Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For And On the Eighth Day? by parakletos

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
kathrine_21
Monday 19th July 2010 09:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

1: Saturday
Zacharias Smith, a rather blunt-mannered wizard of northern extraction.
Hmm, that seems to imply that all Northeners are blunt, I'm not sure I appreciate that!
Enough of that, a great start to this story. I really like your writing style as you have a unique way of putting things that intrigue me. I look forward to reading the rest. Thank you for writing.
Sue x
parakletos
Monday 19th July 2010 11:35
1: Saturday (Author Response)
Hmm, that seems to imply that all Northeners are blunt, I'm not sure I appreciate that!

Actually, it doesn't but i can see why you would assume that I'm a southern softie, but my As are short as my Dad is from Lancashire. :p

Thank you for writing. Sue x

Pleasure!
  Quote
Patches
Wednesday 4th February 2009 01:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

1: Saturday
Oh this looks interesting. A Randy smart aleck Harry and a really nasty Ginny. I look forward to more of this story. I do feel a little sorry for Susan though. Thanks for writing. p
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 27th March 2008 11:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

1: Saturday
hahaha!!! This is an awesome fanfic so far and im loving how it is completely AU
and i love the ending :p "is take a shower" haha
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 25th October 2007 11:12


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

1: Saturday
lol im loving this!!! There is such a major twist in this story!!!

\"Because, Ron, the first thing you do, when you get back from your prefect duties, is take a shower.\"

i love this part... lol
and since harry said that he doesnt take a shower very often... hmm... lol
I think that ginny has a crush on harry
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Wednesday 20th September 2006 12:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

1: Saturday
That's an interesting end to the Horcrux hunt, a rapidly aging Voldemort :roflol;. Harry seems a bit out of character ... willing to use Susan to satisfy the urges of 'hormonal teenagers'. I don't really like that . Harry beat Ginny in an argument; this really is AU .
parakletos
Wednesday 20th September 2006 14:35
1: Saturday (Author Response)
OOC in an AU fic, I like that one
  Quote
sesshoumarusbitch
Wednesday 6th September 2006 22:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

1: Saturday
I like it! Its very different...I like mean Ginny ...I've never read anything like this before. Please continue soon!!!
parakletos
Thursday 7th September 2006 00:14
1: Saturday (Author Response)
I've no come across anything like this before either. I tried to find other Slytherin!Ginny fics whilst I was writting it and couldn't find any that didn't involve either Harry or Ginny with Draco *shudders*

The fic is finished so the next chapter should be up this weekend.

Thanks for reviewing
  Quote
m4rk6
Wednesday 6th September 2006 10:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

1: Saturday
Looks interesting.
  Quote
Jacynthe
Tuesday 5th September 2006 19:10


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 143

1: Saturday
OK, I'll sign on for the voyage. Looks to be a fun trip. Hooray for Slyth!Ginny -- I'm convinced that this should have been her proper sorting if only the hat (that slacker) hadn't seen 'Weasley' and gone on auto-pilot. Summers at the Burrow must be a laugh a minute ...

Let me add my vote, however, to those hoping that Miss Bones (so often cast as the Wrong Girl in these stories, have you noticed?) doesn't end up up under a bus, figuratively speaking. Inappropriate girlfriends deserve an even break!
parakletos
Wednesday 6th September 2006 09:04
1: Saturday (Author Response)
Glad to see you've signed up; hopefully you'll enjoy the ride. I'm impressed that everyone is concerned for Susan. I'm a nice guy and Susan is a good kid. Nuf said.
  Quote
timbers
Tuesday 5th September 2006 15:18


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

1: Saturday
Really nicely done, R.

I have to say, I'm eager to see how things develop between Harry and Ginny, whom I'm curious to know more about- especially how she was sorted into Slytherin, her apparent disregard for her family, and how she became Queen Bitch of Slytherin.

