Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Hearts Afire by Sherylyn

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Joan Glover
Wednesday 20th May 2009 16:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

Chapter 1
Sherylyn,

I am interested in applying to be a beta reader, but when I clicked on the link to apply, I received a request to set up a new mail account. I would rather not set up another account, so I thought I would contact you this way. My email addy is sheprich@mindspring.com. I am a relative newcommer to Phoenix Song, but I've truly enjoyed reading some of the work, especially yours, St. Margaret's, and myGinevra's. I was a teacher for fifteen years before I went to social work school, and do a fair bit of editing in my current job. I'm probably weak on Brit picking, but I'd like to give it a go. Thanks. Ann/Joan Glover
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Saturday 26th January 2008 09:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Chapter 1
i loved st. margarets the new zealand chronichles!!!!
nice idea to read it from harry's POV. Itll be interesting to see what he thought of ginny's accident and all the rumours
Sherylyn
Saturday 26th January 2008 11:36
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Hee... I'm sort of addicted to Harry's POV (in case you can't tell already!), so when I 1st read her 1st chapter, it just popped into my head. I've really enjoyed working on this, and hope to finish off a chapter sometime... but it likely won't be very soon, unfortunately! Too much "real life" going on these days! Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Patches
Wednesday 31st October 2007 00:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Chapter 1
Poor Harry stumbling over the words that he needed to say to the girl that really wanted to hear them. This was sweet and great. Thanks for writing. p
Sherylyn
Wednesday 31st October 2007 08:43
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad you liked it -- I've really had a lot of fun working through all this

And thanks for leaving such sweet reviews! I really appreciate it!
  Quote
bbnaz
Friday 2nd March 2007 09:04


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 108

Chapter 1
St M told me about this story, both in her A/N and in her review responses. I am so very much looking forward to reading Harry's pov that I came right over. This was a great start!
Sherylyn
Friday 2nd March 2007 13:24
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
St M is great to work with and she's awesome about sending people to see my little story, too. I'm glad you're enjoying it!

Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Friday 27th October 2006 14:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Chapter 1
I saw your advert for this in The New Zealand Chronicles , so I had to come read it .
Very nice counterpoint to her piece.
'But the ring is part of the bargain' - I love that line (even if it isn't yours ).
Sherylyn
Friday 27th October 2006 23:30
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
LOL what can I say about the "advert"? I didn't do it, I promise As for Ginny's line...well, in this case, most of the best lines were written before I started I'm glad you liked it anyway. Thanks so much for the review!
  Quote
KEDme
Thursday 21st September 2006 04:27


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 83

Chapter 1
I am quickly becoming addicted to St Margaret's fabulous story and this is just icing on the cake. Thanks for sharing and I look forward to more.
Sherylyn
Friday 22nd September 2006 15:42
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks! Mary's fic is really wonderful, and I'm enjoying playing with the "other side" of it, so to speak.

"More" should be coming within the next few days, depending on how much Real Life affects betas
  Quote
Teritcf
Wednesday 20th September 2006 11:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Chapter 1
I loved your first chapter. While reading St. Margaret's story I kept wondering what was going through Harry's head during some of the scenes and now you can supply the answers! Looking forward to more
Sherylyn
Wednesday 20th September 2006 20:37
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks so much! I kinda thought we were missing out on what Harry was thinking, too And St. Margaret's has been WAY too kind in letting me hi-jack her plot, etc., and letting me play. It's been great fun!
  Quote
Astrid
Monday 18th September 2006 16:37


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Chapter 1
Excellent! I love St. Margaret's work, and it's fun to see this now from Harry's POV. You've kept with her 'flavor,' so to speak, very well.
Sherylyn
Monday 18th September 2006 17:32
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thank you! I hope I'll be able to maintain that level of "flavor" as well!
  Quote
Sionwitch
Monday 18th September 2006 10:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

Chapter 1
Great first chapter both PoV, Im looking forward to read the rest
Sherylyn
Monday 18th September 2006 17:31
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks so much for reviewing! I hope you enjoy what's ahead!
  Quote
shannon
Sunday 17th September 2006 09:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

Chapter 1
This is really good! I think you've really captured Harry's voice. Your writing really reminds me of St. M's!

If you're thinking about doing more Harry POV stories, can I put in a request for Magic Within, Magic Without? I've always wanted to know what Harry thought about some of those scenes!
Sherylyn
Sunday 17th September 2006 22:55
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks for the sweet review! I had to laugh about your comment about my writing sounding like St.M's b/c this chapter obviously *needed* to sound a lot like hers (and there are a few lines that obviously *were* hers!), b/c I was just turning around the POV that she'd already written. But there will be a few things to come (if all goes as planned at this point) that will be different than what she covers, so I hope to not disappoint anyone in future chapters

And oooh... don't tempt me about doing Harry's POV on something else. Yes, now that you mention it, I'd love to know his thinking on that and some others, too! Like, what was he thinking when they were sent to one room...?! Ooh, bad bunny...! I'll stop now before I get going on something I can't finish! LOL!! Thanks again!
  Quote
Hoss
Saturday 16th September 2006 10:07


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

Chapter 1
Well done I'm looking forward to your next chapter. Thanks
Sherylyn
Sunday 17th September 2006 00:47
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thank you for reviewing!
  Quote
wvchemteach
Saturday 16th September 2006 06:48


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 168

Chapter 1
I think you've done a splendid job of capturing things from PoV. You could literally see the sweat on his forehead and feel the tremble in his voice as he contemplated her actually saying no.

