Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Coven of Echoes by hwimsey

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 50 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
harry_ginnyfan
Friday 20th February 2009 08:57


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 191

2: Coming To
Good going Harry!!!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 4th September 2008 20:51


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

2: Coming To
hehe i love this story
cant wait to read it again!
  Quote
txreina
Thursday 1st November 2007 15:27


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

2: Coming To
What a jerk. I was wondering if Harry was going to coming and knock that jerk on his A**. Good for Harry.
  Quote
DailyProphetReporting
Monday 8th October 2007 04:22


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 180

2: Coming To
Wow, your Harry makes quite an entrance. It was entirely necessary in this chapter, though. You'd be hard pressed to come up with a more dislikeable "good guy" than your Mr. Areids.

But besides the obviously sour taste, I'm not sure what to make of your new auror. Normally the early introduction of Americans into fics raises red flags for me about cliched characters and cliched plot lines, but I very much appreciated the international political tension you used to frame his presence. That's definitely not cliched, and it's something I'm hoping you might develop more. Plus, if Areid's going to become a significant character, the dialogue between him and his "colleagues" could be quite entertaining.

Another thing Areid let you do was tell us a lot about the Coven ... without really telling much of anything. My first reaction to his story was Why is she giving so much away so soon? , but as I think about it, all you've really is done eliminated the first step from the mystery. Perhaps the purist in me would liked to have seen Harry, Ron and Tonks have to figure out who they were dealing with from scratch after the Chapter 1 incident, but I'm sure you've got your purposes and there's plenty of intriguing mystery left in the whats and whys of the Coven -- not to mention the question of how the heck Voldemort ties in. So there's definitely plenty here to keep me thinking. I look forward to seeing what you do with it.

Another major plus for me from this? Ginny as headline fodder for the tabloids. I'm a journalist (or at least I pretend to be when I'm at work), and sad as is, the idea of the girlfriend of a celebrity being made into an infamous figure is all too realistic. But it does make me wonder how deep a rift you've put in between Harry and Ginny.

So anyway, I've rambled enough for now. Thanks for all your hard work!
-KC
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Wednesday 3rd October 2007 18:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

2: Coming To
love the ending
  Quote
ernichols
Thursday 20th September 2007 02:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

2: Coming To
so badass
  Quote
Narumi
Friday 6th July 2007 13:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

2: Coming To
Bwahaha! Great chapter. I'm a bit confused about the American, though- he's very in character, but his interactions with Ron and Tonks are very odd.
  Quote
KMB
Sunday 10th June 2007 10:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 12

2: Coming To
wow! i do think that it is kinda funny that Americans are written to be @$$holes! however i do have to admit that i fit the "typical" description that you used. what can i say though, i am hooked thus far!!
  Quote
huskers
Wednesday 30th May 2007 12:02


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 124

2: Coming To
An arrogant American Jerk, you wouldn't be British would you? Just kidding. This is great fun so matter what. I like the whole good cops, bad cops thing, but doubt that Ron would let anyone treat Ginny that way. And Tonks, as the Senior Auror, would exert her athority over somoe who is a guest in her country. And of course once the American started in on her, you knew Harry was going to show up some time soon. I was glad to have him show up, but think Ginny is going to be a bit ticked at him for 'Saving' her. I myself would have prefered to have Ginny put him in his place, and Harry merley say, "I was wondering how long that would take."

Still, I really like what you are building here. Keep it coming, and I'm off to the next chapter.
  Quote
GhostWriter
Monday 21st May 2007 14:32


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

2: Coming To
Well you certainly know how to make a reader's blood boil - with Areids, that is.

Harry's entrance here is absolutely awesome!
  Quote
Melindaleo
Tuesday 23rd January 2007 13:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

2: Coming To
Woo Hoo! And there's Harry! Love his entrance, too. Areids is SUCH an obnoxious man - although I love all the Massachusetts references since that's where I live, lol. Two chapters in, and I'm hooked!
hwimsey
Sunday 28th January 2007 20:53
2: Coming To (Author Response)
Wonderful that you are from Mass! It is a beautiful part of the country (well, most of it .