Its AU but doesn't seem that way. Its your signature writing style and I'm really enjoying all the changes you've made. Something different than the typical H/G fic. Looking forward to reading the rest but great beginning
parakletos
Wednesday 6th September 2006 08:54
1: Saturday (Author Response)
There is a lot of back story in the fic, but its only 8 chapters so some things are not explained.

I'm interested in what you mean when you say Its your signature writing style as no one has ever said that before
  Quote

Tuesday 5th September 2006 13:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

1: Saturday
This was an excellent start to a story I'll be sure to pay attention to. There really wasn't anything not to like. Malfoy was shown up pretty convincingly -- always fun. Harry looks to have put most of the war behind him and gets to enjoy life as a teenager. It's rare to find Harry written as an actual enjoyable character. Usually the angst from everything he's been through weighs him down. Just sitting around, insulting both Malfoy and Ron, in a lighthearted was great. It's refreshing to read this incarnation of Harry, even if he was a bit of a dick to Ginny.

Speaking of Ginny, as somehow who is finding it harder and harder to stomach the increasingly common fan fic interpretation of Ginny, this one is quite interesting. You've made her a bitch and a Slytherin, but haven't taken things too far with her character (That we've seen so far. I'm curious what she's been up to these past few years). I'm interested in seeing how you get her and Harry together.

The only thing I'm a bit apprehensive about is the situation with Susan. She seems like a decent person and Harry seems to have had a good time with her these past few months (years?). I just hope things end with her in a realistic manner and she isn't simply thrown under the bus for the inevitable H/G.

Anyway, great first chapter. I'm already looking forward to the next.
parakletos
Tuesday 5th September 2006 14:07
1: Saturday (Author Response)
What a great review! Thank you. Now on to the specifics.

It's refreshing to read this incarnation of Harry, even if he was a bit of a dick to Ginny.

Well I think she deserved it, but its good to write a relaxed Harry being a teenaged boy and having fun. Besides he has enough to worry about in 12 Months.

You've made her a bitch and a Slytherin, but haven't taken things too far with her character

Someone else said the same thing, I've tried to only take her

a bit beyond what we know.

(That we've seen so far. I'm curious what she's been up to these past few years). I'm interested in seeing how you get her and Harry together.

That all comes out in the fic, although as its only 8 chapters long there's not a huge amount that can be put in. But the whole fic is about what she has been doing and HArry's reaction when he begins to find it all out.

The only thing I'm a bit apprehensive about is the situation with Susan. She seems like a decent person and Harry seems to have had a good time with her these past few months (years?). I just hope things end with her in a realistic manner and she isn't simply thrown under the bus for the inevitable H/G.

Don't worry about Susan

Thanks again for the review.
  Quote
girl from ipanema
Tuesday 5th September 2006 13:04


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

1: Saturday
you know, the premisse is utterly mad, but it is a FUN mad. AU away! I look forward to more
parakletos
Tuesday 5th September 2006 14:00
1: Saturday (Author Response)
I like the sound of that 'Fun Mad' I'll have to remember that one !

  Quote
Lib811
Tuesday 5th September 2006 11:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

1: Saturday
Very interesting premise on which to start. I look forward to reading more.
parakletos
Tuesday 5th September 2006 12:52
1: Saturday (Author Response)
Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Tuesday 5th September 2006 10:30


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

1: Saturday
Okay. This is alittle on the wierd side, but very good. And I can't wait for more.
parakletos
Tuesday 5th September 2006 12:52
1: Saturday (Author Response)
Only a little on the weird side? It won't be long until the next chapter appears
  Quote
Sssith
Tuesday 5th September 2006 08:18


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

1: Saturday
HA! Fast and lose indeed!

Good stuff here. I think I will enjoy following the progress of this story. Looking forward to Harry telling Susan to take a hike. One chapter in and I already can't wait for Susan to be given the old heave-ho.
parakletos
Tuesday 5th September 2006 09:09
1: Saturday (Author Response)
Poor Susan, what has she ever done to you?

