Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For In the Name of the Father by Ladybug

Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Astrid
Monday 18th August 2008 18:22


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

In the Name of the Father
Just breathtaking, again.
Ladybug
Monday 25th August 2008 04:45
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
And to hear from you again is just as rewarding as before, if not more so - thank you for being so generous in reviewing.
  Quote
DebbieO
Saturday 29th December 2007 20:57


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

In the Name of the Father
That left me breathless. Beautiful job.
Ladybug
Monday 7th January 2008 18:52
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Thank you so much, you don't know how much comments like this mean. I'm glad you enjoyed it so much.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Sunday 21st October 2007 15:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

In the Name of the Father
i love this!! it's so cute!!!!!
  Quote
Astrid
Sunday 18th March 2007 12:42


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

In the Name of the Father
So I was skimming through my reviews, trying to find this story I read a few years ago, and then I saw my first review for this, and decided to reread it.

It was just as touching and meaningful the second time around. You seamlessly move from POV to POV.
Ladybug
Monday 19th March 2007 01:34
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Thanks so much, not only for re-reading, but for letting me know - it's such a thrill to get feedback and doubly so when a reviewer is kind enough to review twice. Thank you for your kind words, I'm so pleased you enjoyed it again.
  Quote
Evelyn
Sunday 7th January 2007 04:24


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

In the Name of the Father
Oh, sweetness! I believe I have a tiny, happy-and-sad tear in my eye too, now. Great job!
Ladybug
Sunday 7th January 2007 18:45
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
That's so kind, thank you!
  Quote
Erin
Tuesday 26th December 2006 11:37


In the Name of the Father
Wow - this is a really good fic. Very melancholy and optimistic at the same time, which is really nice to see. I also think that the underlying reasons for James mistrusting Remus and Peter betraying the couple are very well thought out - a baby can command much attention, and we know how honourable Remus can be; he would almost certinately (in my opinion) distanced himself from baby Harry, untainted and pure.
E
Ladybug
Tuesday 26th December 2006 15:51
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Yes, that's exactly what I was trying to say - I'm so glad you highlighted that. Thanks for your perceptive and encouraging review, much appreciated!
  Quote
lacyrachil
Thursday 30th November 2006 11:10


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 251

In the Name of the Father
I think your words were chosen perfectly. Really good...sad still, because we know the fates...but great none the less.
Ladybug
Friday 1st December 2006 05:38
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Oh, thank you - yes, you understand perfectly. Thank you for your lovely review.
  Quote
swngnblues
Saturday 28th October 2006 19:34


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

In the Name of the Father
Interesting... I like the different POV & reflections surrounding Harry's birth/christening. Think you got Lupin's mindset at that time pretty dead on. And then coming forward to present day, between Lupin & Sirius... interesting OotP missing moment.
Ladybug
Tuesday 31st October 2006 17:29
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Thank you, especially for the Lupin comments - I think it's so tragic how he was suspected of the Potters' betrayal, and I wanted to give a hint as to how those suspicions might have arisen. I'm glad the OotP scene worked - I've never done a 'flash-forward' before. I'm sure Sirius was frustrated that Harry never used those two-way mirrors. Another tragic irony from JKR - she's so nice, isn't she?
  Quote
St Margarets
Wednesday 25th October 2006 16:35


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

In the Name of the Father
Oh, that was an interesting story about Harry's name. I like the short scenes and how they were told from different POVs. They built up to a nice crescendo when Harry's full name was pronounced. I always found the renouncing of evil to be such powerful lines in the baptismal ceremony - and very interesting in light of the HP universe.
Ladybug
Tuesday 31st October 2006 17:13
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Thank you, St Margarets, for your lovely review. Given that we already know Harry's full name, there wasn't going to be any surprise for the reader, but I'm so pelased that you felt the build-up to that moment. I wanted to add a little something - not just that Harry is named after his father, but that Sirius named him after James.

I always found the renouncing of evil to be such powerful lines in the baptismal ceremony - and very interesting in light of the HP universe.


Oh yes, as I started to think of the two together, the words became very pertinent, especially when thinking of Lily's sacrifice for her son - how he was 'rescued from death' - I could go on and on!

Thanks again for your lovely comments.
  Quote
ninkenate
Tuesday 24th October 2006 14:58


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

In the Name of the Father
That was so sweet and sad at the same time. Good job!
Ladybug
Tuesday 31st October 2006 17:03
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Thank you so much, I'm glad that balance came across.
  Quote
hwimsey
Monday 23rd October 2006 10:22


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

In the Name of the Father
Stunning, beautiful work - thank you so much for sharing this. You weave the emotions wonderfully into the story. The use of "renouncing evil" was brilliant.

