Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Out of Body by Antosha

Showing 1 to 17 of 17
potters_love_redheads
Thursday 18th March 2010 09:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

Out of Body
I just love Luna haha. She's such an oddball, yet get inside her head and everything she's saying makes perfect sense! lol Nice job!
  Quote
saulick
Monday 12th May 2008 12:11


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Out of Body
Very cool. I liked it very much. Thanks.
  Quote
Patches
Monday 25th February 2008 14:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Out of Body
Luna has the unique ability to understand things others don't. The is a special moment. Thank you for writing this story. I look forward to more of your stories. p
  Quote
majolie
Friday 28th December 2007 17:19


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Out of Body
Really great. I thought I had read all of your stories, but this is new. I really enjoyed it.
Antosha
Sunday 30th December 2007 06:00
Out of Body (Author Response)
Really great. I thought I had read all of your stories, but this is new. I really enjoyed it.


Thanks so much!
  Quote
Rhetor
Wednesday 17th January 2007 22:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Out of Body
I haven't thought about The Glass Menagerie in years. "Blow out your candles, Laura! And so goodbye."

~Ken
Antosha
Saturday 20th January 2007 07:42
Out of Body (Author Response)
I haven't thought about The Glass Menagerie in years. "Blow out your candles, Laura! And so goodbye."

~Ken


I've always thought that Laura and Luna had a lot in common.... though there's nothing fragile about Luna. ;-)
  Quote
monkeyfish
Thursday 7th September 2006 13:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

Out of Body
How perfectly Luna!
  Quote
Ladybug
Saturday 2nd September 2006 23:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Out of Body
Yes, it is wonderful!
And if she was simply a projection of Luna’s unconscious, it seemed rude to interrupt herself.

LOL! Great little story! I enjoyed meeting Lily, and Luna makes any encounter entertaining.
Antosha
Sunday 3rd September 2006 17:38
Out of Body (Author Response)
Yes, it is wonderful!
And if she was simply a projection of Luna’s unconscious, it seemed rude to interrupt herself.

LOL! Great little story! I enjoyed meeting Lily, and Luna makes any encounter entertaining.


Thanks so much! (That was one of those Luna-thoughts that came to me out of the ether as I was writing--definitely Luna talking to me!)
  Quote
hp4-sauce
Saturday 2nd September 2006 13:30


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 91

Out of Body
That was very cool.
Antosha
Sunday 3rd September 2006 17:38
Out of Body (Author Response)
That was very cool.


Thanks!
  Quote
mary-v
Saturday 2nd September 2006 10:33


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

Out of Body
Oh wow that was great!! I really loved this!
Antosha
Sunday 3rd September 2006 17:44
Out of Body (Author Response)
Oh wow that was great!! I really loved this!


Thanks!
  Quote
St Margarets
Friday 1st September 2006 18:51


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

Out of Body
What a lovely plot bunny! Yes, Luna would have to think long and hard about whether to return to this life or the next. Lily was the perfect character for her to discuss this with for all the reasons stated. (And for the nice rebuttal of Ginny looks like Lily thing and the catty sort who like to analyze Harry's motiviation) Love the blue roses mispronunciation - a nod to Glass Menagerie?

I was relieved that Luna made the choice she did - even though it was going to hurt. Yes - it's always better to finish the story . . .
Antosha
Sunday 3rd September 2006 17:52
Out of Body (Author Response)
What a lovely plot bunny! Yes, Luna would have to think long and hard about whether to return to this life or the next. Lily was the perfect character for her to discuss this with for all the reasons stated. (And for the nice rebuttal of Ginny looks like Lily thing and the catty sort who like to analyze Harry's motiviation) Love the blue roses mispronunciation - a nod to Glass Menagerie?

I was relieved that Luna made the choice she did - even though it was going to hurt. Yes - it's always better to finish the story . . .


Yup! I've always felt that Luna is Laura... with a much stronger sense of self. And a wand. ;-)

And yeah, when I wrote this, I'd just seen another outburst of the Ginny-is-a-slut-so-she-must-have-fed-him-Amortencia-AND-have-appealed-to-his-screwed-up-Oedipal-fantasies argument, and was feeling snarky. ;-)

Luna, with her quasi-Buddhist world-view, would definitely see the opportunities presented by each of the choices here--which I thought a good thing. I mean, I can see Harry [i]considering[/i] the chioces, but I can't imagine him for a moment leaving behind any unfinished business. Like, say... Ginny.

;-)
  Quote
jeanne
Friday 1st September 2006 18:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

Out of Body
This was Luna at her absolute best. Gotta love that character. Extremely well written.
Antosha
Sunday 3rd September 2006 17:53
Out of Body (Author Response)
This was Luna at her absolute best. Gotta love that character. Extremely well written.


