Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For And On the Eighth Day? by parakletos

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 22 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
gymnastgal19
Thursday 27th March 2008 14:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

2: Sunday
huh interesting... so harry is starting to get feelings for the "bitch queen of slytherin" eh?
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 25th October 2007 11:40


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

2: Sunday
lol! im loving this story!
I wonder why ginny was sorted into slytherin....
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Wednesday 20th September 2006 12:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

2: Sunday
So Ginny did have a crush on Harry in this AU, and still, like canon, seems to fancy him . But if Pettigrew is alive (apparently in Filch's position) and Sirius too, how did Harry's parents die?
Nice repartee -- seems more in character with Ginny getting the last word .
parakletos
Wednesday 20th September 2006 14:37
2: Sunday (Author Response)
Don't ask too many questions, its not one of those fics where the author takes a point in canon and diverges. More a random stream being forced to go where ever I want it to.

Two thumbs up eh?
  Quote

Thursday 14th September 2006 22:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

2: Sunday
I actually read this chapter the day it came out. In doing so, I realized that there was quite a bit of AU that I didn't quite catch my first time through chapter one which necessitated a reread. I waited until it'd be fresh and right before the (hopefully) update on Friday. Feel free to ignore this as I'll be writing quite a bit. Simply put, I'll be reading the third chapter as soon as it comes out. I really love this story.

Anyway, I'm curious to see if you'll address how some of the AUness comes to pass. Namely: How did Sirius become head of Slytherin? Why didn't he raise Harry? How were Sirius and James such good friends if Sirius was sorted into Slythin? Where is Snape? What happened to Dumbledore? If Minerva can say, “I don’t know what possessed Albus to make you a prefect; it was the biggest mistake he ever made," does that mean that he wasn't betrayed by a worthless potions professor in whom he professed his deepest trust? How did Harry become the sort of person who could enjoy sitting around, listening to dirty jokes with Dean and Seamus -- not to mention messing around Susan -- if Sirius wasn't a large part of his life? Why doesn't Harry have the Mauraders' Map? Why does Ginny have an invisibility cloak? Why did it take so long for Harry to get his? Why did Harry attend a ball with Hermione? Why did his relationship with Cho end like it did? How did Harry lose his parents if Sirius and Peter are still around? How can Malfoy possibly reconcile chasing after a blood-traitor like Ginny? And most importantly, is "The Ratman" a better nickname than wormtail? Lots of questions, hopefully some answers will be forthcoming.

After my initial support of Susan, I've had to backtrack a little. I still hope that things work out for her, but if I had to guess I'd bet she's already checked out on her relationship with Harry. The whole unwilling to hug him after the Quidditch game. The, "Don't worry, Harry; we'll have plenty of time for that when we're married," which is of course what every teenage guy wants to hear. Not to mention Susan pushing Harry towards chasing after Ginny about the whole celebration stuff. That just seems unlikely, especially considering whatever it was that Ginny did to Susan that lasted 3 weeks (and how did Ginny remain a prefect after such an incident?). Here's hoping that Susan is as anxious to get away from Harry as he is from her. Better yet, here's hoping that it isn't Justin that she's interested in either. Regardless, I love to see Harry mess around with Justin's head a little bit. He's going after Harry's girl, and regardless of circumstances, that just isn't cool.

As for Ginny, I really want to hear what's going on with her. I love the fact that her bitterness seems to stem from Harry's innocent response to the butter dish incident. It seems clear that she's after Harry, but god knows if she's after revenge or not. I liked how she arranged that first meeting for everyone to be occupied in argument she started while she took the opportunity to talk with Harry. It seems as if she is a true Slytherin, regardless of what Minerva and Molly may wish, so I'll be taking everything that she does with a grain of salt. Did she really get flustered when she kissed Harry or is that what she wanted him to think? Is she really just a Slytherin Ice Queen waiting alone for Harry or has she been involved elsewhere? Can't wait to see where this goes.

BTW:

A quick google of gusset comes up with: "a piece of chain mail covering a place unprotected by armor plate." -- That's hot.

Contumelious -- Can't say that I've seen that in a fanfic before.

"I don’t know why he bothers, from what I’ve seen, they’re big enough, but take them out of a bra and they’ll shine your shoes for you.” -- I love Ginny.

I really, really like this story. Can't wait for the rest.
parakletos
Thursday 14th September 2006 23:44
2: Sunday (Author Response)
WOW, where do I start?

