Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Yes, Minister by parakletos

Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
gymnastgal19
Friday 28th March 2008 18:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Yes, Minister
nice story!!!
This was kinda odd though... I thought that harry wouldve proposed to ginny at teh end of the evening...
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 25th October 2007 10:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Yes, Minister
lol I love this!!! especially ginny's shock that she recieved an award lol


I have noticed a theme with your stories lol. you always seem to have ginny and harry loving eachother but they never seem to get together until 30 years later or something lol
  Quote
BABIGIRL0324
Wednesday 5th September 2007 09:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

Yes, Minister
That was very enjoyable... it also left you with pondering the next 30 years
  Quote
pyromain
Sunday 3rd June 2007 08:19


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Yes, Minister
I really liked the story although I wished it would include them coming together. In my personal opinion the belong to each other.
  Quote
cckeimig
Tuesday 13th March 2007 10:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

Yes, Minister
Very nice!
  Quote
lacyrachil
Friday 1st December 2006 12:53


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 251

Yes, Minister
I do like the story but don't understand why they haven't been together all this time. If Harry knew it was Tonks around him all the time, why didn't he make a move to be with Ginny permanently? I don't think he would have done that...just being with her discreetly that way. I think the writing is good but don't really understand the intentions. Thanks for writing.
parakletos
Friday 1st December 2006 13:04
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
Hi

Thanks for reviewing. Why were they apart for so long? Just so I could bring them back together. I was writing 4 fics in the space of two weeks and had to think of four ways that they could be together. Other ones in that group are A Father's View, The Perfect Gift, Turn, Turn Turn.
  Quote
Evelyn
Sunday 15th October 2006 05:20


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Yes, Minister
Loved it, as always.
parakletos
Sunday 15th October 2006 05:52
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
Thanks
  Quote
jeanne
Wednesday 11th October 2006 07:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

Yes, Minister
This was great. It left us with more questions than answers. 30 years of unrequited love. WOW.loved it.
parakletos
Wednesday 11th October 2006 09:23
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
I think more thirty years of having only part of what you could have had. Thanks for another review
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Sunday 8th October 2006 19:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Yes, Minister
Ah, young love and not so young love. Forty-six and forty-seven is youthful enough to begin or complete something wonderful.
parakletos
Sunday 8th October 2006 23:10
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
especially if you're looking at a wizards lifespan?

Thanks for reviewing
  Quote
Jake
Friday 6th October 2006 14:14


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 323

Yes, Minister
Great story, I liked how it was from Ginny's POV, it was all really well done! Keep up the wonderful work!
parakletos
Sunday 8th October 2006 23:08
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
Thanks for the review
  Quote
gemz1313
Friday 6th October 2006 01:23


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 57

Yes, Minister
Well I read the story yesterday but didn't have time to review.
I decided to read the other reviews before posting mine ~ and I disagree with people who are going on about how Harry and Ginny must be married, and how they're not in character etc.
I think it's refreshing to read a fic like this. Life isn't perfect and once you get in a way of doing things, like rowing being the only way to lead to certain other activities, then it's hard to get out of it.
Harry and Ginny are both stubborn people and I think it's possible that in some universe for this to happen
As for Ginny being a scarlet woman??
How does that work. So she's sleeping with Harry when they're not married ~ or even in a proper relationship, but there is a relationship there. And she loves him, and even if she doesn't know for sure that Harry feels the same way it's pretty obvious that Ginny means something to Harry!

I love this story, I think it's perfectly in character and totaly fluffy ~ Life doesn't work out the way you think it will and this shows it perfectly.
That being said I hope the real Harry and Gin dont go down this path!

Brilliant 10/10

and Love that stand the test of time
parakletos
Friday 6th October 2006 02:38
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
Thanks for coming back to review and for reading the other reviews. Its a discussion we've having in my yahoo group - fandoms expectations with H&G fics. Its been suggested that fanon H/G wouldn't wait this long to get together and that is why they are OOC.

Also the suggestion that Ginny as a scarlet woman; well I know that at least one of those suggestions is tongue in cheek. I know that some people feel that sex outside marriage is not the right thing to do, but if we are writing about 'real' characters with their faults theymay be have differently. And you're right, its not a casual relationship, its on ewith deep feelings on either side.

And I second your hope that in the books they are togther -and whole- at the end of book seven.