I'm glad you liked Harry's entrance -- and I'm thrilled that you are hooked!

Take care,
h.
  Quote
eaglesnest
Thursday 11th January 2007 20:31


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 134

2: Coming To
I really liked this chapter because it was so informative and brought most of the good guys together. Areids certainly showed himself to be an utter boor and it was a real pleasure to see Harry bring him to his knees. The story of the Coven is really scary and you have setup a first class mystery environment about this horrific group. We also learned a little bit about Harry and Ginny's past but there is still alot more to reveal.
hwimsey
Tuesday 16th January 2007 13:41
2: Coming To (Author Response)
Thank you. Yes, I tried to write the backstory without it living too long in narrative. Areids is an interesting character to be sure. & 's past seems to be driving people crazy -- I'm sorry, but I don't mean to!

Thanks again for the review!
h.
  Quote
girl from ipanema
Sunday 19th November 2006 12:05


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

2: Coming To
There is an author in Potter fandom, whose name is Emily North, who has put these words in Ron's mouth: "Angry Hermione could make Gryffindor himself run for cover, but angry Harry could make a Hungarian Horntail run and hide."
Oh, my! I do believe I have spotted a flock of Hungarians Horntails making a strategic retreat at the end of this chapter I look forward to falling towels...
hwimsey
Sunday 19th November 2006 13:42
2: Coming To (Author Response)
Hello!!!! How are you!

I laughed myself silly with your 'falling towels' comment. No, I haven't forgotten. You are the greatest! I tell you what, I'll see what I can do -- but we're going to have to go thru the desert to get to the promised land. I mean, if that towel is going to fall, it's gotta earn the right to fall, and then fall with gusto.

It was wonderful to hear from you! Thanks for the chuckles!

h.
  Quote
SillyGillie
Thursday 16th November 2006 15:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

2: Coming To
That was really amazing. I loved it. Fantastic job. I'm really curious as to know the exact reasons Harry and Ginny broke up, it seems to me like he is still very protective which is always a good thing. Haha. I loved how Harry saved the day. Fantastic. You can always count on Harry. Love him! I can't wait for the next chapter update when you can!!
hwimsey
Thursday 16th November 2006 23:15
2: Coming To (Author Response)
What a great username -- I love it!

Thanks for the kind words, I'm touched. Yes, Harry is protective despite ...... hmmmm, better wait till the next chapter!

Thanks again for such a wonderful review.

Cheers,
hwimsey
  Quote
hedwig5221
Thursday 16th November 2006 07:54


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

2: Coming To
Bloody brilliant! Great chapter and I look forward to the back story to know what happened with H/G...looking forward to the next update!
hwimsey
Thursday 16th November 2006 23:13
2: Coming To (Author Response)
Hello hedwig

Thank you so much for your two reviews. I thrilled you're enjoying the story. Backstory is coming in the next chapter. Let me know how you like it.

Cheers,
hwimsey
  Quote
leiselily
Wednesday 15th November 2006 12:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

2: Coming To
I'm really enjoying this story. Very atmospheric and the characterisations are great.
I loved the banter and closeness between Ginny and the other healers; the sense that they know each other so well was very realistically portrayed. Exactly how I'm sure they would be.

I also thought Ginny's emotional reaction to Ron was spot on - she's glad to see him but has this undercurrent of guilt that it's been so long, that she's living her life away from her family. There is a real sense with all the characters that they have been through so much, and are very strong, but still only just coping.
And Harry's entrance at the end - great! Can't wait to find out what he's doing there, and why he steps in. You know you are killing us to know what happened between H & G.
As for Areids, I gather from his character that you are showing that in the wizarding world there is a insular ignorance between wizarding societies, and he clearly has no real knowledge of what went on in the first war. As a Brit I thought this was interesting, and the reaction of the others to him was very realistic. Can't wait to find out about the Coven of Echoes, sounds very "secret society".
I'm counting down the days to the next update. Thank very much for a good read.
hwimsey
Wednesday 15th November 2006 13:24
2: Coming To (Author Response)
Dear leiselily,

I must say, I truly enjoyed your review. You have to be a writer yourself. I live for reviews like this. I'm so glad you "got" everything I tried to write -- forgive my wretched English!