Anyway, I'm curious to see if you'll address how some of the AUness comes to pass. Namely: How did Sirius become head of Slytherin? Why didn't he raise Harry? How were Sirius and James such good friends if Sirius was sorted into Slythin? Where is Snape? What happened to Dumbledore? If Minerva can say, “I don’t know what possessed Albus to make you a prefect; it was the biggest mistake he ever made," does that mean that he wasn't betrayed by a worthless potions professor in whom he professed his deepest trust? How did Harry become the sort of person who could enjoy sitting around, listening to dirty jokes with Dean and Seamus -- not to mention messing around Susan -- if Sirius wasn't a large part of his life? Why doesn't Harry have the Mauraders' Map? Why does Ginny have an invisibility cloak? Why did it take so long for Harry to get his? Why did Harry attend a ball with Hermione? Why did his relationship with Cho end like it did? How did Harry lose his parents if Sirius and Peter are still around? How can Malfoy possibly reconcile chasing after a blood-traitor like Ginny? And most importantly, is "The Ratman" a better nickname than wormtail? Lots of questions, hopefully some answers will be forthcoming.

Given that this is only 8 chapters long you are not going to get answers to most of these. I've pointed this out to a few others that this is not a universe where things diverge form one particular point, they just diverge to suit the needs of the story.

Malfoy can chase Ginny beause she's pureblood, a Slytherin, and good looking Ratman is the name given to Peter by the students and has nothing to do with Wormtail.

After my initial support of Susan, I've had to backtrack a little. I still hope that things work out for her, but if I had to guess I'd bet she's already checked out on her relationship with Harry. The whole unwilling to hug him after the Quidditch game. The, "Don't worry, Harry; we'll have plenty of time for that when we're married," which is of course what every teenage guy wants to hear. Not to mention Susan pushing Harry towards chasing after Ginny about the whole celebration stuff. That just seems unlikely, especially considering whatever it was that Ginny did to Susan that lasted 3 weeks (and how did Ginny remain a prefect after such an incident?). Here's hoping that Susan is as anxious to get away from Harry as he is from her. Better yet, here's hoping that it isn't Justin that she's interested in either. Regardless, I love to see Harry mess around with Justin's head a little bit. He's going after Harry's girl, and regardless of circumstances, that just isn't cool.

Well, you'll find out more about H/S later on today but let's say Harry has other things that he wants to focus on. Perhaps you may want to comment again after the the next chapter.

As for Ginny, I really want to hear what's going on with her. I love the fact that her bitterness seems to stem from Harry's innocent response to the butter dish incident. It seems clear that she's after Harry, but god knows if she's after revenge or not. I liked how she arranged that first meeting for everyone to be occupied in argument she started while she took the opportunity to talk with Harry. It seems as if she is a true Slytherin, regardless of what Minerva and Molly may wish, so I'll be taking everything that she does with a grain of salt. Did she really get flustered when she kissed Harry or is that what she wanted him to think? Is she really just a Slytherin Ice Queen waiting alone for Harry or has she been involved elsewhere? Can't wait to see where this goes.

Ginny gives Harry the full story later on, but if Ginny has not had a boyfriend its because she's not found anyone worth her time.

A quick google of gusset comes up with: "a piece of chain mail covering a place unprotected by armor plate." -- That's hot.

Good job it also means the er important part of a woman's knickers.

Contumelious -- Can't say that I've seen that in a fanfic before.

But its a good word for McGonagall isn't it?

I really, really like this story. Can't wait for the rest.

More later today.
  Quote
AnnaMel
Wednesday 13th September 2006 12:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

2: Sunday
I normally don't like AU stories because writers sometimes change characters so much you can't even recognise them, but I definitely love how you managed to sort Ginny into Slytherin, make her a bitch and still, it's Ginny, not an original character. It's great to read a fic and have absolutely no idea what is going to happen. I'll be waiting for the next chapter!
parakletos
Wednesday 13th September 2006 14:09
2: Sunday (Author Response)
I definitely love how you managed to sort Ginny into Slytherin, make her a bitch and still, it's Ginny, not an original character.

One reviewer suggested that Ginny should have been in Slytherin any way

It's great to read a fic and have absolutely no idea what is going to happen. I'll be waiting for the next chapter!

The fic is finished so there's no problem of me getting lost o the way. Can you wait another six weeks until the end?

Thanks for reviewing
  Quote
Evelyn
Wednesday 13th September 2006 03:32


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

2: Sunday
Ah... I'm feeling a bit... speechless.

Which is not a bad thing. Not in the least.

