Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Twenty White Roses by Mira Miracle

Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 30th October 2007 16:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Twenty White Roses
wow! I knew that this would be about neville and his parents!
  Quote
pyromain
Wednesday 30th May 2007 09:51


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Twenty White Roses
the word limit of this challenge is a real same I really like the story it's only a pity it couldn't be a bit longer. But yes it is a great story and Mr. Longbottom is one of my favorite characters.

thanks for the story
  Quote
Uzamaki-girl
Saturday 23rd December 2006 14:27


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Twenty White Roses
Aw....that was awesome. There aren't a lot of stories where Neville is the main character and I think you did him justice.
Mira Miracle
Thursday 28th December 2006 02:33
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Thank you very much for your nice review! I simply adore Neville and I saved writing about him for something special.
  Quote
lacyrachil
Thursday 30th November 2006 08:40


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 251

Twenty White Roses
That was beautiful. An amazing POV from Neville. It's as if he had to become the parent. Tragic and beautiful.
Mira Miracle
Friday 1st December 2006 04:31
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Thank you so much for your review! This is my favourite among my fics and I'm always glad when others enjoy it as well. Yes, on the inside, Neville's certainly older than a teenager. It's things like these that make you grow up early.
  Quote
Neli P
Sunday 5th November 2006 20:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Twenty White Roses
Wow, just Wow Somehow I felt that the white roses were for "Nev" and "Nev" only: years of innocence, of sadness, of yearning, and of hope...the journey of a boy growing up! Thanks for the contented smile (through the tears actually!), Mira! You did an AWESOME JOB!
Mira Miracle
Sunday 5th November 2006 23:19
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Thank you so much for your review! Yes, that's certainly another possibility to see the white roses; they mark the twenty years gone by as well for Neville as for his parents and show his development. And while I had first planned some kind of sad ending, it suddenly didn't fit Neville's personality anymore... he took the plot into his own hands like a true Gryffindor, and so you have to thank him for the smile.
  Quote
timbers
Monday 30th October 2006 02:41


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

Twenty White Roses
A beautiful piece. The emotions leapt off the page and you gave another perspective to the pain of a character who is so commonly overshawdoed by his superlative.

Twenty white roses is a very fitting symbol and this story moved me to tears, something which rarely happens. You described his feelings very feel and I love the style in which you wrote this.

A heart-warming piece and congrats on a well-written story!
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 09:12
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Oh, I didn't want to make you cry...
Thanks for the review and congratularions The style has been quite an experiment for me, as this piece is so emotional that - in my opinion - it needed some distance. And, actually, I've managed to never mention this name, something I wasn't quite sure PS would allow. I'm glad you enjoyed reading this!
  Quote
swngnblues
Saturday 28th October 2006 19:50


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Twenty White Roses
Poingant look at Neville's life. This is really a touching piece. We've seen bits and pieces of Neville's thoughts about his family thoughout the books, but I don't think we've ever really been given a huge opportunity to understand his pain. Great stuff!
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 09:08
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Thank you very much for your review! I've recently developed a love for writing about more minor characters - they just leave more room for explanations and thoughts. Neville's someone who isn't the protagonist of a fanfic very often, so I thought it was time to do him some justice I'm glad you enjoyed his tale!
  Quote
Ladybug
Friday 27th October 2006 03:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Twenty White Roses
This is a really touching story. What I particularly love are the little clues and background tidbits you planted that show us how Neville became the wizard we know in canon - you've got some lovely little explanations and hints about that. And how imaginative to have his parents improve so much then relapse - it contradicts our expectations but it's completely believable. A fitting tribute to a much-admired character. Thank you!
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 09:06
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Yes, his parents' development - it would have been simply boring to just have them ly on their beds all day
I've always thought about how Neville became the person he is, especially in the first books. Not everyone's as clever and as outgoing as Hermione, but he seemed a bit extreme.
Thank you very much for your nice review, it feels wonderful to get compliments from such a great author like you!
  Quote
St Margarets
Wednesday 25th October 2006 16:50


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

Twenty White Roses
This was so bittersweet. I love the way you go through the years chronicling Neville's relationship with his parents and his Gran. I love how he came to terms with his Gran and missed her when she was gone. And it's true that he's not an orphan and it's a lovely realization for him. Those twenty white roses are a tribute to their bond.
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 09:03
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Thank you very much for your review! Coming from such a talented writer like you, it means very, very much to me! I'm glad you liked how I set up the fic and how Neville developed during the twenty years. The realization that he's not all alone is, in my opinion, very important for him, especially after his gran left him.
  Quote
ninkenate
Tuesday 24th October 2006 15:59


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

Twenty White Roses
Only Neville could find the bright side in his situation. He learned a valuable lesson and it's good that he wants to pass it on to others like him. I'm glad Bella got hers in the end too.
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 09:01
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Well, in the beginning, he doesn't see that there's more than darkness to everything which has happened. Yes, he would have developed differently if his parents hadn't been attacked, but this isn't a reason to be cross at them.
Helping others cope shows how strong he is: Many would try to get their mind off their parents being mentally damaged, but with the work he does every day, he simply must think about it every minute.
Thanks a lot for your review and thoughts on this!
  Quote
KJPotter
Monday 23rd October 2006 09:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