Thanks for the review
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Tuesday 5th September 2006 08:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

1: Saturday
Quite an interesting universe you have developed. I will look for further chapters.
I let out a whoop at "Harry winked at Ron before replying. "Yes, dear." "
parakletos
Tuesday 5th September 2006 09:08
1: Saturday (Author Response)
I let out a whoop at "Harry winked at Ron before replying. "Yes, dear." "

Its not that AU

Thanks for the review.
  Quote
swngnblues
Tuesday 5th September 2006 06:33


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

1: Saturday
Normally - I'm not one for huge departures from canon (specifically pre-OoTP departures), but I'm intrigued so far. Hope you're able to tell us about Ginny getting sorted into Slytherin.

I loved the "troublemaking" side of Harry - just getting under Ginny's skin. : ) Is that the type of Harry we'll see throughout the rest of the story?
parakletos
Tuesday 5th September 2006 07:07
1: Saturday (Author Response)
Hope you're able to tell us about Ginny getting sorted into Slytherin.

Why she was sorted into Slytherin does get mentioned, but there's more about what she's got up to since then.

I loved the "troublemaking" side of Harry - just getting under Ginny's skin. : ) Is that the type of Harry we'll see throughout the rest of the story?

My favourite line in this chapter is the one that earned Harry a slap on the face from Ginny. Harry gets into plenty of trouble in the seven days this fic covers and breaks a good many rules.

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
martita
Tuesday 5th September 2006 04:57


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 56

1: Saturday
Wonderful writing as always, R. I'll wait for further development before I decide wether I like the way you've portrayed them.
Humour's good, Malfoy's a git, Ron and Hermione are right - it seems alright...
parakletos
Tuesday 5th September 2006 05:04
1: Saturday (Author Response)
I'll wait for further development before I decide wether I like the way you've portrayed them.

That doesn't sound good

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
amulder
Tuesday 5th September 2006 03:58


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

1: Saturday
You\'re off to a good start. Actually, So far I\'m not catching all that much A/U stuff. I see Ginny in Slytherin, Black as Slytherin head of house, and Blaise as a blonde female. Otherwise? Well, and the fact that Harry is a bit more outgoing/outspoken/blunt than I recall from canon. But then, we both know what 17 year old boys are like.

I\'m wondering how many other surprises you have tucked up your sleeve still ahead.

Oh, and I should say... the thought that Riddle would shrivel up and die (slowly) after the horcruxes are dealt with is a very original idea. I\'ve never seen that anywhere else. And it would REALLY fit in with canon, the way JKR spent all of HBP teaching Harry about horcruxes and not at all teaching him defensive magic.

best,
...art
parakletos
Tuesday 5th September 2006 05:03
1: Saturday (Author Response)
Its funny how people view AU. For some having Amelia Bones as Susan's mum and have Blaise a girl is almost too far, for others its small beer.

The most messing around with canon comes with the Marauders; I thought my beta would disown me when I sent her one part.

I liked the idea of Tom fading away. You have to wonder what state a truly mortal LV will be in. And you're right, not much defensive magic and a lot about horcruxes.

Thanks for the review.
  Quote
juliet
Tuesday 5th September 2006 02:28


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

1: Saturday
This was brilliant - so witty. Look forward to reading more.
parakletos
Tuesday 5th September 2006 03:49
1: Saturday (Author Response)
Good to see you enjoyed it. The fic is completed so you shouldn't have to wait too long.

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
EEvans
Monday 4th September 2006 22:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

1: Saturday
I a weird twisted way I am interested. Good start, and I like the Slytherin Ginny. Intrigued to know why she's in Slytherin, and what else youve changed around. I did have to reread some parts to make sure I'd read them right.

Looking forward to more!

~EE
parakletos
Monday 4th September 2006 23:05
1: Saturday (Author Response)
I did have to reread some parts to make sure I'd read them right.

You're not the first person to say that.

Intrigued to know why she's in Slytherin, and what else youve changed around.

I can't promise to answer all your questions as we go on, in fact you'll probably have more.

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004