Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Greater Love by parakletos

Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
LWJ2
Sunday 20th April 2014 19:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

A Greater Love
Very nice turnaround at the end. Thanks for the story.
  Quote

Monday 19th January 2009 00:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

A Greater Love
I didn't like how it started out, but a beautiful and plausible (slightly maybe) ending. Thank you.
  Quote

Monday 19th January 2009 00:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

A Greater Love
I didn't like how it started out, but a beautiful and plausible (slightly maybe) ending. Thank you.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 27th March 2008 09:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

A Greater Love
nice story!!!
Haha i love how harry cheated death and described death :p
  Quote
MagicLover
Wednesday 28th November 2007 14:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

A Greater Love
Love this story! Is there going to be a sequel??
parakletos
Thursday 29th November 2007 00:31
A Greater Love (Author Response)
Hi

glad you loved it, but there is no sequel.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Wednesday 24th October 2007 21:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

A Greater Love
so cute!!! very different then usually lol
Harry sorta cheating death lol. I like how you had death being female
  Quote
pyromain
Wednesday 12th September 2007 07:51


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

A Greater Love
Great story its a pity Tonks can't get the same gift as ginny.
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Saturday 30th December 2006 18:35


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

A Greater Love
Oh, wow. That was brilliant. Heart-breaking and then wonderfully happy!! If only Remus could have... But I guess that'd be too much to ask. I love the descriptions and characterizations of everyone; they seem so real. Great job with this one. I really like the ending, too!
  Quote
rdprice29
Thursday 9th November 2006 14:35


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 141

A Greater Love
How in the world did I miss this story from you? It's wonderful! Poor Ginny, I really felt her pain, her desperation and then her anger, guilt and ultimately hope and happiness when Harry came home to her. I love how you always find some way to inject a little humour into your stories ~ "Yeah, she. Good looking, too, if you like the Gothic look."

Snort. Poor Ginny. At least you gave Harry the smarts to quash her jealousy immediately.

What a wonderful story, I loved it!
  Quote
juliet
Wednesday 1st November 2006 02:45


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

A Greater Love
I am glad to see that Ginny and Harry were reunited, yet I think he got out of it fairly well by only getting one slap in the face.
You could feel her grief throughout this, and the hope that he was alive and truly there in the room. Wow.
  Quote
timbers
Monday 30th October 2006 02:18


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

A Greater Love
So it was you Now that I know for sure, I can leave a review without looking stupid had I made a mistake and guessed the wrong author

I really did like this fic; you went somewhat from your norm but stayed close enough to your "style" to tell it was you. I do love the wording (jealous mistress? a very nice touch ) and the explanation-which I thought was a tad short for my tastes (but I understand the word constraint on this fic so there wasn't much that could have been done)- was also well done. Love saving Harry from death is a common theme in the books and you played it out beautifully here. I think there was a quote from the books that went "You think the dead we loved ever truly leave us?" by Dumbledore and I think its quite appropriate for this story

Speaking of the characters, it was easy to relate to Ginny's bitterness. Its been five years since Harry's left, I wouldn't blame her for being cynical and sardonic. And the slap? That'll go down in the books

Great finish to a lovely story!
  Quote
Ladybug
Sunday 29th October 2006 19:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

A Greater Love
Intriguing plan of Dumbledore’s, very clever. I particularly like Tonks and Ginny’s exchange. Very nicely written, your expression is beautiful.
  Quote
swngnblues
Saturday 28th October 2006 19:19


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

A Greater Love
Interesting plot... rather dark. Probably a plot bunny that really should have been a rather long story... but this compact form is interesting enough. I did like the bit about death being a jealous mistress. : )
  Quote
Inken
Saturday 28th October 2006 12:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

A Greater Love
Wow, great story. I loved Harry and Ginny's reunion... especially that Ginny's first reaction was to slap Harry.
  Quote
St Margarets
Wednesday 25th October 2006 17:29


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

A Greater Love
Oh, very clever explanation for how Harry could be "dead" and still be able to come back. The magic she was going to perform was an intriguing idea as well. But poor Ginny - she went through a lot. No wonder she slapped him. I like how the ring - and Ginny - are shining brightly at the end.
  Quote
ninkenate
Tuesday 24th October 2006 16:32


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

A Greater Love
Whoa...
  Quote
intromit
Monday 23rd October 2006 17:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

A Greater Love
God, but I do love a happy ending. Great job.
  Quote
paladin
Sunday 22nd October 2006 19:41


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

A Greater Love
I feel confident in saying that I have read your work before but, alas I cannot place pen to prose. Regardless, I have enjoyed this piece.

Oh, how the pain of loss can leave one feeling empty beyond imagine. But you especially provided excellent facts about pain. It can be eased and tempered through sharing with someone. It can also dull our senses to what is right in front of our face. And, it can also make someone desperate.

Ginny’s intense grief was there and can be felt in the way you describe her efforts to reunite with Harry. I give you props for your concept that Ginny’s unfailing love for Harry helped maintain his suspended death sentence, which limited its hold on him the longer she continued her vigil. Using scripture, especially such a powerful quote (one of the most meaningful to me) as a spell was choice.

I do have one small question about the ending but that can wait for later.

~Wonderful effort!~
  Quote
Yentila22
Saturday 21st October 2006 00:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

A Greater Love
Great story good luck in the challenge
  Quote
Stephanie
Wednesday 18th October 2006 13:00


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 57

A Greater Love
Beautiful. If you think about it, the death holding him captive part seems a bit implausible, but it fit together really nicely and your description of Ginny's feelings was marvellous and realistic. Thanks for sharing!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004