Just fantastic - I loved it. Bravo!
Ladybug
Tuesday 31st October 2006 16:49
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Thank you for your generous and encouraging review, I appreciate it so much. Yes, the 'renouncing of evil' can exact a high price, can't it? But to succumb costs even more, as Womrtail has no doubt discovered. (I make it sound like they're real people - well, they are! Aren't they? )
  Quote
KJPotter
Monday 23rd October 2006 09:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

In the Name of the Father
Chills! Oh this was excellent! So poignant, pointed, wonderful. I still have chills running down my spine five whole minutes after reading. Normally, chills go away after seconds. Just wonderful. Congrats!
Ladybug
Tuesday 31st October 2006 16:40
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Thanks for your awesome review! You obviously 'got' everything I was trying to put across, the jealousies and insecurities, the hopes that came to naught, the suspicions and regrets - thank you so much for letting me know how it affected you.
  Quote
gypsy
Monday 23rd October 2006 05:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

In the Name of the Father
Oh, that was sooooooooo sweet! I loved the changes of POV and we saw what everyone was thinking. Interesting choice of annivesary, too - a Christening rather than a birthday. I loved your portrayal of the Marauders.
Great fic!
Ladybug
Tuesday 31st October 2006 16:32
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Thanks, T! I know it was a little too sweet for your tastes. Glad you like the Marauders - I like to give Wormtail plenty of opportunities to show his jealousies and weaknesses - I'm mean that way.
  Quote
EmeraldPrincess
Wednesday 18th October 2006 17:46


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

In the Name of the Father
:] Baby Harry Story! It was.. wow.

You did a great job! Love the decriptions and thought process.

Ladybug
Tuesday 31st October 2006 16:28
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Thank you so much! I love the thought of baby Harry being surrounded by so many who love him, but when we know it's not a happy ending (for baby Harry), it makes it all the more precious.
  Quote
Astrid
Wednesday 18th October 2006 11:04


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

In the Name of the Father
Wow, this is...

Words fail me. Good job.
Ladybug
Tuesday 31st October 2006 16:21
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Short, but very very sweet! I'm touched by your review - this is the sort of reaction that makes the writing of it so worthwhile. Thanks.
  Quote
rebel
Wednesday 18th October 2006 07:14


In the Name of the Father
I really liked it. it touched my heart.
Ladybug
Tuesday 31st October 2006 16:19
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
I'm so glad, thank you for letting me know.
  Quote
RdeHwyll
Tuesday 17th October 2006 12:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 36

In the Name of the Father
Beautiful! I believe you've captured each and every one of the characters perfectly. Good luck in the competition.
Ladybug
Monday 30th October 2006 21:10
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
That's a great compliment, thank you, I'm very pleased to have achieved that. Thanks for reading and taking the time to review.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Monday 16th October 2006 20:11


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

In the Name of the Father
Very moving, although at first I admit thinking of the tee shirt with the bear and the flowerpot that has "HAIRY POTTER" written on it.

James and Sirius have such a close bond.
Ladybug
Monday 30th October 2006 20:21
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
OK, it’s official – I do not get out enough! I have never heard of a teddy bear, with a flowerpot, called Hairy Potter on a t-shirt – but that is a very cute idea! Great minds must think alike, eh? Thank you for reviewing, you picked up one of the main themes I wanted to explore – the friendship between James and Sirius.
  Quote
Starbuck_23
Monday 16th October 2006 18:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

In the Name of the Father
This was so sad- but in a good way. Bittersweet, to think of everything that might have been, if things were different. Sigh. The connection between Sirius and James towards the end was just so intense, and Remus' remorse... Fantastic!
Ladybug
Monday 30th October 2006 20:15
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Thank you so much – that’s exactly what I was trying to convey, especially the bond between James and Sirius. The question occurred to me, ‘what if it were Sirius that named Harry after James?’ and I wanted to think about how their friendship was involved in that. You’re words are most encouraging, thank you.
  Quote
Lorelei Lynn
Monday 16th October 2006 17:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 36

In the Name of the Father
Very good! I especially liked the way you had all of the characters ponder the words of the baptismal liturgy and come to different conclusions. Lovely and touching.
Ladybug
Monday 30th October 2006 19:28
In the Name of the Father (Author Response)
Thank you! I think those words are very powerful (they’re not mine, by the way, they’re the genuine article) – I think they’re designed to draw a response from us. And I like exploring the Marauders in that era of suspicion and betrayal, imagining how they fell into the mess they did. Thanks again, I’m so pleased by your kind review.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004