Thanks again

R
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 5th October 2006 08:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Yes, Minister
I'm not nearly as old as Harry and Ginny, but at forty-three I know how lonely the years have been for the two of them; the anticipation of the next meeting is none the less poignant at this age than it is at sixteen or seventeen. Therefore, you have conveyed Ginny's state of mind extremely well and shown just how human she is; if Harry's absenses didn't affect her, I'd be wondering why. I'm glad the Anniversary Ball turned out well. Its unapproved awards at the end were a nice treat although I wish a proposal could have been part of the dancing afterwards. I really enjoyed this story and look forward to reading more of your work in the future.
parakletos
Thursday 5th October 2006 08:56
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
I think this deserves this

Thanks for the review, its made me feel
  Quote
critmo
Thursday 5th October 2006 07:15


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

Yes, Minister
To quote a slightly over-used sentence: About time, too!
parakletos
Thursday 5th October 2006 08:25
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Thursday 5th October 2006 05:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Yes, Minister
'Am I detecting a theme in these reviews?' -- I had to go back and read the other reviews to understand what you meant (but I was first ). No I wasn't suggesting that. My reference to 'scarlet woman' is, of course, an allusion to the use of that phrase in canon .
parakletos
Thursday 5th October 2006 08:25
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
Yes, I replied to your review after the others.

for being observant
  Quote
honourary_weasley
Thursday 5th October 2006 01:25


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

Yes, Minister
Oh! Nobody ever seems to do fics from this far on - it was wonderful!! Truly wonderful, and a little bittersweet. I actually got tears in my eyes at the thought of Gred'n'Forge dead, and Ginny with grey hair was such a sad image.

What a wonderful fic!
parakletos
Thursday 5th October 2006 01:36
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
Well you should try Rainbows and Butterflies if you want more older!H&G.

Thanks for reviewing
  Quote
swngnblues
Wednesday 4th October 2006 20:18


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Yes, Minister
Good stuff. Would love to see that "detailed" description of Ginny's office... perhaps some other time? Funny that the same insecurities play on her 30 years later... And you've got to love how they're almost a bit like Ron & Hermione.... rowing as a "means of foreplay".
parakletos
Thursday 5th October 2006 01:14
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
Ok, I get the hint

Funny that the same insecurities play on her 30 years later

You mean they might be a bit In Character ?
  Quote
framboesinha82
Wednesday 4th October 2006 18:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Yes, Minister
While I truly enjoyed the story, and commend you for doing something incredibly NOT cliche with Harry and Ginny, I'm a little confused about what their motives are for having a commitless relationship and not getting married. If they really loved eachother, wouldn't they be married by now? Or at least in a serious, commited relationship? That said, I did enjoy your characterization of Ginny as Minister, various of the ideas you inserted, such as Tonks portraying various different women as part of her job as Harry's security advisor, and the overall tone and flow of the story. Thanks for posting it!
parakletos
Thursday 5th October 2006 00:36
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
When I posted this I didn't hink that so many people would focus on what hasn't happen rather than what was going on I the story.

It is a challenge to to write 'traditional' H&G in particular when they are older and aren't togther. But increasingly that's what I'm doing especially when I'm doing a oneshot.

Thanks for you comments, they are appreciated and I hope you'll like the next three things that I'm going to post.
  Quote
meb_au04
Wednesday 4th October 2006 17:46


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

Yes, Minister


Still a great read (even with the modifications *winks*). I do love that even over time Ginny and Harry’s love has survived, they may not have had a traditional relationship but they aren’t a traditional couple.

*applauds*

M
parakletos
Wednesday 4th October 2006 17:49
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
Have you been reading the other reviews?

The POV's are more consentient in this version.
  Quote
juliet
Wednesday 4th October 2006 16:55


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

Yes, Minister
I liked the typical "Yes, Minister" banter between Ginny and Verena.
Verena, you spend most of the time were together giving me answers to questions I havent even thought to ask. Why should this be any different?


I get the feeling that their discussions and behaviour at the end of the fic meant that they would be spending alot more time together, especially publicly.

Thanks for posting this fic - you do realise it is almost Christmas again - you have been hanging onto it for some time.
parakletos
Wednesday 4th October 2006 17:42
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
Thanks for posting this fic - you do realise it is almost Christmas again - you have been hanging onto it for some time.

I had a few issues with the site earlier in the year regarding some edits that had to be made on a chapter of 12Months to enable it to keep its Teens rating. There is a chunk of this fic missing - part of the scene in Ginny's office- which couldn't remain if it were to be posted on this site. With the previous disagreements I'd not bothered to go through that process again and I'd forgotten that the fic hadn't been posted until last week.

I have more unposted stuff but I'm not sure it'll make it here.
  Quote
marshmallow
Wednesday 4th October 2006 16:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

Yes, Minister
Ouch! I enjoy reading different ideas of what could happen to Harry and Ginny. Parakletos, I have always liked your stories. I hope Elsilann enjoyed your gift. I hope she gifts us with more of her "matter" series.
parakletos
Wednesday 4th October 2006 17:37
Yes, Minister (Author Response)
Yes she did enjoy it:

As always, you've crafted a charming tale, rich in emotion and atmosphere. The desire and passion shown by Ginny and Harry was just perfect without going over the top.

The original had a slightly more .. er.. detailed description of the scene in Ginny's office.

I hope she gifts us with more of her "matter" series.

I've read a few paragraphs of a new chapter, but sadly nothing more.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004