Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Time's Winged Chariot by girlyswot

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
chiantiqueen
Friday 28th December 2007 02:29


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

1:Revelations
Great chapter. Poor Lily. First she has muggle-born prejudice to deal with and then we learn the secret about her mother. I'm glad, for her sake, that James is so understanding and free from the prejudices of other so called purebloods.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Sunday 28th January 2007 10:19


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

1:Revelations
A good start. Poor Lily with such a secret to keep.
girlyswot
Sunday 28th January 2007 11:01
1:Revelations (Author Response)
Thank you! Yes, it must have been hard, especially since she wouldn't have known at first that it was such a big deal in the wizarding world.
  Quote
Evelyn
Tuesday 12th December 2006 03:32


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

1:Revelations
That was full of surprises... Nice change.

I loved the dialogue, especially James' nonchalant way of proposing.
girlyswot
Tuesday 12th December 2006 06:44
1:Revelations (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. This one is a little more angsty than the last. But still plenty of lovely fluff.
  Quote
topbabe
Wednesday 15th November 2006 05:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

1:Revelations
OMG! genius! nothing else i can say. when is the next 1?
girlyswot
Wednesday 15th November 2006 05:31
1:Revelations (Author Response)
You're too kind! The next chapter is with my beta so shouldn't be too long to wait. The fic is basically finished, so the updates will be pretty regular. I'm glad you're enjoying it - did you read the prequel 'Had we but world enough and time'?
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Friday 10th November 2006 07:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

1:Revelations
What a way to propose .
Interesting about Lily's parents. I like it, but does it really fit what we know from canon? Wouldn't Hogwarts (with its registry) know that Lily is not really Muggleborn but Halfblood?
Oh well, it very good, nicely written.
girlyswot
Friday 10th November 2006 07:41
1:Revelations (Author Response)
Thanks for taking the trouble to review.

About Lily's parents - I take your point that some people may have known about Lily's mother (and certainly that would include some teachers at Hogwarts).

However, I don't think it would have been general knowledge because (i) she would have had a different surname from Lily and (ii) (in my world!) being a Turntail had such stigma that Lily wouldn't have wanted people to know about it, so she'd have let them go on thinking she was Muggle-born.

I think that the Wizarding world is small and tight-knit enough that everyone knows (or at least knows of) pretty much everyone else, so the assumption on meeting a girl whose family you've never heard of is that she's Muggle-born.

Anyway, I hope you'll keep reading!
  Quote
Trelawney2213
Thursday 9th November 2006 13:37


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 106

1:Revelations
So Lily's dad hated magic--a rational explanation for what why Petunia hates it so much and why she was drawn to Vernon. Aside from his good looks and suave charm, that is.
girlyswot
Friday 10th November 2006 13:39
1:Revelations (Author Response)
Yes - I think there's lots of things going on in Petunia's hatred of magic. Her father's issues might be one thing; jealousy and fear are almost certainly part of it. We'll see a little bit more of the Evans family dynamics later in the story.

But as to why she married Vernon - beats me!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 3rd December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Friday 25th November
Author: Author by Night
Story: Full Circle
Saturday 15th October
Author: Author by Night
Story: It Opens
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Thursday 11th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004