This chapter was all about "coming to." Especially in regards to emotions.
I'm glad as a Brit you can understand Areids. I think his attitude points to his arrogance -- he hasn't bothered to study other wizarding societies. I find this in the US often. Most of us honestly couldn't tell you much of anything going on politically in Europe.

I would be honored if you'd continue reading and reviewing. Thanks again for your kind words.

Cheers,
hwimsey
  Quote
snuffles007
Tuesday 14th November 2006 21:24


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 83

2: Coming To
An excellent story with tons of potential! I can't wait for more. Keep the updates coming!
hwimsey
Wednesday 15th November 2006 13:18
2: Coming To (Author Response)
Can do! Thanks for the kind review.

Cheers,
hwimsey
  Quote
Delani
Tuesday 14th November 2006 19:33


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

2: Coming To
Gah!!!!! As I'm sure you've noticed, oh well, actually, I don't know if you have, hmmm...well anyway, if you've noticed or not, at PS there is a terribly addictive story called Cursed. well the lovely Myth, poor dear, has gone on hiatus and this is JUST WHAT WE NEED!!!! Oh you are the antidote to my withdrawal poison. Please please PLEASE don't go on a break too! lol. this is just so FABULOUS!! If (and dear lord WHEN) Cursed returns, I will still be as faithful as ever to this lovely adventure. So thank you. oh yes, and my favorite line? well, it wasn't exactly in the story, per se...

"What's life without a little romance." Or in this case, lust. "

Ga!! Oo my heart is pounding....that, and

"Healer Weasley knew the man who killed him. Quite intimately. "

Woo hoo!!!


Delani
hwimsey
Wednesday 15th November 2006 13:17
2: Coming To (Author Response)
Oh, Delani. I was laughing for a solid minute after reading your review.

First, thank you so for your lovely words. I'm thrilled you're enjoying the story and that I'm providing an antidote for withdrawal poison.

Second, I love Myth. Both her writing and the writer herself. I keep telling her that it isn't fair. Such talented people cannot be kind, funny and warm individuals. If you read her reviews, you'll see my name often. I, too, am suffering.

Please keep stopping by. I'd love to hear how you're enjoying this tale going forward. Plus, you make me smile with such reviews!

Cheers and woo hoo back at ya,
hwimsey
  Quote
Connor Landon
Tuesday 14th November 2006 19:10


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 188

2: Coming To
Ohmygosh. Once again, very awesome job. The story is becoming more detailed and intricate, which I love. Hate the cliffie, though.
hwimsey
Wednesday 15th November 2006 13:12
2: Coming To (Author Response)
Hi Connor -- how are you doing? Thanks for stopping by again and thank you for the lovely review. Yes, I love detailed intricate plots myself. And this is going to get more detailed as we go.

Sorry about the cliffie. But how will I get you to come back for more?

Cheers,
hwimsey
  Quote
fritz42
Tuesday 14th November 2006 17:04


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

2: Coming To
Whew! I had to come back and read it a second time. I do that with all the stories that I LOVE!

You didn't back down on this chapter either, did you? The tension remains throughout the whole thing. The behavior of the American Auror was beyond rude. I know I told you this before, but I am hoping that Ginny can retaliate someday. Only, I don't think just a Bat Bogey Hex will do it for me. You know, she is the Weasley Twins' sister with extensive potion knowledge. That is all I will say.

I loved the tension of the ending and how Ginny just knew that Harry was there. His whole nonverbal behavior was very telling, and I can't wait to learn what has happened between the two of them. Harry's response to the American Auror was also very telling. I think I will enjoy reading about the further interaction between the two.

Can't wait for the next chapter.

(This is me waiting patiently.)
hwimsey
Wednesday 15th November 2006 13:10
2: Coming To (Author Response)
Hello dearest you,

Your choice of icons cracks me up. I love the bat one.

The next chapter is backstory and a breather. But you know all about Ch. 4
having supplied so many of the spells.

Ah, I'd like to tell you, but I'd have to kill you.

You're the best,
hwimsey
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 50 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004