Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Things Change by critmo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
paladin
Thursday 7th September 2006 06:24


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Part 2: Talk Talk
This actually is a good chapter so, because you made note of the lack of response, I wanted to come back and give it a singular review.

After the fireworks you set up in Ch. 1, ending with flight to her room, you paved the way for this scene. I feel you captured the essence of canon Hermione well in this chapter. The matter of fact way she says things that should be 'obvious' to anyone she talking to.

“Of course, you had a conversation and that’s why Dean hexed Harry.”
or
“Oh, Dean hexed Harry.”


I can picture this look of a parent who is sympathetic to a child's inability to understand a simple task due to their immaturity. Yet you gave her some of your own touches; playing with her hair and all that.

Having Hermione dump this whole situation in Ginny's lap is great. She has feeling for Harry and Hermione isn't going to let her take a powder while others suffer. I also liked this for the fact that sometimes people don't seen where their 'innocent' comment or question contributed to a problem; you dropped that in nicely here. But, in the end, you gave Ginners a bit of a pick-me-up at her git of a brother's expense. Oh, the Weasleys can be ruthless.

~Nicely done!
critmo
Tuesday 12th September 2006 03:44
Part 2: Talk Talk (Author Response)
Thank you very much for coming back to deliver such a package o a review. Yeah, this is a Hermione chapter, and I do like the way she does it ... very much.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Tuesday 5th September 2006 08:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Part 2: Talk Talk
Wow. I really dislike Dean at the moment. And that fight or something like that should have happened in the HBP. Very good. And I love the floorboard thing.
critmo
Tuesday 12th September 2006 03:40
Part 2: Talk Talk (Author Response)
Poor Dean. Everybody hates him. I think somebody (not me) should write something from his perspective. After all, he really likes Ginny. If we're being honest, she doesn't really treat him all that nicely.
  Quote
Ima Quidditch Fan
Wednesday 30th August 2006 10:07


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Part 2: Talk Talk
OH, and I love that Dean and Harry got into a fight... that was sadly missing from HBP.
critmo
Wednesday 30th August 2006 13:38
Part 2: Talk Talk (Author Response)
Actually, I'm glad they didn't fight in HBP. It's ugly enough that two guys who are friends (more or less) fall for the same girl, but a fight would have poisoned the atmosphere between the two of them forever. And Harry needs all his friends. PLUS, it's not Dean's fault that he has feelings for Ginny. After all, she chose him at the end of OotP.
  Quote
Ima Quidditch Fan
Wednesday 30th August 2006 10:05


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Part 2: Talk Talk
Bless Hermione's heart - she really does put it all into perspective. If only she could do that with Harry. Looking forward to more.
critmo
Wednesday 30th August 2006 13:29
Part 2: Talk Talk (Author Response)
Somebody else will do that, don't worry ... at least in this fic.
  Quote
acciobook
Wednesday 30th August 2006 07:02


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 50

Part 2: Talk Talk
Oh, this was a fantastic follow up chapter. Throwing in the Ron/Hermione issues just added (not this will sound silly as I DO know I am talking about a work of fiction - but it's the world in which I base my ideas of who the characters are and what they do) that extra bit of realism.

That was a great way to tell what happened in the common room after Ginny left. I have to admit I was dying to know, but was more interested in what Ginny was doing so I love that you chose to tell it from the perspective of Hermione pumping Ginny for info and vise versa.
critmo
Wednesday 30th August 2006 13:28
Part 2: Talk Talk (Author Response)
Yeah, I loved the vice versa idea. Glad you do, too.
  Quote
Evelyn
Wednesday 30th August 2006 06:26


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Part 2: Talk Talk
Ooh, Ron... Can't even call Lavender his girlfriend, can he? Poor guy, he has to get rid of her. And I like the idea of Ginny blackmailing her brother. She's very spirited the way you write her and I love that.

I'm looking forward to seeing how this will develop, and I hope you'll solve Ron and Hermione's problem along the way.
critmo
Wednesday 30th August 2006 13:26
Part 2: Talk Talk (Author Response)
Sorry, can't do that. The Ron/Hermione part is strictly canon.
  Quote
Ladybug
Wednesday 30th August 2006 00:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Part 2: Talk Talk
Yay! I got my wish for a Harry–Dean face-off, even if it was second hand. You’re sneaky, you are! As for Ginny’s thought:
As if she needed convincing that Harry Potter was remarkable.

Do any of us? Ahem, anyway ... loved the bit with Ron at the end, and as always Hermione was able to get to the heart of the matter. You've got great writing style - such an enjoyable read. Thanks.
critmo
Wednesday 30th August 2006 13:24
Part 2: Talk Talk (Author Response)
Sneaky? I'll take it as a compliment, along with the rest. Thank you.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004