Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Not Your War by occlumens

Showing 1 to 18 of 18
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 25th March 2008 11:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Not Your War
niec story!!!! It must have been hard for hermonie during the summers when there were no wizards around...
haha the france part was pretty funny
  Quote
majolie
Thursday 3rd January 2008 19:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Not Your War
Wow -this made me really sad. I have wondered in the past about Hermione's Muggle life after she started Hogwarts. It would be such a strange and difficult secret to keep - even if Voldemort was not in the picture. The Algebra episode illustrates that perfectly.

My only issue with this fic is that I would have thought Hermione was intelligent enough not to act "different" at the wrong times, though I guess that's a lot to ask of a young girl.

Good ending.
  Quote
Flyhigh
Tuesday 13th November 2007 20:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Not Your War
Very nice. I've often wondered what Hermione's relationship with her parents were like during her time at Hogwarts, because she spent so little time with them.
  Quote
brad
Sunday 11th November 2007 22:43


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

Not Your War
Great little story!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 8th November 2007 16:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Not Your War
wow!!! Never really thought of hermonie not fitting in at home... i guess it would make sense since they dont really know whats going on in the wizarding world...

  Quote
SnorkackCatcher
Wednesday 12th July 2006 07:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Not Your War
Nice treatment, and an excellent last scene and last line.
occlumens
Sunday 23rd July 2006 11:37
Not Your War (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
Astrid
Thursday 6th July 2006 20:17


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Not Your War
Excellent. I really like the changes Hermione has to make and the confusion of her parents.
occlumens
Thursday 6th July 2006 22:42
Not Your War (Author Response)
Thank you!

It's interesting that we see the wizarding world through Harry's eyes, but it leaves a lot of things out. We, of course, see how Harry is forced to change because of the war, but we don't see that nearly as much with the others of his generation. They don't have the same experiences, true, but I don't think it can have been easy even for those who aren't particularly involved. And for Hermione, who's got friends in the middle of it and family completely outside of it, well... I like to explore her side of things. I'm glad you enjoyed it too.
  Quote

Sunday 2nd July 2006 02:37


Not Your War
An insightful look into Hermione's world. Well written and you wrote Hermione as she is supposed to be written, which is no easy feat. Good work
occlumens
Sunday 2nd July 2006 19:19
Not Your War (Author Response)
Thank you!

Hermione is my favorite character to write. I can relate to her, being somewhat of a bookish know-it-all myself. Still, there's a lot of insecurity in her. She's trying to live up to all these expectations, and yet some things that she wants to be proud of she has to keep from her parents. I mean, an explanation of her clever plan to keep Umbridge from cursing Harry in book 5 is not something I'd expect her to ever give them. Can't be easy.

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Ishi
Saturday 1st July 2006 22:50


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

Not Your War
*melts* Very good. I loved it.
occlumens
Sunday 2nd July 2006 19:13
Not Your War (Author Response)
Thank you!

I'm very glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
mullvaney
Tuesday 27th June 2006 13:57


Not Your War
This is a great story. I particularly like stories told as a series of vignettes, and you've done a good job imagining how Hermione's home life is, and how it becomes more and more awkward for her parents to explain away her odd behavior, and seeming lack of academic achievement. I am glad there was a happy ending, so many of these Hermione-and-her-parents stories do not
occlumens
Sunday 2nd July 2006 19:13
Not Your War (Author Response)
Thank you!

I'm glad you like the vignettes; it's my preferred fanfic writing format. When I come home from school, the first thing people in my family ask is how school is, and what I'm studying. One day I just wondered how Hermione could go on avoiding that question. I mean, what could she say? I do think she has a chance once the war's over, though. Then at least she shouldn't have to hide anything from her parents.
  Quote
Shadow Hider
Monday 26th June 2006 11:13


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 123

Not Your War
That's great ^_^
occlumens
Monday 26th June 2006 13:37
Not Your War (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Evelyn
Monday 26th June 2006 07:37


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Not Your War
Beautiful. And I loved how you ended it on a happier note.

The way you structured it was really good. Such a good read. I'm looking forward to reading more from you.
occlumens
Monday 26th June 2006 13:37
Not Your War (Author Response)
Thank you!

I'm glad you liked the new ending. I was hoping you would, since you've read the old version.
  Quote
jessy
Monday 26th June 2006 04:17


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 114

Not Your War
gr8!that was brilliant leting us know abt hemione's every year!
occlumens
Monday 26th June 2006 04:33
Not Your War (Author Response)
Thank you!

I had always wondered what summers would be like for Hermione. She mentions some things, like going to France, but we never see very much of what it's like for her. I'm glad you enjoyed the story.
  Quote
Ardie Bea
Monday 26th June 2006 04:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Not Your War
Short, bitter-sweet and to the point. Well done.
occlumens
Monday 26th June 2006 04:35
Not Your War (Author Response)
Thank you!

I always have a problem making my stories very long. I think it's because with fanfic there's so much material already built right in; we know what the characters are like. I'm glad you enjoyed it!
  Quote
Ladybug
Monday 26th June 2006 03:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Not Your War
Fabulous! I love your exploration of Hermione's struggle. Poignant and satisfying to read.
occlumens
Monday 26th June 2006 04:37
Not Your War (Author Response)
Thank you!

I think, being smart and strong, Hermione gets overlooked a lot when it comes to her struggles. No one thinks about the difficult time she must be having because of the war. Not that I blame anyone really, it's hard on everyone. Still, sometimes I'm morbid and wonder who would tell the Grangers if she died... I'm glad you enjoyed it!
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Sunday 25th June 2006 22:20


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Not Your War
It was short but not sweet until the end. I like how you just gave a brief summary to each year. I loved the singing of course. Good job!
occlumens
Monday 26th June 2006 04:39
Not Your War (Author Response)
Thank you!

It originally wasn't sweet at all, but I added the ending to give it some hope. The singing... Heh. I needed some way for Harry, Ron ,and Ginny to snap her out of it. Her birthday seemed as good a reason as any. Plus, with the war just finished, who can blame them for being a bit silly? I'm glad you enjoyed it!
  Quote
jeanne
Sunday 25th June 2006 19:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

Not Your War
ONE WORD. EXCELLENT'
occlumens
Sunday 25th June 2006 20:26
Not Your War (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
harry_ginnyphile
Sunday 25th June 2006 15:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 44

Not Your War
I absolutely adore this fic, occlumens. The vignettes that take us through the years of Hermione's life are poignant and telling, and I love how they show, so fluently, how the Grangers try to deal with the scope of having a daughter like Hermione. The last paragraph just grips me -- she no longer has to hide who and what she is in life. She can finally be herself around ALL the people in her world. Love love love it, it was such a pleasure to work on this fic for you. Thank you so much for such a lovely mention in your A/N. You make my job easy!!!
occlumens
Sunday 25th June 2006 17:46
Not Your War (Author Response)
Thank you!

As you know, I originally didn't have the last bit on this story. However, I really wanted to show that Hermione had a chance at openness once the war was over, especially since my last Hermione story left her so hopeless. I'm glad that idea got across.

Thank you so much again for all of your help!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004