Thanks so much! I DO love Luna--not much of a surprise, I suppose.
  Quote
EvieMarie
Friday 1st September 2006 16:58


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 80

Out of Body
I really really loved this. I don't usually like reading stories about characters other than Harry or Ginny (biased me) but I adore Luna so much, I just had to. You did a fantastic job. I liked how you wrote Lily - she had a very... human quality about her, made her seem more real than I'd expected. Thank you for such a great little fic! Keep it up!
Antosha
Sunday 3rd September 2006 17:56
Out of Body (Author Response)
I really really loved this. I don't usually like reading stories about characters other than Harry or Ginny (biased me) but I adore Luna so much, I just had to. You did a fantastic job. I liked how you wrote Lily - she had a very... human quality about her, made her seem more real than I'd expected. Thank you for such a great little fic! Keep it up!


Thanks for branching out! Luna really is wonderful--I'm hoping that we get to see all of her sides in book seven: the whimsical, the pathetic and the insightful. Not to mention the fierce.

And I love Lily. I've only written her a couple of times, but each time is a real eye-opener for me. She has to walk this amazingly fine line between being as forthright (and human) as Ginny and as heady as Hermione. It's an interesting mix.

I'm glad you enjoyed!
  Quote
Mr Tibbles
Friday 1st September 2006 14:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Out of Body
Yes, this is wonderful! Three cheers to Luna, and to you, Antosha, for this really delightful chameo. Right from the beginning: You shall not pass! and Luna's pleasure in finally uttering that phrase to her patting Lily's arm. Thank you!
Antosha
Sunday 3rd September 2006 17:58
Out of Body (Author Response)
Yes, this is wonderful! Three cheers to Luna, and to you, Antosha, for this really delightful chameo. Right from the beginning: You shall not pass! and Luna's pleasure in finally uttering that phrase to her patting Lily's arm. Thank you!


:blushes and bows:

Glad this pleased!

Luna is one of my favorite characters, and I've loved Gandalf's challenge to the Balrog since I read it... way too many years ago! XD
  Quote
potternut190
Friday 1st September 2006 07:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

Out of Body
Outstanding!
Antosha
Sunday 3rd September 2006 17:58
Out of Body (Author Response)
Outstanding!




Thanks!
  Quote
*handiangel*
Friday 1st September 2006 07:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Out of Body
That was great! Made me feel warm inside , even though it was quite a somber subject.
The only problem i had with this story, is that Luna seemed IMHO out of character, however once she had 'died' she was perfect. I also thought, having Lily as an almost 'Grim Reaper' like character, asking Luna what her next step was going to be was brilliant.
I just want to know if Harry wins now lol

Hannah
Antosha
Sunday 3rd September 2006 18:04
Out of Body (Author Response)
That was great! Made me feel warm inside , even though it was quite a somber subject.
The only problem i had with this story, is that Luna seemed IMHO out of character, however once she had 'died' she was perfect. I also thought, having Lily as an almost 'Grim Reaper' like character, asking Luna what her next step was going to be was brilliant.
I just want to know if Harry wins now lol

Hannah


Thanks, Hannah!

And what do you think: does Harry win?

If I ever have to face a Reaper, I'd like it to be someone like Lily, wouldn't you?

As for Luna at the top... I always thought one of the most interesting and revealing scenes in which she appears in canon is the Dept. of Mysteries battle. Other than Harry, she's the only one who manages to get through without being severely injured, and from the moment the DEs spring the trap on, there's nothing airy or diffuse about her--she saves both Ron and Ginny and seems to behave with a clarity of focus most unlike her everyday demeanor. And so that was the side that I wanted to explore at the beginning.

Of course, the minute the question is decided (apparently) and the Troll crushed (and Luna kinda-dead), she shifts right back into more typical behavior. For her, anyway.
  Quote
critmo
Friday 1st September 2006 06:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

Out of Body
some Muggle with a very lovely name
- Freud!

Brilliant. - Delightful story and very much in character.
Antosha
Sunday 3rd September 2006 18:06
Out of Body (Author Response)
some Muggle with a very lovely name
- Freud!

Brilliant. - Delightful story and very much in character.




I'm so glad you enjoyed this! (And glad you glad you appreciated my playing around with the good doctor's name so shamelessly!)
  Quote
Evelyn
Friday 1st September 2006 04:24


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Out of Body
I never knew Luna liked the Lord of the Rings...

Interesting perspective. I'd never have thought I'd ever read a story of those two meeting each other, but it was very well done. Really loony.

Oh, and I'm glad that Lily didn't look like Ginny.
Antosha
Sunday 3rd September 2006 18:10
Out of Body (Author Response)
I never knew Luna liked the Lord of the Rings...

Interesting perspective. I'd never have thought I'd ever read a story of those two meeting each other, but it was very well done. Really loony.

Oh, and I'm glad that Lily didn't look like Ginny.


Me too. I've actually thought about the Freudian!H/G thing a lot, and then I reread OotP and realized that the description of Lily is quite, quite un-Ginny-like. As someone married to a strawberry blonde with two auburn-haired children, I know all too well that sometimes red≠red.

I can't think of another story with Luna and Lily... but they do work well together, don't you think?

(And I had this idea that Mr. Lovegood would have brought back a whole bunch of Muggle fantasy novels as research for an article on the Muggle infiltration of the Wizarding World. At least, that was my justification. )
  Quote
Showing 1 to 17 of 17
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004