Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Prelude to the Hunt by Sssith

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 19 of 19
Patches
Friday 11th May 2007 01:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

2: His Confessor
This is very good. I am so glad Remus came to see Harry and that he was able to disconnect Snape's hook in Harry's mind. Remus loves Harry and he will be the best one to help Harry protect his mind. Thanks for writing. I look foreward to more of this story. p
Sssith
Friday 11th May 2007 07:46
2: His Confessor (Author Response)
Harry and Remus both have much in common. I think they make a natural fit for the mentor/student relationship.

Thanks for taking the time to review!
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Wednesday 6th September 2006 17:38


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

2: His Confessor
So Remus saw some things . Hmmm. Very good chapter. And stupid Snape. I bet he put it in there not for teaching reasons, but for invasive.
  Quote
maxbeedo
Monday 28th August 2006 13:30


2: His Confessor
You certainly have some interesting (and very plausible) ideas, and it's always great to see more interaction with Tonks/Lupin, whom despite their popularity really aren't seen all that much.
  Quote
Amanda
Wednesday 23rd August 2006 08:39


2: His Confessor
I love this fic. I really love this fic. But I am very curious as to when Harry and Ginny are going to get back together in this story. I don't suppose you'll tell?
Sssith
Wednesday 23rd August 2006 10:06
2: His Confessor (Author Response)
Glad you are enjoying the story. As for your other question....No hablo ingles.
  Quote
Crys
Tuesday 22nd August 2006 08:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

2: His Confessor
Arthur as Head of the Order? Huh. Unusual choice. We'll see how that goes.

Confessor Spell: Sounds like a modified version of the Fidelius. Clever idea, that.

I'm sure that electric shock will mean something later.

> The trick is to cast Finite Incantatem when you're done with your confession.

But he didn't. Does this mean anything and everything Remus learns from/about Harry will ALL be absolutely private until Harry ends the spell? It's still active. If Harry falls under attack, REMUS CAN'T SAY ANYTHING.

Oooh, Teacher's Hook? I like that. Good idea and good history for it.

Building into a fun story.
Sssith
Monday 4th September 2006 08:18
2: His Confessor (Author Response)

> The trick is to cast Finite Incantatem when you're done with your confession.

But he didn't. Does this mean anything and everything Remus learns from/about Harry will ALL be absolutely private until Harry ends the spell? It's still active. If Harry falls under attack, REMUS CAN'T SAY ANYTHING.


Yes. Any conversation that Remus has with Harry while the spell is in place has to stay private. And you are right that this is a dangerous thing to leave in place.

Thanks for your review, and guidance.
  Quote
Antosha
Monday 21st August 2006 19:58


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

2: His Confessor
Hmmm....

Teacher's Hook. Confessor...

Intriguing!

But... they didn't cast the finite on the Confessor Charm!
  Quote
Delani
Monday 21st August 2006 18:08


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

2: His Confessor
ooo. My goot was tapping impatiently the whole time; well done!
  Quote
Gioia
Monday 21st August 2006 13:45


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

2: His Confessor
Very intriguing!! Is there any significance to the fact that they didn't cast Finite Incantatum at the end?

You've got a very unique post-HBP premise, in that you're not simply repeating all the same cliches that so many others are using. I'm eagerly awaiting more!
Sssith
Monday 21st August 2006 14:21
2: His Confessor (Author Response)
Nothing really to be read into the lack of Finite Incantatum. Don't forget that Harry wasn't in condition to anything at the end of the session. It will be taken care of during Harry and Remus' next meeting.

Thanks for the review.
  Quote
critmo
Monday 21st August 2006 06:16


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

2: His Confessor
A teacher's hook? Good idea, but it's a nasty concept.
Sssith
Monday 21st August 2006 09:30
2: His Confessor (Author Response)
Very nasty. As you might guess I don't have too high an opinion of Snape. I think the hook is something that he would do, if he knew he could get away with it.
  Quote
parakletos
Saturday 19th August 2006 02:53


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 209

2: His Confessor
I think that you have made a good start with these two chapters and I look forward to reading more.
  Quote
fraupapst
Friday 18th August 2006 08:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

2: His Confessor
That teacher's hook is a great idea. I wasn't that convinced that Legilimency is much help in a duel either. Snape himself said that it isn't 'mind-reading'.

