Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Vagaries of Destiny by LisaQT3

Showing 1 to 15 of 15
Dad
Friday 19th March 2010 13:04


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 487

The Vagaries of Destiny
very creative bit of writing. Well done.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 25th October 2007 21:39


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Vagaries of Destiny
wow!!! this was very interseting!!!! Ginny will probably end up getting the same fame as harry...

  Quote
pyromain
Wednesday 6th June 2007 13:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

The Vagaries of Destiny
I in general don't like the story's in which harry is dies, but I most say this one is well writen en he died saving the one thing worth living.
All in all I did like the story.
  Quote
Evelyn
Wednesday 16th August 2006 06:59


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

The Vagaries of Destiny
That was... forceful. Wow.

That emptiness Ginny feels is wonderfully written. But what will she do now?

Excellent story.
  Quote
Astrid
Sunday 13th August 2006 19:52


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

The Vagaries of Destiny
OMG, this is fantastic. I usually don't like stories where Harry dies, but you did this beautifully. Good work.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Tuesday 25th July 2006 06:16


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

The Vagaries of Destiny
So Ginny is now the Girl-Who-Lived. Very nice story. Well-written. But I don't like it. You killed Harry off. So, because of that, even though the story works and all and is a powerful story, I just don't like it.
  Quote
Ladybug
Monday 24th July 2006 02:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

The Vagaries of Destiny
This is BRILLIANT! A most ingenious plot, perfectly executed. There's so much I love about this story. I loved the tea - weak and strong. It's so clever how Ginny really found herself in Harry's life - a feeling of having it mapped out for her, the way she acted when she had to, even if it was instintively, and her sense of destiny staring death in the face, her fleeting moment of pride, and finally even the scar. But Harry did it in the end, didn't he. Not quite how he would have expected to, but it was him in the end, wasn't it. I thought Kingsley was great - the final scene had the perfect mix of routine (of dealing with a crime scene) and amazement at the actual events. Your picture of the really-truly dead Voldemort was spot-on, leaving absolutely no doubt that he was finally gone. I think it will have to happen like that in Book 7 too, or I won't really believe it. Altogether an amazing story. Congratulations.
  Quote
paladin
Sunday 23rd July 2006 20:32


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

The Vagaries of Destiny
"No one has greater love than this, to lay down one's life for one's friends." John 15:13

Awesome… simply, awesome!

I LOVE first-person tales and this shorty is great. You kept me questioning where the story was going at first because the scenes of the confrontation and ensuing battle turned out to be a dream. Then, we find out that it is a dream of what happened only month earlier. You did a nice job of keeping the reader off balance and don’t give us a chance to classify this with other fics that have similar qualities; it stood out to me because of this.

The scene with Ginny going through her ‘routine’ in robot-like repetition helped establish the feelings for a reader to empathize with her. I myself have been through a bout of ‘broken heart syndrome’ but breaking up with a love is one thing, losing your love is another. The lonely days where you just want to put your head on the desk for the whole day are very isolated. But you gave it such great quality with Ginny having ‘weak’ tea. Solitude being her only comfort because too much reminds her of what she had. Especially since they had an argument before the battle and he passed.

The confrontation with Voldemort was a complete surprise and caught me off guard but you did a great job of explaining it without having a lengthy dissertation. Short and sweet made it easier to focus and stay with your storyline. The quick thinking on Ginny’s part, despite her subdued existence, was a great example of how unpredictable a human spirit can be. It helped that the broom was behind him but still, Ginny didn’t waste any time in getting rid of the Horcrux.

The ending was brilliant, giving elusion to the possibility that Ginny was joining Harry but you stayed with a more real-to-life ending. One remains to go on with life, a better person for having known the departed. The legacy of the lost love, more solidified with a last gift unbeknownst to the one left behind. Having Ginny receive the lightning bolt scar was a perfect touch at the end.

~Fantastic job.
LisaQT3
Thursday 17th August 2006 12:13
The Vagaries of Destiny (Author Response)
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so glad you liked this story. I found it very difficult to get the peice to flow, what with all the backstory I had to let the readers in on and with setting Ginny's mood, not to mention making the confrontation fit in with everything else. I'm glad it worked. I also wanted to keep the reader guessing and I seem to have done that. Thanks so much for your interest.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Sunday 23rd July 2006 19:47


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

The Vagaries of Destiny
Oh that is so cool. And I like how you had Voldemort make another horcrux but Ginny is right, he is smarter than them. But he finally lost. Very good.
  Quote

Wednesday 12th July 2006 18:25


The Vagaries of Destiny
wow! that was great!
  Quote
pakismith
Wednesday 12th July 2006 09:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

The Vagaries of Destiny
Very sad story indeed but I enjoyed it very much.
Thanks
  Quote
thisgrlrox
Wednesday 12th July 2006 07:28


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 187

The Vagaries of Destiny
I was hoping for a soap opera ending in which Harry would miraculously still be alive. I suppose it's not called the summer drama contest for nothing. Nicely written story...you had me on the edge of my seat.
  Quote
Novera
Tuesday 11th July 2006 23:58


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 157

The Vagaries of Destiny
r you telling me that this is what is going to happen in the senenth book?????? beautygirlbest@gmail.com
LisaQT3
Thursday 17th August 2006 12:14
The Vagaries of Destiny (Author Response)
I certainly hope not!
  Quote
Yentila22
Tuesday 11th July 2006 21:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

The Vagaries of Destiny
Very original idea and very sad. I enjoyed your story very much. Good luck!!
  Quote
shadowknight133000
Tuesday 11th July 2006 21:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

The Vagaries of Destiny
Wow....Josh Groban's songs just don't mix with this kinda stuff.....*grabs another tissue* just...wow...!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004