Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For In the Twinkling of an Eye by Ladybug

Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next

Friday 4th January 2008 01:08


In the Twinkling of an Eye
  Quote
DebbieO
Sunday 30th December 2007 22:13


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

In the Twinkling of an Eye
Lovely! It is much to small a word, but the best I can do. Thank you.
Ladybug
Monday 7th January 2008 18:43
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
'Lovely!' is just fine by me! Thanks for reviewing, I really do appreciate it.
  Quote
ohhhdear
Sunday 2nd December 2007 19:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 16

In the Twinkling of an Eye
This story and An Incontrovertible Truth are two of the most inspiring stories I've ever read in any genre. Thank you for being honest and bold enough to add the Scripture references; not many authors choose to mention our culture's Christian heritage.
Ladybug
Monday 3rd December 2007 19:55
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
Thank you so much, I'm delighted that my stories had such an effect on you. Because that heritage is such a part of my experience, I find it very easy to weave it into the wonderful HP world, which itself has many Christian allusions, both oblique and direct. And of course after JKR used similar references herself in Deathly Hallows I felt quite justified in my use of verses like that. I'm so pleased to find readers who appreciate it.
  Quote
majolie
Monday 26th November 2007 15:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

In the Twinkling of an Eye
That was very nice, very hopeful. And with what we know post-Deathly Hallows, it fits in surprisingly well. I loved how you managed to use at least two 50cent words: threnody and sesquicentenary. And I was proud that I knew them!
Ladybug
Monday 26th November 2007 19:36
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
I wouldn't normally use such 'big' words, but I wanted to stretch my writing boundaries with this story, so they seemed to be appropriate. Thanks for your kind words - I'm glad the hopeful feel came across.
  Quote
Anonymous
Monday 23rd April 2007 20:02


In the Twinkling of an Eye
Thanks very much for that fanfic. It makes me feel peaceful and was beautifully written. Truly in the spirit of death being but the next great adventure.
Interesting that there is no sense of the betrayal by Snape. But it does leave you with a much better feeling about Dumbledore's death. Maybe it was on purpose. He knew it was coming and accepted it.
Again, lovely job.
  Quote

Friday 13th April 2007 09:02


In the Twinkling of an Eye
love it
  Quote

Friday 13th April 2007 09:01


In the Twinkling of an Eye
+ hahahahaha + =cute valentine story
  Quote
Phirebrand
Friday 22nd December 2006 14:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

In the Twinkling of an Eye
fitting tribune to an excellent character, very nicely done. you have a gift for imagery with words! :applause:
Ladybug
Saturday 23rd December 2006 18:38
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
Thanks for your kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
Azaelia
Saturday 28th October 2006 21:06


In the Twinkling of an Eye
Absoultely beautiful, moving. I consider it high praise that you made me cry. I think you've captured Dumbledore perfectly.

Gorgeous work.

I am pretty much speechless.

~Azaelia

Ladybug
Monday 30th October 2006 06:08
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
Thank you for such a touching review. I'm so glad you liked Dumbledore in this story, it was quite experimental. Thanks for letting me know what you thought of it, it's very moving to hear responses like that.
  Quote
Sara
Tuesday 17th October 2006 10:51


In the Twinkling of an Eye
Wow this is great. Actually, it kind of helps me saying goodbye to DD - that was such a nice retrospective of his life, thank you very much.
Yours, Sara
Ladybug
Saturday 21st October 2006 22:36
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
Thank you, it's lovely to hear your reaction to it. I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
gypsy
Thursday 12th October 2006 08:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

In the Twinkling of an Eye
Shivers.

Wow, a great piece, Ladybug. Different from your usual fluffballs and silliness, but just as enthralling. And what, I wonder, is in the next great adventure for Albus?

Gypsy.
Ladybug
Saturday 21st October 2006 22:41
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
Thanks, Gypsy - feel free to explore that question for yourself - it goes way beyond anything my imagine can conjure!
And what do you mean, "fluffballs and silliness"??? I'm a SERIOUS writer, didn't you know!!!!
  Quote
Jner
Thursday 28th September 2006 10:32


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 59

In the Twinkling of an Eye
Well done. I really enjoyed reading your missing moment. I love Dumbledore. He's always been my favorite...second to Harry, of course. I'm interested in knowing the title/name of the anecdote you mentioned. I'd like to read it.
Again, well done.
Ladybug
Thursday 28th September 2006 20:15
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. I read the anecdote in the book Anam Cara: Spiritual Wisdom from the Celtic World by John O’Donohue. It’s only a few paragraphs within a long chapter but it paints a vivid picture and was a memorable little story. Glad you like my Dumbledore – he is full of wisdom and mystery himself. Reviews like yours are wonderful, so thanks again!
  Quote
SeedyBea
Thursday 28th September 2006 02:35


In the Twinkling of an Eye
that was amazing. i'm only just geting into phoenixsong (i'm a sugar quiller) but this is the best i've found yet. love the little bible quote at the end.
Ladybug
Sunday 1st October 2006 00:07
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
Thanks for taking the time to review, I really appreciate it. You're very kind - there are heaps of wonderful stories here, so take the time to explore - I'm sure you'll enjoy yourself.
  Quote
Evelyn
Saturday 23rd September 2006 11:43


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

In the Twinkling of an Eye
*gasp*

...

