Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Letting Go by timbers

Showing 1 to 18 of 18
gymnastgal19
Thursday 15th May 2008 20:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Letting Go
.... somehow i dont think that ginny would be this upset over hagrids death... and not enough to delay marrying harry....
nice story though
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Saturday 12th January 2008 16:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Letting Go
i knew that it wasnt harry, but i couldnt thinkof anyone else that started with HA lol
  Quote
BloodySeraphim
Sunday 23rd September 2007 07:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

Letting Go
Wow that was brilliant, leading everyone on to think that Harry died.
  Quote
Kathryn
Wednesday 30th August 2006 14:31


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

Letting Go
you know how much i love this piece, so i won't go on too much, but it is a wonderful piece without a doubt.
  Quote
sonicdale
Wednesday 9th August 2006 01:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

Letting Go
You sneaky sneaky, sneaky sneaky sneak.
Misleading us, tricking us.
But we caught on.
And this story deserves more votes than it got.
Not all drama on this site needs to end up all nice and fluffy sweet.
Bittersweet is more like it.
Good work.
Hope to see more in the future.
  Quote
paladin
Tuesday 25th July 2006 19:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Letting Go
Wonderful effort!

You did a great job of creating the setting of the scene and establishing the tenor of the mixture of emotions that you encounter from the opening. I had to reach for my dictionary on ‘empyrean’ so, cheers to you on that. Your uses of adverbs like 'swiftly' and 'stumbling' inclined to the urgency of the character searching the garden of stone at dusk.

The turbulent mixture of emotions pounding through Ginny’s head continued to build the wave of turmoil trapped inside one so young and previously full of life. Robbed of the joy she should know but held back because of ‘survivor’s syndrome’; a difficult state to be in for the sufferer but, then again, all who are close to her suffer along with her. This adds to the internal struggle and the depression deepens.

You brought great feeling to her character at the grave site. I tried to picture what I would be asking myself. The fruitlessness of trying to understand WHY? Trying to get a hint of the reason why his light was snuffed out while hers continues to burn. Why was life so unfair? Why did he have to get between her and the curse? Why did she have to get herself into that position in the first place? WHY do people still LOVE me despite what I caused to happen? WHY WAS I ALLOWED TO LIVE?!,

Most people don’t understand that THEY were saved for a special purpose or reason and one day they will make their contribution. I enjoyed the depiction of the physical contact with the headstone and the welcoming of the heat-leaching cold of the slab of granite; physically feeling outside to match the feeling inside.

The wake-up call that she finally gets from the tweak to her subconscious by the glimmer of the ruby, highlighted by the moonlight was a great example of how so many assurances can be given but it isn’t until it clicks in our own mind, will we never fully understand a lesson or rule. The steadfast patience and understanding by Harry was a perfect example of what someone in her situation needs. Unconditional love, support and understanding.


~Splendid job!
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Tuesday 25th July 2006 09:12


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Letting Go
Interesting piece. Cute twist. But for me it just doesn't quite work. I know Ginny would mourn Hagrid , but it is inconceivable that her grief would last so long nor keep her from Harry . Just for the sake of the same starting letters on the tombstone . . . . Sorry, she would be torn up that Hagrid had died saving her life, but she would cry her grief out in Harry's arms and move on with him. Nice device but it just doesn't quite work. Perhaps she might grieve this way over one of her brothers (that's what I was thinking at first). Good story anyway. Well written.
  Quote
DailyProphetReporting
Tuesday 25th July 2006 01:03


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 180

Letting Go
I like this a lot. You played the mystery extremely well, keeping the various he s disguised long enough to really build up the drama. Kudos for seeing so many ways Harry and Hagrid are similar and for seeing a way to really use that to your literary advantage.

But I think it's just as impressive the way you conveyed Ginny's sense of guilt and loss before the big revelation. Her emotions are so clear and raw that the story would have worked just as well had the grave belonged to that other H-A character -- and that's not something I expect to say at PS too often, given our shipping rules.