That does mean that Snape knows about the Horcruxes, right? Evil.
  Quote
tante
Friday 18th August 2006 08:27


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 169

2: His Confessor
You are entirely too generous in your acknowledgement of my beta services. Now I'm even more determined to work faster.

I, too, am delighted with your creation of the Teaching Hook spell. That's a clever bit of thinking, that. Well done.

I particularly enjoyed your descriptions of Remus' experiences within Harry's mind. You convey a lovely mix of halting determination as Remus stretches to pull his Legilimency skills up to the level required for the task at hand.

Applause to you!
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 18th August 2006 08:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

2: His Confessor
I absolutely love this chapter. Your characterization of Uncle Vernon is spot on! He has always come across as someone to be avoided and I think your Harry is wise to do so, especially with how incredibly boarish he is both in canon and in your story. Well done!

My other comment is that the exchange between Remus and Harry went straight to my fluffy spot and that the chapter is much too short in this respect. Harry immancipated...Yippee! Also, the idea that Harry trusts Remus so implicitly as to let him search his mind for the Teaching Hook choked me up since Harry needs that sort of relationship with an adult now that Dumbledore is gone. I'm hoping, too, that Harry will ask Remus for help with non-verble spells since that was another part of the Snape/Harry duel that Snape criticized Harry for. I have all confidence that your Harry will be able to master this concept if he puts his mind to it once he gets his Occlumency under control.

I hope the next chapter is posted very soon. I was really excited when I found the update e-mail in my mailbox.
Sssith
Saturday 19th August 2006 08:13
2: His Confessor (Author Response)
Thank you. I struggled with Vernon so I am glad you liked it. I had to dig deep and find my inner Vernon. Pity really, as now my wife had to take the children into hidding. ;-)

I also love Remus. It is probably a good thing that Harry and him aren't close in canon. Otherwise JKR might have felt obligated to off him. I fear for his safety in the next book.
  Quote

Friday 18th August 2006 02:36


2: His Confessor
Brilliant idea, that Teacher's Hook! I love it! Also, I like your style & dialogue, hope to see more soon!
  Quote
thisgrlrox
Thursday 17th August 2006 22:46


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 187

2: His Confessor
A teaching hook, huh? That was quite an interesting concept and one I've not come across in fanfic before. Kudos! I also like Harry having Remus as a mentor. I think it will work well that he is unable to tell anyone the info he knows unless Harry gives him permission. That was a nice bit of control to give Harry. This was an enjoyable chapter to read. Well done!
  Quote
MuIgglememore
Thursday 17th August 2006 22:44


2: His Confessor
Really interesting opening chapters. I like your story telling and your writing style. Keep up the good work. Don't make us wait too long for an update...
  Quote
EmeraldPrincess
Thursday 17th August 2006 20:23


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

2: His Confessor
YES! THE UPDATE HAS ARRIVED!

This chapter is excellent! I like your writing style a lot and I want to see more of it!

Update soon!!
Sssith
Thursday 17th August 2006 22:16
2: His Confessor (Author Response)
Thank you. The pesky thing called real life slowed both Tante and I down this last month. Hopefully the next Chapter will get to you sooner.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Thursday 17th August 2006 20:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

2: His Confessor
I like the idea of the hook, very clever. It seems to me that there IS more to Legilimency than we know simply because it's supposed to need eye contact, and Snape certainly didn't have that throughout that battle. JKR has basically said that Harry can't do Occlumency, so there needs to be another way around it. This is a very inventive way of doing that.
Sssith
Thursday 17th August 2006 22:12
2: His Confessor (Author Response)
The whole battle between Snape and Harry at the end of HBP had me scratching my head. It took a bit of pondering before I came up with the "hook". Glad you liked the idea.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 17th August 2006 20:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

2: His Confessor
Very clear precise writing. I await further developments.
Sssith
Thursday 17th August 2006 22:15
2: His Confessor (Author Response)
Thank you very much. You should check out Tante's writing, as she has been invaluable in making this story flow smoothly.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 19 of 19
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004