Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Shuttered Night by Starbuck_23

Showing 1 to 14 of 14
gymnastgal19
Sunday 11th May 2008 19:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Shuttered Night
nice story
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 11th January 2008 18:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Shuttered Night
interesting story. you tend to read ones though with harry being the last one of them to die and that...
  Quote
pyromain
Saturday 23rd June 2007 13:20


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

The Shuttered Night
a trully lovely tear jurking story. I really love to rad that harry and ginny and also ron and hermione had a long and good live after there painfull years in school. thanks for this lovely story.
  Quote
lacyrachil
Sunday 26th November 2006 19:41


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 251

The Shuttered Night
That was beautiful. Amazing. Thank you for writing.
Starbuck_23
Friday 1st December 2006 19:17
The Shuttered Night (Author Response)
Thank you so much- it was my pleasure.
  Quote
Ladybug
Sunday 29th October 2006 19:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

The Shuttered Night
That is just so beautiful and peaceful and WHOLE. Lovely, lovely scene. Thank you!
Starbuck_23
Monday 30th October 2006 11:49
The Shuttered Night (Author Response)
Thanks! Given how much turmoil the trio and co. are in at the moment, it was nice to just imagine it all as over and long past.
  Quote
St Margarets
Wednesday 25th October 2006 16:17


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

The Shuttered Night
Aw, this is so sad, yet so beautiful. What a wonderful passing for Ron, to be guided by the one who loved him the best. I like how you wove in all the other events for the main characters as well. A perfect winter's tale.
Starbuck_23
Monday 30th October 2006 11:50
The Shuttered Night (Author Response)
Thank you. I had initially thought of doing this as a Harry/Ginny moment, but somehow Ron and Hermione seemed to work much better here.
  Quote
ninkenate
Tuesday 24th October 2006 17:08


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

The Shuttered Night
That was very sweet. Good job.
Starbuck_23
Monday 30th October 2006 11:51
The Shuttered Night (Author Response)
I'm very glad you liked it! I'm a complete sucker for angst myself.
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 20th October 2006 20:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

The Shuttered Night
Since this story started out so sadly I was all prepared for a good cry. Luckily Hermione saved the day and made Ron's passing something of an adventure. Nicely done.
Starbuck_23
Monday 30th October 2006 11:52
The Shuttered Night (Author Response)
I'm glad it wasn't too heart-breaking after all. Thanks for the review!
  Quote
Mira Miracle
Friday 20th October 2006 07:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

The Shuttered Night
I love how much emotion you put into this. Fandom tends to see Ron as the funny sidekick, but you show that there's much more to him than jokes.
The dying scene was very beautifully written: I like the impression of Hermione coming to fetch him and Ron being glad about coming with her.
The life you showed in small glimps is just the one I wish him to have: happy, full of love, many children and a big family. The last sentence just added to this; Ron truly is someone who loves with all his power.
Very good job!
Starbuck_23
Monday 30th October 2006 11:56
The Shuttered Night (Author Response)
Wow... thanks for the fantastic review. I think you're right in that Ron tends to be occassionally overlooked, though not intentionally of course, but he's really the one who started it all for Harry. It's kind of nice to think of Ron being kind of like the chronicler, if you will, of all the events in Harry's life and everyone else they love. I just love the idea of Hermione and everyone else waiting for him patiently. Thanks again!
  Quote
RdeHwyll
Tuesday 17th October 2006 14:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 36

The Shuttered Night
Very good tale well told... I was touched by the quality of emotion you put into it. Good luck in the competition.
Starbuck_23
Monday 30th October 2006 11:57
The Shuttered Night (Author Response)
I'm very glad the depth of emotion came through- that was completely what I was going for. Thanks for the review!
  Quote
honourary_weasley
Tuesday 17th October 2006 03:04


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

The Shuttered Night
*has tears running down her face*

That was ... beautiful. And so sad. And beautifully, tragically, perfect.
Starbuck_23
Monday 30th October 2006 11:58
The Shuttered Night (Author Response)
Thank you so much, this really kind of sums up what I was going for. And I'll take the fact that it made you cry as the ultimate compliment!
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Monday 16th October 2006 19:39


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

The Shuttered Night
Very sweet and moving.
Starbuck_23
Monday 30th October 2006 11:59
The Shuttered Night (Author Response)
Thank you! I love to think that my pieces have touched people in at least some way, and angst is my absolute favourite.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Monday 16th October 2006 14:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

The Shuttered Night
Very bittersweet. I do like how you have events transform the day -- from the horror of the last battle to anniversaries and birthdays.
Starbuck_23
Monday 30th October 2006 12:03
The Shuttered Night (Author Response)
Thanks. I had some initial difficulty coming up with the actual date, but I think a winter anniversary is so much more atmospheric somehow. And of course, it had to be associated with happy times too. Thanks again!
  Quote
CrumpleHornedKiwi
Monday 16th October 2006 13:52


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 224

The Shuttered Night
It's nice to imagine Ron as a creaky old man with a long beard, but also weird to think of our appilyfavourite characters as lived long wizard lives and then passing on happily, and content. Thanks for a quiet and reflective interlude.
Starbuck_23
Monday 30th October 2006 12:04
The Shuttered Night (Author Response)
Thank you! I tried really hard to get the right amount of introspection, and I'm really glad that came through.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004