I thought you did well with the imagery, too. You paint a vivid enough picture of the cemetary to help set the somber mode, and I think that really helped keep up the mystery. And nice job working in the canon quote at the end. That's normally something I don't like in fics, but the context is just perfect for it to provide an uplifting finish here.

Anyway, very nicely done!
-KC
  Quote
dancinginmagic
Saturday 22nd July 2006 06:59


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 166

Letting Go
Oh goodness... this is wonderful. I love the way you led us to believe it was Harry... Oh, Hagrid!
  Quote

Wednesday 19th July 2006 08:42


Letting Go
great !
  Quote
WhiteWitch
Monday 17th July 2006 08:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Letting Go
This was AMAZING! the descriptions before you told us who it was that had died, and of course the teaser that made us think it was Harry- I almost cried for them, for lost years between her and HArry, and of course Hagrid. The one person you thinnk would always be there, but now isn't. Absolutely wonderful.
  Quote

Sunday 16th July 2006 17:04


Letting Go
i realy liked this.but...i am so confused
  Quote
monkeyfish
Sunday 16th July 2006 11:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

Letting Go
Brilliant! Very well done!
  Quote
Evelyn
Sunday 16th July 2006 08:41


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Letting Go
Oh, you were leading us along nicely... For about half the story, I was wondering who Ginny would be getting married to because I was sure Harry was dead. You can imagine my relief when I saw he wasn't.

Unique idea, and well done!
timbers
Tuesday 1st August 2006 05:22
Letting Go (Author Response)
Dear Evelyn,

I'm glad that you liked the storyline. I couldn't do that to Harry and Ginny- they're meant to be together

Thank you for taking the time to read and review,

-timbers
  Quote
thisgrlrox
Sunday 16th July 2006 02:02


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 187

Letting Go
Absolutely wonderful! Your writing is so beautiful. My breath caught when I realized it was Hagrid in the grave. I got swept up in the emotions of the story because of the descriptiveness of your writing. Very nicely done!
timbers
Tuesday 1st August 2006 05:19
Letting Go (Author Response)
Dear thisgrlrox,

I'm so glad you enjoyed the story and the plot twist. I wanted the keep up the air of mysteriousness long enough until the climax in the story, thus all the descriptivness.

Thank you for taking the time to read and review- it made my day!

-timbers
  Quote
PHsname
Sunday 16th July 2006 01:09


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 161

Letting Go
Very well written, and truly dramatic...except I almost laughed at the twist mid-way through...haha.

good job (:
timbers
Tuesday 1st August 2006 05:10
Letting Go (Author Response)
Dear PHsname,

Glad you liked the story and (almost) laughed at the twist

Thanks for reviewing,

timbers
  Quote
juliet
Sunday 16th July 2006 00:10


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

Letting Go
Fantastic buildup to an intriguing storyline. I really wondered/hoped that it wasn't Harry who would be in the grave, so I am happy that he was there to comfort Ginny. I also liked the mirroring of the end of HBP when Ginny gets Harry to move away from Dumbledore's body.
Great stuff.
timbers
Tuesday 1st August 2006 05:08
Letting Go (Author Response)
Dear juliet,

I'm so glad you enjoyed the story- my original intention was the ending to be based loosely on the ending on HBP, so I'm quite happy that someone picked up on it!

Thanks for reading and taking the time to review

-timbers
  Quote
PhoenixAnkaa
Saturday 15th July 2006 23:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

Letting Go
Very, Very Nice!!!! I really enjoyed the plot twist and you portrayed the characters true to cannon. Thank you for sharing this with us.

PA
timbers
Tuesday 1st August 2006 05:05
Letting Go (Author Response)
Dear PA,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the plot twist and the story.

Again, thanks for taking the time to read and review

-timbers
  Quote
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004