Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Two Nights in the Garden by Felix Felicis

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
GryffindorDragon
Sunday 12th November 2006 11:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

2: Promise Fulfilled
'He was outside weeding the garden earlier.' -- wouldn't degnoming be more appropriate for Wizards?
'I guess seeing her hurt by someone she thought she could trust made me realize how Id done the same thing' -- rather perceptive for Ron
Felix Felicis
Sunday 12th November 2006 18:27
2: Promise Fulfilled (Author Response)
Heh, I suppose you're right, degnoming would probably have been more appropriate. I think in the back of my mind I had him doing something that Harry was familar with from his time at the Dursleys.

Ron was rather perceptive in this piece. It comes with the times and the age. He knows he's about to embark on a journey that he may not return from. That tends to make one reflect on one's past mistakes and want to make amends for them. I think that's exactly what he's got in his mind here. He knows he made mistakes in his relationship with his sister and now he feels bad.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Saturday 2nd September 2006 12:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

2: Promise Fulfilled
Wow. Ron, don't hurt him too bad. And I can't wait to see what happens between Harry and Ginny and Ron and Hermione. Very good chapter.
Felix Felicis
Sunday 3rd September 2006 19:17
2: Promise Fulfilled (Author Response)
Well, Ron and Harry are both male, and we all know how males work things out...
  Quote
ninkenate
Thursday 31st August 2006 06:14


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

2: Promise Fulfilled
I think Ron got his point across to Harry without having to yell or actually get physical. Ron is stuck trying to be a good big brother and a good best friend. I believe he can see both sides and is just trying to help strike a balance for them. I don't think he's really choosing sides but trying to help the one that needs him the most at the time and right now that's Ginny.

I'm not sure Harry really understands or realizes how much he's hurt Ginny yet but I think he's starting to.

It was a great brotherly conversation between the boys. I'm looking forward to the next chapter.
Felix Felicis
Thursday 31st August 2006 15:39
2: Promise Fulfilled (Author Response)
Yeah, I think Ron and Harry are maturing in their relationship, as well. They both know they're not innocent in having hurt Ginny so they're kind of going easy. Ron really could have gotten on Harry about what he did, but he took the high road and recognized his own faults through his friends mistakes. I appreciate you noticing all of the details!
  Quote
critmo
Saturday 26th August 2006 07:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

2: Promise Fulfilled
Harry's not very passionate about this, is he?
Felix Felicis
Saturday 26th August 2006 08:27
2: Promise Fulfilled (Author Response)
Well... It depends on what "this" is. He's passionate about Ginny but a little irked with Ron's strange behavior. He's also worried about how his first meeting with Ginny will go, on top of the fact that he knows he's about to leave her for what may be a very long time. Perhaps despirited is the right word.
  Quote
hpiknut
Friday 25th August 2006 07:18


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

2: Promise Fulfilled
Good chapter. I thought Ron's and Harry's talk was very well done. I love Ron wanting to take care of his sister. I loved the end of their little talk! Can't wait for the next chapter!
Felix Felicis
Friday 25th August 2006 16:58
2: Promise Fulfilled (Author Response)
Yeah, Ron's such a good older brother when he wants to be. He's really trying to make up for lost time now! He's even showing a bit of maturity that we haven't seen before. Thanks!
  Quote
Evelyn
Friday 25th August 2006 05:59


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

2: Promise Fulfilled
Sweet story. You know how to build a quiet, sad atmosphere. I loved the part in the first chapter when Ginny tried to forget a part of Harry and ended up thinking about it even more...

I liked the brother/sister moment in the first chapter, and the idea of Ron comparing Harry and Ginny's relationship with his and Hermione's. I have to admit, though, that just now in the second chapter, Ron's attitude toward Harry seemed just slightly overdone to me. I can see that he doesn't want Ginny to be sad, but still... He always seemed more discreet to me.

But never mind that, I'm looking forward to the next chapter.
Felix Felicis
Friday 25th August 2006 16:54
2: Promise Fulfilled (Author Response)
Thank you for the comment about the atmosphere. I strive to make the conditions seem real and tangible because I want the reader to feel like they're standing in the scene listening.

As for Ron's overprotectiveness, well... I really wanted to show him discovering, and trying to make up for, all of his mistakes. So a little overboard seemed okay. I appreciate the notice though. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Ladybug
Friday 25th August 2006 02:52


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

2: Promise Fulfilled
Nice! Love seeing Ron and Harry being boys together, particularly as this is a bit different with Ron standing up for his sister. You did that so well. Ron's brotherliness is just lovely - wish I had a brother like him! - and poor Harry not getting the attention he's used to when he arrived. That was a really nice idea. I loved Moody, too, and poor Arthur, LOL. I'm enjoying this little story very much.
Felix Felicis
Friday 25th August 2006 16:52
2: Promise Fulfilled (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad you picked up on the difference between Ron talking to Ginny and Ron talking to Harry. They are teenage boys, after all, so it's impossible for them to talk about their feelings.

I love the nickname for Molly. We even named one of our cats after her and we call her Mollywobbles!

Thanks for the review!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004