Twenty White Roses
By far the best one-shot I've read in a LONG time. To me, Neville is such an interesting, underrated character. I love the dynamic you give him and the explanation you give for his clumsiness and forgetfulness at school. Excellent work. Have you written any other works? I'd love to read those, too!
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 08:58
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Oh, it really twitched in my fingers to reply after I got your review... but, fairness and everything, I've decided to wait and I hope it hasn't been too long for you. You find my other fics on PS via my author's page. I'd especially recommend "The Other World Cup", which is, looking back, one of my favourite fics.
I always felt it was cruel to say "Well, Neville's just dumb" - there are clever children and not so clever ones, but the way Neville behaved in the first books was something more to me.
Thank you very much for your review! You really made my day with this one!
  Quote
gypsy
Monday 23rd October 2006 05:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Twenty White Roses
Oh. This was *beautiful*. I loved it. Neville has a lot to give, and a lot of hidden talent. This story is sho heart-wrenching and bittersweet. Great fic. The white roses are lovely.
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 08:54
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Thank you very much for your review! It's so easy to overlook all of Neville's strength when reading the books, especially with Harry as the main character, so I thought the fandom needed a bit of a reminder I'm glad you enjoyed it and that I could move you.
  Quote
Evelyn
Sunday 22nd October 2006 15:17


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Twenty White Roses
I love how you sum up all those years and how you show Neville's development. My respect for that boy is even higher now...

Wonderful image with the white roses and a very moving story...
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 08:52
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Yes, most of us probably wouldn't be as strong as he is... Thank you for your early feed-back and prebetaing this for me! Now you know how much you helped ... 2nd place!
  Quote
schalet
Sunday 22nd October 2006 07:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Twenty White Roses
Heartbreaking but written magnificently. The emotions leap off the page and I love the theme of this piece. Its very fitting for a character like Neville and I love how you incorporated the white roses into the fic. Great job!
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 08:50
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Heartbreaking but written magnificently.


Wow, you actually made me blush. And, trust me, that doesn't happen very often to a law student (unless you count the times the profs tell me what I do wrong, which is... more often than I'd like to, but I'm getting off topic). It's been quite a challenge for me to write something that emotional, especially having the "loss" of your loved ones as a main theme, and I'm glad that I've obviously managed it
Thank you very much for your nice review!
  Quote
wokka42
Saturday 21st October 2006 23:04


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 63

Twenty White Roses
Oh, this is so sad, but it's so nicely done! I like the person you've chosen in Neville, and I really like how you use each anniversary to mark Neville's growth into a true Gryffindor. And it's the right kind of sadness - sad, but leavened by the memories of love and caring that make it both easier and harder to look back upon those who have left us on this earth. Good work!
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 08:47
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Yes, it was the concept to look back on each year and significant points in Neville's life. I'm glad you've obviously noticed his development; this was exactly what I wanted to get across. Thanks a lot for your review and your thoughts!
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 20th October 2006 20:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Twenty White Roses
Yippee! A Neville story! It just tore at my heartstrings that he had to take so long to discover that even though they couldn't say it, his parents really do love him. I'm really glad he has developed a relationship with them because no matter what, everyone needs the love of a parent. Beautiful story, well written.
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 08:45
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Well, be glad that I changed my intentions with the story mid-way... At first I wanted it to be depressing all the time, until a girl would come up and get him away. But something told me that this wouldn't be like Neville, and your review shows me that "something" was right. Thanks a lot for this review and your thoughts!
  Quote
paladin
Friday 20th October 2006 02:57


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Twenty White Roses
A very touching effort. Great job!

I Love white roses and have always used them symbolically to friends and loved ones. In this effort, there appears to be more to the color than just the meaning behind its use in the form of the roses.

Neville has always been the one to watch since POA. I don’t recall what about his character in that installment (and I don’t have the time to look it up at this moment) but I feel that he is a ‘Dark Horse’ if you will, that will play a significant part of the end of the HP series. You put light to a great person whose inner strength has continued to burn brighter with GoF, OotP and HBP; those qualities are exemplified in this piece.

You provided some insights into a background or life that many people cannot fathom living through and wouldn’t want to in the first place. What hell it would be to have your parents but not have them in the same place and time. Bringing up various associations with parts of canon was great and I think can help a reader touch those parts of the series and see how instrumental certain people can be in one’s life. A person viewed from afar, a mentor or just an acquaintance who recognizes things you do to be individualistic.

The vindication over Bellatrix was a great ‘nail-in-the-coffin’ to the Neville of the past and the closing passage with the hope and promise of the future.

Well done!
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 08:43
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Wow, thank you very much for this long and detailed review! I'm always a bit speechless when people manage to see that much in my fics and are actually right... It was important to me to have the spotlight on Neville for once; in most fics he's only a background character or part of a group, but never the only one, and he's deserved so much more attention!
He's my very favourite character and I wanted to reserve writing about him until I'd found something ... fitting, for a better word. And when I read about the challenge, he jumped immediately into my mind, asking for his story to be told.
I'm glad you picked up on his development so well; it shows me that I've managed to bring across what I wanted to.
Thanks again for your review and thoughts!
  Quote
harry_ginnyphile
Tuesday 17th October 2006 20:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 44

Twenty White Roses
An excellent piece of work ... so emotional and heartfelt ... heartwrenching as well. You truly get into Neville's head and show all that he has gone through so very well. Excellent job.
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 08:38
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Well, I'm very proud to get this from you, an excellent writer who has in only a month's time mounted from "first fic" to SotW! Thank you for betaing and doing everything even possible for you to support me through this challenge.
And, yes, when I've enough time I will give your fic a proper read... just don't want to rush through it...
  Quote
Hoss
Tuesday 17th October 2006 20:06


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

Twenty White Roses
Really well done. Top 3 most likely.
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 08:36
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Well, your predictions were right... Thanks for your review and praise!
  Quote
Astrid
Tuesday 17th October 2006 15:19


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Twenty White Roses
Wow. This is very powerful. Excellent job.
Mira Miracle
Monday 30th October 2006 08:32
Twenty White Roses (Author Response)
Thanks for your review and compliments!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004