Beautiful. I love that peaceful tone of the whole story.
Ladybug
Saturday 23rd September 2006 21:18
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
Thanks so much, Evelyn. I wanted to really contrast against the chaos that everyone else felt at his death, so your review is reassuring. Thanks.
  Quote
Connor Landon
Friday 22nd September 2006 18:31


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 188

In the Twinkling of an Eye
Wow. This was incredible. Because so many Christians are under the impression that Harry Potter is teaching children to worship the Devil, I hardly ever come across a fanfiction that actually ties in God and Christianity with HP. And the only two I've ever discovered, I found within two days of each other. This was really good. Very strong, powerful message. I loved how you describled Dumbledore's last night on earth, as well as some random events that happened in his life, from his 'other-worldly' point of view. The bit about him looking down upon Harry is sweet, as well. Oh, and I'm quite glad that you had Dumbledore refer to Snape as 'a friend', implying that Snape is still loyal to Dumbledore and the Order, not Voldemort like the majority of the HP fandom seems to believe. Anyway, I really enjoyed your story. It was amazing. Thank you for posting this!
Ladybug
Friday 22nd September 2006 23:24
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
Thank you for reading and for your very kind review - I'm so glad you liked it.
Oh, and I'm quite glad that you had Dumbledore refer to Snape as 'a friend'

Very pleased you picked up on that, as it was such a passing reference, but I really believe that Dumbledore would give him the benefit of any doubt and show him mercy - in death as well as in life.
I just love the scope for exploring all sorts of themes in the HP world, so I'm glad you appreciated this particular view.
  Quote
MagnoliaMama
Friday 22nd September 2006 15:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

In the Twinkling of an Eye
Hee! My opening line got censored. It's supposed to say, "D--n you".
Ladybug
Friday 22nd September 2006 23:17
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
Well, d--n you, too!
  Quote
MagnoliaMama
Friday 22nd September 2006 15:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

In the Twinkling of an Eye
you. How can I NOT love this, when you've so perfectly encapsulated the essence of Dumbledore? How kindly he feels towards this dear friend, his body. How can I not love a writer who can use words like "threnody" and "sesquicentenary"? I am moved beyond sense.

(Would you consider sharing this with Checkmated?)
Ladybug
Friday 22nd September 2006 23:16
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
OHHH! I've had about a dozen competing reactions to your awesome review and I don't know which one will come out first! Eeeek - you're headhunting me! What a compliment that is, I am so honoured (I would love to - will email you about that). And then I have to tell you that your story, The Terrible Burden of Grace, was one of the first that showed me that HP fanfiction could be so much more - that is an amazing story, I get tears just remembering it. And then you picked out my very favourite words - I had already written this story when I came across "threnody" in a Morris West novel and just knew that I had to use it - it was perfect.

So, thank you, for moving me in so many different directions all I can do is
  Quote
amamama
Friday 22nd September 2006 07:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

In the Twinkling of an Eye
> sniff< Beautiful, though it is quite hasardous to sit here by the computer, weeping. Before I know it a child attaches itself and worriedly asks "Mummy? Why are you crying?" Well, how do you explain that you cry because something is so beautifully written about the reentering into the spirit realm, the remembering, the seeing and understanding? I guess you say just that.

Thanks!

Berte
Ladybug
Friday 22nd September 2006 23:06
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
Oh! Thank you. And sometimes children are much better at understanding these things and giving comfort than us grown-ups, aren't they? Thank you for your very touching words, I really appreciate it.
  Quote
Nundu
Friday 22nd September 2006 07:59


In the Twinkling of an Eye
Breathtaking. You have captured the essence of Dumbledore and his love for life and those around him, yet his peace of understanding and embrace of all experiences, including death.
Ladybug
Friday 22nd September 2006 23:01
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so glad all of that came across.
  Quote
Jai-kun
Friday 22nd September 2006 05:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 20

In the Twinkling of an Eye
You are amazing.
Ladybug
Friday 22nd September 2006 23:00
In the Twinkling of an Eye (Author Response)
And you are very kind. Thank you.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004