I look forward to seeing this counter-point to PoV in what I think is one of the best post-HBP / fan fics to come out.
Sherylyn
Sunday 17th September 2006 00:54
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked Harry's POV and glad you're enjoying St.Margaret's creation -- I'm just playing with it all
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Friday 15th September 2006 20:02


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

Chapter 1
Wow! You really did a superb job taking the dialogue and intertwining it with Harry's thoughts and actions. Very well done. I'm so excited about this pair of stories. Even if you don't follow chapter for chapter it will still be great fun to read this when you do add more!

I love how nervous you made Harry. I think that would be just like him - humble and unsure of himself even in front of the person who loves him the most in the world. I could feel my heart beat faster when he finally realized she said yes. It was wonderful! In my own writing (still in my head) I had a vision of Harry doing a big dance and hugging everyone in sight when Ginny agrees to marry him... this is so much for him to take in. It's like the final piece of the puzzle coming into place. I loved the line where he wondered if he would ever get used to things being okay. Ginny sure has changed his world, and you've captured it brilliantly here! Geat job!
Sherylyn
Friday 15th September 2006 20:30
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Wow, what a sweet review! I'm glad you enjoyed it, and I really appreciate how you identified all the bits that you connected with. Thanks bunches for all your kind words!
  Quote
Uzamaki-girl
Friday 15th September 2006 14:45


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Chapter 1
I meant i liked "Heart's a fire" part two better than part one.^^
Sherylyn
Friday 15th September 2006 15:17
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Well, thank you. And thanks for reviewing, no matter what! LOL!!
  Quote
Uzamaki-girl
Friday 15th September 2006 13:52


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Chapter 1
Beautifully sweet. I actually liked this story better than "Heart's a fire", although they are both brilliant.^^
Sherylyn
Friday 15th September 2006 14:43
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Um... this one *is* "Hearts Afire" -- but St.Margaret's chapter has the same title, so it's a bit confusing. I swiped this title from her chapter, obviously (with her permission, of course!).

But regardless of which you meant... this one wouldn't exist without all her hard work in developing it all and her generosity in letting me share in her creation.

Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
pakismith
Friday 15th September 2006 12:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Chapter 1
Amazing idea to write Harry's and Ginny's POV.
As I said to St.Margaret's , Let's go to New Zealand!!!
Thanks,
Sherylyn
Friday 15th September 2006 13:08
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
LOL I'd LOVE to go to NZ!! I think St.Margaret's is going to take us *all* on an amazing journey there!!

Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 15th September 2006 05:27


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Chapter 1
I really enjoyed seeing this chapter from Harry's point of view. Poor Harry, always so insecure when it comes to the affairs of the heart! The Dursleys certainly did him a disservice when they denied him the love of a family! I love how nervous he is about asking Ginny to marry him and then move away. Ginny reminds me of me...she's so supportive and enthusiastic! [My husband was offered a new job in another state two-thousand miles from where we were living at the time which meant moving immediately after the wedding and I told him I'd follow him wherever life took us just like Ginny did here!] She's just what Harry needs to be successful at what he really wants to pursue as a life-long vocation. Life will be a little hard in their new country, but with the love of the other, I know their marriage will strengthen each day and their year away will fly by. I know they do for me.

I look forward to your next chapter.
Sherylyn
Friday 15th September 2006 12:50
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Oh, thanks Arnel! And yes, I think Ginny is just like how you described yourself. When my hubby and I got married, I pretty much said the same thing, only I had a couple of exceptions of places I *really* didn't want to go! LOL!!

Thanks so much, and I hope you enjoy the next part!
  Quote
St Margarets
Friday 15th September 2006 04:55


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

Chapter 1
You know, your title sounds so much better than mine! LOL. I would read Hearts Afire before I ever picked up the stodgy New Zealand Chronicles. Still love it!
Sherylyn
Friday 15th September 2006 12:49
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
LOLOL You're the one who came up with the title - I only nicked it Besides, you've done all the hard work on this!!
  Quote
Melindaleo
Friday 15th September 2006 04:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

Chapter 1
Hey! You didn't tell me you were doing this! It's wonderful to see the same events through both sets of eyes - I was thrilled by it. Nice job - ha - and now you have to deal with the confusion of Brit-picking, lol.
Sherylyn
Friday 15th September 2006 12:35
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
LOL It only came to me after I sent the 1st ch's back to Mary! I made some comment about "we need Harry's POV too" and then it just popped in my head. I think it took me about an hour to write this chapter. Of course, that's no indication of what the future ones may do! LOL!!

LOL And believe me, I holler for help on Brit-picking ALL the time! LOL!!

Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
amamama
Friday 15th September 2006 03:12


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Chapter 1
Oh, poor Harry. I wonder if he\\\'ll ever recover from the years of Dursley abuse and start to have some self confidense? Well written, and a perfect companion piece to Mary\\\'s story. What a treat to be able to track both Harry\\\'s and Ginny\\\'s POV through the stories. I realize you won\\\'t follow her chapters step-by-step, but still. I like the way you put in those small things that just don\\\'t fit in Mary\\\'s story, like 7 lines up from the bottom where Ginny not only answers tartly, but has eyes glinting with mirth. Wonderful, wonderful.

Thanks for sharing!
Berte
Sherylyn
Friday 15th September 2006 12:33
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! And yes, I think the Dursleys managed to do a lot of things even Harry's only sometimes aware of. I just hope I can do his POV justice from what Mary's got going!

Thanks again!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004