, I question the fact that Neville Longbottom was completely left out of consideration as a possible target; he was born on July 30, 1980 and his parents were also active in the fight against Voldemort, so the narrator would have also gone to school with Alice and Frank Longbottom. Criticisms aside, you've done a nice job with this story and I enjoyed reading it.
Kristy
Monday 26th June 2006 08:00
Redemption (Author Response)
Hey Arnel, thanks for the review! My beta actually said that I should include Neville in the story; my response to her was that while in a longer fic, I would have addressed Neville, for a one-shot I thought it would be too complicated to discuss both boys. There is no indication that Voldemort ever actually tried to attack Neville, or indeed that he knew that Neville could fit the Prophecy. The way I'm getting around this potential discrepancy with canon is by saying that Voldemort asked the Death Eaters to find a child who fit the Prophecy, and the Death Eaters came back with Harry, but not Neville.

~ Kristy
  Quote
harryheartsbeeve
Wednesday 21st June 2006 14:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

Redemption
The thing that bugs me is that you're probley right. I REALLY want to hate Snape, but this just backs up what I don't want to believe.

Very well written.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004