I'm really fascinated with what you do with Harry and Ginny. I especially liked the bit about Harry laughing when Ginny put her elbow in the butter dish. Now that is an interesting "what if" question. I'm very much looking forward to how you handle it.

parakletos
Wednesday 13th September 2006 04:37
2: Sunday (Author Response)
Hi Welcome to the new fic. Now worries about it being pre-HBP here

I especially liked the bit about Harry laughing when Ginny put her elbow in the butter dish. Now that is an interesting "what if" question

The fic is not AU in the sense that there is a point from which I diverge from canon. But the effects of Harry's reaction and the general way he has treated Ginny over the years do come out later on. Another reviewer commented on the same 'butter dish' reaction and that is now the subject of a new fic

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
jellyjulie
Tuesday 12th September 2006 02:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

2: Sunday
Holy , this is awesome.

MORE!

Er... please?
parakletos
Tuesday 12th September 2006 09:50
2: Sunday (Author Response)
Next chapter should be up on Friday.
  Quote
juliet
Monday 11th September 2006 23:12


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

2: Sunday
I can tell you are enjoying writing this story, and I am certainly enjoying reading it.

“And work on your technique. A thumb up the gusset may be fine for a badger but we snakes prefer a bit more finesse.”

Go Ginny, don't hold back there!
parakletos
Monday 11th September 2006 23:29
2: Sunday (Author Response)
Yes, I had fun writing the story. It was finished before I started to post it so the fun now is in reading the reviews.

I think Ginny just likes to make people feel uncomfortable and having let her guard down and kissed him, she needs to reestablish that in their relationship.

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
mary-v
Monday 11th September 2006 19:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

2: Sunday
(Responding to your review response )
What I mean t by rough around the eges was not criticizing your writing or your beta's work.... both are absolutely wonderful! What I meant was just the general feel... as in language use (as in a lot of swearing)... not that much, but enough to give the fic a rough edge ... you get what I mean? Sort of like an attitude. And then when Harry and Ginny have more tender moments, the fic turns softer.... which is really good because it shows the control you have over your writing... it's really impressive; you guide the story and the readers all in one. Really, this is a great fic!!

Maria
parakletos
Monday 11th September 2006 23:19
2: Sunday (Author Response)
Responding to your review response See I can do it too

Thank you for responding

What I mean t by rough around the eges was not criticizing your writing or your beta's work.... both are absolutely wonderful!

I didn't think you were, you sound too nice for that , but I had to check.


! What I meant was just the general feel... as in language use (as in a lot of swearing)... not that much, but enough to give the fic a rough edge... you get what I mean? Sort of like an attitude. And then when Harry and Ginny have more tender moments, the fic turns softer...

I understand now, thanks for taking the trouble to explain. I can sleep at night now

R
  Quote
mary-v
Monday 11th September 2006 08:20


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

2: Sunday
Ohh I'm really intrigued by this fic!! It's really great!!! Wonderful chapter! A bit rough round the edges, but I'm guessing that,s your intention... cuz when & are in good terms, then the fic is sofvter somehow. I'm guessing it's the lack of swearing.

Maria
parakletos
Monday 11th September 2006 11:10
2: Sunday (Author Response)
And I'm really intrigued by your review

I'm wondering what you mean by 'rough around the edges'. Do you mean there are big gaps that the reader has to fill in? (because its AU and the back stroy isn'r given for example) Or heaven forfend, my beta has slipped up

Anyway you seem to like it. If you want more swearing ...
  Quote
Jacynthe
Sunday 10th September 2006 19:25


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 143

2: Sunday
Heh, go Ginny! (And I trust that she isn;t suddenly going to turn sappy on us round about Friday ...)

Meanwhile, I see you have neatly solved the Susan problem by pairing her with ... Hermione. They seem to have a great deal in common, and I'm sure they will be very happy together.
parakletos
Sunday 10th September 2006 23:17
2: Sunday (Author Response)
Heh, go Ginny! (And I trust that she isn;t suddenly going to turn sappy on us round about Friday ...)

I'm hurt that you would suggest such a thing You might see some veneer stripped away but once a Slytherin....

Meanwhile, I see you have neatly solved the Susan problem by pairing her with ... Hermione. They seem to have a great deal in common, and I'm sure they will be very happy together.

Ah, a new career as a femslash writer beckons, do I ask you to do the beta on it?

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
meb_au04
Sunday 10th September 2006 16:41


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

2: Sunday
I do love how easily Ginny can get under Harry's skin and the bit on the broom is one of my favourite parts of the story (must be the smutty writer in me *laughs*)

*applauds* yet another wonderful chapter

M
parakletos
Sunday 10th September 2006 23:12
2: Sunday (Author Response)
the bit on the broom is one of my favourite parts of the story (must be the smutty writer in me *laughs*)

Yes I think it must be

Thanks for reviewing M
  Quote
intromit
Sunday 10th September 2006 16:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

2: Sunday
I've already said it, but I like this story. The characters are completely AU, but still recognizable. A fantastic job.
parakletos
Sunday 10th September 2006 23:11
2: Sunday (Author Response)
Why, thank you kind sir!
  Quote
Kathryn
Sunday 10th September 2006 13:23


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

2: Sunday
I love all your work, and you already know how I feel about this story, but I thought I'd say it here, its my favourite.
parakletos
Sunday 10th September 2006 14:15
2: Sunday (Author Response)
You still don't get chapter 5
  Quote
z26
Sunday 10th September 2006 13:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

2: Sunday
This is a great read so far. Thanks for writing!
parakletos
Sunday 10th September 2006 14:14
2: Sunday (Author Response)
And thanks for reviewing !
  Quote
Matthias Delario
Sunday 10th September 2006 12:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

2: Sunday
Huh...interesting little tidbit, Harry laughing when she put her elbow in the butter dish. Oh, and very well done with him defending her in McGonagall's office.
parakletos
Sunday 10th September 2006 14:13
2: Sunday (Author Response)
Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
amulder
Sunday 10th September 2006 11:33


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

2: Sunday
This was brilliant: \\\"it made him wonder what would have happened if he’d managed not to join in with her brother’s laughter when she’d put her elbow in the butter dish all those years ago.\\\" Absolutely brilliant.

If it wasn\\\'t for professor Sirius and the presence of Pettigrew, I would wonder if that little comment was your turning point upon which this whole A/U hinged -- where it departed from Canon.

Oh, and kudos for making Draco pathetic. It is more fun making him pitiable, and arguably much easier, than making him a credible adversary.

And darn you, what\\\'s with using words like \\\"contumelious\\\". Are you trying to educate us? where the heck is dictionary.com now...

blessings,
...art
parakletos
Sunday 10th September 2006 14:11
2: Sunday (Author Response)
I have to confess that this AU comes from just mixing everything up raher that a what if X didn't happen. I'm not that clever. The fic was based on a drabble I did over a year ago where I wanted to see what would happen with H&G if Ginny was in SLytherin and not Harry's friend.

I think Draco in book 7 will have a key part to play but I don't like fandom!Draco either as a villain or a stud.

Contumelious is the least of your worries. I also use the 1828 edition of Websters. But yes contumelious is on Dictionary.com

Thanks for reviewing
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Sunday 10th September 2006 09:11


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

2: Sunday
Ah, the plot thickens and the possibilities expand. Ginny is indeed a "contumelious trouble maker", but has charm a plenty.

This is very good reading becaus of all the information you reveal almost as an aside. Pettigrew got Argus Filchs job?
parakletos
Sunday 10th September 2006 14:04
2: Sunday (Author Response)
This is very good reading becaus of all the information you reveal almost as an aside. Pettigrew got Argus Filchs job?

There is loads of info to convey and its difficult to let everyone know the back story without swamping the plot.

Argus Filch? Who he?

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
swngnblues
Sunday 10th September 2006 09:07


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

2: Sunday
LOL - I love the confidence that Ginny's got - if even a bit on the crude side. I really loved that Harry got himself out of the "celebration".

It may excite Malfoy to hear you talk like a fish wife, but I prefer someone a little more couth.
hehehe

and of course....
The next time you want to feel me up, ask?
and
And work on your technique. A thumb up the gusset may be fine for a badger but we snakes prefer a bit more finesse.
I can't wait to see what you've got in store for us next!
parakletos
Sunday 10th September 2006 14:01
2: Sunday (Author Response)
Ginnys' speech may be crude, but compared to my daughters schools its very tame. I'm glad you're enjoying it.
  Quote
timbers
Sunday 10th September 2006 08:50


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

2: Sunday
Ah, I'm enjoying this a lot. Perhaps, its because its one of the few instances where I have no idea where the story is going

But in any case, I really like how the change in H/G's relationship is progressing and I'm looking forward to next weekend
parakletos
Sunday 10th September 2006 13:57
2: Sunday (Author Response)
Its nice to be in the dark once in a while isn't it. :p

I'm sure you'll get to read intial drafts of other things.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 22 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004